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OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
CHAPTER 801, DIVISION 040 -- BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION

Basic Requirements
801-040-0010

(1) Biennial CPE requirement _for Active licensees. Each biennial renewal
period, certified public accountants and public accountants must report satisfactory
evidence of having completed 80 hours of continuing professional education (CPE)
unless such requirement is waived by the Beoard under ORS 673.165 and OAR 801-
040-0150. The 80-hour CPE requirement must be completed as follows:

(a) At least 24 of the required 80 CPE hours must be completed in each year of
the renewal period. Hours carried forward from the previous reporting period (carry-
forward hours) may not be used to meet the minimum annual requirement.

(b) CPE hours must be completed during the two-year period immediately
preceding the renewal date, except for carry-forward hours described in subsection (c}
of this rule.

(c) A maximum of 20 CPE hours in technical subjects may be carried forward
from one reporting period o the next and may be used in partial fulfillment of the 80
hour requirement.

(2) Ethics CPE requirement. CPE hours in professional conduct and ethics are
included in the 80 hour requirement for each renewal period.

| (a) All active licensees who are applying for the first license renewal sormis
in Oregon are required fo complete and report at least four hours of CPE in a
professional conduct and ethics program that meets the requirements of section three
(3) of this rule.

(b) Licensees who are not renewing for the first time and whose principal
place of business is located in another jurisdiction may meet the ethics requirement
of this rule by demonstrating compliance with the other jurisdiction's professional
conduct and ethics CPE requirement. The number of CPE Ethics hours that meets the
Ethics requirement of such other jurisdiction will be accepted in Oregon, so long as the
other jurisdiction requires the licensee to complete an ethics program as a condition of
renewal.

(c) An active licensee who is not renewing for the first time and whose
principal place of business is in another jurisdiction that does not have a
professional conduct and ethics CPE requirement must complete the ethics requirement
described in subsection (2)(d) of this rule.

(d) All other active licensees are required fo complete and report four hours of
CPE in professional conduct and ethics with each biennial renewal application, which
may be satisfied by any ethics program that meets the general CPE requirements
described in OAR 801-040-0030.

(3) CPE ethics programs. CPE programs in professional conduct and ethics
required by subsection (2)(a) of this rule are eligible for CPE credit if the program is
offered by a sponsor registered with the Board and includes information pertaining to
each of the following topics:

(a) Oregon Administrative Rules and Oregon Revised Statutes pertaining to the
practice of public accountancy;

Division 040
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OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
CHAPTER 801, DIVISION 040 -- BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

(b} Examples of issues or situations that require an understanding of statutes,
rules and case law relevant to all licensees.

(c} The Code of Professional Conduct adopted by the Board and set forth in OAR
Chapter 801, Division 030; and

(d) Review of recent case law pertaining to ethics and professional
responsibilities for the accounting profession.

{4) Biennial CPE Requirements for Inactive Licensees. A licensee who is
granted inactive status must:

{a) Obtain 32 hours of qualified continuing professional education during a two-
year renewal period;

(A) A maximum of 8 hours may be in non-technical subjects:

(b) Four hours of ethics must be taken.

(b} CPE programs in professional conduct and ethics required by subsection
{4){c) of this rule are eligible for CPE credit if the program is offered by a sponsor
registered with the Board and includes information pertaining to each of the following
topics:

{A) Oregon Administrative Rules and Oregon Revised Statutes pertaining to the
practice of public accountancy;

(B) Examples of issues or situations that require an understanding of statutes,
rules and case law relevant to all licensees.

