OREGON BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY BACKGROUND CHECK / FINGERPRINTING FAQ

1. Q: Who must get fingerprinted?

A: All applicants for licensure, including those re-applying, must submit fingerprints for a state and national criminal background check.

2. Q: How do I start?

A: Follow the fingerprinting instructions, posted on the <u>Apply for Licensure Webpage</u>. The background check fee is included with the application fee.

3. Q: Is there a separate fingerprinting fee?

A: Yes. The background check fee paid to the Board covers the actual cost for us to have your Oregon and FBI background check performed. The fingerprinting fee is separate and assessed by the business providing fingerprint services. The state has contracted with Fieldprint, Inc. to provide low-cost electronic fingerprint capture services across the country. The current contracted fee is \$12.50/ print.

4. Q: Can I have electronic fingerprint capture done from out of state?

A: Yes, starting March 26, 2015. Fieldprint, Inc. has locations in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. Click <u>here</u> to search for a Fieldprint location near you.

5. Q: May I still use the "standard" fingerprinting method (ink prints) if I am completing my fingerprinting out of state and am not located near a Fieldprint location?

A: Yes. Please request a standard fingerprinting packet via <u>psychology.board@mhra.oregon.gov</u> and we will mail it to you. Fingerprinting services are available from local law enforcement agencies. Search for "fingerprinting services" to find one near you. We recommend that you utilize a reputable technician to avoid rejected prints that could delay the process for you. Note that you will need to use the FD-258 card that we sent to you.

6. Q: What is the difference between standard fingerprinting and electronic capture?

A: Standard fingerprinting is done with ink on the provided FD-258 card. You must follow the instructions on the ID Verification form and return the card to the Board, and then we forward the cards to the Oregon State Police for processing. With electronic fingerprint capture via Fieldprint, digital images of your fingerprints are taken and then sent electronically to Oregon State Police. The standard fingerprinting can usually be completed from start to finish in 2-3 weeks. Electronic capture typically takes a week or so.

7. Q: Will I be charged again if my fingerprints are rejected?

A: No, not if your prints are only rejected once. We will send you a new card and you will need to get reprinted. If the prints are rejected for a second time, we will be charged (and we will charge you) another fee of \$46.25 for a third submission. Cards will be rejected if they do not meet FBI quality standards or if the instructions are not followed.

8. Q: May I use a background check recently done by my employer or another state agency?

A: No, unfortunately this is not permitted. Background checks contain highly sensitive information, and the law does not allow agencies, even within the same state, to share this information.

9. Q: What is the deadline for getting my fingerprints submitted?

A: We must have received your background check results before your application can be considered complete. We recommend you complete the fingerprinting early in the application process so that there are no delays holding you up (e.g., your fingerprints are rejected and must be retaken, etc.).

10. Q. Do I need to disclose on my application any arrest or conviction?

A. The Board expects applicants to be forthright and to disclose any misdemeanor or felony arrests or convictions- even if they have been expunged, and to provide a complete explanation. You do not need to disclose expunged juvenile records.

11. Q: Can I still be licensed in Oregon if I have a criminal history?

- A: Every situation is different and is considered on a case-by-case basis. You will be asked on your application to provide a complete explanation, and that is your opportunity to convey to the Board what happened. Under current Oregon law, <u>ORS 181A.195(10)(c)</u>, the Board must consider:
 - (A) The nature of the crime;
 - (B) The facts that support the conviction or pending indictment or that indicate the making of a false statement;
 - (C) The relevancy, if any, of the crime or the false statement to the specific requirements of the subject individual's present or proposed position, services, employment, license, certification or registration; and
 - (D) Intervening circumstances relevant to the responsibilities and circumstances of the position, services, employment, license, certification, registration or permit, such as:
 - (i) The passage of time since the commission of the crime;
 - (ii) The age of the subject individual at the time of the crime;
 - (iii) The likelihood of a repetition of offenses or of the commission of another crime;
 - (iv) The subsequent commission of another relevant crime;

(v) Whether the conviction was set aside and the legal effect of setting aside the conviction; and

(vi) The recommendation of an employer.

At this time, there is no list of crimes that create an automatic bar to licensure. Please also refer to <u>OAR 858-010-0034</u>, Criminal Records Checks and Fitness Determinations, and <u>OAR Ch. 125</u>, <u>Div. 7</u>, Criminal Records Checks and Fitness Determination Rules.