Dear Employer:

Enclosed are the materials you will need in order to apply for certification as an employer of 16
or 17 year old minors to act as canvassers, peddlers or "outside salesmen” from house to house.

In Oregon, you may employ 16 or 17-year-old minors to work as outside sal espersons,
canvassers, or peddlers from house to house provided you are registered with the Bureau of
Labor and Industries. Minorsunder 16 years of age may not be employed in such work.

How to Register
1. Complete the application form provided with this packet.
2. Mail or fax the completed application to: Bureau of Labor and Industries
Child Labor Unit - Suite 1045
800 NE Oregon Street
Portland, OR 97232-2180
Fax: (971) 673-0769
3. In some cases the Bureau of Labor and Industries may require additional information from
you.
4. Upon approval of your application, you will be sent aregistration certificate. After receiving

your certificate, you may employ 16 or 17-year-old minors as outside sal espersons,
canvassers, and peddlers to work from house to house.

Requirements When Hiring 16 or 17 Year Old Minors:

1.

Review the copy of Oregon Administrative Rules 839-021-0067 and 839-021-0265 enclosed
in the packet. Note the hours and transportation restrictionsin the rules.

Upon your receipt of the approved Registration Certificate you may hire minors.
In the case of aminor who wants to provide his/her own transportation, the employer shall

obtain the written consent of the minor's parents or legal guardian and maintain such written
consent in the employer'sfiles.
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4.

No minor may be transported to another state without the express written consent of a parent
or legal guardian of the minor.

Before allowing the minor to begin work as an outside salesperson, canvasser, or peddler
from house to house, you must issue an identification card for the minor's use while in your
employ. Pursuant to OAR 839-021-0265(11), the card must include:

(@ A 1-1/4” x 1-1/4” photograph of the employee;

(b) The name of the employee;

(c) Thename and local address of the employer;

(d) A statement to the effect that the employee is authorized to represent the employer as a
canvasser, peddler or outside sal esperson;

(e) A statement to the effect that the employer is registered with the Bureau of Labor and
Industries, 800 N.E. Oregon #1045, Portland, OR 97232 (971-673-0763);

(f) A statement that the card isnot valid for any other employer.

Pre-printed cards will be provided to you upon request.

IMPORTANT: Theidentification card must be carried by the minor, and shown to any
prospective customers whom the minor solicits for sales.

Other Requirements of the Law:

1.

Paid rest periods of at least 15 minutes must be provided during each four-hour work period
or mgjor part thereof.

Meal periods of at least 30 minutes must be provided no later than five hours and one minute
after the minor reports to work.

If an employeeisfired, all wages earned are due no later than the end of the first business day
after discharge. If an employee quits with 48 hours or more notice, wages are due the last
working day. If any employee quits without at |east 48 hours notice, wages are due in five
days or on the next payday, whichever occursfirst.

For additional information regarding the above, please call any Bureau of Labor and Industries
office.

Sincerely,

Gerhard Taeubel
Administrator
Wage and Hour Division
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STATE OF OREGON
Bureau of Labor and I ndustries
Wage and Hour Division

Application for Registration to
Employ Minors in House-to-House Sales

Date:

Applicant/Employer Name and Permanent Address:

Telephone Number: ( )
Contact Person:
Address:

Telephone Number: ( )

Description of contemplated employment and work sites: (Attach separate sheet, if necessary.)

Estimate number of 16 and 17 year old minors that may be employed during registration year:
Rate of pay:

Give abrief history and description of Employer's company:

Name/Address of Workers Compensation Insurer:

Policy/Binder Number:
Expiration Date:

CERTIFICATION

The undersigned applicant or authorized agent of the applicant hereby certifies that the information given
aboveistrue and correct. By signature, the undersigned applicant agrees to comply with the provisions of
ORS 653.305 to 653.545, OAR 839-021-0001 to 839-021-0500 and any terms and conditions specified by
the Bureau of Labor and Industries, Wage and Hour Division.

Signature of Applicant or Authorized Agent Title
Printed Name of Applicant or Authorized Agent Date
Complete and mail or Fax to: Wage and Hour Division

Child Labor Unit

Bureau of Labor and Industries

800 N.E. Oregon St., Ste 1045

Portland, OR 97232-2180

Fax: (971) 673-0769
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