WATERCRAFT RENTALS

PWC SAFETY CHECKLIST



Oregon law requires that anyone who plans to operate this watercraft on their own, or who will be supervising other operators, must read and understand the information on this form or have an Oregon Boater Education Card. Anyone operating a rental watercraft who has not completed this checklist or does not have proof of completing this checklist on board when operating the rental watercraft will be in violation of state law and may be cited.

Rental Agency's Name	
Operator's Name	Date of Birth
Watercraft #	Date of Rental
LIFE JACKETS	BOAT SAFE
I understand that the operator and passengers are required to wear their life jacket at all times. I understand that children 12 and younger must wear a properly fitted, U.S. Coast Guard approved life jacket whenever the boat is underway, and it must be approved for the type of use.	I will operate within my limits; I understand aggressive maneuvers could cause loss of control, ejection, and/or collision. I understand that it is illegal to jump waves and wakes. I understand Oregon law states that you must not operate a PWC: • closer than 200' behind a water skier or other towed device; and • in excess of 10 mph when approaching within 100' of another powerboat or sail boat underway.
OPERATION OF THE PWC	
I understand the maximum number of persons on this boat will not exceed people.	
I understand the location of and how to use the whistle or manufactured horn and fire extinguisher.	I will operate at a slow-no wake speed (operating a boat at the slowest speed necessary to maintain steerage and that reduces or eliminates waves that appear as white water behind the boat): • within 200' of a swimmer, surfer, diving flag, bank or wading angler; dock, swim float, ramp, pier, marina, floating home, or boathouse; • within 100' of any anchored or non-motorized boat; and • within 200' of shoreline on all lakes and
I understand you are required to be 16 or older to operate the PWC alone.	
I understand that youth age 12-15 are required to be under direct supervision and onboard with an adult (18 years of age) when operating the PWC.	
I understand that no person under age 12 may	

reservoirs.



operate the PWC.

OPERATOR RESPONSIBILITY When there is a possibility of a collision, it is my responsibility to slow down, stop, or steer away. I understand that I am responsible for my wake and any damage it may cause other boats, When two boats are approaching each other, I docks, people, wildlife, or the environment. understand both boats should steer to their right side (starboard). I will not chase, harass, or disturb wildlife. When overtaking another, I understand I should I will not operate while under the influence of pass on the left (port) side if safe. Otherwise I alcohol or drugs. I know it is dangerous and will need to pass on their right (starboard) side. illegal and punishable by a fine of up to \$6,250 When crossing a path of another boat, I and up to one year in jail. understand I need to yield to a boat on my I understand the area in which I will be right (starboard) side. operating and will observe all navigational **ACCIDENT REPORTING** markers and signs. I understand I need to scan constantly for other I understand as the operator I MUST report any watercraft, people, or objects in the water and incident involving: be alert for conditions that limit my visibility. Damage to a boat and other property totaling \$2,000 or more; **OPERATING THE PWC** Injuries to any person requiring treatment beyond first aid; I understand how to safely start and stop the Complete loss of any boat; or engine on the PWC. Death or disappearance. I understand to make sure no person is in I understand any incident resulting in death the water within the vicinity of the boat before or injury MUST be reported within 48 hours starting and while running the engine. and incidents involving only damage must be I understand shutting off the engine will not stop reported within 10 days to the Oregon State the forward motion of the PWC and will result in Marine Board. loss of steering. **TOWING RESPONSIBILITIES** I understand how to use the throttle to control speed and that you need throttle to steer. I understand in order to tow a water-skier, I must use the engine cut-off switch lanyard at the watercraft must be designed to carry the all times. operator, an observer (a person other than the operator), and person(s) being towed. If the PWC capsizes, I need to swim to the rear of the PWC and turn it upright in the proper I understand that the red or orange skier-down direction; then board from the rear. flag must be raised when skier is in the water. I understand any towed watersport is prohibited DO YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT YOUR from sunset to sunrise. WATERCRAFT AND ITS OPERATION? I have been instructed on and understand the rules and information provided in this watercraft rental safety checklist. I will follow all rental agency rules and boating laws when operating this watercraft. **OPERATOR RENTAL AGENCY** Operator Name Name of Rental Agency Operator Signature Name of Rental Agency Employee Gender Male Female X DOB Hair Color _____ Eye Color ____

OPERATION OF THE PWC

NAVIGATION RULES