
                     
GETTING READY FOR 2008, ONE COLUMN AT A TIME  

 
 

Throughout the coming weeks, we will inform readers of several upcoming 
legislative changes that Oregon employers should be aware of. A few of them are 
outlined below: 
 
 
Minimum Wage Increase 
 
 As of January 1, 2008, Oregon’s minimum wage will go up 15 cents - from $7.80 
to $7.95 per hour.  
 
Note that this change will only apply to wages earned after January 1, 2008. Thus, 
if an employer writes a check in 2008 that compensates a minimum wage 
employee for work performed in 2007, the employer would not be violating the 
law if it paid the employee at the 2007 minimum wage. 
 
 
Changes in the Oregon Family Medical Leave Act (OFLA) 
 
 
Workers’ Compensation Leave Not Counted against OFLA Leave: 
 
In many instances, a workplace injury also meets the definition of a “serious health 
condition” under both OFLA and the federal Family and Medical Leave Act 
(FMLA). As things stand now, both OFLA and FMLA allow an employer to count 
the time off for a compensable workplace injury as part of OFLA and FMLA 
leave. As of January 1, however, employers will no longer be able to count it as 
OFLA leave. 
 

Example: James is a 40-hour a week employee who 
has been working with the employer for two years. He 
strains his back at work on March 1, 2008, and his 
workers’ compensation claim is accepted.  James then 
takes 3 weeks off to recuperate.  

 
Assuming that James otherwise meets the qualification standards for OFLA and 
FMLA, the employer would be able to count the time off as FMLA leave, but 



could not count it as OFLA. Therefore, if James’s son subsequently developed a 
serious health condition, James would only have 9 weeks left in his FMLA bank, 
but would be able to use the full 12-week entitlement under OFLA. 
 
 
Employees allowed to use accrued paid sick leave for any OFLA Purpose: 
 

Example: James is using OFLA and FMLA to care for 
his son, who has a serious health condition. The 
employer’s policy allows employees to use sick leave for 
their own illnesses, but not for those of their family 
members. Nevertheless, James asks to use his sick leave 
for the absence. 

 
Currently, the employer would not be obligated to let James use his sick leave for 
either OFLA or FMLA purposes. Rather (with the exception of OFLA parental 
leave) the employer could just adhere to the regular sick leave policy.  
 
As of January 1, however, the employer must allow the employee to use sick leave 
for any OFLA purpose, even if it conflicts with the employer’s policy.  
 
 
Grandparents and Grandchildren are now “Family Members” Under OFLA: 
 
James’s grandchild develops strep throat, and James asks for time off to care for 
him.  As of now, James would not be entitled to take either OFLA or FMLA leave, 
because neither grandparents nor grandchildren are considered “family members.”  
But that will change in January, and James will be able to take OFLA leave to care 
for his grandchild. 
 
For more information on this and other important issues affecting Oregon 
employers, please visit our website at www.boli.state.or.us. You can also call us at 
971-673-0824. 
 
Mark your calendar to attend BOLI’s 23rd Annual Employment Law Conference 
on December 5-6 at the Oregon Convention Center.  Our website will have more 
details posted shortly. 
 
 
 

http://www.boli.state.or.us/