(C) The Code of Professional Conduct adopted by the Board and set forth in
OAR Chapter 801, Division 030; and

(D) Review of recent case law pertaining to ethics and professional
responsibilities for the accounting profession.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310, 673.040, 673.050 & 673.410

Stats. Implemented: ORS 673.165

Hist.: AB 1-1985, {. & ef. 3-21-85; AB 5-1091, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-91; AB 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-21-94; AB 4-19584, {. & cert. ef. 9-27-94;
BOA 5-1999, . & cert. ef. 7-23-99; BOA 6-1999, {. 12-21-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; BOA 5-2000, f. 12-7-00, ceri. ef. 1-1-01; BOA 7-2001,
f. 12-31-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; BOA 8-2002, f. 12-27-02, cert. ef. 1-1-03; BOA 6-2004, f. 12-30-04, cert. ef. 1-1-05; BOA 10-2005, f. 11-
22.05, cert. ef. 1-1-06; BOA 4-20086, 1. 12-22-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; BOA 4-2008, f. 12-30-08, cert. ef. 1-1-09; BOA 6-2009, f. 12-15-09
cert. ef. 1-1-10

Controls and Reporting
801-040-0020 (1) Reporting requirement. As a requirement of renewal of an active
| servitlicense, licensees are required to certify that the licensee has fulfilled the CPE
requirement by signing the certification section on the renewal form. Licensees are
required to report the following information for each CPE program listed on the renewal
form:
(2) CPE programs.
(a) Name of program sponsor;
(b) Program title or description of content;
(c) Type of CPE program, using designations provided on renewal form;
(d) For self-study programs, the program sponsor's QAS number;
(e) Date(s) attended or date of completion; and
Division 040
| Effective January 1, 20142 Page 2



OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
CHAPTER 801, DIVISION 040 -- BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

(f } Number of hours claimed.

(3) Published articles and books. The CPE report must inctude the following
information for publications to be eligible for CPE credit:

(a) Name and address of the publisher;

(b) Title of publication;

(c) Description of content;

(d) Dates of publication; and

(e) Number of hours claimed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310, 673.040, 673.050 & 673.410

Stats. Implemented: ORS 673.165

Hist.: AB 1-1985, {. & ef. 3-21-85; AB 6-1892, f. & cert. ef. 8-10-92; AB 4-1994, . & cert. ef. 8-27-94; BOA 2-1989, f. & cert. ef 2-.22-
99; BOA 6-1999, f. 12-21-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; BOA 5-2000, f. 12-7-00, cert. ef. 1-1-01; BOA 7-2001, f. 12-31-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02;
BOA 6-2004, f. 12-30-04, cert. ef. 1-1-05

Programs that Qualify for CPE Credit

801-040-0030 (1) Qualifying programs. In order to qualify for CPE credit under these
rules, a CPE program must be a formal program of learning that contributes directly to
the professional competence of the licensee. It is the obligation of each licensee to
select a course of study that contributes to the licensee's professional competence in
public accountancy. The licensee may take programs in a variety of topics that are
relevant to the licensee's practice.

(2) Program requirements. CPE programs must meet the foilowing
requirements to qualify for CPE credit:

{a) An outline of the program is prepared in advance and preserved;

(b) The program is at least one hour {fifty-minute period) in length;

(c) A record of attendance is maintained by the sponsor; evidence of completion
is provided to participating licensees;

(d)} The program is conducted by a qualified instructor whose background,
training, education or experience qualifies the person to teach or lead a discussion on
the subject matter of the particular program.

(3) Eligible programs. The following programs will qualify for CPE credit
provided they also meet the requirements of section (2) of this rule:

(a) Programs presented by national, state or local accounting organizations;

(b} Programs offered by a firm to licensees;

(c) Programs sponsored by organizations that provide professional educational
programs on a regular basis;

(d) University or college courses are eligible for CPE credit at the rate of 15 CPE
hours for each semester hour credit and 10 CPE hours for each quarter hour credit.
University or college courses that do not earn college credit are eligible for one CPE
hour for each classroom hour of learning; _

(e) Distance learning programs offered by an accredited university or college are
eligible for CPE credit as described in subsection (3)(d), without meeting the
requirement of NASBA Quality Assurance Service approval described in section (4) of
this rule.

