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RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

AMEND AND RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.
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ORS 293.445, 701.081, 701.084, 701.350, 701.355
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RULE SUMMARY

Rule amendments to become effective starting October 1, 2015.

812-008-0020 is amended to change the definition of "certified individual" to include both individuals: (1) who previously passed the agency's
examination, or (2) who pass the National Home Inspector Examination (NHIE).

812-008-0040 is amended to require that, after the effective date of the rule: (1) an individual must have passed the National Home Inspector
Examination, and (2) signed a statement indicating the individual has read and understands the home inspector standards of behavior and
standards of practice.  The amendment eliminates the maximum number of hours credited toward certain experience criteria.

812-008-0050 is amended to delete provisions relating to the agency examination; replaces the agency examination with the National Home
Inspector Examination (NHIE); permits an individual to use passage of the NHIE examination before October 1, 2015, for Oregon home
inspector certification after the effective date of the rule.  The rule specifies that this requirement does not apply to already certified home
inspectors.

812-008-0060 is amended to update the reference to OAR 812-008-0110 to match the revisions made in OAR 812-008-0110.
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The Agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals while reducing negative
economic impact of the rule on business.

812-008-0110 is amended to eliminate the agency's application fee of $50, test fee of $50, and the re-take fee of $25.  Applicants will pay
approximately $225 to the Examination Board of Professional Examiners to take or retake the national examination.

NOTE: To sign up to appear by telephone for the rulemaking hearing, please contact Catherine Dixon at (503) 934-2185.

Send written comments to Catherine Dixon, PO Box 14140, Salem  OR  97309 or email

NOTE:  In order to save postage and printing costs in these difficult times, CCB is only providing a copy of the notice.  To view the language of
each individual rule change, please go to our web site at http://www.oregon.gov/CCB/laws-rules/Pages/proposed-rules.aspx. If you don't have
web access, contact Rules Coordinator Cathy Dixon at (503) 934-2185 for assistance in receiving a copy.

Last Day (m/d/yyyy) and Time
for public comment

Rules Coordinator Name Email Address

*The Oregon Bulletin is published on the 1st of each month and updates the rule text found in the Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation.

Catherine Dixon Catherine.A.Dixon@state.or.us05-20-2015 Close of Hearing



Secretary of State

STATEMENT OF NEED AND FISCAL IMPACT
A Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Hearing accompanies this form.

FILED

ARCHIVES DIVISION
SECRETARY OF STATE

4-10-15 9:04 AM

Construction Contractors Board 812
Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number

Home Inspector Examination

Rule Caption (Not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the agency's intended action.)
In the Matter of:

Statutory Authority:

Amendments to OAR 812

ORS 293.455, 670.310, 701.235, 701.350, 701.355

Other Authority:

Statutes Implemented:
ORS 293.445, 701.081, 701.084, 701.350, 701.355

Need for the Rule(s):
Issues with the current Oregon home inspector examination include:
  1.  The test was developed years ago and has not been updated for many years.

  2.  Tests that determine entry into a profession and that protect consumers by measuring competency need to be valid, as judged by a
variety of psychometric instruments.

  3.  Oregon does not routinely subject its test to the analysis that is necessary to assure validity and reliability. The national exam does so,
and is widely used by other states.

  4.  Test preparation materials for applicants using the Oregon exam are limited and few training providers offer a course specifically to
prepare for the Oregon exam. In contrast, the national exam produces a study outline and applicants can pay to take a sample quiz.  A variety
of organizations and businesses offer study courses.

Key changes are:
-  Require future Oregon home inspectors, starting October 1, 2015, to pass the National Home Inspector Examination rather than the current
CCB exam.

-  Require future home inspectors to sign a statement saying the individual has read and understands the Oregon home inspector standards of
behavior and the home inspector standards of practice.

-   Eliminate an existing $50 application fee paid to the CCB.

-  Remove maximum limits on how many points can be earned from certain activities. Currently, in addition to Passing a test, Oregon
applicants must accumulate 20 education points.

Objectives are:
-  Have an examination that is a competence assessment tool that uses psychometric standards to ensure an unbiased examination that
protects consumers.

-  Promote reciprocity by using a national exam that is recognized by approximately 25 states.

-  Have study outline and sample quiz for applicants.

The amendments include OAR:
812-008-0020 is amended to change the definition of "certified individual" to include both individuals: (1) who previously passed the agency's



examination or (2) who pass the National Home Inspector Examination (NHIE).

