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Notice of Compliance with the 
Homebuyer Protection Act (HPA)(ORS 87.007) 

 
In compliance with Oregon law, the below mentioned Seller has selected to comply with the requirements of ORS 
87.007. 

1. ADDRESS or DESCRIPTION OF PROPERTY 
Address or Location City, State Zip Code 

 
 

2. DATE OF PURCHASE (CHOOSE ONE) 
A.  ORS 87.007 (which includes the provisions listed in part B of this form) does not apply to the sale of the above 

described Property. 

B.  ORS 87.007 applies to the sale of the above described Property.  Seller complied with ORS 87.007(2) by 
(check which one applies): 

 1.  Title Insurance as provided for in ORS 87.007(2)(a). 

 2.  Retained in Escrow not less than 25 percent of the sale price as provided for in ORS 87.007(2)(b). 

 3.  Bond or Letter of Credit as provided for in ORS 87.007(2)(c). 

 4.  Written Waivers received from every person claiming a lien as provided for in ORS 87.007(2)(d). 

 5.  Completed Sale After the Deadline for perfecting liens as provided for in ORS 87.007(2)(e). 

3. SELLER INFORMATION 
Company Name (if applicable) 

Agent of Company or Individual Seller 

Title of Company Agent (if applicable) 

Signature Date 
 
 
 
 
 

4. BUYER INFORMATION 
Buyer Name  

Agent of Company or Individual Buyer 

Title of Company Agent (if applicable) 

Signature Date 
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Instructions 

 
These instructions are provided to assist sellers of residential property with the Oregon Homebuyer Protection Act 
(HPA), codified in ORS 87.007.  The HPA protects residential property buyers against construction liens filed in county 
records after the sale of the property where such liens arise out of new construction, additions or remodeling within 90 
days of the date of the sale.  
 
Disclaimer 
These instructions do not constitute legal advice. For questions, please contact an attorney. 
 
Who must complete this form? 
A residential property owner selling – 

• A new single family residence, condominium unit or residential building (containing four or fewer dwelling 
units), or  

• An existing single family residence, condominium unit or residential building (containing four or fewer 
dwelling units) that had at least $50,000 worth of improvements, additions or remodeling completed within 
90 days of the date of the sale. 

 
Instructions for Section A 
If the property fits the description above, but the seller knows that no person may file a lien against the property, the 
seller may check the box in Section A of the form. 
 
Instructions for Section B 
If the seller knows that it is possible for someone to file a lien against the property, the seller must check Section B of 
the form and at least one corresponding box that applies to the action the seller took, or will take, to comply with the 
HPA. 
 Box 1 Title Insurance – The seller has or will purchase or provide an owner’s extended coverage title 
 insurance policy or equivalent that does not except filed or unfiled claims of lien.  A standard title insurance or 
 a lender’s title insurance policy may not be sufficient.  See ORS 87.007(2)(a). 
  

Box 2 Retain in Escrow – The seller will arrange to retain in escrow an amount of not less than 25 
 percent of the sales price of the property.  The escrow will pay any claims of lien not paid by the  seller filed 
 after the date of the sale.  Any unused funds will be released to the seller upon fulfillment of the following 
 conditions:  

• Claims of lien have not been filed against the property and at least 90 days have passed since the date 
the construction was completed. 

• One or more claims of lien were filed against the property, at least 135 days have passed since the date 
the liens were filed, and the liens were released or waived.  See ORS 87.007(2)(b). 

  
Box 3 Bond or Letter of Credit – The seller has or will maintain a bond or letter of credit.  A Construction 

 Contractors Board bond, required for licensure under ORS chapter 701, is not sufficient.  See ORS 
 87.007(2)(c). 

 
Box 4 Written Waivers – The seller has or will obtain written waivers from every subcontractor or 

 supplier who claims liens of $5,000 or more.  Provide copies of the waivers to the buyer no later than the date 
 of the sale.  (The CCB recommends consulting an attorney for assistance with preparing  forms for waivers).  
 See ORS 87.007(2)(d). 
  

Box 5 Completed Sale after the Deadline – The sale will not be completed until at least 75 days after the 
 completion of all construction.  See ORS 87.007(2)(e). 
 
Additional Instructions 
The seller and the buyer must sign and date the form on or before the closing date of the sale. Both parties should 
retain a copy of the form. Compliance with the HPA is the sole responsibility of the seller. 


