
Pregnancy Disability Leave and Medical Certification under the 
Oregon Family Leave Act 

 
_______________________________________________________ 

 
 

1)         My company has enough employees to be a covered employer under the 
Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA) and Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA).  
We use the calendar leave year method.  Jenny, an employee who is eligible 
for OFLA and FMLA, came to work after her doctor’s appointment, floating 
on air, and breathlessly announced that she is expecting twins.   She had not 
said anything about taking family leave when she requested the time off for 
the medical appointment.  Can my Human Resources Department 
nevertheless designate the two hours off for the doctor’s appointment as 
family leave?   

 
Yes, it is the employer’s responsibility to designate leave as FMLA/OFLA- qualifying 
and to give notice of the designation to the employee.  Please be mindful that the 
employer’s designation decision must be based only on information received from the 
employee or the employee’s spokesperson (e.g., if the employee is incapacitated, the 
employee’s spouse, adult child, parent, doctor, etc., may provide notice to the employer 
of the need to take family leave).  Please do not make any designation decision based on 
speculations, office rumors or water cooler gossip. 
 
             
 
2)      Jenny comes to the Human Resources Department to fill out a family leave 

request for her prenatal appointments (in 2-hour blocks) for the next eight 
months.  Can the Human Resources Department give Jenny a medical 
certification form for her medical provider to complete before granting the 
leave?   

 
Yes, in this case, because Jenny gave at least 30 days notice before leave was to start. If 
Jenny had been unable to give this much notice, the employer would have had to allow at 
least 15 days for Jenny to product a doctor’s certification 
 
 
 
3)   In September, Jenny presents a doctor’s note to the Human Resources 

Department stating that her due date will be November 15.  Jenny plans on 
taking 12 weeks off to stay home with the newborn babies after giving birth.  
Can the Human Resources Department ask for a medical certification for the 
upcoming parental leave?   

 
No. Under both OFLA and FMLA, a medical certification may not be required for 
parental leave.   
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4)   Max and Emma arrive on November 15, as expected.  They are beautiful 

babies.  Jenny does not call the Human Resources Department requesting 
pregnancy disability leave after the delivery of the twins.  A Human Resources 
Department employee learns of the happy event because Marc, Jenny’s 
husband, who works for the company as well, is handing out cigars to his 
colleagues.  Can the Human Resources Department request medical 
certification for additional pregnancy disability leave?  

 
An employer could request medical certification because it has been more than 30 days 
since the last one presented by Jenny in September and the circumstances described by 
the previous certification have changed significantly in that the babies have arrived.  In 
addition, the September doctor’s note does not specify if or how long Jenny will be 
disabled following the delivery.  However, when an authorized period of OFLA leave has 
ended and an employee does not return to work, an employer having reason to believe the 
continuing absence may qualify as OFLA leave should request additional information 
and not treat a continuing absence as unauthorized  -- unless the requested information is 
not provided or the circumstances are not covered by OFLA.   
 
 
If you would like to learn more about the changes in the Oregon Family Leave Act 
(OFLA) and the amended Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA), Technical Assistance for 
Employers will be conducting seminars on Leave Laws in various cities: April 16, Salem; 
May 6, Medford; May 8, Portland; May 14, Oregon City; and May 21, Eugene.  Please 
visit www.oregon.gov/BOLI for registration information. 
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