(f) Other programs may qualify for CPE credit if the program meets the
requirements of section 2 of this rule.

(4) Individual study programs.

Division 040
| Effective January 1, 20142 Page 3



OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
CHAPTER 801, DIVISION 040 -- BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

(a) Correspondence courses or other individual study programs do not qualify for
CPE credit unless both the CPE sponsor and the specific CPE program are approved
by the NASBA Quality Assurance Service (QAS).

(5) Programs not eligible for CPE credit. The following programs do not qualify
for CPE credit:

(a) Courses taken to fulfill the requirements for licensure as a certified public
accountant or public accountant;

(b) Ethics courses that were taken to fulfill the Ethics exam requirement for
licensure; and

(c) CPA exam review or study courses.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310, 673.040,673.050 & 673.410

Stats. Implemented: ORS 673.1656

Hist.: AB 1-1985, f. & f. 3-21-85; AB 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-21-94; AB 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 9-25-96; BOA 1-1999, f. & cert. ef. 1-20-
99; BOA 5-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-99; BOA 6-1999, f. 12-21-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; BOA 5-2000, f. 12-7-00, cert. ef. 1-1-01, BOA 7-
2001, £ 12-31-01, cert. of. 1-1-02; BOA 6-2002, f. 12-27-02, cert. ef. 1-1-03; BOA 6-2004, f. 12-30-04, cert. ef. 1-1-05; BOA 4-2007,
f. 12-27-07 cert .ef. 1-1-08

Acceptable Subject Matter

OAR 801-040-0040 (1) Examples listed not all-inclusive. The subjects listed in this
rule serve as examples only, and are not all inclusive of technical and non-technical
subjects that may qualify for CPE credit.

{(2) Technical subjects. Qualified continuing education programs in the following
subjects are eligible for CPE credit as technical subjects:

{a) Accounting

{(b) Auditing and assurance

(c) Consulting

(d) Specialized knowledge and applications

(e) Management

(F) Taxation

(g) Professional ethics

(h) Other subjects may be acceptable if they maintain or improve the licensee’s
professional competence.

(3) Non-technical subjects. Qualified continuing education programs in subjects
other than those listed in section (2) of this rule are non-technical subjects and are
eligible for CPE credit if the program directly contributes to the licensee's professional
compefence.

(a) Credit for programs in non-technical subjects is limited to 16 CPE hours per
renewal period.

(b) Non-technical subject hours may not be carried forward to the next reporting
period.

(c)} The following are examples of non-technical subjects:

(A) Interpersonal management skills;

(B) Public relations,

(C) Practice development; and

(D) Practice administration.

Stat. Auth.; ORS 670.310, 673.040, 673.050; 673.410
Stats. Implemented: ORS 673.165

Division 040 ,
| Effective January 1, 20142 Page 4



OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
CHAPTER 801, DIVISION 040 -- BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

Hist.: AB 1-1985, . & ef. 3-12-85; AB 5-1891, £ & cert. ef. 7-1-91; AB 4-1994, f. & cert. ef, 9-27-94; AB 1-1996, £ & cert. ef 1-29-96;
BOA 1-1999, f. & cert. ef. 1-20-99; BOA 2-1999, f. & cert. ef 2.22.99; BOA 6-1999, f. 12-21-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; BOA 5-2000, f. 12-
7-00, cert. ef. 1-1-01; BOA 7-2001, f. 12-31-01, ceri. ef. 1-1-02; BOA 6-2004, f. 12-30-04, cest. ef. 1-1-05

Credit Allowed and Evidence of Completion

801-040-0050(1) Credit hours. Eligible CPE credit is measured by program length,
with one 50 minute period equal to one CPE credit. CPE credit may be issued in half
increments (equal fo 25 minute program periods) after the first credit has been earned.