812-008-0040 is amended to require that, after the effective date of the rule: (1) an individual must have passed the National Home Inspector
Examination, and (2) signed a statement indicating the individual has read and understands the home inspector standards of behavior and
standards of practice.  The amendment eliminates the maximum number of hours credited toward certain experience criteria.

812-008-0050 is amended to delete provisions relating to the agency examination; replaces the agency examination with the National Home
Inspector Examination (NHIE); permits an individual to use passage of the NHIE examination before October 1, 2015, for Oregon home
inspector certification after the effective date of the rule.  The rule specifies that this requirement does not apply to already certified home
inspectors.

812-008-0060 is amended to update the reference to OAR 812-008-0110 to match the revisions made in OAR 812-008-0110.

812-008-0110 is amended to eliminate the agency's application fee of $50, test fee of $50, and the re-take fee of $25.  Applicants will pay
approximately $225 to the Examination Board of Professional Examiners to take or retake the national examination.

Fiscal and Economic Impact:
The rule changes have no known fiscal or economic impact on other state agencies, units of local government or the public; except there is a
limited fiscal impact on the CCB.  The rule changes do not increase the reporting, recordkeeping or other administrative activities for
businesses.  The rule changes will not increase the cost of a new single-family dwelling.  By eliminating fees for the CCB application and
home inspector test, we estimate that the rule amendments will reduce agency revenues by approximately $9,900 a year.

Theses rule amendments do not have an impact on small businesses, except for new home inspector certification applicants.  The average
number of new certified home inspectors over the last three years is 42 a year (35 in 2012; 44 in 2013; and 46 in 2014).

The current cost for the home inspector examination is $100 ($50 application fee and $50 testing fee); these fees will be eliminated.  The
national examination will be approximately $225, which is an increase of $125 for new home inspector certification applicants.

Statement of Cost of Compliance:
1. Impact on state agencies, units of local government and the public (ORS 183.335(2)(b)(E)):

The rule changes have no known fiscal or economic impact on other state agencies, units of local government or the public; except there is a
limited fiscal impact on the CCB.  The rule changes do not increase the reporting, recordkeeping or other administrative activities for
businesses.  The rule changes will not increase the cost of a new single-family dwelling.  By eliminating fees for the CCB application and
home inspector test, we estimate that the rule amendments will reduce agency revenues by approximately $9,900 a year.

2. Cost of compliance effect on small business (ORS 183.336):
a. Estimate the number of small business and types of businesses and industries with small businesses subject to the rule:

Theses rule amendments do not have an impact on small businesses, except for new home inspector certification applicants. The average
number of new certified home inspectors over the last three years is 42 a year (35 in 2012; 44 in 2013; and 46 in 2014).

The current cost for the home inspector examination is $100 ($50 application fee and $50 testing fee); these fees will be eliminated.  The
national examination will be approximately $225, which is an increase of $125 for new home inspector certification applicants.

b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities required for compliance, including costs of
professional services:

Theses rule amendments do not impact reporting, recordkeeping or other administrative activities required for compliance.

c. Equipment, supplies, labor and increased administration required for compliance:
These rule amendments do have an impact on equipment, supplies, labor or increased administration requirements.

If not, why?:

How were small businesses involved in the development of this rule?

Administrative Rule Advisory Committee consulted?:

The agency held an advisory group meeting and invited industry groups to attend the meeting to discuss amending the rules and the change
to the national examination. The agency sent the draft rules to industry groups, key home inspectors in the industry who have expressed
interest, to its list of parties who want to receive rulemaking notices, and posted the draft rule amendments on its website asking for input.

The agency held an advisory group meeting and invited industry groups to attend the meeting to discuss amending the rules and the concept
of change to using the national examination. The agency also uses its Board which is made up of six contractors; one elected public official,
and two public members who review and approve agency's administrative rules. Some of the Board members are members of industry
associations who discuss proposed rules with their associations.

Yes

Documents Relied Upon, and where they are available:
ORS 701 and OAR 812.  Documents are on the agency website at www.oregon.gov/ccb or a paper copy is available upon request.
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Administrative Rules Unit, Archives Division, Secretary of State, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310. ARC 925-2007

Catherine Dixon Catherine.A.Dixon@state.or.us
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05-20-2015 Close of Hearing



 
HOUSING COST IMPACT STATEMENT 

 
FOR ESTIMATING THE EFFECT OF A PROPOSED RULE OR ORDINANCE ON THE COST OF DEVELOPING 
  A *TYPICAL 1,200 SQ FT DETACHED SINGLE FAMILY DWELLING ON A 6,000 SQ FT PARCEL OF LAND.  

