B UREAWU OF LABOR AND INDWUSTRIES

NOTICE TO

EMPLOYERS AND
EMPL“YEES The Oregon Family Leave Act, passed by the

Dan Gardner, Commissioner

1995 Legislature, requires employers of 25 or
more employees to provide their workers with
job protected leave to care for themselves or
family members in cases of illness, injury,
childbirth and adoption.

When Can an Employee

Take Family Leave?

Employees can take family leave for the following reasons:

> Parental Leave during the year following the birth of a child or adoption or foster placement of a child
under 18, or a child 18 or older if incapable of self-care because of a mental or physical disability. Parental
leave includes leave to effectuate the legal process required for foster placement or adoption.

> Serious health condition leave for the employee’s own serious health condition, or to care for a spouse,
parent, child, parent-in-law, or same-sex domestic partner with a serious health condition.

» Pregnancy disability leave (a form of serious health condition leave) taken by a female employee for an in-
capacity related to pregnancy or childbirth, occurring before or after the birth of the child, or for prenatal care.

> Sick child leave taken to care for an employee’s child with an illness or injury that requires home care but is
not a serious health condition.

Who is Eligible?

> To be eligible for leave, workers must be employed for the 180-day calendar period immediately preceding
the leave and in most cases must also work at least an average of 25 hours per week during the 180-day
period.

» Workers are eligible for parental leave after being employed for 180 calendar days, without regard to the
numbers of hours worked per week.

How Much Leave Can an
Employee Take?

> Employees are generally entitled to a maximum of 12 weeks of family leave within the employer’s
12-month leave year.

> A woman using pregnancy disability leave is entitled to 12 additional weeks of leave in the same leave year
for any qualifying OFLA purpose.

> A man or woman using a full 12 weeks of parental leave is entitled to take up to 12 additional weeks for the
purpose of sick child leave.

What Notice Is Required?

> Employees are required to give 30 days notice in advance of leave, unless the leave is taken for an emergency.
Employers may require that notice is given in writing. In an emergency, employees must give verbal notice
within 24 hours of starting a leave.

Is Family Leave Paid or
Unpaid?

> Although Family Leave is unpaid, employees are entitled to use any accrued paid vacation leave. Employees
who take leave to care for a newborn, newly adopted child or newly placed foster child are entitled to use any
accrued sick leave as well as vacation leave.

How is an Employee’s Job

Protected During a Leave?

Call the nearest office of the Bureau of Labor & Industry:

Eugene................. 541-686-7623 Portland
Medford............... 541-776-6270 Salem
Web Site: www.boli.state.or.us Technical Assistance.....503-731-4200

........................... 503-378-3292

» Employers must return employees to their former jobs or to equivalent jobs if the former position no longer
exists. However, employees on OFLA leave are still subject to nondiscriminatory employment actions such as
layoff or discipline that would have been taken without regard to the employee’s leave.
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This is a summary of Oregon’s laws relating to Family Leave Act. It is not a complete text

of the law.
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