
Frequently Asked Questions About Injured Workers 
 
 
The Bureau of Labor and Industries Technical Assistance for Employers unit receives a 
number of inquiries from employers about injured workers.  Below is the first of two 
columns with answers to your most frequently asked questions. 
 
When must I reinstate a worker injured on the job?   
 
An employer’s duty to reinstate an injured worker arises from Oregon Revised Statute 
(ORS) 659A.043, found on the BOLI website at http://egov.oregon.gov/BOLI/.   
 
The right to reinstatement applies to a worker injured on the job, whose claim is found 
compensable by the employer’s workers’ compensation insurer and who is released by 
the worker’s doctor to full duty, without restrictions. Within 7 days of receiving notice of 
the doctor’s release, the worker must notify the employer that the worker has been 
released to full duty and request reinstatement. The employer must reinstate the worker to 
the worker’s pre-injury, regular duty job.  
 
The pre-injury job to which an injured worker has reinstatement rights is the one the 
worker held before going on workers’ compensation leave.  The law permits the 
employer to hire a replacement to perform the injured worker’s pre-injury job while the 
worker was is leave, but once the injured worker is released for full duty the employer 
must remove the replacement from the position and reinstate the injured worker.  
 
Are there limits on the employer’s duty to reinstate?  
 
Reinstatement applies only to workers with on the job injuries, although other laws such 
as family leave and disability laws, not discussed here, may protect a worker’s right to 
return to the worker’s job or another job whether or not they have an on the job injury.   
 
The law requiring reinstatement of injured workers applies only to an employer of  21 or 
more employees in the state. If you are a  small employer with fewer than 21 employees 
in the state, ORS 659A.043 does not require that you reinstate an injured worker.  
 
If the workers’ compensation claim is denied by the employer’s insurer, the employer has 
no duty to reinstate.    
 
The employer’s duty to reinstate expires 3 years from the date of injury unless certain 
events have occurred first, such as the worker accepting suitable employment after 
becoming medically stationery or refusing a suitable light duty position.   
 
 
 
 

http://egov.oregon.gov/BOLI/


How does reemployment of an injured worker differ from reinstatement of an 
injured worker?  
 
As discussed above, the statutes require that a worker who has sustained a compensable 
injury but is later released by the worker’s doctor to full duty without restrictions, must 
be reinstated to their former regular position.   
 
In contrast, ORS 659A.046 requires that a worker who has sustained a compensable 
injury and becomes medically stationery but disabled from performing the duties of the 
worker’s former regular employment must, upon demand, be reemployed by the worker’s 
employer at employment that is “available and suitable.” If an employer has two or more 
available suitable positions, the employer must offer the job that is "as similar as 
practicable" to the job the worker had at the time of injury.  The injured worker 
reemployment requirement applies to employers of 6 or more workers in Oregon.   
 
When must an employer offer an available and suitable position to an injured 
worker? 
 
After a worker is injured on the job, the worker’s doctor may say that the worker is not 
yet able to perform the worker’s regular duty job but release the worker to perform “light 
duty.” When this happens an employer may, but is not required, to offer the injured 
worker an available, suitable position.   
 
However, with respect to an injured worker who is medically stationery but disabled 
(perhaps forever) from performing the duties of the worker’s former regular employment, 
the employer must offer the worker any available, suitable position.   This does not mean 
that the employer must modify or create a new job for the worker.  However, it does 
mean that if an employer has a position that is available and  can be performed without 
violating the worker’s restrictions, the employer must offer the position to the worker.  
The worker is entitled to remain in the position, provided the worker's restrictions 
continue to allow the worker to perform the duties of the position and the position is not 
eliminated for bona fide reasons.  
 
If an injured worker who is medically stationery but unable to return to the worker’s 
former position and therefore qualifies for available suitable employment recovers to the 
point the worker can perform the duties of the worker's former position, the worker must 
make timely demand for reinstatement to the former position.  
 
For more information on this topic and other employment related issues, join Technical 
Assistance for Employers at an upcoming seminar.  Wage and Hour Laws in Portland on 
May 13, St. Helens on May 15, and Corvallis on May 20;  Leave Laws in Oregon City on 
May 14 and Eugene on May 21;  Crime Victims Leave Laws in Portland on May 20; 
Recordkeeping Requirements in Portland on May 22; and Avoiding Workplace 
Harassment in Albany on May 22.  For registration information, visit our website at 
www.oregon.gov/BOLI/TA. 
 


