
IT’S NO “BARGAIN” IF IT VIOLATES THE LAW 
 
 
QUESTION:  We are a manufacturing company and are in the process of renegotiating our 
collective bargaining agreement with the union that represents our employees.  We have 
manufacturing plants in several other states as well as here in Oregon.   
 
There are a couple of areas in which the union representatives proposed revisions and additions 
to the contract, and our local management team is concerned that we are unable/cannot agree to 
the items/issues based on the fact that Oregon state laws apply that are different from the other 
states where  plants are located.   
 
One area is rest breaks.  It would be beneficial for the employees and the efficiency of our 
manufacturing operations if we could agree to the union’s proposal, but some members of the 
management team insist that Oregon’s laws regarding breaks do not offer the flexibility that 
would be necessary to follow the union’s proposed rest and meal breaks schedule. 
 
Would Oregon law trump a collective bargaining agreement between us and our employees 
about rest and meal breaks?      
 
 
 
ANSWER: As long as the terms of the collective bargaining agreement specifically prescribe 
rules concerning rest and meal periods, the rest and meal period provisions of Oregon law do not 
apply.    
 
And since you are involved in the bargaining process, you may be interested in some of the other 
notable exceptions incorporated in Oregon laws that apply to collectively bargained agreements.  
We’ve summarized the most important ones below: 
 
 
Final paycheck rules  
If a union agreement provides for payment of wages upon termination, the final pay provisions 
of the law do not apply (pursuant to ORS 652.140(5)).  These are the laws that outline the time 
limits that apply to employers providing the final paycheck to employees, depending on the type 
of separation from employment and whether the employee has provided notice to the employer. 
 
Maximum hours of work and overtime requirements for manufacturing occupations  
As we saw in last week’s column, employees in manufacturing establishments cannot be made to 
work more than 13 hours in a 24 hour period. In addition, these employees must be paid 
overtime for all hours worked after the 10th hour in a day. But employees who are represented by 
a collective bargaining agreement are excluded from these requirements, as long as limits on the 
required hours of work and overtime payment have been addressed in the agreement (pursuant to 
ORS 652.020(4)). 
 
Workers’ compensation reinstatement and reemployment rights   



An injured worker’s right of reinstatement to the employee’s former position (pursuant to ORS 
659A.043), as well as the right to reemployment in an available and suitable position (pursuant 
to ORS 659A.046) following a compensable on-the-job injury, are subject to provisions for 
seniority rights and other employment restrictions contained in a valid collective bargaining 
agreement (pursuant to ORS 659A.043(2) and ORS 659A.046(4) respectively).  
 
Restricting use of tobacco in non-working hours  
Although it is an unlawful employment practice for an employer to require, as a condition of 
employment, that applicants and employees refrain from using lawful tobacco products during 
non-working hours (except when the restriction relates to a bona fide occupational requirement),  
an exception applies if a collective bargaining agreement prohibits off-duty use of tobacco 
products (pursuant to ORS 659A.315). 
 
For more information on this and other issues affecting Oregon employers (including seminars 
presented by our Technical Assistance Unit), please visit our website at www.oregon.gov/boli/ta. 
You can also call us 971-673-0824. 
 
Be sure to catch our “end of year” column on the year’s most memorable questions! 
 
 

http://www.oregon.gov/boli/ta

