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Cracking Down on 
Clients' Trust Account 
Law, Rule Violations
Gene Bentley, Real Estate Commissioner

In the past, the Oregon Real 
Estate Agency has taken an 
educational stance when it finds 

some of most common violations of 
real estate license law pertaining to 

clients’ trust accounts and security deposit 
accounts.

Not anymore.
The Agency may choose to issue at mini-

mum a reprimand for these violations. The 
Agency can also issue suspensions and re-
vocations should a case warrant such an ac-
tion. All disciplinary actions remain on the 
license record for 25 years and are printed 
in the Oregon Real Estate News-Journal.

The Agency is taking this firmer approach 
because it continues to see the same types 
of violations despite many years of targeted 
continuing education and outreach.

So, how does a property manager or 
principal broker avoid a disciplinary action?

Report the opening and closing of 
clients’ trust accounts and security 

deposit accounts. (ORS 696.245)
Within 10 business days of opening a cli-
ent’s trust account or security deposit ac-
count, you must:
•	 Prepare and have a bank representative 

sign the Notice of Clients’ Trust Ac-
count and Authorization to Examine 
Form.

•	 Log in to your personal eLicense ac-
count and add the trust account. This 
will include uploading the completed 
the Notice of Clients’ Trust Account and 
Authorization to Examine Form.

Within 10 business days of closing a 
clients’ trust account or security deposit 
account, you must log in to your personal 
eLicense account and record the closing of 

Please see CTA Violations on page 2

www.rea.state.or.us
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/Brokerage/CTA/Documents/Notice_of_CTA_Auth_to_Examine.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/Brokerage/CTA/Documents/Notice_of_CTA_Auth_to_Examine.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/Brokerage/CTA/Documents/Notice_of_CTA_Auth_to_Examine.pdf
https://orea.elicense.irondata.com/
https://orea.elicense.irondata.com/
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Views from the Board

Reflections on My Tenure 
on the Real Estate Board
Marcia Edwards, Oregon Real Estate Board Member

I tried to be cool, as it was the first 
meeting of my Chairmanship of 
the Oregon Real Estate Board. But 
it was with trepidation that I took 
the gavel into my hands and called 
the meeting to order at the Oregon 
Real Estate Agency (OREA) con-
ference room table in Salem on 
February 6, 2017. Roberts Rules of 
Order were in play, as well as the 
requirements of all public meeting 
laws and rules. With the strong sup-
port of staff preparation, and fellow 
Board members’ engagement, we 

got through it!
The legacy of the Board chairmanship 

includes so many great real estate industry 
minds, most recently Byron Hendricks 
(2015) and Chris Hermanski (2016). We 
all serve at the will of the Governor of the 
State of Oregon for four-year terms. The 
Board is comprised of seven industry mem-
bers (licensees), and two ‘public members’ 
(non-licensees).

The typical meeting begins with reading 
of the rules of public meetings and an ex-
planation of the make-up of the Board and 
the scope of our role with the Agency. We 
have five primary duties as a Board: 
1.	 Providing advice to the Real Estate 

Commissioner and the Governor’s 
office regarding real estate industry 
matters.

2.	 Reviewing proposed rulemaking and 
provide recommendations.

3.	 Reviewing and approving or denying 
experience waiver requests for ap-
plicants for a principal broker license.

4.	 Making recommendations about the 
license examination process.

5.	 Approving or denying a person as a 
continuing education provider if that 
person does not qualify under the 

statute. 
I struck the gavel for the last time as 

Chairperson, closing the meeting held at the 
Holiday Inn Express in Troutdale, Oregon, 
on December 4, 2017. On February 5th, Jef 
Farley opened the meeting -- likely much 
more composed than I had been one year 
earlier! 

During my tenure on the Board, I 
learned some eye-opening facts about the 
inner-workings of the Oregon Real Estate 
Agency. 
•	 No State of Oregon general funds are 

used to support the OREA’s budget.
•	 The last increase in license fees (prior 

to 2018) was in 1997. 
•	 The Agency has downsized the Agen-

cy’s facility footprint by 44%, reflect-
ing great stewardship of the funding 
provided.

•	 The Agency has reduced other ex-
penses, including printing and paper, 
by moving most services online.

As a practitioner in the industry, I was 
encouraged by reading today’s OREA 
mission statement: “The mission of the 
Oregon Real Estate Agency is to provide 
quality protection for Oregon consumers of 
real estate, escrow, and land development 
services, balanced with a professional envi-
ronment conducive to a healthy real estate 
market.” It has been my experience that the 
OREA staff and managers, and the Board 
members, diligently strive to promote a 
professional environment conducive to a 
healthy real estate market. 