(2) Evidence of completion. Licensees are required to document all CPE
programs claimed for CPE credit and to provide the appropriate proof of completion for
the number of qualifying CPE credits claimed for each program. Licensees must retain
proof of completion for each CPE program reported for a period of 5 years after
completion of the program.

(3) Group study programs.

(a) CPE credit is allowed for actual class hours attended.

{b) Evidence of completion includes a written course outline and certificate of
completion or attendance record provided by each program sponsor. The evidence of
completion must include the sponsor name, course title, date of attendance or date of
completion, name of participating licensee, statement that the program and sponsor are
QAS approved, if appropriate, and the number of CPE hours earned;

(4) Individual study programs.

(a) Individual study programs are eligible for CPE credit only if the program is
offered by a NASBA-QAS approved sponsor and the program itself is QAS approved;

(b) CPE credit will be awarded in an amount equal to the average completion
time determined by the QAS approved sponsor.

(c) The date for which CPE credit is allowed is the completion date specified on
the evidence of completion provided by the sponsor.

(d) Evidence of completion must include the name of the participating licensee,
sponsor name, program title, date of completion, Instructor name, if applicable and
number of QAS CPE hours allowed.

(b) Lecturer, discussion leader or speaker.

(a) CPE credit for a lecture, training session or speaking engagement at which
the licensee was an instructor, discussion leader or speaker is allowed provided that the
lecture, training or engagement meets CPE requirements for the participants;

(b) One CPE hour is allowed for each 50 minute period completed as an
instructor or discussion leader for the first presentation of the subject material if such
activity increases the instructor's professional competence. CPE credit may be allowed
for additional presentations if the substantive content of the program was substantially
changed and the licensee provides evidence that such change required significant
additional study or research;

(c) CPE credit for preparation time aliowed for an instructor, discussion leader, or
a speaker shall be calculated on the basis of two CPE hours of preparation for each
hour of teaching;

(d) The maximum CPE credit allowed for preparation and teaching under this
section and for published articles described in section (8) of this rule, combined, must
not exceed one-half of the total number of CPE hours required for the renewal period;

Division 040
| Effective January 1, 20142 Page 5




OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
CHAPTER 801, DIVISION 040 -- BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

(e) Evidence of completion includes a copy of the agenda or outline provided for
each presentation, lecture or speaking engagement, stating the date of presentation
and name of the sponsoring organization.

(6) Published articles.

(a) CPE credit may be allowed for authoring published articies or books, provided
the work directly contributes to the professional competence of the licensee;

(b) CPE credit for authoring published articles or books is allowed as of the date
of publication and is only allowed for the first publication of such writing. The number of
CPE hours is based on the time spent writing the published article,

(c) Authorship of a published article does not contribute to the professional
competence of the licensee unless the published article is suitable for a professional
audience. Published articles may be reviewed on a case-by-case basis to determine
whether such articles coniribute to the licensee's professional competence

(d)} The maximum credit for published articles and books allowed under this
section and for preparation and teaching under section (5) of this rule, combined, is no
more than one-half of the total CPE requirement for the renewal period.

(e)A licensee may request additional CPE credit for authoring a published article
by submitting an explanation of the circumstances which justify greater credit than is
otherwise allowed. The Board shall determine whether additional credit is justified.

{f) Evidence of completion includes a copy of the title page or other pages that
show the title, date of publication and a description of the content for each article
reported for CPE credit.

(7) Reviewing peer review reports for Board approved Peer Review
Programs.

(a) Licensees who serve as volunteer members of the Review Acceptance Body
or any other committee that reviews peer review reports on behalf of a board approved
peer review program are allowed two hours of CPE credit per meeting attended, for a
maximum of 16 hours for the renewal period.

(b) Evidence of completion includes proof of attendance, provided by the sponsor
of the approved Peer Review Program, for each meeting attended.

(8) State Legislative Joint Ways and Means Committee members.

{(a) Licensees who serve as members of the Oregon Joint Ways and Means
Legislative Committee are allowed up fo 16 hours of the total CPE requirement for the
renewal period during which the licensee served on the legislative committee.

