
Oregon Certified Medicolegal Death Investigator Training Program 

A comprehensive medicolegal death investigator training program designed to 
offer professional development to death investigators throughout the state. 

Elements of training: 

• 40-hour course of initial instruction

• 8-hour in-person clinical externship at the Oregon State Medical Examiner facility in Clackamas for
additional medicolegal death investigation skill development

• 12 hours of annual continuing education to maintain current skills

Instruction: Students participate in a 40-hour course of instruction presented by subject matter experts 
and designed to introduce the National Institute of Justice (NIJ) guidelines for death scene investigation. 
These guidelines are tempered to reflect the Oregon medical examiner system and both state and local 
practices. Students receive specific instruction on Oregon’s medical examiner law, forensic pathology, 
death scene documentation, physical and circumstantial evidence collection, use of the NIJ standards in 
a ‘real- world’ setting, and proper documentation of findings in the medical examiner case management 
system. Students gain valuable experience in conducting body examinations, procuring biological 
specimens for toxicology analysis, report reviews and direct interaction with the physician medical 
examiner. Students must pass a written examination at the conclusion of the week-long course. Upon 
successful completion of the 40-hour training, examination, and in-person externship, students are 
awarded certification as Oregon Certified Medicolegal Death Investigators. 

NOTE: This course provides training specific to medicolegal death investigation in Oregon.  
The OCMDI program does not authorize a medicolegal death investigator (MDI) to perform death 
investigations within any specific county.  
Successful completion and certification as an OCMDI must be followed by an MDI appointment made by 
your county medical examiner, as per ORS 146.085(1). 

12 hours annual continuing education: Each Oregon Certified Medicolegal Death Investigator is required 
to complete 12 hours of approved continuing education annually to maintain their OCMDI certification. 
This process ensures that each investigator is continuing to learn and expand their knowledge and skills 
in the ever-changing field of death investigation. 

Who should take this course? 

- County level physician medical examiners and medicolegal death investigators
whose primary responsibility is the medicolegal investigation of death in their
community.

- Police officers who have a dual role at the death scene that includes both law
enforcement concerns and investigation of death for the county medical examiner.

- District attorneys with a common interest in a comprehensive death investigation
program.

Who should not take this course? 

- Police officers/supervisors who do not routinely serve as a medicolegal death 
investigator for their county.

- Detectives/criminalists seeking specific training in homicide investigation.

- Public safety professionals who are not directly aligned with a county medical 

examiner program.



Oregon Certified Medicolegal Death Investigator Training Program 
Student Application 

September 09, 2024 – September 13, 2024 

Please complete and return this application to the Oregon State Medical Examiner’s Office via e-mail to 
medical.examiner@osp.oregon.gov. 

Application deadline is June 17, 2024.  
Accepted students will be notified after the application window closes. 
 Following the deadline, admitted students will receive notification of acceptance and additional class 
information via email, by Friday June 28th, 2024.  

Applicant Information: 

Name:  

Agency Affiliation: 

Worksite Address: 

City/State/ZIP Code: 

Telephone (please provide your best contact number):

Email address: 

County you (will) serve as a death investigator: 

Describe your title & intended role in Oregon medicolegal death investigation: 

Course Information: The course is held at the Oregon State Police – State Medical 
Examiner’s Office located at 13309 SE 84th Ave., Clackamas, OR 97015. This course is not offered outside 
of this facility due to the number of instructors involved and the teaching methods used.  
Hours of instruction are 08:00 to 17:30 each day. 

Following the 40-hour training course, all students are required to schedule and attend an 8-hour 
externship, in-person at the State Medical Examiner’s Clackamas autopsy facility (same address as 
above). The externships are offered on Mondays, one student per externship day. Externship must be 
completed no later than July 28, 2025.  

Tuition is free; however, all travel and related expenses are the responsibility of the student or their 
agency.  

Students will receive a digital copy of the text The Oregon Medicolegal Death Investigator: A Guide to 
Certified Training, along with other written materials, before the first day of instruction.  

PLEASE NOTE: We will confirm receipt of each application sent to 
medical.examiner@osp.oregon.gov within 3 business days.  
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