Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

ABOUT OUR SEMINARS
Technical Assistance: Seminars
 
The Technical Assistance for Employers program offers a variety of training seminars for Oregon employers, supervisors, managers, and human resource professionals. Technical Assistance trainers work closely with bureau enforcement divisions to provide you with educational seminars that cover the latest developments in employment law. BOLI seminars are acclaimed as an effective and proactive way to help keep your organization in compliance with labor laws -- and out of court!
 
Scroll down for further information or click on the appropriate quick link below.
 
QUICK LINKS FOR TA SEMINARS
 
 

 
CONTINUING EDUCATION / RECERTIFICATION CREDIT
 
Currently our seminars entitled: Leave Laws in Oregon, Advanced Leave Laws, Wage and Hour Laws, Payroll Issues, Employer's Guide to Civil Rights Laws and Workplace Harassment, Recordkeeping Requirements, Developing an Employee Handbook, Leave Laws 2-day Training and the 2-day Employee Supervision class are approved for Human Resources Certification Institute (HRCI) recertification for PHR, SPHR and GPHR. The New Supervisor Training Series is not preapproved for recertification credits for PHR, SPHR and GPHR through the HRCI.
 
Landscape Contractors: All of our public BOLI seminars have been approved for CEH credits by the Oregon Landscape Contractors Board.
 
/images/backToTheTop_off.gif

 
SEMINAR FEES
 
Half-Day Seminars
1 person
 $75
2 - 5 people
 $65 per person
6 or more
 $55 per person
 
 
One-Day Seminars
1 person
 $180
2 - 5 people
 $165 per person
6 or more
 $155 per person
 
 
Two-Day Seminars
1 person
 $260
2 - 5 people
 $245 per person
6 or more
 $235 per person
  
 
 
Leave Laws in Oregon: Two-Day Training including Handbook
1 person
 $280
2 - 5 people
 $265 per person
6 or more
 $255 per person
  
                                          
 
New Supervisor Training Series (1 morning/month for 6 months)
Fee Covers All Six Sessions!!
1 person
 $295
2 - 5 people
 $280 per person
6 or more
 $270 per person
 
 
 /images/backToTheTop_off.gif

 
CANCELLATION/REFUND POLICY
 
To cancel your registration, contact us at least five working days before the seminar date for a refund, minus a $25 processing fee, or a full credit toward the price of any seminar scheduled during the following 12 months. Without advance notice, we cannot issue refunds or credits, but you are always welcome to send a substitute from your organization to the seminar.
 
/images/backToTheTop_off.gif 
 

 
 
Registration includes training materials, coffee, tea and pastry in the morning. To register for one of our regular seminar programs, fill out the registration form completely, print it out, and submit it with your payment to:
 
Bureau of Labor and Industries
Technical Assistance for Employers Program
800 NE Oregon St., Suite #1045
Portland, OR  97232
Confidential Fax 971-673-1384
 
 
 
If you have any questions, please contact TA at (971) 673-0824, or by email at bolita@boli.state.or.us  
 
 
SEMINAR CONFIRMATIONS
 
Your seminar registration will be confirmed via e-mail (only) if it is received 5 or more working days before the seminar. To receive a confirmation, provide the appropriate e-mail address(es) on the registration form. Please note that some confirmations do not make it through various spam blocks, firewalls, spyware, and other system protections.
 
/images/backToTheTop_off.gif 

 
Dealing with a Difficult Employee 
Description

Developing an Employee Handbook 

Description
Documentation, Discipline & Discharge  
Effective Supervisory Practices 
Employee Supervision:
2 Day Training
 
Leave Laws in Oregon:
2 Day Training

​Beginning Leave Laws in Oregon:
Basics of OFLA and FMLA

Description
Advanced Leave Laws in Oregon:
OFLA, FMLA and Other Leave Laws
Leave Laws in Oregon:
Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA)

Legal Hiring 

Description
Life of a Workers' Compensation Claim 
New Supervisor Training Series (6 Part Series) 
Payroll Issues 

Privacy & Confidentiality in the Workplace

Description
Recordkeeping Requirements
Workplace Harassment and Discrimination
Wage & Hour Laws 

​Wage & Hour / Payroll Issues: 2-Day Training

Description
 
 
/images/backToTheTop_off.gif 

 
 
Our schedule of upcoming seminars appear below. You will find the seminar dates, titles/descriptions, locations, times and check-in time, and the cost.
 