{b) Evidence of completion shall be a copy of the membership roster published
during the legislative session indicating the specific section of the Joint Ways and
Means sub-committee on which the licensee served.

(9) University and college courses.

(a) CPE credit allowed is described in OAR 801-040-0030.

(b) An official copy of the college transcript is evidence of completion for courses
that earn college credit.

(c) An attendance schedule or sign-in sheet demonstrating the licensee’s
attendance and prepared and maintained by the college will provide evidence of
completion for courses that do not earn college credit.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310, 673.046, 673.050; 673.410
Stats. Implemented: ORS 673.165
Hist.: AB 11985, . & ef. 3-21-85; AB 5-1991, f. & cert. ef, 7-1-91; AB 7-1992, . & cert. ef. 12-15-82; AB 4-1993, f. & cert. ef. 5-14-

Division 040
| Effective January 1, 20142 Page 6



OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
CHAPTER 801, DIVISION 040 -- BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

93; AB 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 9-27-94; AB 5-1995, {. & cert. ef. 8-22-95; AB 4-1997, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-97; BOA 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 1-
26-98; BOA 6-1998 . & cert. of. 7-20-98; BOA 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 2-22-89; BOA 5-1599, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-09; BOA 61989, f. 12~

21-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; BOA 1-2000, f. 3-22-00, cert. ef. 3-24-00; BOA 5-2000, f. 12-7-00, cert. ef. 1-1-01; BOA 7-2001, f. 12-31-01,
cert. ef. 1-1-02; BOA 6-2002, f. 12-27-02, cert. ef. 1-1-03; BOA 6-2004, f. 12-30-04, cert. ef. 1-1-05

Evidence of Completion, 801-040-0060
This section is deleted. The contents have been moved to other sections of OAR 801
Division 040 for clarifications.

Stat. Auth.; ORS 670.310; CRS 673.040, 673.050; 673.410

Stat. Implemented: ORS 673.165

Hist.: AB 1-1985, f. & ef. 3-21-85; AB 1-1995, {. & cert. ef. 1-25-95; BOA 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 2-22-99; BOA 4-1999.f & cert. ef. 7-
23-99; BOA 5-1999, . & cert. ef. 7-23-99; BOA 6-1999, f. 12-21.99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; BOA 5-2000, f.12-7-00, cert. &f. 1-1-01

Verification
801-040-0070 (1) The Board may verify CPE reports submitted by licensees. When
selected for verification licensees are required to provide the following information for
each CPE program selected by the Board:

(a) Certificate of completion or similar documentation that confirms attendance at
the program and the number of eligible CPE hours, and

(b) Upon request from the Board, a written statement describing how a CPE
program directly contributes to the licensee’s professional competency.

(2) Licensees who do not meet CPE requirements described in OAR 801-040-
0010 and section (1) of this rule will be notified of the deficiency and a designated
number of days will be allowed for the applicant to correct the deficiencies.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310 & 673.410

Siats. Implemented: ORS 673.165

Hist.: AB 1-1985, f. & ef 3-21-85; AB 4-1984, f. & cert. ef. 2-27-84; BOA 6-1999, f. 12-21-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; BOA 5-2000, f. 12-7-
00, cert. ef. 1-1-01; BOA 7-2001, f. 12-31-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; BOA 7-2003, f. 12-23-03 cert. ef. 1-1-04; BOA 6-2004, f. 12-30-04,
cert. ef. 1-1-05; BOA 10-2005, f. 11-22-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06

801-040-0080, Reciprocity

This section is deleted. Or Laws 1989, ch 322 repealed ORS 673.080, which authorized licensing by

reciprocity. The provisions of OAR 801-040-0080 are replaced in OAR 801-040-0020 and 801-040-0095
[ and pertain to licensees who receive a zermitlicense under the provisions of substantial equivalency,

which replaced reciprocity under Or Laws 1999, ch 322.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310, 673.040, 673.050 & OL 1999, Ch. 322
Stats. Implemented: ORS 673.165
Hist.: AB 1-1985, f. & ef. 3-21-85; AB 5-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-91; BOA 5-2000, f. 12-7-00, cert. ef. 1-1-01

