Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

  • Child Labor Feature Story PictureGoing to work... for the first time!

    Under Oregon child labor law, the Bureau of Labor and Industries regulates the employment of minors under 18 years of age. 
     
    Minors, their parents and employers should be aware of requirements on hiring and working conditions that are specific to minors in the workplace.  Restrictions on the hours and types of work a minor may perform also apply.

 

Hiring Minors

 

Although minors 14 to 17 years of age are no longer required to have individual work permits, employers are required to obtain a certificate prior to employing any minor.

 

Employers should also know that additional recordkeeping requirements apply when hiring minors. Details are summarized in out brochure on the Employment of Minors.

 

Get answers to frequently asked questions from employers right here.

 

Working with Minors

 

Child labor laws protect young people in the workplace by setting out certain limits on hours of work, providing for longer rest breaks, and ensuring minors receive adequate compensation.

 

Child labor laws also limit the types of work minors of various ages may perform, known as Hazardous Occupations Orders.

 

We've summarized the highlights of Oregon's child labor law right here.