If you have any questions, please contact TA at (971) 673-0824, or by email at bolita@boli.state.or.us  
 
SEMINAR SCHEDULE DISCLAIMER
We reserve the right to make changes to our seminar schedule at any time. These changes may include, but are not limited to, additions, cancellations, and/or location changes. Every attempt will be made to keep registrants apprised of any changes that might affect their ability to attend.
 
   
 
December 2014
 
Dec. 3
​Recordkeeping Requirements
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
Dec. 11
​Wage & Hour Laws
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
SORRY
CLASS IS FULL
 
Dec. 15-16
 
​Employee Supervision: 2-Day Basic Training Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
Dec. 19
​​New Supervisor Training Series (NSTS)
Part 6 of 6 (6 mo)
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​9 am -12 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
 
 
January 2015
 
Jan. 21-22
​​Leave Laws in Oregon: 2-Day Training
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am 
Jan. 26

New Supervisor Training SeriesPart 1 of 6 (Portland)

Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9 am -12 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am 
Jan. 27
New Supervisor Training Series - Part 1 of 6 (Eugene)
​Eugene - TBD 9 am -12 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am 
Jan. 28
Privacy & Confidentiality in the Workplace
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​​8:30 am -11:30 am  
Check-in 8:00 am 
 
 
February 2015
 
Feb. 4-5
Wage & Hour / Payroll Issues: 2-Day Training
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am 
Feb. 9
​Beginning Leave Laws in Oregon: Basics of OFLA & FMLA
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am 
Feb. 10-11
​​Employee Supervision: 2-day Training ​Salem - TBD 9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am 
Feb. 11-12
​​Leave Laws in Oregon: 2-Day Training
​Eugene - TBD 9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am 
Feb. 18
​Dealing with a Difficult Employee
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​​8:30 am -11:30 am  
Check-in 8:00 am 
Feb. 23 ​​New Supervisor Training SeriesPart 2 of 6 (Portland) ​​Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​​9 am -12 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am 
​​Feb. 24
New Supervisor Training Series -  Part 2 of 6 (Eugene)
Eugene - TBD ​​​​9 am -12 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am 
Feb. 24 Developing an Employee Handbook Eugene - TBD ​​​​​​1 pm -4 pm  
Check-in 12:30 pm 
​​Feb. 26-27 Employee Supervision: 2-day Training ​​Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am 
 
  
March 2015
 
Mar. 3-4
Employee Supervision: 2-day Training
Bend - TBD

9 am -4 pm      Check-in 8:30 am

Mar. 4
​Life of a Workers' Compensation Claim
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
Mar. 10-11
​​Leave Laws in Oregon: 2-Day Training
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
Mar. 17
Privacy & Confidentiality in the Workplace
Salem - TBD
​​​8:30 am -11:30 am  
Check-in 8:00 am
Mar. 18 ​​
Developing an Employee Handbook
​​Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​​​8:30 am -11:30 am  
Check-in 8:00 am
​​Mar. 23 ​​New Supervisor Training SeriesPart 3 of 6 (Portland) Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​​​9 am -12 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
​​​Mar. 24 New Supervisor Training Series -  Part 3 of 6 (Eugene)
Eugene - TBD
​​​​​9 am -12 pm  
Check-in
8:30 am
​​​​Mar. 24 ​​Privacy & Confidentiality in the Workplace
Eugene - TBD
1 pm -4 pm  
Check-in 12:30 pm 
​​​​Mar. 25 Workplace Harassment & Discrimination ​​Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​​​8:30 am -11:30 am  
Check-in 8:00 am
 
