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BEFORE THE STATE PLUMBING BOARD OF THE STATE OF OREGON

)
IN THE MATTER OF: ) NOTICE OF PROPOSED ASSESSMENT

_ ) OF A CIVIL PENALTY AND FINAL
RANDY M. HAGEDORN, AN INDIVIDUAL ) ORDER ON DEFAULT

FINAL OF&DER

CASE NO. C2014- KZ!‘

" RESPONDENT

S N N o’

Under Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 455.895(1)(a) and Oregon Administrative Rules
(OAR) 918-001-0036, the State Plumbing Board (Board) proposes disciplinary action against
Respondent in the form of civil penalties totaling $6,000 for violations of Building Codes
Division statutes or rules as follows:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. At no relevant time did Respondent possess a plumbing contractor’s license.

2. At no relevant time did Respondent possess a journeyman plumber license.

3. On or about May 28 through May 30, 2014, at 35480 E. Division Road, St. Helens,
Oregon, Respondent installed water and sewer plumbing lines on commercial property,
for the account of another, without holding an Oregon plumbing contractor’s license.

4. On or about May 28 through May 30, 2014, at 35480 E. Division Road, St. Helens,
Oregon, Respondent installed water and sewer plumbing lines on commercial property, -
for the account of another, without having an Oregon journeyman plumber license.

5." On or about May 28 through May 30, 2014, at 35480 E. Division Road, St. Helens,
Oregon, Respondent installed water and sewer plumbing lines on commercial property,
for the account of another, without first obtaining a plumbing permit.

APPLICABLE LAW

1. ORS 447.010(6) defines plumbing to include the art of installing, altering or repairing in
or adjacent to or serving building pipes, fixtures and other apparatus for bringing in the
water supply and removing liquid and water-carried waste, including the water supply
distributing pipes.

2. Under ORS 693.030(1), a person may not engage in the trade of journeyman plumber
without a journeyman plumber license.

3. Under ORS 447.040(1), a person may not work as a plumbing contractor, or advertise or
purport to be a plumbing contractor, without having obtamed the plumbing contractor
license.
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4. Under OAR 918-785-0200(1)(a), no-person, firm, or corporation shall make plumbing
installations without first obtaining a plumbing permit or minor label when required and
paying the appropriate fees to the authorized permit issuing agency. ‘

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
1. Installing water and sewer lines is plumbing as defined in ORS 447.010(6).

2. By engaging in the business of making a plumbing installation on a commercial property
at 35480 E. Division Road, St. Helens, Oregon, for the account of another, without a
valid Oregon plumbing contractor license, Respondent violated ORS 447.040(1).

3. By installing water and sewer lines on commercial property at 35480 E. Division Road,
St. Helens, Oregon, for the account of another, without a valid Oregon journeyman
plumber license, Respondent violated ORS 693.030(1).

4. By installing water and sewer lines on commercial property at 35480 E. Division Road,
St. Helens, Oregon, prior to obtaining a plumbing permit, Respondent violated OAR 918-
785-0200(1)(a). '

ORDER

Under ORS 455.895(1)(a) and OAR 918-001-0036, the State Plumbing Board assesses
the following:

1. a $3,000 civil penalty for violating ORS 447.040(1)
2: a $2,000 civil penalty for violating ORS 693.030(1)
3. a$1,000 civil penalty for violating OAR 91 8-785-0200(1)(a)

The civil penalties assessed total $6,000.
NOTICE OF RIGHT TO HEARING

Respondent is entitled to a hearing as provided by the Administrative Procedures Act,
Oregon Revised Statutes, chapter 183. If Respondent requests a hearing, the request must be in
writing and postmarked no later than 20 days from the service date. If this notice was served to
Respondent in person, the service date is the date Respondent received this notice. If this notice
was served through the mail, the service date is the day the notice was mailed, not the day

Respondent received it.

If a request for hearing is not received within 20 days, Respondent’s right to a hearing is
considered waived. Mail hearing requests to Building Codes Division, Enforcement Section,
P.O. Box 14470, Salemn, Oregon, 97309.

Respondent has the right to be represented by legal counsel. ORS 183.457 provides that a

corporation may be represented by an authorized representative at the hearing. If Respondent
requests a hearing, Requndent will be notified of the time and place of the hearing and be given
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information on procedures, right of representation and other rights of parties relating to the
hearing before it begins.

NOTICE TO ACTIVE DUTY SERVICE MEMBERS

Active duty service members have a right to stay proceedings under the federal
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act. Contact the Oregon State Bar at 800-452-8260 or the Oregon
Military Department at 800-452-7500 for more information. If you need help finding legal
assistance, visit the United States Armed Forces Legal Assistance Legal Services Locator
website at http://legalassistance.law.af.mil/content/locator.ph .

NOTICE OF FINAL ORDER

If Respondent does not request a hearing within 20 days, withdraws a hearing request,
notifies the Director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services (Director) or the
administrative law judge that they will not appear, or fails to appear at a scheduled hearing, the
Director will issue a Final Order by Default. If the Director issues a Final Order by Default, it
designates the file, including any materials submitted by Respondent that relate to this matter, as
the record for purpose of proving a prima facie case. ‘

Respondent is entitled to judicial review of any final order issued in the matter of this
Notice of a Proposed Assessment of a Civil Penalty. Judicial review may be obtained by filing a
petition for review with the Oregon Court of Appeals within 60 days after the Final Order is
served. See ORS 183.482. If the order was served in person, the service date is the date
Respondent received the order. If the order was served through the mail, the service date is the
day the order was mailed, not the day it was received by Respondent. If Respondent does not file
a petition for judicial review within 60 days, Respondent will lose the right to appeal. The phone

number for the Oregon Court of Appeals is 503-986-5553.

Dated this 6/*4' day of %MM%/// 2014

@MM{Q /U,Mm\/ for

Chair
State Plumbing Board
State of Oregon
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