
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

September 20, 2010 
 
 
 

Oregon 2011 Minimum Wage Determination 
 

Pursuant to ORS 653.025(2), I have determined that the Oregon minimum wage for calendar 
year 2011 is $8.50 per hour. 
 
The law requires an adjustment to the minimum wage to be calculated no later than September 
30 of each year based upon any increase in the U.S. City Average Consumer Price Index for All 
Urban Consumers for All Items (“CPI”) from August of the preceding year to August of the year 
in which the calculation is made.  This amount is required to be rounded to the nearest five cents. 
 
The current (2010) minimum wage rate is $8.40.  Based on an increase in the CPI of 1.148% 
from August, 2009 to August, 2010, the calculation used for determining the minimum wage rate 
for 2011 is as follows: 
 

$8.40 X .01148 = $.0964, rounded to $0.10. 
 
Oregon employers are required to post minimum wage posters.  Downloadable posters for 2011 
reflecting the new minimum wage will be available on BOLI’s website in December 2010 free of 
charge. 
 

  
 Brad Avakian 
 Commissioner 
 Bureau of Labor and Industries 
 
 