Reinstatement Requirements Lapsed, Suspended or Inactive to Active Status
801-040-0020

(1) Lapsed ssemiilicenses. Resmitlicenses that are not properly renewed shall
lapse. Lapsed I;censes mav be reinstated only Fto reinstaie-a-lapscd’-gemmitactive
status. .# ; i ghall, To reinstate to active status an individual
must:

(a) Provide a detailed Written description of the business and professional

| activities of the helder-individual sfsueh-perrmitduring the period of lapse, stating-and

Division 040
Effective January 1, 20142 Page 7
|



OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
CHAPTER 801, DIVISION 040 -- BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

indicate whether the hzenses-individual was holding out as a CPA or PA during the
period of lapse;

(b) Submit an application for reinstatement on a form provided by the Board;

(c) Submit payment of the application fee and the active renewal fee for each
renewal period that the sesmilicense was lapsed, and

(d) Complete and report the appropriate CPE hours described in this rule, plus a
penalty of an additional 16 CPE hours.

(e) CPE hours submitted for reinstatement must meet the requirements for CPE
credit under these rules.

Eg'; o Ergegr ]

%h&%\éﬁ%%ﬁté%mnﬂr t@ FEEEV- m e ;
profesoignat-condushbanoelivesraguis
(32) RermsiiHolders of llcenses that are lapaed-lapsed less than two years

shall:
mare fhan i i %
%aﬁi—iemﬁ—@hﬁ%%@ yoors-shall
-(a) Complete and report 80 CPE hours, which shall be completed within the 12
month period immediately preceding the date of appllcatlon for reinstatement; and
—%%,,L%eﬁm& y«wﬁ -GRE recuiremenio thesa-r ',,W—%f: éﬁ@@@{f&fﬁ@imﬁ%
reipstatoms HE-FHE9E wish-dale-on- B-Pro-F ‘ . ,
rate-of 3 —%@—r@w&mr aomh el

au'——% A4

R g FHolders

sorrphed
fromthe dats-of-reinsiatement
BEOUTS,

{(zb) Complete and report four CPE hours in professional conduct and ethics.

Eé%r‘e E‘lp;;

{(3)Holders of licenses that are lapsed more than fve more than two--and
less than six years shall:-Hsalders-of parmitethat ore-than fve years.andlass
Han-ebeshah

(a) Complete and report 160 CPE hours which shall be completed within the 24
12 month period immediately preceding the date of application for reinstatement;

(b) Comply with CPE requirements under these rules for the period following
reinstatement until the next renewal date on a pro rata basis, to be calculated at the rate
of 3-1/3 hours per month, including the month of reinstatement, from the date of
reinstatement to the end of the renewal period in which reinstatement occurs; and

(c) Complete and report four CPE hours in professional conduct and ethics.

(d} In !ieu of meeting the CPE requirements described in this section, the holder
of a lapsed zermitlicense may elect to take and pass the CPA exam within the five
years immediately preceding the date of application for reinstatement. A person who
elects this option must meet the requirements of OAR 801-010-0060.

