
BUREAU OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIES 
WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 

EMPLOYEE CONSENT TO WORK MORE THAN 60 HOURS IN A WORKWEEK 
IN SPECIFIED ESTABLISHMENTS DUE TO EMPLOYER’S UNDUE HARDSHIP 

Pursuant to Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 652.020 and ORS 653.265, an employer may not require or permit an 
employee employed in a mill, factory or manufacturing establishment or a cannery, drier or packing plant to work 
more than 55 hours in any one workweek. However, an employer may require or permit an employee to work up 
to 60 hours in one workweek if the employee requests or consents in writing to work up to 60 hours in the 
workweek. A request/consent form available from the Bureau of Labor and Industries (WH-261) may, but is not 
required, to be used for this purpose. 

In addition, an employer is eligible for an undue hardship period exemption from the restrictions on the maximum 
workweek hours established by ORS 652.020 and ORS 653.265 if the employer, in the ordinary course of the 
employer’s business, processes perishable products. As used in ORS 652.020 and ORS 653.265, a perishable 
product is any product that may spoil, deteriorate or undergo other material changes that render it unsuitable for 
the use for which it was produced. Perishable products include agricultural crops, meat and fish. An employer 
may be eligible for more than one undue hardship period exemption in a calendar year. However, the combined 
total duration of the employer’s undue hardship period exemptions may not exceed 21 workweeks in a calendar 
year. 

When an undue hardship exists, an employee may consent in writing to work up to 84 hours per workweek for 
four workweeks and up to 80 hours per workweek for any remaining workweeks in the undue hardship period. 

For more information about Oregon’s wage and hour regulations and the restrictions on maximum work hours for 
employees in these establishments, visit www.oregon.gov/boli or contact: 

Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI) 
Wage and Hour Division 
1800 SW 1st Avenue, Suite 500 
Portland, Oregon 97201 
whd.screener@boli.oregon.gov 
Telephone: (971) 245-3844 

 is claiming that the undue hardship exception to the maximum hours 
provisions of the law applies to its operations for the following reason(s): 

EMPLOYEE CONSENT 

By signing this agreement, I consent to work up to 84 hours per workweek for four workweeks and up to 80 hours 
per workweek for any remaining workweeks during the period beginning on _________________________ and 
ending on _________________________. I understand that I may withdraw this consent at any time in writing by 
providing written notice to the employer at least seven calendar days prior to the start of the workweek in which I 
no longer consent to work the hours described above.  

Printed Name of Employee Signature of Employee Date 
It is a violation of the law for an employer to coerce any employee in a mill, factory or manufacturing establishment into consenting to 
work more than 55 hours in one workweek.  Employers who have been determined by the Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and 
Industries to have coerced an employee may be assessed civil penalties.  For more information or to report violations or allegations that an 
employer has coerced or is coercing any employee, contact the Bureau of Labor and Industries at the address or telephone number above. 
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