(ORS 183.534) 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

 
 
AGENCY NAME: Construction Contractors Board  PERMANENT:   HEARING DATE: May 20, 2015 
ADDRESS: 700 Summer St. NE Ste 300 
CITY/STATE: Salem  OR  97309 TEMPORARY:  EFFECTIVE DATE:  
PHONE: (503) 934-2185  
 

 
BELOW PLEASE PROVIDE A DESCRIPTION OF THE ESTIMATED SAVINGS OR ADDITIONAL COSTS THAT WILL 

RESULT FROM THIS PROPOSED CHANGE. 
PROVIDE A BRIEF EXPLANATION OF HOW THE COST OR SAVINGS ESTIMATE WAS DETERMINED.  

 IDENTIFY HOW CHANGE IMPACTS COSTS IN CATEGORIES SPECIFIED 
 

 
 
Description of proposed change: (Please attach any draft or permanent rule or ordinance) 

 812-008-0020 is amended to change the definition of “certified individual” to include both individuals: (1) who previously 
passed the agency’s examination, or (2) who pass the National Home Inspector Examination (NHIE). 

 812-008-0040 is amended to require that, after the effective date of the rule: (1) an individual must have passed the National 
Home Inspector Examination, and (2) signed a statement indicating the individual has read and understands the home 
inspector standards of behavior and standards of practice.  The amendment eliminates the maximum number of hours 
credited toward certain experience criteria.  

 812-008-0050 is amended to delete provisions relating to the agency examination; replaces the agency examination with the 
National Home Inspector Examination (NHIE); permits an individual to use passage of the NHIE examination before 
October 1, 2015, for Oregon home inspector certification after the effective date of the rule.  The rule specifies that this 
requirement does not apply to already certified home inspectors. 

 812-008-0060 is amended to update the reference to OAR 812-008-0110 to match the revisions made in OAR 812-008-0110. 

 812-008-0110 is amended to eliminate the agency’s application fee of $50, test fee of $50, and the re-take fee of $25.  
Applicants will pay approximately $225 to the Examination Board of Professional Examiners to take or retake the national 
examination. 

 
Description of the need for, and objectives of the rule: 
Issues with the current Oregon home inspector examination include: 

1. The test was developed years ago and has not been updated for many years.   
2. Tests that determine entry into a profession and that protect consumers by measuring competency need to be valid, as judged 

by a variety of psychometric instruments.  
3. Oregon does not routinely subject its test to the analysis that is necessary to assure validity and reliability. The national exam 

does so, and is widely used by other states. 
4. Test preparation materials for applicants using the Oregon exam are limited and few training providers offer a course specifically 

to prepare for the Oregon exam. In contrast, the national exam produces a study outline and applicants can pay to take a sample 
quiz.  A variety of organizations and businesses offer study courses. 

 
Key changes are: 

 Require future Oregon home inspectors, starting October 1, 2015, to pass the National Home Inspector Examination rather than 
the current CCB exam. 

 Require future home inspectors to sign a statement saying the individual has read and understands the Oregon home inspector 
standards of behavior and the home inspector standards of practice. 

 Eliminate an existing $50 application fee paid to the CCB.  
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 Remove maximum limits on how many points can be earned from certain activities. Currently, in addition to passing a test, 
Oregon applicants must accumulate 20 education points.  

Objectives are: 

 Have an examination that is a competence assessment tool that uses psychometric standards to ensure an unbiased 
examination that protects consumers.   

 Promote reciprocity by using a national exam that is recognized by approximately 25 states. 

 Have study outline and sample quiz for applicants.   

 

List of rules adopted or amended: 
Amend OAR: 
812-008-0020 
812-008-0040 
812-008-0050 
812-008-0060 
812-008-0110 
 
 
Materials and labor costs increase or savings: 
The rule amendments have no known impact on materials and labor costs. 
 
 
Estimated administrative construction or other costs increase or savings: 
The rule amendments have no measurable impact on administrative construction or other cost increases or savings.  See 
other costs increases or savings below. 
 
Land costs increase or savings: 
The rule amendments have no measurable impact on the cost of new home or a building lot. 
 
