
EAT, DRINK AND BE MERRY, ON YOUR OWN TIME 
AND YOUR OWN DIME! 

 
QUESTION:  Recently we sent an employee, Kelli, on a business trip to call on 
clients in Texas.  Although she’s one of our best sales employees, Kelli is not 
usually required to go on business trips and made it very clear to us that she did 
not want to go on this one.  She informed us that she has an “ex” who lives in 
Texas, and that she did not want to leave her kids for an entire week.   
 
But it’s an important account, and since she used to live there she is familiar with 
the language and the local customs.  We decided that Kelli had the best chance to 
win over the client and make the sale, and asked her to make the trip.   
 
Kelli made her own flight reservations and insisted on taking the “red-eye” so she 
could sleep in transit. In the end, Kelli sealed a multi-million-dollar deal with the 
Texans.  She also reunited briefly with her ex for an amicable dinner during 
which they laughed about old times. 
 
The problem is, when Kelli submitted her expenses from the trip she included 
things we don’t normally reimburse employees for, including her babysitter’s pay, 
dinner and drinks with her ex, museum and sporting event admissions, movies she 
watched in her hotel room, and snacks and beverages (including an expensive 
split of champagne) from the hotel mini- bar.  She also included every hour of the 
trip, 24 hours a day for 7 days, on her time sheet; a big ticket item since she is a 
non-exempt employee and is entitled to overtime pay. 
 
Kelli is adamant that she should be reimbursed for all of her expenses as well as 
the time she spent traveling to and from Dallas.  She is also insistent that the total 
time she spent there counts as work time.  Kelli even included the time she spent 
packing for the trip and the time she spent sleeping on the airplane on her time 
sheet. 
 
My question is, what expenses are we legally required to reimburse? In addition, 
how many hours of pay do we owe? Paying her to sleep, sightsee or catch up with 
old friends seems excessive?  
 
ANSWER:  You are legally required to pay Kelli for time she spent performing 
work while on the trip.  You are also obligated to pay her at the overtime rate for 
any hours she worked beyond 40 hours in a workweek. 
 
As for the travel time and expenses, here are the rules: 
 
Travel time can be broken down into four basic types:  “portal-to-portal” time 
(commuting time), travel between two work sites during the same work day, 
special assignment travel, and overnight stays.  
 



Portal-to-portal is just a formal term for one’s daily commute from home to the 
work site.  It is not counted as hours worked.   

  
Travel between work sites, if required by the employee’s job, counts as hours 
worked and the employer must pay for the time an employee spends traveling 
from job site to job site.   
 
Special assignment travel is when an employee is required to report to a job site 
that is in a different city and more than 30 miles from the employee’s regular, 
fixed work station.  Special assignment travel time is compensable time.   
 
Overnight travel rules are a bit more complex than the previous three categories, 
and whether overnight travel time counts as paid time depends on the time of day 
the employee travels in addition to whether the employee is a passenger (in any 
type of transportation) or a driver.  
 
If the travel time runs concurrently with the employee's regular work hours (this 
applies 7 days per week), it is paid time.  If the employee is a passenger, and the 
travel time falls outside of regular work hours, travel time may be unpaid. If the 
employee is driving, travel time is paid even if it falls outside the employee’s 
regular work hours.  This rule applies unless the employer offers alternative 
transportation that would not require an employee to drive and the employee 
chooses to drive anyway. 
 
Of course, any time an employee spends working while in transit also counts as 
paid time. 
 
Paid travel time counts as hours worked when calculating whether an employee 
must be paid overtime.  In other words, if an employee’s travel time in addition to 
other work hours results in an employee working over 40 hours in a workweek, 
the employer needs to pay the employee at the overtime rate of pay for each hour 
over 40 hours. 
 
Here’s how the rules would apply to Kelli’s trip to Texas.  Since the trip involves 
an overnight stay, Kelli must be paid for the travel time that cuts across her 
normal work hours.  This includes paying her for any travel time that occurred on 
Saturday or Sunday if it occurred during her usual work time (even if she does not 
usually work on Saturday or Sunday). However, the time that Kelli spent packing 
for the trip does not count as hours worked.    
 
As for the time Kelli spent in Dallas, you need only pay for the time she spent 
performing work, without regard to whether the work occurred during regular 
business hours.  Any time that she spent sightseeing and visiting with friends does 
not count as hours worked. 
 
And now about those travel expenses.  Though this comes as a surprise to many 



employers and employees alike, employers are not generally required to pay for 
or reimburse employees for job-related expenses, unless the employee’s payment 
of these expenses results in the employee’s pay dipping below minimum wage 
(currently $7.50 per hour). Remember, this rule contemplates only job-related 
expenses, so all of those things Kelli purchased that were not job related (dinner 
and drinks with a friend, for example) are not factored in to the calculation of 
whether her net pay is below minimum wage.   
 
Of course, if employers have a policy or practice of paying employees’ expenses, 
job related or otherwise, the employer must continue to comply with the company 
policy and treat employees equally with respect to the established policy or 
practice. 
 
Keep in mind, too, that union agreements or company policies may provide for 
payment of travel time, training time or travel expenses over and above the 
minimum legal requirements described above.     

 

For more information affecting Oregon employers as well technical assistance seminars 
available from BOLI, please visit our website at www.oregon.gov/boli/ta.  

   

http://www.oregon.gov/boli/ta

