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: \BEFORE THE PLUMBING BOARD OF THE STATE OF OREGON

A | )
IN THE MATTER OF: ') NOTICE OF PROPOSED ASSESSMENT
‘ | | ") OF A CIVIL PENALTY AND FINAL
HORIZON RESTORATION, A LIMITED ) ORDER ON DEFAULT
LIABILITY CORPORATION )
. A ) .
| ) CASE NO. 2013-0127
RESPONDENT ) ‘ -
’ ) FINAL ORDER
J .

As of: Qanuary 29,204

Under ORS 455.895(1)(a) and OAR 918-001-0036, the Oregon Plumbmg Board (Board)
proposes to take disciplinary action against Respondent in the form of civil penalties totaling $6,000
for violation of Building Codes Division statutes and rules as follows: .

FINDINGS OF FACT and CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

(1) On or about June 13, 2013, at 33994 Seven Oaks Drive, Scappoose, Oregon, Respondent
installed a drain pipe for a shower, for the account of another, w1thout a plumbing contractor’s
license, in violation of ORS 447 040(1). :

. (2) Respondent made the installation at 33994 Seven Oaks Drive, Scappoose, without first
obtaining a plumbing permit, in violation of OAR 918-785-0200(1)(a). -

(-3) On or a‘bout June 13, 2013, Russell Stone was employed by Respondent. At no relevant
time did_ Russell Stone possess a valid journeyman plumber license.

(4) On or about June 13, 2013, at 33994 Seven Oaks Drive, Scappoose, Oregon, Respondent
permitted or suffered Russell Stone to install a drain pipe for a shower in violation of ORS
693.030(2)(a)- '

(5 Installihg a drain pipe for a shower is plumbing as defined under ORS 447.010(6).
'WHAT THE LAW SAYS
(1) Under ORS 693.030(2)(a), a licensed plumbing contractor or a person requlred under

ORS 447.010 to 447.156 to be licensed as a plumbing contractor may not permit or suffer any
person to work as a journeyman plumber who does not hold a valid journeyman plumber license.
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(2) Under ORS 693 030(1), a person may not engage in the trade of journeyman plumber

w1thout a _]oumeyman plumber llcense

(3) Under OAR 918-785- 0200(1)(a) no person, firm, or corporatron shall do plumbing or
effective October 1, 2001, medical gas systems work in the State of Oregon without first obtaining a

I plumblng perrmt or minor label when required and paying the appropnate fees to the authorized
: perrmt 1ssu1ng agency

(4) Under ORS 447 040(1) a person may not work as a plumbmg contractor or advertise or
purport to be a plumbing contractor, and a member or employee of a firm, partnership or

|| corporation may not engage in ' the layout or superintending of plumbing installations, without

having obtained the plumbing contractor license required under ORS 447.010 to 447.156 as

. provrded by State Plumbrng Board rules adopted under ORS 455.117.1 _

ORDER :

Under ORS 455. 895(1)(b) and OAR 918-001- 0036 the Board assesses the followmg
sanctlons _ . ,

(l) a $1 000 civil penalty for v1olat1ng OAR 918- 785- 0200(1)(a)
(2) a $2 000 ClVll penalty for v1olat1ng ORS 693. 030(2)(a)

(3) a $3 000 civil penalty for v1olat1ng ORS 447, 040(1)

'The assessed penaltles total $6 000 o

. NOTICE OF RIGHT TO HEARING

Respondent is entrtled to.a hearing as provided by the Administrative Procedures Act, Oregon ‘
Revised Statutes, Chapter 183. If Respondent requests a hearing, the request must be in writing and
postmarked no later than 20- days from the date of service. If the Notice was served on Respondent
in person, the date of service is the date Respondent received the Notice. If the Notice was served

|| through the mail, the date of service is the day the Notice was mailed, not the day it was received by

the Respondent If a request for hearing is not received within the 20-day period, Respondent’s

right to a hearing shall be considered waived unless the failure to request a hearing was beyond

Respondent’s reasonable control. Hearing requests shall be mailed to Building Codes Division,
Enforcement Section, P.O. Box 14470, Salem, Oregon, 97309. . ~

"

' OAR 918-030 -0010(8) -states that for purposes of ORS 447. 040 479. 620 480.630 and any other hcense regulated by
ORS chapter 455, "engaging in the business" means to advertise or solicit, contract or agree.to. perform, or to perform,
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Respondent has the right to be represented by legal counsel. ORS 183.457 provides that a
corporation may be represented by an authorized representative at the hearing. If Respondent
requests a hearing the Board and Director will notify Respondent of the time and place of the
hearing. The Board and Director will give Respondent information on the procedures, right of
representation and other rights of parties relating to the conduct of the heanng before
commencement of the hearing.

| NOTICE TO ACTIVE DUTY SERVICE MEMBERS

Active duty service members have aright to stay proeeedings under the Federal Service Members
Civil Relief Act. Contact the Oregon State Bar at 800-452-8260 or the Oregon Military Department
at 800-452-7500 for more information. If you need help finding legal assistance, visit the United

States Armed Forces Legal Assistance Legal Services Locator website at
’ http://legalassistance.law.af.mil/content/locator.php. ‘

" NOTICE OF FINAL ORDER

If Respondent does not request a hearing w1th1n 20 days, ‘this Notice will become a final order,

| effective 21 days after it was served on Respondent. If Respondent does not request a hearing or

fails to appear at a scheduled heanng, the Division’ s ﬁle on the matter becomes record.

Respondent is entrtled to judicial review of this Order Judrcral review may be obtained by filing a

'.petltron for review with the Oregon Court of Appeals within 60 days after the final order is served
upon Respondent See ORS 183.482. If the Order was served on Respondent in person, the date of

service is the date Respondent received the Order. If the Order was served through the mail, the
date of service is the day the Order was mailed, not the day it was received by the Respondent. If
Respondent does not file a petition for judicial review within the 60 day time period, Respondent

| will lose the right to appeal. The informational phone number for the Oregon Court of Appeals is

503 986- 5555
o

Dated this 7 day of jm\l\d‘ N ,2014

‘ Plu_mbi‘ng Board

State of Oregon - | o : . - | \
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