Other costs increase or savings: 
The proposed rules have no known fiscal impact on state agencies, units of local government or the public, except new 
home inspector applicants. 
 
By eliminating fees for the CCB application and home inspector test, we estimate that the rule amendments will reduce 
agency revenues by approximately $9,900 a year. 
 
The average number of new certified home inspectors over the last three years is 42 (35 in 2012; 44 in 2013; and 46 in 
2014).  
 
The current cost for the home inspector examination is $100 ($50 application fee and $50 testing fee); these fees will be 
eliminated.  The national examination will be approximately $225, which is an increase of $125 for new home inspector 
applicants.   
 
 
*Typical-Single story 3 bedrooms, 1 ½ bathrooms, attached garage (calculated separately) on land with good soil 
conditions with no unusual geological hazards. 
                
PREPARERS NAME: Catherine Dixon 
EMAIL ADDRESS: catherine.a.dixon@state.or.us  
 



 

 

CCB Home Inspector Examination Rules  
Rulemaking Hearing 5/20/15 to  

Become Effective October 1, 2015 
 

Proposed Rule Explanation 

812-008-0020 
Definitions 

The following definitions apply to Division 8 of OAR chapter 812: 
(1) “Administrator” means the Administrator of the agency. 
(2) “Agency” means the Oregon Construction Contractors Board. 
(3) “Automatic safety controls” means the devices designed and installed 

to protect systems and components from excessively high or low pressures 
and temperatures, excessive electrical current, loss of water, loss of ignition, 
fuel, leaks, fire, freezing, or other unsafe conditions. 

(4) “Central air conditioning” means a system that uses ducts to distribute 
cooled and/or dehumidified air to more than one room or uses pipes to 
distribute chilled water to heat exchangers in more than one room, and that is 
not plugged into an electrical convenience outlet. 

(5) “Certified individual” means an individual who successfully [passes] 
passed a test accredited by the agency or who successfully passed the 
National Home Inspector Examination and who completes the education 
required for renewal[,] and satisfies any other requirements established by 
OAR chapter 812. 

(6) “Component” means a readily accessible and observable aspect of a 
system, such as a floor, or wall, but not individual pieces such as boards or 
nails where many similar pieces make up the component. “Component” also 
includes, but is not limited to, the separate parts of an installed appliance or 
an electric or gas-powered system, including, but not limited to, a water 
heater, furnace or air conditioning unit. 

(7) “Conspicuous” as used in these regulations shall mean a term or 
clause is conspicuous when it is so written that a reasonable person against 
whom it is to operate ought to have noticed it. A printed heading in capitals 
(as: NONNEGOTIABLE BILL OF LADING) is conspicuous. Language in 
the body of a form is “conspicuous” if it is in larger or other contrasting type 
or color. But in a telegram any stated term is “conspicuous.” Whether a term 
or clause is “conspicuous” or not is for decision by the court. 

(8) “Cross connection” means any physical connection or arrangement 
between potable water and any source of contamination. 

(9) “Dangerous or adverse situations” means situations that pose a threat 
of injury to the Oregon certified home inspector, or damage to the property. 

(10) “Describe” means report in writing a system or component by its 
type, or other observed characteristics, to distinguish it from other 
components or system used for the same purpose. 

(11) “Dismantle” means to take apart or remove any component, device 
or piece of equipment that is bolted, screwed or fastened by other means and 
that would not be dismantled by a homeowner in the course of normal 
household maintenance. 

(12) “Energy audit” means evaluation or testing of components or 
systems with a focus on energy efficiency or renewable energy, which may 
lead to recommendations that improve energy efficiency or renewable energy 
generation. “Energy audit” also includes quality assurance review or 
verification of installed or retrofitted components or systems impacting 

Amends rule to change the 
definition of “certified individual” 
to include both individuals (1) 
who previously passed the 
agency’s examination or (2) who 
pass the National Home Inspector 
Examination (NHIE). 



 

 

Proposed Rule Explanation 

energy efficiency or renewable energy generation. 
(13) “Enter” means to go into an area and observe all visible components. 
(14) “Forensic evaluation” means evaluation or testing of components or 

systems for purposes of envelope analysis, materials testing or failure due to 
water intrusion or other external causes. 

(15) “Functional drainage” means a drain is functional when it empties in 
a reasonable amount of time. 

(16) “Functional flow” means a reasonable flow at the highest fixture in a 
dwelling when another fixture is operated simultaneously. 

