

Oregon Rule & Law for Plumbers

Purpose:

The following is the basis from which providers of an *Oregon Rule & Law* course may develop their course and tailor for a specific audience.

The Plumbing Board has established the course content requirements for *Oregon Rule and Law* for plumbers. The course must cover all pertinent statutes, rules, scope of license, permit procedures and requirements, alternate method ruling, interpretations, and Oregon amendments to the Oregon Plumbing Specialty Code. (OAR 918-035-0055).

The 4-hour *Oregon Rule and Law* course fulfills continuing education requirements for plumbing licensees. (OAR 918-030-0120).

Course Content

Course Subject Matter	Time Allotment
Oregon Code Changes	150 minutes
Statewide Code Interpretations	20 minutes
Appeals Process	15 minutes
Location of Plumbing Requirements	35 minutes
Breaks (2x10 min.)	20 minutes
	240 minutes (4 hours)

Detailed Course Outline

Oregon Plumbing	Process to find Oregon code changes
Specialty Code Changes	Marginal markings in the code book
(150 minutes)	
	Explanation of statewide interpretations
Statewide Code	Explanation of plumbing licensing clarifications
Interpretations	Explanation of statewide alternate methods
(20 minutes)	Applicability of statewide interpretations to the code
	Process to find statewide code interpretations
	Process to request a code interpretation



	How do plumbers and contractors request clarification on a code call?
Appeals Process	Informal process
(15 minutes)	Formal process
	Code appeal process
	Administrative appeal process
Location of Plumbing Requirements (35 minutes)	Explanation of process to find Oregon statute, administrative rule, plumbing code, code interpretations, etc. and how these requirements relate to each other.
	Explanation of plumbing permit requirements and exemptions
	Clarification of plumbing licensing and exemptions
	Review of enforcement case studies
	Process to find Plumbing Board actions