Experience an Oregon Real Estate Board 
meeting first-hand in a location near you. 
This year, the Board will meet in Hood 
River, Brookings, Pendleton, Bend, Port-
land, and Salem. For dates and times, go 
to: http://www.oregon.gov/rea/about_us/
Pages/Real_Estate_Board.aspx 

Marcia Edwards

“Views from the 
Board” features the 
opinions of Real Es-
tate Board members. 
The views expressed 
are not necessarily 
those of the Oregon 
Real Estate News- 
Journal, the Oregon 
Real Estate Agency 
or Agency staff.

http://www.oregon.gov/rea/about_us/Pages/Real_Estate_Board.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/about_us/Pages/Real_Estate_Board.aspx
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the trust account. Note: You must keep all 
records from the trust account for 6 years.

Reconcile every clients’ trust 
account and security deposit 

account monthly. (OAR 863-015-
0275, OAR 863-025-0028)

You must conduct a 3-way reconciliation 
of each clients’ trust account and security 
deposit account every month. Although you 
don’t have to use the Agency’s reconcili-
ation form, a reconciliation must have the 
components found on the form. The recon-
ciliation and all supporting documentation 
must be retained and available for review 
by the Agency upon request.

Disburse earned property 
management fees from clients’ trust 

accounts. (OAR 863-025-0027)
You must pay yourself any earned fees that 
come from the clients’ trust account at least 
once a month, unless there is a different 
schedule set out in the property manage-
ment agreement. A disbursement can only 
occur if sufficient funds are available.

Keep money for your personal 
rentals separate from money for 

rentals owned by others.  
(ORS 696.241)

Don’t run money for your personal rent-
als through a clients’ trust account. The 
purpose of a clients’ trust account is to 
maintain and account for the money of 
other people. Keeping money for your own 
rental properties in that same account is 
considered commingling, which is against 
the law. 

Disburse earned interest as 
required. (ORS 696.241, OAR 863-

015-0257, OAR 863-025-0027)
If you have a clients’ trust account or 
security deposit account that earns inter-
est for your benefit, it must be disbursed 
within 10 calendar days from the date of 
the bank statement on which the interest 
first appears.

CTA Violations 
Continued from page 1

Maintain sufficient credit balance in 
owners’ and tenants’ ledgers.  

(OAR 863-025-0010, OAR 863-025-
0027)

You can’t disburse funds from a clients’ trust 
account or security deposit account unless 
there is enough money in the correspond-
ing owner’s or tenant’s ledger to maintain a 
positive balance.

Make sure there is a positive balance 
in receipts and disbursements 

journal or check register at end of 
day. (OAR 863-025-0040)

Although the receipts and disbursements 
journal or check register for a clients’ trust 
account can show a negative balance during 
the course of a day, it must have a positive 
balance by the close of day.

Make sure security deposits are in a 
security deposit account. (OAR 863-

025-0025)
Unles s  a  p rop -
erty management 
ag reemen t ,  and 
the  correspond-
ing lease or rental 
agreement, state 
that a security de-
posit will be held 
by the owner, secu-
rity deposit funds 
must be deposited 
within five bank-
ing days of receipt 
into a security de-
posit account. This 
is a special clients’ 
trust account dif-
ferent from your 
regu la r  c l i en t s ’ 
trust account; se-
curity deposit ac-
counts can only 
hold security de-
posits and earned 
interest per OAR 
863-025-0025(8).

http://www.oregon.gov/rea/Brokerage/CTA/Documents/Trust_Account_Reconciliation.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/rea/Brokerage/CTA/Documents/Trust_Account_Reconciliation.pdf
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10 Most Common Issues Found in Mail-In Reviews

Trust Account Reconciliations
All requirements for property management 
clients' trust accounts and security deposit 

accounts can be found 
in OAR 863-025-
0025 through 863-
025-0028. 

If you are a broker 
or principal broker, 
and you are keeping 
a clients’ trust account 
that holds funds for 
transactions involv-
ing the sale, purchase, 
lease option, or ex-
change of real prop-
erty, you will find 
all requirements in 
OAR 863-015-0255, 
863-015-0265, and 
863-015-0275.

All records must 
be kept for 6 years.

Here are the 10 
problems the Agency 
finds most often with 
trust accounts during 
random Reconcilia-
tion Mail-In Reviews:

1.	 Clients' trust accounts and security de-
posit clients’ trust accounts are not being 
reconciled within 30 days of the date of 
the bank statement, and property manag-
ers or principal brokers are not review-
ing and approving each reconciliation.  

2.	 “Trust Account Reconciliations” are 
not being completed in a single recon-
ciliation document showing all three 
required components for balancing 
purposes. 

3.	 Personal or business funds are being 
commingled with clients’ funds. A 
clients’ trust account is an account that 
holds other people's funds. Most com-
monly these would be rents collected 
or funds held for the owner to complete 
repairs or maintenance on properties 
managed by the licensee. Licensees may 
not hold their personal or business funds 

in a clients’ trust account. A security 
deposit account is a separate clients' 
trust account that holds tenants’ security 
deposits and fees only. 

4.	 Negative balances are being carried in 
the check register or receipts disburse-
ment journal, and in owner’s and secu-
rity deposit ledgers. 