(17) “Home performance testing” means evaluation or testing of 
components or systems for purposes of comfort, energy efficiency, safety or 
indoor air quality. 

(18) “Home inspection” means an inspection of substantially all of the 
components or systems as set forth in 812-008-0205 through 812-008-0214 
for the purpose of determining the overall physical condition and habitability 
of the inspected structure at the time of inspection. A home inspection is not a 
re-inspection of isolated repairs made as part of a real estate transaction. A 
home inspection does not include energy audit, forensic evaluation or home 
performance testing. 

(19) “Installed” means attached or connected such that the installed item 
requires tools for removal. 

(20) “Normal operating controls” means homeowner-operated devices 
such as but not limited to thermostat, wall switch, or safety switch. 

(21) “Observe” means the act of making a visual examination. 
(22) “On-site water supply quality” means water quality based on the 

bacterial, chemical, mineral, and solids content of the water. 
(23) “On-site water supply quantity” means the water quantity based on 

the rate of flow of water. 
(24) “Operate” means to cause systems or equipment to function. 
(25) “Oregon certified home inspector” means a person certified pursuant 

to ORS chapter 701, chapter 814, 1997 Oregon Laws and OAR chapter 812. 
(26) “Readily accessible panel” means a panel provided for homeowner 

inspection and maintenance that has removable or operable fasteners or latch 
devices in order to be lifted off, swung open, or otherwise removed by one 
person; and its edges and fasteners are not painted into place. This definition 
is limited to those panels within normal reach or from a four-foot stepladder, 
and that are not blocked by stored items, furniture, or building components. 

(27) “Representative number” for multiple identical components such as 
windows and electrical outlets means one such component per room; for 
multiple identical exterior components, one such component on each side of 
the building. 

(28) “Roof drainage systems” means gutters, downspouts, leaders, splash 
blocks, and similar components used to carry water off a roof and away from 
a building. 

(29) “Shut down” means a piece of equipment or a system is shut down 
when it cannot be operated by the device or control that a homeowner should 
normally use to operate it or detached from a plug source. If its safety switch 
or circuit is in the “off” position, or its fuse is missing or blown, the inspector 
is not required to reestablish the circuit for the purpose of operating the 
equipment or system.  

(30) “Solid fuel heating device” means any wood, coal, or other similar 
organic fuel burning device, including but not limited to fireplaces whether 



 

 

Proposed Rule Explanation 

masonry or factory built, fireplace inserts and stoves, wood stoves (room 
heaters), central furnaces, and combinations of these devices. 

(31) “Structural component” means a component that supports non-
variable forces or weights (dead loads) and variable forces or weights (live 
loads). 

(32) “System” means a combination of interacting or interdependent 
components, assembled to carry out one or more functions. “System” also 
includes, but is not limited to, an installed appliance or an electric or gas-
powered system, including but not limited to, a water heater, furnace or air 
conditioning unit. 

(33) “Technically exhaustive” means an inspection involving the 
extensive use of measurements, instruments, testing, calculations, and other 
means to develop scientific or engineering findings, conclusions, and 
recommendations. 

(34) “Test” means a test administered by the agency. 
(35) “Underfloor crawl space” means the area within the confines of the 

foundation and between the ground and the underside of the lowest floor 
structural component. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310, 701.235, 701.350 & 701.355 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 701.350 & 701.355 
(2/98, 12/04, 6/06, 12/11 eff. 1/1/12) 
 

812-008-0040 
Application Requirements and Eligibility Requirements 

(1) An individual must submit the following to qualify for certification: 
(a) An application on a form provided by the agency;  
(b) The fee established in OAR 812-008-0110; 
(c) If applicable, CCB number and name of employing licensee;  
(d) Proof of minimum of 20 education points as set forth in sections (3) 

and (4) of this rule; [and]  
(e) Evidence of successful passage of [agency’s test] the National Home 

Inspector Examination; and 
(f) A signed statement that the individual has read and understands 

the home inspector standards of behavior, as set forth in OAR 812-008-
0201, and the home inspector standards of practice, as set forth in OAR 
812-008-0202 through 812-008-0214. 

