
NOSTRADAMUS MAY NOT BE ABLE TO PREDICT THE FUTURE, BUT BOLI CAN  
 
 
Unsure of what the future holds?  Confused about which path to take?  Need to consult the stars? 
A seer? Astrological charts?   
 
Question:  What does 2008 hold in store for Oregon employers? 
 
Answer:   While we do not predict any earth shattering world events, we do predict changes in 
2008 that might very well shake your world!   
 
The 2007 legislature passed numerous BOLI related bills this session, most of which are 
effective January 1, 2008.  Many of these bills affect employer obligations under Wage and Hour 
or Civil Rights Law.   
 
Let us chart your future for you 

BILL # Effective 
Date SUMMARY 

HB 2254 
1/1/08 

Wage & 
Hour 

Requires personnel records to be presented for inspection 
or provided to the employee (certified copy) within 45 
days of request; provides civil penalties for violations 

HB 2255 1/1/08 
Civil Rights 

Makes wage/hour-related discrimination/retaliation an 
unlawful employment practice under ORS 659A.  

HB 2256A 
1/1/08 

Wage & 
Hour 

Allows payment of wages, upon agreement of employer 
and employee, through direct deposit, automated teller 
machine card, payroll card or other means of electronic 
transfer.  Provides civil penalties for violations. 

HB 2258A 
1/1/08 

Wage & 
Hour 

Requires wage underpayments of 5% or more of 
employee’s wages to be corrected within three days. 

HB 2259 06/04/07 
Civil Rights 

Extends the time frame for filing OSHA retaliation 
complaints from 30 to 90 days. 

HB 2260 01/01/08 
Civil Rights 

Clarifies state law concerning employment discrimination 
allowing for actual compensatory damages.  Punitive and 
compensatory damages may now be recoverable for 
discrimination.  

HB 2372 
01/01/08 
Wage & 

Hour 

Allows use of a 30 minute rest period for expression of 
breast milk in the workplace for every 4 hours worked. 

SB 248C 
 1/1/08 Makes arbitration and noncompetition agreements 

unenforceable under certain circumstances. 
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BILL # Effective 
Date SUMMARY 

SB 403 
1/1/08 

Wage & 
Hour 

Requires BOLI to adopt rules regarding meal periods for 
tipped food/beverage service employees; provides civil 
penalties for violations.  Allows for tipped food/beverage 
service employee to waive a meal period as long as it is 
without coercion by employer.  

SB 2 1/1/08 
Civil Rights 

Prohibits discrimination, in specified areas of law 
(employment, housing, public accommodations, public 
education, adult foster homes and foster parenting) against 
persons based on sexual orientation. Defines “sexual 
orientation.” Authorizes enforcement of prohibition 
through civil action for actual and punitive damages. 
Requires state agencies to eliminate discrimination against 
persons based on sexual orientation.  
 

SB 946 5/25/07 
Civil Rights 

Requires certain employers to allow eligible employees to 
take unpaid leave to obtain services or treatment relating 
to domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking. Allows 
employer to limit amount of leave if leave creates undue 
hardship to employer’s business. Creates cause of action 
for refusal to grant leave. 
 

HB 2485 1/1/08 
Civil Rights 

Expands purposes for which employee taking family leave 
may use paid sick leave.   Allows use of any paid accrued 
sick leave for any period of Oregon family leave  

HB 2635 01/01/08 
Civil Rights 

Allows eligible employee to take family leave from work 
to care for grandparent or grandchild. Includes grandparent 
or grandchild as “family members” for purposes of Oregon 
family leave.  Provides that covered employer commits 
unlawful practice if employer denies family leave to which 
eligible employee is entitled or retaliates or discriminates 
against individual because of inquiry about or lawful 
exercise of family leave provisions.  
 

HB 2460 08/01/2008 
Civil Rights 

Redefines “family leave” to exclude leave taken by 
employee who is unable to work because of disabling 
compensable injury under Workers Compensation Law. 
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BILL # Effective 
Date SUMMARY 

HB 2674 
01/01/08 
Wage & 

Hour 

Requires employer to pay over, in accordance with law or 
agreement requiring or authorizing deductions from 
wages, amounts deducted from employee’s wages. Makes 
failure to pay as required unlawful deduction. Allows 
Commissioner of Bureau of Labor and Industries to assess 
civil penalty for unlawful deduction. 
 
 

           *Non-agency bills 
 
 
Question:  While implementing the New Year changes to the law, must I become clairvoyant or 
will I be left to the capriciousness of the fates? 
 
Answer:    Let’s gaze into our crystal ball and take a look……………. 
 
In an attempt to enlighten us all, BOLI is even now engaging in promulgating rules which will 
help take the mysticism out of your future.    
 
For more information please call our TA Psychic hotline, aka Technical Assistance for 
Employers, 971 673-0824, or enjoy a “reading” from future FAQ updates on our website at 
www.oregon.gov/boli. 
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