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The Agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule's substantive goals while reducing negative economic 

impact of the rule on business. 

A public rulemaking hearing may be requested in writing by 10 or more people, or by a group with 10 or more members, within 21 days following the publication 

of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Oregon Bulletin or 28 days from the date the Notice was sent to people on the agency mailing list, whichever is later. 

If sufficient hearing requests are received, the notice of the date and time of the rulemaking hearing must be published in the Oregon Bulletin at least 14 days 

before the hearing.

CONTACT: Ty Yoder 

503-945-5256 

ty.m.yoder@odot.oregon.gov

DMV Program Services 

1905 Lana Avenue NE 

Salem,OR 97314

Filed By: 

Lauri Kunze 

Rules Coordinator

NEED FOR THE RULE(S)

DMV needs to amend OAR 735-070-0170 to align the civil penalty amounts provided in the rule with the federally 

required minimum amounts.  ORS 813.055 requires the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) to impose a civil 

penalty on the operator of a commercial motor vehicle if the operator: 

•	 Has violated an out-of-service order issued under ORS 813.050 or any out-of-service order or notice issued by 

ODOT or by an authorized representative of ODOT; or 

•	 ODOT received notification that a person has violated any out-of-service order or notice issued by a state or federal 

agency. 

 

On July 18, 2023, DMV completed the rulemaking process for OAR 735-070-0170.  At that time the federal regulation 

required a minimum civil penalty for a first violation of an out-of-service order or notice to be $3,740 and for a second 

or subsequent violation to be $7,481.  Those amounts were incorporated into the rule.  On December 28, 2023, the 

federal government increased the minimum amounts to $3,861 for a first violation and $7,723 for a second or 

subsequent violation.  In this rulemaking, DMV is amending OAR 735-070-0170 to bring the civil penalty amounts into 

compliance with new minimum civil penalty amounts provided in the federal regulations.

DOCUMENTS RELIED UPON, AND WHERE THEY ARE AVAILABLE

Federal Register (see “D.” in the attachment) - https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2023/12/28/2023-

28066/revisions-to-civil-penalty-amounts-2024

STATEMENT IDENTIFYING HOW ADOPTION OF RULE(S) WILL AFFECT RACIAL EQUITY IN THIS STATE

This rule will amend the amounts of civil penalties for violations of out-of-service orders.  The amounts will bring 

Oregon into compliance with federal regulations.  The civil penalties will be applied equally for all races.  This 
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amendment of the rule should not have an effect on racial equity in this state.

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT: 

See statements below.

COST OF COMPLIANCE: 

(1) Identify any state agencies, units of local government, and members of the public likely to be economically affected by the 

rule(s). (2) Effect on Small Businesses: (a) Estimate the number and type of small businesses subject to the rule(s); (b) Describe the 

expected reporting, recordkeeping and administrative activities and cost required to comply with the rule(s); (c) Estimate the cost 

of professional services, equipment supplies, labor and increased administration required to comply with the rule(s). 

(1) CMV operators who violate out-of-service orders will pay $121 more for a first violation and $242 more for second 

or subsequent violations. 

(2)(a), (b) and (c) None

DESCRIBE HOW SMALL BUSINESSES WERE INVOLVED IN THE DEVELOPMENT OF THESE RULE(S):

DMV sent draft rules to 14 organizations representing small businesses. No responses were received.

WAS AN ADMINISTRATIVE RULE ADVISORY COMMITTEE CONSULTED?  NO   IF NOT, WHY NOT?

DMV is amending the rule to align with federal regulation minimum requirements.

AMEND: 735-070-0170

RULE SUMMARY: DMV needs to amend this rule to align the civil penalty amounts provided in the rule with the 

federally required minimum amounts.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

735-070-0170 
Hearing Regarding Civil Penalty for Violation of an Out-of-Service Order or Notification of Violation ¶ 
 
(1) When a civil penalty is imposed under ORS 813.055, the operator of a commercial motor vehicle has a right to 
a contested case hearing in accordance with ORS 183.745. The amount of the civil penalty is not an issue at the 
hearing, and the administrative law judge presiding at the contested case hearing may not reduce the amount of 
the civil penalty.¶ 
(2) The schedule of civil penalties is assessed as follows:¶ 
(a) $3,740861 for the first violation of an out-of-service order or notice.¶ 
(b) $7,481723 for a second or subsequent violation of an out-of-service order or notice. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 184.619, 802.010, 813.055 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 813.055, 49 CFR �383.53, Appendix B to 49 CFR Part 386, paragraph (b)(1)
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