(2) A business must do the following to qualify for a license: 
(a) Become licensed with the agency as a residential general contractor, a 

residential specialty contractor or a home inspection services contractor; 
(b) Have as an owner or employee one or more individuals who have 

obtained a certificate from the agency to undertake certified home 
inspections; 

(c) Submit an application on a form prescribed by the agency; and 
(d) Submit the fee as prescribed in OAR chapter 812. 
(3) [In order to qualify to take the test, an] An individual applicant must 

provide the agency with acceptable documentation that the applicant has 
accumulated a minimum of 20 education points from the following choices: 

(a) Ten points for a completed, 3-credit hour minimum class with a 
passing grade in home inspection at an accredited college or university[, (10 
points maximum)]. 

(b) One point for each completed 3-hour minimum class with a passing 

Amends rule to require that, after 
the effective date of the rule, (1) 
an individual must have passed 
the National Home Inspector 
Examination and (2) signed a 
statement indicating the 
individual has read and 
understands the home inspector 
standards of behavior and 
standards of practice.  Eliminates 
maximum number of hours 
credited towards certain 
experience criteria. 



 

 

Proposed Rule Explanation 

grade in construction, remodeling, engineering, architecture, building design, 
building technology, or real estate at an accredited college or university[, (10 
points maximum)]. 

(c) One point for each completed “ride-along” inspection performed 
under the direct supervision of an Oregon certified home inspector[, (10 
points maximum)]. 

(d) One point for each completed 3-hour minimum class with a passing 
grade in approved subject areas in OAR 812-008-0074(1) by approved 
education providers under 812-008-0074(2) that are not colleges or 
universities[, (10 points maximum). 

(4) The individual applicant may substitute the following experiences for 
all or part of the education requirements in OAR 812-008-0040(3):  

(a) Four points for each completed 12 months legally working as a home 
inspector in Oregon or another state or country [(16 points maximum)]. 

(b) Two points for each completed 12 months working or teaching at an 
accredited college or university, trade school or private business for monetary 
compensation in construction, remodeling, engineering, architecture, building 
design, building technology, real estate, or building inspections [(16 points 
maximum)]. 

(c) One-half point for each letter of recommendation from an Oregon-
certified home inspector [(4 points maximum)]. 

(d) One point for each building codes certification issued by a 
government agency [(5 points maximum)]. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310, 701.235, 701.350 and 701.355 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 701.081, 701.084, 701.350 and 701.355 
(2/98, 5/99, temp. 6/99, 2/00, 6/00, 8/00, temp. 10/00, 12/00, 4/01, 9/01, 

temp. 10/01, 5/02, 12/06, 12/07, 2/08, 12/13 eff. 1/1/14) 
 

812-008-0050 
[Testing] Examination Requirements 

[(1) The agency shall provide a written test for certification of 
individuals. 

(2) The test shall be divided into five sections and weighted as follows: 
(a) 20 percent: Structure, roofing, site, exterior, and interior. 
(b) 20 percent: Heating, cooling, insulation, ventilation, fireplaces and 

wood stoves. 
(c) 20 percent: Electrical. 
(d) 20 percent: Plumbing. 
(e) 20 percent: Contracts, reports and standards. 
(3) To be certified, applicants must successfully pass the test. 
(4) Applicants shall schedule an appointment with the agency, or 

designated proctors throughout the state, to take the test after receipt of a 
letter of authorization from the agency and payment of the fee prescribed in 
Division 8. 

(5) The passing score shall be 75 percent or higher based on 100 percent 
possible. 

(6) Applicants shall score 75 percent or higher on each of five sections of 
the test. 

(7) Applicants shall not take the same test version on consecutive 
attempts. 

(8) The agency will notify applicants by mail of their test scores on each 

Amends rule to delete provisions 
relating to agency examination.  
Replaces the agency examination 
with the NHIE.  Permits an 
individual to use evidence of 
successful passage of the NHIE 
(1) before the effective date of the 
rule and (2) in Oregon or any 
other state.  Specifies that this 
requirement does not apply to 
already certified home inspectors. 



 

 

Proposed Rule Explanation 

section of the test. 
(9) Applicants who fail one or more sections of the test need not retake 

test sections already passed except as provided in (10) below. 
(10) Applicants shall pass all sections of the test within one year of the 

date the person first took the test or retake all sections of the test. 
(11) Applicants shall complete the certification process within one year 

from the date the person passed all sections of the test or retake the entire test. 
(12) Applicants shall show picture identification before taking the test. 
(13) Applicants shall not be accompanied by another individual while 

taking the test unless it is a translator. 
(14) Applicants needing a translator shall pay for translator. 
(15) Applicants taking the test shall not leave the testing room. 
(16) Applicants shall not retain notes or other materials during the test. 
(17) Applicants who attempt and fail the first test may take all subsequent 

tests in no less than 30 days. 
(18) Applicants shall not review test questions or answer sheets.] 
(1) Beginning October 1, 2015, home inspector applicants shall 

successfully pass the National Home Inspector Examination created and 
graded by the Examination Board of Professional Home Inspectors. 

