Even Least Productive Workers Must Earn Minimum Wage

Question:

Our company employs people to sell products on a door-to-door basis. These products
might include books, household products and personal beauty items. Occasionally, we
also contract with organizations to collect signatures for various initiatives on the Oregon
election ballot.

As is usually the case, | have my star performers and my slowpokes. Some people whisk
around each neighborhood charming people, moving quickly and producing sales like
crazy. Since | pay by piece-rate, they are naturally the people who earn the most money.

The slower people, of course, earn less — there are some weeks where they don’t even
make the minimum wage. And to my mind, that’s how it should be: The better workers
get more and the worse ones get less.

But recently, one of my slower employees has threatened to file a lawsuit for minimum
wage and overtime. He says he’s been keeping records, and will prove | have underpaid
him.

I myself have never kept records, because | pay piece-rate and | thought | didn’t have to
worry about those requirements. It just doesn’t seem right to me that the slowest worker
might end up getting more out of this claim than the better workers who don’t rely on
lawsuits to earn a decent living! Regardless of my personal views, | want to follow the
law. Is there a chance | might owe some money here?

Answer:

It depends on the nature of work performed by your employees. “Outside sales persons”
are exempt from minimum wage and overtime under both state and federal wage and
hour laws. Signature gatherers, and persons engaged in making sales by telephone or at
their employer’s place of business are not exempt “outside sales persons,” however, and
you are required to keep track of the hours worked by these employees and make sure
they are paid no less than the minimum wage for all hours worked and overtime for
weeks in which they work more than 40 hours. Although it is permissible to pay
employees on a piece-rate basis (by the item sold), you must ensure that non-exempt
employees receive at least the equivalent of the minimum wage for all hours worked (and
overtime). In addition, don’t forget that Oregon law now requires that signature-gatherers
be paid by the hour, not by the signature.

It also doesn’t matter if your employees understood and agreed to be paid a potentially
lower wage. Employees may not sign away their legal rights under federal and state
employment laws.



For example, let’s say a non-exempt employee engaged in making telephone sales, who
is paid on a piece rate basis, worked 50 hours in the week but only sold enough to earn
$100.. Your policy may be very clear about what he’s earned, but because the minimum
wage is now $7.50 an hour, you are going to have to supplement his wages so that he
earns a total of at least $375.00 (50 hours X $7.50).

In addition, since he worked 50 hours in that work week, that means that you also owe
him for 10 hours of overtime. The overtime rate can be calculated very easily by dividing
the amount already earned in the workweek ($375.00) by the hours worked (50). You’ll
come up with a total of $7.50 (interesting coincidence), which is called the “regular rate.”

Next, you must figure out the “half-time rate,” the extra you will need to pay for all hours
over 40. You do that by dividing the regular rate by two. In this case, you’ll get $3.75.

Now all you need to do is multiply all the overtime hours (10) by that half-time rate
($3.75) and you’ll come up with overtime of $37.50. Add that to the original $375.00 and
you get $412.50; the amount you must pay him for that workweek.

You’ve mentioned that you didn’t keep records because you didn’t think it was required.
Again, the requirement to keep records of the hours worked by your employees depends
on the type of work performed and whether or not the employees are exempt from the
minimum wage and overtime provisions of the law. Although you are not required to
keep track of the hours worked by your employees during weeks in which they are
engaged in exempt work (making outside sales), you are required to track their time
during workweeks in which they are not engaged in making outside sales; for example,
when they are engaged in gathering signatures for petitions. As you can see, it is possible
for an employee to be “exempt” one week and not exempt the following week, depending
on the nature of work performed.

Employers are required to keep detailed wage records for their non-exempt employees,
and to retain them for two (in some cases three) years. For non-exempt employees, these
records must include (among other things) the rate at which the employee was paid, the
hours the employee worked, any deductions and the purpose thereof, and any overtime
earned.

For information on this and other employment laws impacting Oregon employers, visit
our website at www.Oregon.gov/boli/ta.
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