# WATERCRAFT RENTALS MOTORIZED SAFETY CHECKLIST

Oregon law requires that anyone who plans to operate this watercraft on their own, or who will be supervising other operators, must read and understand the information on this form or have an Oregon Boater Education Card. Anyone operating a rental watercraft who has not completed this checklist and/or does not have proof of completing this checklist on board when operating the rental watercraft will be in violation of state law and may be cited.

Rental Agency's Name \_\_\_\_\_

Operator's Name

Watercraft #

## LIFE JACKETS

I understand that children 12 and younger must wear a properly fitted, U.S. Coast Guard approved life jacket whenever the boat is underway, and it must be approved for the type of use.

I understand that life jackets need to be readily accessible at all times. I also understand that all life jackets must be properly fitted to the person, U.S. Coast Guard approved, and approved for the type of use.

## **NAVIGATION RULES**

When there is a possibility of a collision, it is my responsibility to slow down, stop, or steer away.

When two boats are approaching each other, I understand both boats should steer to their right (starboard).

When overtaking another, I understand I should pass on the left (port) side if safe. Otherwise I will need to pass on their right (starboard) side.

When crossing a path of another boat, I understand I need to yield to a boat on my right (starboard) side.



Date of Rental

## **BOAT CAPACITY**

I understand the maximum number of persons on this boat will not exceed \_\_\_\_\_ people. People, equipment, and supplies cannot exceed pounds.

### **OPERATION OF THE BOAT**

### EQUIPMENT

I understand the location of and how to use the following:

- whistle or manufacturer's horn;
- paddles or oars;
- bilge pump or bailer;
- throwable flotation device; and
- fire extinguisher.

## AGE RESTRICTION

I understand a person must be 16 or older to \_ operate any watercraft greater than 10hp alone.

I understand that youth age 12-15 must be under direct supervision of an adult (16 years of age) when operating a boat greater than 10hp.

I understand no person under age 12 may \_ operate any motorboat.





#### **OPERATION OF THE BOAT**

**OPERATOR RESPONSIBILITY** 

I understand how to safely start and stop the I understand that I am responsible for my wake engine on the watercraft. and any damage it may cause to other boats, docks, people, wildlife, or the environment. I understand to make sure no person is in the water within the vicinity of the watercraft before I will not operate while under the influence of starting and while running the engine. alcohol or drugs. I know it is dangerous and illegal and punishable by a fine of up to \$6,250 I understand shutting off the engine will not and up to one year in jail. immediately stop forward motion of the boat. I understand I need to be alert at all times and I understand how to use the gear-shift lever and avoid being distracted. throttle controls. If the watercraft is equipped with an engine ACCIDENT REPORTING cut-off switch lanyard, I should use it. I understand as the operator I MUST report any I will operate within my limits; I understand incident involving: aggressive maneuvers could cause loss of Damage to a boat and other property control, ejection, and/or collision. totaling \$2,000 or more; Injuries to any person requiring treatment I will not jump waves, wakes, or make beyond first aid; unnecessary sharp turns. Complete loss of any boat; or If the boat capsizes, I understand to stay with Death or disappearance. the boat, if safe to do so, and signal for help. I understand any incident resulting in death I will operate at safe speeds. or injury MUST be reported within 48 hours and incidents involving only damage must be I will keep a safe distance away from people, reported within 10 days to the Oregon State objects and other boats. Marine Board. I will operate at a slow-no wake speed (operating a boat at the slowest speed **TOWING RESPONSIBILITIES** necessary to maintain steerage and that reduces I understand that you must have a designated or eliminates waves that appear as white water observer (a person other than the driver of the behind the boat), within 200' of boat ramps, boat) to continuously observe the person(s) docks or as marked. being towed. I understand the area in which I will be operating and will observe all navigational I understand that the red or orange skier-down markers and signs. flag must be raised when skier is in the water. I understand I need to scan constantly for other I understand any towed watersport is prohibited watercraft, people, or objects in the water and from sunset to sunrise. be alert for conditions that limit my visibility DO YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT YOUR WATERCRAFT AND ITS OPERATION?

I have been instructed on and understand the rules and information provided in this watercraft rental safety checklist. I will follow all rental agency rules and boating laws when operating this watercraft.

OPERATOR	RENTAL AGENCY
Operator Name	Name of Rental Agency
Operator Signature	Name of Rental Agency Employee
Gender 🗌 Male 🔲 Female 🔲 X DOB	Issue Date Time/Date Due
Hair Color Eye Color	OR #

YOU MUST CARRY THIS ON BOARD WHEN OPERATING RENTED WATERCRAFT. PERSONS WHO OPERATE WATERCRAFT WITHOUT COMPLETING THE SAFETY CHECKLIST MAY BE CITED.