(2) National Home Inspector Examinations passed before October 1, 
2015, may be used if the applicant applies for certification on or after 
October 1, 2015. 

(3) The examination shall be administered at a test center in Oregon 
designated by the Examination Board of Professional Home Inspectors 
or in any other state that administers the National Home Inspector 
Examination. 

(4) Successful applicants will submit their official score sheet to the 
agency. The agency may verify with the Examination Board of 
Professional Home Inspectors the validity of any official score sheet. 

(5) Retesting after a failed examination will be administered in 
accordance with protocols of the Examination Board of Professional 
Home Inspectors. 

(6) This requirement does not apply to any home inspector certified 
by the agency before October 1, 2015, whose certification is current and 
in good standing. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310, 701.235 & 701.350 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 701.350 & 701.355 
(2/98, 4/98, 10/98, 9/99, 9/01, 6/03, 2/04, 3/06) 
 

812-008-0060 
Certification Issuance 

(1) The effective date of the certificate will be the date applicant meets all 
agency requirements, including but not limited the receipt of the fee required 
under OAR 812-008-0110[(4)]. 

(2) A unique certification number will be assigned to each certificate. 
(3) All certificates shall be issued in the name of the individual who 

passed the test. 
(4) An application for certification may be withdrawn upon receipt of a 

written request to the agency at any time prior to the issuance of the 
certification.  

(5) When granted, the certificate shall be mailed to the applicant. 

Amends rule to update the 
reference to OAR 812-008-0110 
to match the revisions made in 
OAR 812-008-0110. 



 

 

Proposed Rule Explanation 

(6) If denied, the agency shall state, in writing, the reasons for denial. 
(7) A certificate shall be non-transferable and shall be effective for two 

years from date of issue. 
Stats. Auth.: ORS 670.310, 701.235 & 701.350 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 701.350 & 701.355 
(2/98, 8/00, 6/03, 12/07) 

 
 
812-008-0110 
Prescribed Fees 

The following prescribed fees are established: 
[(1) Application to become certified, $50]. 
[(2) Test, first attempt, $50.] 
[(3) Test, each sitting to retake one or more sections, $25.] 
[(4)] (1) Initial two-year Certification, $150. 
[(5)] (2) Certification renewal (two years), $150. 
[(6)] (3) Refunds: 
(a) The agency shall not refund fees or civil penalties overpaid by an 

amount of $20 or less unless requested by the payer in writing within three 
years after the date payment is received by the agency, as provided by 
ORS 293.445. 

(b) Except as set forth in subsection [(6)](3)(c) of this rule, all fees are 
non-refundable and nontransferable.  

(c) When an applicant withdraws their application for a certification or a 
certification renewal prior to issuance of a certification or certification 
renewal, or fails to complete the certification process, the agency may refund 
the certification fee but shall retain a processing fee of $40. 

(d) If the agency receives payment of any fees or penalty by check and the 
check is returned to the agency as an NSF check, the payer of the fees will be 
assessed an NSF charge of $25 in addition to the required payment of the fees 
or penalty. 

[(7)] (4)(a) Any certified home inspector in the United States armed forces 
need not pay a renewal fee if such fee would be due during the certified home 
inspector’s active duty service. 

(b) A certified home inspector in the United States armed forces shall pay 
the next license renewal fee that will become due after the certified home 
inspector is discharged from active duty service. 

(c) The agency may request that the certified home inspector provide 
documentation of active duty status and of discharge. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 293.445, 670.310, 701.235 & 701.350 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 293.445, 701.350 & 701.355 
(2/98, 6/99, 9/01, temp. 1/03, 6/03, 12/04, 12/05, 12/07, 11/09 eff. 1/1/10) 
 

Amends rule to eliminate the 
application fee of $50, the test fee 
of $50 and re-take fee of $25.  
(Applicants will pay 
approximately $225 to the 
Examination Board of 
Professional Examiners to take, 
or retake, the examination.) 

 


