Food Processor Exemption Claim L e
[Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 307.453 — 307.459] 15210001010000 — use only
'ostmarl ate

Instructions
® See page 2 of this form for further filing instructions.
¢ File with the Oregon Department of Revenue if it appraises For assessor’s use only

your property under ORS 306.126. If your property is PEDEEEE eceieclby pllcjiee

appraised by the county assessor, file with the assessor $

of the county where the property is located. Account number Code area number ] Approved
¢ File after January 1 and on or before March 1 directly [] Denied

following the year in which the property is newly acquired Briefly give reason for denial

and first placed into service.

Clear form

Attach the certification(s) listing all qualified machinery and

equipment certified by the Oregon Department of Agriculture.

This claim for exemption is filed in addition to filing your Industrial Property Return or Real Property Return on or
before March 15, under ORS 308.290.

You may access this form on the Department of Revenue’s website at www.oregon.gov/dor/forms.

Filer / Taxpayer

Name of food processor Phone number County where business and property are located
Mailing address City State  |ZIP code

Location of property (street address if different from above) City State  |ZIP code

Map and tax lot number of site Contact person Title

Email (optional)

Late filing
1. [ Check to indicate that you are filing after March 1 and on or before December 31 in the year of exemption.
2. [ Check to indicate that you are including, with this claim, the required late filing fee.
3. Check to indicate the method you used to calculate your late filing fee. You must choose the one method that equals the
greater amount.
L] $200, or
[ %, of 1 percent of the real market value (RMV) of your certified exempt real and personal property:
0.001 x (RMV) = (late filing fee)
To arrive at your RMV, add the invoice cost of the machinery and equipment, installation, engineering, and miscellaneous
costs including machinery process piping, foundations, power wiring, interest during installation, and freight.
Exemption on qualified property
1. This property tax exemption is requested to begin in the tax year beginning July 1, for property first put in
service in calendar year
2. Certification(s) listing all qualified machinery and equipment is attached. [] Check here if you’ve attached additional pages.

Certification number: Certification number:
Certification number: Certification number:
Certification number: Certification number:

150-303-085-1 (Rev. 01-23-24) Continued on next page >



15210001020000
3. [ Check if property on certification # is used to process grains or bakery products and
must have a total initial investment cost of at least $100,000 to be exempted.
4. [ Check if property on certification # is used to process bakery products and retail sales

at the processing site are 10% or less of total sales at the site.

5. [J Check to indicate that your business is responsible for payment of all ad valorem taxes assessed on all of the subject certified
property held by you under a lease or lease agreement.

Declaration*
| declare under penalties of false swearing [ORS 305.990(4)] that | have examined this document and attachments, and to the best of my
knowledge, they are true, correct, and complete. | have concluded that my business satisfies the requirements of a qualified business
and complies with all local, Oregon, and federal laws that are applicable to my business.

Must be signed by an owner, company executive, or authorized representative of the business*
Signature® Date*

X

Title (if not an owner or executive, attach letter attesting to appropriate contractual authority)

—This claim does not replace your industrial or real property return—
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Instructions for Oregon Food Processor Exemption Claim

ORS 307.455 allows a property tax exemption for food
processors’ qualified real and personal property machin-
ery and equipment (M&E) that is certified by the Oregon
Department of Agriculture (ODA). To receive an exemp-
tion, the qualified M&E must first be certified by ODA
and then the food processor needs to file a Food Processor
Exemption Claim form (150-303-085-1) along with copies of
the ODA-approved certification form(s). The exemption
begins the first tax year following certification and filing
of the claim for exemption and continues for the next four
succeeding tax years if, as of January 1 of each year, the
certified M&E remains qualified. Read below for further
filing instructions.

How do | qualify?

* A “food processor” must be engaged in the business of
freezing, canning, dehydrating, concentrating, preserv-
ing, processing, or repacking for human consumption
raw or fresh fruit, vegetables, nuts, legumes, grains,
bakery products, dairy products, eggs, seafood, meat
or wild game in any procedure that occurs prior to the
point of first sale by the processor.

* “Qualified machinery and equipment,” whether new or
used, must be newly acquired by a food processor and
first placed into service prior to January 1 preceding the
first tax year for which an exemption is claimed. (Visit
ODA’s website at www.oregon.gov/oda for definitions
of “newly acquired” and “placed into service,” rules,
and other information relating to this law).

* Qualified machinery and equipment used in process-
ing grain or bakery products must have a total cost
of initial investment of $100,000 or more. Machinery
and equipment used in bakery products processing
cannot qualify if retail sales at the site are greater than
10 percent of total site sales.

* “Qualified real property M&E” must be used by a
food processor in the primary processing of raw or
fresh fruit, vegetables, nuts, legumes, grains, bakery
products, dairy products, eggs, seafood, meat or wild
game.

* “Qualified personal property M&E” must be used by a
food processor in an integrated processing line for the
primary processing of raw or fresh fruit, vegetables,
nuts, legumes, grains, bakery products, dairy products,
eggs, seafood, meat or wild game. An “integrated pro-
cessing line” doesn’t include forklifts, trucks, or other
rolling stock used to transport material to or from a
point of manufacture or assembly.

How do | get the exemption?

* Make a written request to ODA for certification of
qualified M&E. The forms for certification (Oregon Food

150-303-085-1 (Rev. 01-23-24)

Processor Certification of Qualified Machinery and Equip-
ment, 150-303-085-3 through -6) are available from ODA
or from the Department of Revenue’s website at www.
oregon.gov/dor/forms. Choose from four different
certification forms, depending on if you own or lease
your real or personal property M&E. Use the appropri-
ate certification form and if your property is leased,
use a separate sheet for each lessor. For information
about the certification process and how to schedule a
certification visit with ODA, go to www.oregon.gov/
oda.

* After your qualified M&E has been certified by ODA,
retain the ODA approved and signed Oregon Food Pro-
cessor Certification of Qualified Machinery and Equipment
form(s) for your records.

* Claim the exemption by completing the Food Proces-
sor Exemption Claim form (150-303-085-1). This form is
available on Department of Revenue’s website at www.
oregon.gov/dor/forms.

¢ File the exemption claim with Department of Revenue
if it appraises your property under ORS 306.126. If
your property is appraised by the county assessor, file
with the assessor of the county where your property is
located.

* The Oregon Food Processor Exemption Claim is filed
in addition to filing your Industrial Property Return
or Real Property Return. The Exemption Claim doesn’t
replace your Industrial or Real Property Return.

¢ Attach the ODA-approved certification form(s), Oregon
Food Processor Certification of Qualified Machinery and
Equipment, to the exemption claim form.

* The exemption begins the first tax year following
certification and filing of the claim for exemption and
continues for the next four succeeding tax years if, as
of January 1 of each year, the certified M&E remains
qualified. Visit ODA’s website at www.oregon.gov/oda
to learn more about the certification process and how
to report changes to your certified M&E.

When do | file?

o After January 1 and on or before March 1 directly fol-
lowing the year in which the property is newly acquired
and first placed into service.

* Late filing is after March 1 and on or before December
31 directly following the year in which the property is
newly acquired and first placed into service. If you file
late, you must include with your claim a late filing fee
of the greater of $200 or one-tenth of one percent of the
real market value of the property that is the subject of
your claim.
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