
MOTORIZED SAFETY CHECKLIST
WATERCRAFT RENTALS

Oregon law requires that anyone who plans to operate this watercraft on their own, or who will be supervising other operators, must read 
and understand the information on this form or have an Oregon Boater Education Card. Anyone operating a rental watercraft who has 
not completed this checklist and/or does not have proof of completing this checklist on board when operating the rental watercraft will be 
in violation of state law and may be cited.

Rental Agency’s Name ____________________________________________________________________________________________

Operator’s Name ___________________________________ Date of Birth  _______________________________________

Watercraft #        ___________________________________             Date of Rental  _______________________________________

LIFE JACKETS

NAVIGATION RULES

I understand that children 12 and younger 
must wear a properly fitted, U.S. Coast Guard 
approved life jacket whenever the boat is 
underway, and it must be approved for the 
type of use.

I understand that life jackets need to be 
readily accessible at all times. I also understand 
that all life jackets must be properly fitted to 
the person, U.S. Coast Guard approved, and 
approved for the type of use.

OPERATION OF THE BOAT

EQUIPMENT

AGE RESTRICTION

I understand the location of and how to use the 
following: 
• whistle or manufacturer’s horn; 
• paddles or oars; 
• bilge pump or bailer; 
• throwable flotation device; and 
• fire extinguisher.

I understand a person must be 16 or older to 
operate any watercraft greater than 10hp alone.

I understand that youth age 12-15 must be 
under direct supervision of an adult (16 years of 
age) when operating a boat greater than 10hp.

I understand no person under age 12 may 
operate any motorboat.

When there is a possibility of a collision, it is my 
responsibility to slow down, stop, or steer away.

When two boats are approaching each other, I 
understand both boats should steer to their right 
(starboard).

When overtaking another, I understand I should 
pass on the left (port) side if safe. Otherwise I 
will need to pass on their right (starboard) side.

When crossing a path of another boat, I 
understand I need to yield to a boat on my 
right (starboard) side.

BOAT CAPACITY

I understand the maximum number of persons 
on this boat will not exceed _____ people. 
People, equipment, and supplies cannot exceed 
_____ pounds.



RENTAL AGENCYOPERATOR

I understand that you must have a designated 
observer (a person other than the driver of the 
boat) to continuously observe the person(s) 
being towed.

I understand that the red or orange skier-down 
flag must be raised when skier is in the water.

I understand any towed watersport is prohibited 
from sunset to sunrise.

ACCIDENT REPORTING

TOWING RESPONSIBILITIES

I understand as the operator I MUST report any 
incident involving: 
• Damage to a boat and other property 

totaling $2,000 or more; 
• Injuries to any person requiring treatment 

beyond first aid; 
• Complete loss of any boat; or
• Death or disappearance.

I understand any incident resulting in death 
or injury MUST be reported within 48 hours 
and incidents involving only damage must be 
reported within 10 days to the Oregon State 
Marine Board.

I understand I need to be alert at all times and 
avoid being distracted.

OPERATION OF THE BOAT OPERATOR RESPONSIBILITY

If the watercraft is equipped with an engine 
cut-off switch lanyard, I should use it.

I will keep a safe distance away from people, 
objects and other boats.

I will operate at a slow-no wake speed 
(operating a boat at the slowest speed 
necessary to maintain steerage and that reduces 
or eliminates waves that appear as white water 
behind the boat), within 200’ of boat ramps, 
docks or as marked.

I understand how to safely start and stop the 
engine on the watercraft.

I will operate within my limits; I understand 
aggressive maneuvers could cause loss of 
control, ejection, and/or collision.

I understand to make sure no person is in the 
water within the vicinity of the watercraft before 
starting and while running the engine.

I will not jump waves, wakes, or make 
unnecessary sharp turns. 

I understand shutting off the engine will not 
immediately stop forward motion of the boat.

If the boat capsizes, I understand to stay with 
the boat, if safe to do so, and signal for help.

I understand how to use the gear-shift lever and 
throttle controls. 

I will operate at safe speeds.

I have been instructed on and understand the rules and information provided in this watercraft rental safety checklist. I will 
follow all rental agency rules and boating laws when operating this watercraft. 

YOU MUST CARRY THIS ON BOARD WHEN OPERATING RENTED WATERCRAFT. 
PERSONS WHO OPERATE WATERCRAFT WITHOUT COMPLETING THE SAFETY CHECKLIST MAY BE CITED.

DO YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT YOUR 
WATERCRAFT AND ITS OPERATION?

Operator Name _________________________________________

Operator Signature ______________________________________

Gender      Male      Female      X   DOB ____________________

Hair Color _______________    Eye Color ___________________

Name of Rental Agency ___________________________________

Name of Rental Agency Employee __________________________

Issue Date __________________   Time/Date Due _____________

OR # _________________________________________________

I understand the area in which I will be 
operating and will observe all navigational 
markers and signs. 

I understand that I am responsible for my wake 
and any damage it may cause to other boats, 
docks, people, wildlife, or the environment.

I will not operate while under the influence of 
alcohol or drugs. I know it is dangerous and 
illegal and punishable by a fine of up to $6,250 
and up to one year in jail.

I understand I need to scan constantly for other 
watercraft, people, or objects in the water and 
be alert for conditions that limit my visibility