5.	 Clients’ trust accounts are not being 
balanced to the bank statement with 
both the check register and the owner’s 
or security deposits ledger. (Some soft-
ware packages can balance with the 
bank statement, but cannot provide a 
true 3-way trust account reconciliation 
as required.)

6.	 Corrective actions are not being taken 
to resolve adjustments made in a recon-
ciliation prior to the following month’s 
reconciliation. 

7.	 Separate owner’s ledgers are not being 
prepared and maintained for each prop-
erty management agreement, record-
ing all funds received and disbursed. 
Monthly statements are not being sent 
to each owner monthly as required. For 
an owner’s ledger, please reference OAR 
863-025-0055. 

8.	 The tenants’ name, amount held per ten-
ant, and the date funds were received are 
not provided with the reconciliations. 
Security deposit ledgers are not showing 
an ending balance that equals the bank 
statement and check register ending 
balances. For a security deposits ledger, 
please reference OAR 863-025-0030. 

9.	 Check registers or receipt and disburse-
ment journals are often not submitted 
with complete data as required. Please 
read OAR 863-025-0040 and record 
each transaction with either the owner’s 
identifying name or code and the tenant 
from whom the funds represent. 

10.	All funds in a clients’ trust account are 
not being identified with separate reports 
that detail the individual deposits or dis-
bursements when there are aggregated 
transactions per OAR 863-025-0040(6). 
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Keep Up with Trust Accounts Every Month

3-Way Reconciliation 
Video Available

Check out the Oregon Real Estate Agency’s video on how to 
complete a 3-way reconciliation on YouTube. 

Property managers and principal brokers must conduct a 3-way reconciliation on each 
clients’ trust accounts and security deposit accounts monthly. 

Different than the standard reconciliation that most software programs offer, a 3-way 
reconciliation has the additional component of owner ledgers or tenant ledgers, de-
pending on the type of account.

Administrative Actions
The Oregon Real Estate Agency is required 
by law to publish disciplinary actions. The 
Agency has not processed any actions since 
the publication of the October issue of the 

Oregon Real Estate News-Journal. 
The Agency anticipates that there will be 

disciplinary actions to publish in the next 
issue.

93% Renewed In Time in January

Business Renewal Update
The first month of Registered Business 
Name renewals are complete. 398 out of 
426 business registrations were renewed by 
January 31. 

Business registrations that weren’t re-
newed were voided, and all licensees associ-
ated with those businesses were inactivated. 
Inactive licensees cannot conduct profes-
sional real estate activity.

A principal broker or property manager of 
a voided business who wants to re-register 
a business must reapply for a Registered 
Business Name, pay the $300 fee, and pay 
a $10 transfer fee for each licensee associ-
ated with the business.

As of February 21, 233 of 365 business 
registrations have been renewed.

As a reminder, any real estate company 
or business with licensees conducting pro-
fessional real estate activity, including real 
estate licensees operating independently 
under their own name, must register the 
business name with the Oregon Real Estate 
Agency. This is separate from any registra-
tion required by the Corporation Division of 
the Secretary of State. 

Registered Business Names must be re-
newed with the Agency once a year, starting 
in 2018. This is in addition to any renewal 
requirement by the Corporation Division of 
the Secretary of State. 

Note: Look up your Registered Business 
Name’s expiration date by searching for the 
business in our License Lookup.

https://www.youtube.com/watch%3Fv%3DReqQv8DdAQs
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOyh6h9EdPaYYwexggpsx3g
https://orea.elicense.irondata.com/Lookup/LicenseLookup.aspx
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CELEBRATING
99 Years of Real Estate 
License Law in Oregon

On February 14, 1919, the Oregon Legislature passed the first effective real estate 
license law in the United States. House Bill 425 required anyone engaged in the 
business of real estate brokerage to be licensed by the Insurance Commissioner.

To obtain a broker license in 1919, an applicant had to pay an annual fee of $5, fur-
nish a $1000 bond, and provide a recommendation signed by 10 property owners 
certifying that the applicant was “honest, trustworthy, and of good moral character.” 

A total of 1537 brokers were licensed that year.

A lot has changed over the years: 
•	 Real estate licensing is now regulated by the Oregon Real Estate Agency, led by 

the Real Estate Commissioner.  
•	 The Agency issues broker, principal broker, and property manager licenses.
•	 Real estate license application and renewal fees are $300. 
•	 Background checks are used to determine the trustworthiness of license applicants. 

The Agency is looking forward to our 100th license law anniversary next year.

Agency Participates in 
Food Drive
The staff of the Oregon Real Estate Agency is 
participating in the annual Governor’s State Em-
ployees Food Drive. It is the largest food drive 
benefiting the Oregon Food Bank Network. 

During the month of February, Agency staff 
will raise money by holding a spaghetti lunch, 
a potato bar, and a silent auction. Our staff 
members will also directly contribute money and 
shelf-stable foods.

In addition, we are grateful to have Real Es-
tate Board members make monetary donations. 

We hope to beat our 2017 contribution, 
which equaled 2432 meals for hungry Or-
egonians.
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