
 

NEW OREGON LAW REQUIRES EMPLOYERS TO ALLOW TIME AND SPACE FOR 
EXPRESSION OF BREAST MILK 

One of the new laws passed by the 2007 Oregon legislature is HB 2372. This law requires 
employers of 25 or more persons to provide rest periods and a private location for new mothers 
who need to express breast milk. 

The law’s passage was motivated by studies showing that despite the superiority of breast milk 
for newborns, many mothers were unable to continue breast feeding after they returned to work. 
This was largely due to inflexibility of work schedules and lack of privacy in the workplace to 
express breast milk. 
 
The law covers employees with children up to 18 months of age and will take effect on January 
1, 2008. The highlights are as follows: 
 

• Unless an employer and qualifying employee otherwise agree, the employee must be 
given a 30 minute rest period, for every 4 hours worked, to express breast milk.  If 
possible, the employee must take this time during their regularly scheduled rest or 
meal periods. 

 
• If rest periods are not required by law, contract or employer policy to be paid, the 

employer may allow the employee to work before or after her normal shift to make up 
the time. 

 
• Any unpaid break time used to express breast milk must be counted towards “hours 

worked” for purposes of calculating contributions to health insurance. 
 

• The employer is required to make reasonable efforts to provide the employee with a 
private area for expressing breast milk.  This area may not be a public restroom or 
toilet stall. 

 
• An employer is not required to provide the rest periods if to do so would impose an 

undue hardship, defined as “a significant difficulty or expense when considered in 
relation to the size, financial resources, nature or structure of the employer’s 
business.”   
 

BOLI may assess civil penalties of up to $1000 for violations of this law. The commission is also 
required to appoint an advisory committee to recommend rules to address compliance difficulties 
in particular industries or professions. 
 
For more information on this and other important laws regarding Oregon employers, please visit 
our website at www.oregon.gov/boli.state.or.us. You can also call us at 971-673-0824. 
 
Registration is now open for our 23rd Annual Conference in the Portland Convention Center on 
December 5 and 6.   
 

http://www.oregon.gov/boli.state.or.us

