
BUREAU OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIES 
WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION 

 
 

NOTICE OF UNDUE HARDSHIP PERIOD FOR 
SPECIFIED ESTABLISHMENTS 

 
Pursuant to Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 652.020 and ORS 653.265, an employer may not require or permit an employee 
employed in a mill, factory or manufacturing establishment or a cannery, drier or packing plant to work more than 55 hours 
in any one workweek. However, an employer may require or permit an employee to work up to 60 hours in one workweek if 
the employee requests or consents in writing to work up to 60 hours in the workweek. A request/consent form available from 
the Bureau of Labor and Industries (WH-261) may, but is not required, to be used for this purpose. 
 
In addition, an employer is eligible for an undue hardship period exemption from the restrictions on the maximum workweek 
hours established by ORS 652.020 and ORS 653.265 if the employer, in the ordinary course of the employer’s business, 
processes perishable products. As used in ORS 652.020 and ORS 653.265, a perishable product is any product that may spoil, 
deteriorate or undergo other material changes that render it unsuitable for the use for which it was produced. Perishable 
products include agricultural crops, meat and fish. An employer may be eligible for more than one undue hardship period 
exemption in a calendar year. However, the combined total duration of the employer’s undue hardship period exemptions 
may not exceed 21 workweeks in a calendar year. 
 
When an undue hardship exists, an employee may consent in writing to work up to 84 hours per workweek for four 
workweeks and up to 80 hours per workweek for any remaining workweeks in the undue hardship period.* (See form WH-
263 to be used for this purpose.) 
 
To claim an undue hardship exemption, an employer must provide notice of the undue hardship period to the Bureau of 
Labor and Industries (BOLI) within seven calendar days of permitting employees to work more than 55 hours in one 
workweek (or more than 60 hours if the employee has previously consented to work up to 60 hours in one workweek). 
 
This notice informs the Bureau of Labor and Industries that the employer identified below claims an exemption to the 
restrictions on maximum workweek hours on the basis that an undue hardship exists. 
 
Name of employer:   
 
Employer’s address:   
 
Perishable product(s) to be processed:   
 
Reasons for undue hardship period:   
 
Expected dates of undue hardship period: ____________________ through ____________________ 
 
Estimated number of employees who will work up to 80 or 84 hours per workweek:   
 
The start and end dates of any previous undue hardship periods claimed by this employer during the same calendar year: 
____________________ through ____________________ 
 
Please submit this notice to: Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI) 
 Wage and Hour Division 
 1800 SW 1st Avenue, Suite 500 
 Portland, Oregon 97201 
 or whd.email@boli.oregon.gov 
 
 
    
Printed Name of Employer Representative  Signature of Employer Representative Date 
 
*The undue hardship period does not apply to minor employees under the age of 18.  To obtain additional information about 
the hours of employment for minors, visit www.oregon.gov/boli/whd/clu.  
 
WH-262 (11/23) 
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