
Employers Should Ring in the New Year with the Right Note 
 
 
QUESTION:  Our New Year’s Resolution is to clean out all of the filing cabinets in our 
Human Resources office, which are overflowing with employees’ personnel files, and 
throw away all of the papers we no longer need to save.   We want to make sure we keep 
everything we are legally required to keep, but we also want to make sure we organize 
things the most effective way.  We are unsure of what goes in the official personnel file 
for each employee.  Since we know that we should not keep employee medical records 
with the personnel file, we are wondering what other records we may need to file 
separately from the personnel file.  Also, how long do we have to hang on to employee 
personnel files once the employee is no longer employed? 
 
ANSWER:  If an employee asks to view or receive a copy of his or her “personnel file,” 
the employer must provide access to all records used to make decisions about the 
individual’s employment.  So, what should an employer keep in an employee’s personnel 
file?   
 
Oregon law states that if an employee asks to view or receive a copy of his or her 
"personnel records," the employer must provide access to all records used to make 
decisions about the individual's employment.  This includes all records related to the 
hiring decision, records used to decide on promotion or demotion, records used to 
determine pay raises or pay cuts, performance evaluations, disciplinary notices or 
warnings, and records related to a termination. ORS 652.750. 
 
So if an employee requests copies of documents relating to any of the above subjects, the 
employer must provide them. Note that this is true even if some of the documents are not 
in a specific “file.” In other words, that “sticky note” you attached to your day planner 
may be a “personnel record” if it directs the employee’s supervisor to discipline or fire 
the employee. This is one of the many good reasons to keep all your employee records 
organized and in the same place. 
 
You are correct that medical records should be stored separately from the personnel file.  
What else is not considered “personnel records?”  ORS 652.750 defines this as the 
following:  Records of an individual relating to the conviction, arrest or investigation of 
conduct constituting a violation of the criminal laws of Oregon or another state, 
confidential references or reports from previous employers, certain records related to the 
State Board of Higher Education maintained in compliance with ORS 351.065 and 
routine payroll records, timesheets or pay stubs which were not used to make 
employment decisions about the employee. 
 
In addition, the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) routinely conducts audits 
of I-9 forms, which are best filed together and stored separately from employee personnel 
files.    
 



Under Oregon law, personnel records must be retained by an employer for 60 days after 
employment ends. However, because the statute of limitations to file a claim could be as 
long as six years in some cases, many attorneys recommend that their employer clients 
keep personnel records for seven years. 
 
If a former employee requests a certified copy of his or her personnel file within the 60 
day period, the employer must furnish a copy.  If the employee requests a copy of the 
personnel file more than 60 days after employment ends, the employer must furnish a 
copy if the employer still has the records.    
 
Whether the person requesting the file is a current employee or a former employee, the 
employer may charge a reasonable fee reflecting the actual costs of providing a copy of 
the file. 
 
Although the Oregon law regarding employees’ requests for copies of personnel files 
refers to providing a “certified” copy of the personnel file, no formal or legal certification 
of the records is required.  Rather, the employer’s personnel manager (or other member 
of management who is facilitating the employee’s request for a certified copy of the 
personnel file) should sign a statement indicating that the documents provided represent a 
true and correct copy of the employee’s personnel file.   
 


