
A public rulemaking hearing may be requested in writing by 10 or more people, or by an association with 10 or more members, within 21 days following the publication of the
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Oregon Bulletin or 28 days from the date Notice was sent to people on the agency mailing list, whichever is later. If sufficient hearing
requests are received, the notice of the date and time of the rulemaking hearing must be published in the Oregon Bulletin at least 14 days before the hearing.
The Agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals while reducing negative economic impact of the
rule on business.

839-003-0005, 839-003-0025, 839-003-0200
AMEND:

REPEAL:

RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

AMEND AND RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

ORS 659A.805
Statuatory Authority:

659A.820
Other Authority:

ORS 654.062 & 659A
Statutes Implemented:

RULE SUMMARY

Current rules require that complaints filed under the Oregon Safe Employment Act (OSEA) contain a notarized signature of the complainant.
BOLI investigates retaliation complaints filed under OSEA statutes pursuant to a contract with Oregon OSHA.  The federal Occupational
Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) and Oregon OSHA have expressed concern that requirement of a notarized complaint is a barrier to
timely investigations of matters involving threats to workplace safety, and have asked that BOLI clarify that complaints filed under ORS
654.062 do not require notarization.

The proposed rules are required in order for the complaint requirements to be consistent with OSEA statutes. 

Last Day (m/d/yyyy) and Time
for public comment

Printed Name Email Address Date Filed

*The Oregon Bulletin is published on the 1st of each month and updates the rule text found in the Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation. Notice forms must be submitted
to the Administrative Rules Unit, Oregon State Archives, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310 by 5:00 pm on the 15th day of the preceding month unless this 
deadline falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday when Notice forms are accepted until 5:00 pm on the preceding workday. ARC 923-2003

Marcia Ohlemiller Marcia.L.Ohlemiller@state.or.us 6-14-12 8:30a.m.

Secretary of State

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING*
A Statement of Need and Fiscal Impact accompanies this form

839-003-0031
ADOPT:

RULEMAKING ACTION
Secure approval of rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing

Bureau of Labor and Industries 839
Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number

Rules Coordinator Telephone

Marcia Ohlemiller (971) 673-0784

Bureau of Labor and Industries, 800 NE Oregon St., Ste. 1045, Portland, OR 97232

Address

Proposed rules clarifying that complaints under ORS 654.062 need not be notarized written complaints.

Not more than 15 words that reasonablly identifies the subject matter of the agency's intended action.

RULE CAPTION

08-06-2012 Close of Business

email



A public rulemaking hearing may be requested in writing by 10 or more people, or by an association with 10 or more members, within 21 days following the publication of the
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Oregon Bulletin or 28 days from the date Notice was sent to people on the agency mailing list, whichever is later. If sufficient hearing
requests are received, the notice of the date and time of the rulemaking hearing must be published in the Oregon Bulletin at least 14 days before the hearing. 
The Agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals while reducing negative economic impact of the
rule on business.

AMEND:

REPEAL:

RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

AMEND AND RENUMBER : Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

Statuatory Authority:

Other Authority: 

Statutes Implemented:

RULE SUMMARY

Last Day (m/d/yyyy) and Time
for public comment

Printed Name Email Address Date Filed

*The Oregon Bulletin is published on the 1st of each month and updates the rule text found in the Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation. Notice forms must be submitted
to the Administrative Rules Unit, Oregon State Archives, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310 by 5:00 pm on the 15th day of the preceding month unless this
deadline falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday when Notice forms are accepted until 5:00 pm on the preceding workday. ARC 923-2003

Secretary of State

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING*
A Statement of Need and Fiscal Impact accompanies this form

ADOPT:

RULEMAKING ACTION
Secure approval of rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing

Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number

Rules Coordinator Telephone

Address

Not more than 15 words that reasonablly identifies the subject matter of the agency's intended action.

RULE CAPTION
email