(£4) Lapsed more than six years or three renewal periods

(a) A license that is lapsed for more than three renewal periods wilt expire,

{b)_An expired license may be restored only upcn the Board’s determination that
there is just cause.

e = o
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(5) Inactive zesmitlicenses. To reinstate a gerslicense from inactive to active
status, the holder of such sessitlicense shall meet the requirements for reinstatement of
lapsed gesritlicenses described in section (1) of thls rule with the followmg exceptlons

fal-Rayment of the-active renewal fes des: g
f&%m&h%@ﬂ@%ﬁ%%p@%%%m&ﬁ%mmﬁe{ﬂatw@%%ﬁmm
from-inactive-to-gotive-sialus—and

T o oo
wa EE T b \vil'i‘-.f&-{i Sme? | £ EJH#I

of "‘I E;F‘ﬂ!"a ’F‘\if" B E oy pmhes v ;?‘\‘C“:"’_‘l’}‘; |

ffﬂfﬁﬁ&é@@% ﬁwik@%«e&mﬂ—m—%m-ﬁ%ﬁﬁ% 445 ;

{z=a) Credit for CPE taken while on mactlve status W[|| be given for the first two
bienniums only (maximum of 64 hours)-

(6) Suspended zermitlicenses. To reinstate a parmitlicense that is suspended
under ORS 673.170, the holder of such permitlicense shall:

(a) Provide evidence of satisfaction or completion of all terms and conditions
stated in the Order of Suspension; and

(b) Meet the requirements for reinstatement of a lapseds-inactive permitlicense
as stated in this rule.

(7) 2ermitLicense holders in other jurisdictions. Licensees who hold an
active sesmnitlicense to practice public accountancy issued under the laws of another
jurisdiction, whose principal place of business is in such other jurisdiction, and who wish
to reinstate an Oregon permillicense that has been lapsed or inactive for more than two
years shall:

(a) Submit evidence that the applicant holds an active gesitlicense o practice
public accountancy, in good standing, issued by another jurisdiction; and

(b) Submit payment of the initial ger+itlicense fee stated in OAR 801-010-
0010(2)(a) plus the biennial renewal application fee stated in OAR 801-010-0010(3)(a).

(c) Upon reinstatement, licensee shall complete CPE requirements described in
these rules on a pro rata basis, calculated at 3-1/3 hours per month, including the month
of reinstatement until the end of the renewal period in which reinstatement occurs.

(8) 24 Hour Minimum annual CPE requirement. Licensees whose
parrpitlicenses are reinstated under this rule are required to meet the 24 hour minimum
annual CPE requirement at the pro-rated calculation of two (2) CPE hours for each
month, including the month of reinstatement, until June 30 of the year in which the
licensee is reinstated.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310, 673.040, 673.050 & 673.410

Stats. Impiemented: ORS 673.165 & 673.210

Hist.: AB 1-1985, f. & ef. 3-21-85; AB 5-1991, . & cert. ef. 7-1-91; AB 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-21-94; AB 3-1994, {. & cert. ef. 8-10-94;
AB 4-1994, {. & cert. ef. 9-27-94; AB 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 9-25-96; AB 1-1997, . & cert. ef. 1-28-97; BOA 1-1998, f. & cert. ef 1-26-
98; BOA 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 2-22-09; BOA 5-1999, T. & cert. ef 7-23-99; BOA 6-1099, f. 12-21-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; BOA 5-2000, f.
12-7-00, cert. ef. 1-1-01; BOA 7-2001, {. 12-31-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; BOA 7-2003, f. 12-23-03 cert. ef. 1-1-04, BOA 6-2004, f. 12-30-
04, cert. ef. 1-1-05; BGA 10-2005, f. 11-22-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06; BOA 4-2008, f. 12-30-08, cert. ef. 1-1-09

801-040-0095, Reinstatement Requirements/inactive to Active Status
The provisions of this rule are removed from this section and included in OAR 801-040-0090 {o minimize
duplication.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310
Stat. Implemented: ORS 673.165
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Hist.; AB 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 9-25-96; BOA 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 1-26-98; BOA 5-1899, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-99; BOA 6-1999, . 12-21-
| 99, cert. ef. 1-1-00

| New FesmitLicenses
801-040-0100 (1) CPE Requirement for new licensees.

