Oregon Liquor & Cannabis Commission

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

What is considered “hard cider” in Oregon?

“Hard cider” means an alcoholic beverage made from the fermentation of the
juice of apples or pears and that contains more than one-half of one percent of
alcohol by volume (ABV) but not more than 8.5 percent ABV and includes, but is
not limited to, flavored, sparkling, carbonated, or fortified cider.

What type of license do I need to produce hard cider in Oregon?
A Winery License is required to produce hard cider in Oregon.

What is the maximum alcohol by volume (ABV) of hard cider?
The maximum ABV for hard cider is 8.5%. Hard cider containing
8.51% ABV and higher is likely considered a wine.

For more information contact:

May hard cider be flavored? .
Yes, as long as the base product used is apple or pear juice. If the hard The Privilege Tax Team at:

cider contains no apple or pear juice, it is considered a wine. olce.privilegetaxonline@oregon.gov

How is hard cider taxed? When is the tax due?
Hard cider is taxed at the malt rate of $2.60 per barrel. The tax is due
when the hard cider is removed from bond or imported into Oregon.

Does hard cider qualify for the “small winery exemption” under ORS
473.050(5)?

Hard cider as defined under ORS 471.023 and ORS 471.015 DOES
NOT qualify for the small winery exemption.

What are the reporting requirements for hard cider? Where do I get
the forms?

Manufacturers and importers of hard cider are required to file monthly
reports with the OLCC, regardlessof activity. Current forms can be
found on the OLCC website:
https://www.oregon.gov/olcc/Pages/privilege tax.aspx

Do I need a privilege tax bond?

Yes, hard cider producers and importers typically have a privilege tax
liability and will not qualify for a privilege tax bond waiver. For more
information on the bond requirement please send an email to
olcc.bonds@oregon.gov .

OLCC's mission is to
support businesses, public
safety and community
livability through education
and the enforcement of

9079 SE McLoughlin Blvd, Portland, OR 97222 liquor and marijuana laws.

Phone: 503 872 5000 Fax: 503 872 5266 Toll free: 800 452 OLCC
oregon.gov/OLCC (Rev 5/3/22)


http://oregon.gov/OLCC
mailto:Olcc.privilegetax@oregon.gov
https://www.oregon.gov/olcc/Pages/privilege_tax.aspx
mailto:olcc.bonds@oregon.gov
mailto:olcc.privilegetaxonline@oregon.gov