 
April 2015
 
Apr. 2
​Wage & Hour Laws
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
Apr. 8
Dealing with a Difficult Employee
​The Dalles - TBD
​8:30 am -11:30 am  
Check-in 8:00 am
Apr. 9
​Wage & Hour Laws
Bend - TBD
9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
Apr. 14-15
Employee Supervision: 2-day Training
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
Apr. 15-16 ​​​​Leave Laws in Oregon: 2-Day Training ​​Salem -TBD ​​​9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
​​Apr. 20 ​​New Supervisor Training SeriesPart 4 of 6 (Portland) Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​​​9 am -12 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
​​​Apr. 21 ​Dealing with a Difficult Employee
​Lincoln City - TBD
​​​​8:30 am -11:30 am  
Check-in 8:00 am
Apr. 22 Developing an Employee Handbook ​Tillamook - TBD ​​​​​8:30 am -11:30 am  
Check-in 8:00 am
Apr. 22 ​​​Privacy & Confidentiality in the Workplace ​​Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​​​​​8:30 am -11:30 am  
Check-in 8:00 am
Apr. 23 Legal Hiring ​​​Astoria - TBD ​​​​​​​8:30 am -11:30 am  
Check-in 8:00 am
Apr. 28 Advanced Leave Laws in Oregon: OFLA, FMLA & Other Leave Laws ​​​Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​​​9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
Apr. 28 New Supervisor Training Series -  Part 4 of 6 (Eugene) Eugene - TBD ​​​​​9 am -12 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
Apr. 29 ​​​Wage & Hour Laws ​​Eugene - TBD ​​​​​9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
 
 
May 2015
 
May 7
​Workplace Harassment & Discrimination
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
8:30 am -11:30 am  
Check-in 8:00 am
May 13-14
​​Leave Laws in Oregon: 2-Day Training
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
May 18
​​New Supervisor Training SeriesPart 5 of 6 (Portland) Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9 am -12 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
May 20
​Recordkeeping Requirements
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
May 26
New Supervisor Training Series -  Part 5 of 6 (Eugene)
Eugene - TBD
​​​9 am -12 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
​​May 27 ​​Documentation, Discipline & Discharge Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​​​9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
​​​May 27 ​Wage & Hour Laws
​Ashland - TBD
​​​​​​​​​9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
​​​​May 28 Dealing with a Difficult Employee
​Klamath Falls - TBD
8:30 am -11:30 am  
Check-in 8:00 am
 
 
June 2015
 
Jun. 10
​​​Privacy & Confidentiality in the Workplace
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
8:30 am -11:30 am  
Check-in 8:00 am
Jun. 15
​​New Supervisor Training SeriesPart 6 of 6 (Portland)
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9 am -12 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
Jun. 16-17
Employee Supervision: 2-day Training
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
Jun. 23
​Wage & Hour Laws
Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
​​9 am -4 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
Jun. 23
New Supervisor Training Series -  Part 6 of 6 (Eugene)
Eugene - TBD
​​​9 am -12 pm  
Check-in 8:30 am
​​Jun. 24
​​​Privacy & Confidentiality in the Workplace
Grants Pass - TBD 8:30 am -11:30 am  
Check-in 8:00 am
​​​Jun. 24 ​​​Legal Hiring  ​​Grants Pass - TBD ​1:00 pm -4:00 pm  
Check-in 12:30 pm
​​​Jun. 25 ​Dealing with a Difficult Employee
​Ashland - TBD
​​​​​8:30 am -11:30 am  
Check-in 8:00 am
​​​​Jun. 25 Dealing with a Difficult Employee Portland State Office
Building (PSOB)
800 NE Oregon St
Portland, OR 97232
8:30 am -11:30 am  
Check-in 8:00 am
 
/images/backToTheTop_off.gif 

 
 
 
000