(a) Licensees who receive an initial permiilicense to practice public accountancy
shall comply with the CPE requirements from the date of issuance of the pesmiilicense
on a prorated basis calculated at 3-1/3 CPE hours per month, including the month of

| issuance, until June 30 of the renewal period in which the permitlicense is issued.

(b) The 24 hour annual CPE requirement shall also be prorated at two (2) CPE
hours per month, including the month of issuance, until June 30 of the renewal period in

| which the sessitlicense was issued.

(¢) CPE hours earned during any month of the two-year renewal cycle during

| which the initial zeemitlicense was issued shall be eligible to meet the initial CPE
requirement.

(2) Requirement for licensed public accountants who become licensed as

| certified public accountants. Licensees who hold a pesnitlicense to practice public
accountancy as a licensed public accountant under ORS 673.100, and who receive an
| initial certificate and pesmitlicense to practice public accountancy as a certified public
accountant shall, in addition to the requirement under section (1) of this rule, complete
and report 3-1/3 CPE hours for each month of the renewal period during which the
person held a sermitlicense as a public accountant. CPE hours earned during any
month of the two year renewal cycle during which the initial pessiilicense was issued
shall be eligible for credit to meet this requirement.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310, 673.040, 673.050 & 673.410
Stats. Implemented: ORS 673.165
Hist.: AB 1-1985, f. & ef, 3-21-85; AB 4-1989, f. & cert. ef. 3-13-89; AB 4-1994, {. & cert. ef. 9-27-94; BOA 5-2000, f. 12-7-00, cert.

ef. 1-1-01; BOA 7-2001, f. 12-31-01, cert. &f. 1-1-02; BOA 7-2003, f. 12-23-03 cert. ef. 1-1-04; BOA 6-2004, f. 12-30-04, cert.
ef. 1-1-05

Waivers
801-040-0150 (1) CPE waivers. The Board, in its discretion, may waive CPE
requirements for:

(a) Reasons of health, certified by a medical doctor, that prevent the licensee
from complying with CPE requirements;

{b) A licensee who is on extended active military duty, who does not practice
public accountancy during the renewal pericd, and who provides a copy of orders to
active military duty; and

(c) Other good cause, to be demonstrated as the Board requests.

(2) Requests for waivers. A request for waiver of CPE requirements must be
submitted in writing for each renewal period during which the conditions supporting the
waiver exist.

(3) Waivers not available for inactive status. The provisions of this rule are not
available for licensees on inactive status granted under OAR 801-010-0120.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310, 673.040, 673.050 & 673.410

Stats. Implemented: ORS 673.165 & 673.170

Hist.: AB 1-1885, f. & ef. 3-21-865; AB 5-1931, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-91; AB 4-1994, . & cert. ef. 9-27-84; BOA 6-1998, f. 12-21-99, cert.
ef. 1-1-00; BOA 5-2000, f. 12-7-00, cert. ef. 1-1-01; BOA 7-2001, . 12-31-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; BOA 6-2004, f. 12-30-04, cert, ef. 1-1-
05
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Failure to Comply
801-040-0160 (1) 16-hour CPE penalty. Licensees who submit an application for

| renewal of a permitlicense and who have not complied with the CPE requirements
described in OAR 801-040-0010 are required to complete and report an additional 16
hours of qualifying CPE.

(2) Failure to comply with CPE requirements. Licensees who do not meet the

CPE requirements are subject to disciplinary action under ORS 673.170 (L), unless
CPE requirements have been waived under OAR 801-040-0150.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310 & 673.410

Stat. Implemented: ORS 673.165 & 673.170

Hist.: AB 1-1985, . & ef. 3-21-85; AB 5-1991, f. & cert. ef, 7-1-91; AB 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 9-27-94; BOA 6-1999, f. 12-21-99, cert.
ef. 1-1-00; BOA 7-2001, f. 12-31-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; BOA 7-2003, f. 12-23-03 ceri. ef. 1-1-04; BOA 6-2004, f. 12-30-04, cert. ef. 1-1-
05
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