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Construction Liens

(ORS 87.093)


This is not a lien. Your contractor is required by law to provide this notice to inform you about construction lien laws. This notice explains the construction lien law, and gives steps you can take to protect your property from a valid lien. As an owner, you should read this information notice carefully. This information notice is required to be given if you contract for residential construction or remodeling, if you are buying a new home, or at any time 
the contract price exceeds $2,000.


· Under Oregon law, your contractor and others who provide labor, materials, equipment, or services to your project may be able to claim payment from your property if they have not been paid. That claim is called a Construction Lien. 
· If your contractor does not pay subcontractors, employees, rental equipment dealers, materials suppliers, or does not make other legally required payments, those who are owed money may place a lien against your property for payment. It is in your best interest to verify that all bills related to your contract are paid, even if you have paid your contractor in full. 
· If you occupy or will occupy your home, persons who supply materials, labor, equipment, or services ordered by your contractor are permitted by law to file a lien against your property only if they have sent you a timely Notice of Right to Lien (which is different from this Information Notice), before or during construction. If you enter into a contract to buy a newly-built, partially-built, or newly-remodeled home, a lien may be claimed even though you have not received a Notice of Right to a Lien. If you do not occupy the building, a Notice of Right to Lien is not required prior to filing a lien. 

This notice is not intended to be a complete analysis of the law. You should consult an attorney for more information.

Common Questions and Answers About Construction Liens

Can someone record a construction lien even if I pay my contractor? Yes. Anyone who has not been paid for labor, material, equipment, or services on your project and has provided you with a valid Notice of Right to Lien has the right to record a construction lien.

What is a Notice of Right to Lien? A Notice of a Right to Lien is sent to you by persons who have provided labor, materials, or equipment to your construction project. It protects their construction lien rights against your property.

What should I do when I receive a Notice of Right to Lien? Don’t ignore it. Find out what arrangements your contractor has made to pay the sender of the Notice of Right to Lien.

When do construction liens need to be recorded? In Oregon, construction liens generally need to be recorded within 75 days from the date the project was substantially completed, or 75 days from the date that the lien claimant stopped providing labor, material, equipment, or services, whichever happened first. To enforce a lien, the lien holder must file a lawsuit in a proper court within 120 days of the date the lien was filed.


	Note to Contractor: This notice must be delivered personally, or mailed by registered mail, certified mail, or by first- class
	
	

	mail with a certificate of mailing. Ask the signing parties to provide you with an original or copy to retain in your files. You
	
	

	should retain proof of delivery of this notice for at least two years.
	(over)
	

	
	
	



[bookmark: page2]Steps That Consumers Can Take to Protect Themselves

· Contact the Construction Contractors Board (CCB) and confirm that your contractor is licensed. The law requires all construction contractors to be licensed with the CCB. Check a contractor’s license online at the CCB consumer website: www.oregon.gov/ccb, or you can call 503-378-4621. 

· Review the Consumer Protection Notice (ORS 701.330(1)), which your contractor must provide to you at the time of contract on a residential structure. 

· Consider using the services of an escrow agent to protect your interests. Consult your attorney to find out whether your escrow agent will protect you against liens when making payments. 

· Contact a title company about obtaining a title policy that will protect you from construction lien claims. 

· Find out what precautions, if any, will be taken by your contractor, lending institution, and architect to protect your project from construction liens. 

· Ask the contractor to get lien waivers or lien releases from every subcontractor, materials provider, equipment provider, and anyone else the contractor is responsible for paying. Do this before you give your contractor a progress payment. 

· Have a written contract with your contractor. A written contract is required for projects greater than $2,000. An original contractor that fails to provide a written contract as required by law, may not place a construction lien against the owner’s property. 

· If you receive a Notice of Right to Lien, ask for a statement of the reasonable value of the materials, labor, equipment, or services provided to your project from everyone who sends you a Notice of Right to Lien. If the information is not provided in a timely manner, the sender of the Notice of Right to Lien may still be able to file a construction lien, but will not be entitled to attorney fees. 

· When you pay your contractor, write checks made jointly payable to the contractor, subcontractors, materials, equipment, or services providers. The checks name both the contractor and the subcontractor, materials or equipment provider. The checks can only be cashed if both the contractor and the subcontractor, materials or equipment provider endorses it. This ensures that the subcontractor and other providers will be paid by your contractor, and can eliminate the risk of a lien on your property. 

· Should you have a dispute with your contractor, you may be able to file a complaint with the CCB and be reimbursed in whole or in part from the contractor’s bond. For more details about help available through the agency, write to the CCB at PO Box 14140, Salem, OR 97309-5052 or call 503-378-4621. 

· Consult an attorney. If you do not have an attorney, consider contacting the Oregon State Bar Referral Service at 503-684-3763 or 1-800-452-7636. 


Signing this Information Notice verifies only that you have received it. Your signature does not give your contractor or those who provide material, labor, equipment, or services, any additional rights to place a lien on your property.


Job Site Address:

CONTRACTOR:	CCB#:


Print Name (as it appears on contract)





PROPERTY OWNER:


Print Name (as it appears on contract)




Signature	Date	Signature	Date
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Arbitrations and Lawsuits

(ORS 701.330)


Oregon law contains important requirements that homeowners must follow before starting an arbitration or court action against any contractor, subcontractor, or supplier (materials or equipment) for construction defects.

Before you start an arbitration or court action, you must do the following:

1. Deliver a written notice of any conditions that you believe are defective to the contractor, subcontractor, or supplier that you believe is responsible for the alleged defect. 

2. Allow the contractor, subcontractor, supplier, or its agent, to visually inspect the possible defects and also allow the contractor, subcontractor, or supplier to do reasonable testing. 

3. Provide the contractor, subcontractor, supplier, or its agent, the opportunity to make an offer to repair or pay for the defects. You are not obligated to accept any offer made. 

There are strict procedures and deadlines that must be followed under Oregon law. Failure to follow those procedures or meet those deadlines will affect your right to start an arbitration or court action.

You should contact an attorney for information on the procedures and deadlines required under Oregon law.


Your contractor is supplying this notice to you as required by Oregon law.





CONTRACTOR:	CCB#:	HOMEOWNER:




Print Contractor Name (as it appears on contract)	Print  Homeowner Name (as it appears on contract)




Signature of Authorized Representative   Date	Signature	Date
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Actions to help make your project successful

(ORS 701.330 (1))


Oregon law requires contractors to provide the homeowner with this notice at the time of written contract, for work on a residential structure. This notice explains licensing, bond and insurance requirements, and steps that consumers can take to help protect their interests.

START OUT YOUR PROJECT RIGHT

1. Make sure your contractor is properly licensed before you sign a contract. Visit www.oregon.gov/ccb, and click on the “Search here” box to check a license, or call our offices at 503-378-4621. To be licensed in Oregon, contractors must take training and pass a test on business practices and law. Licensing is not a guarantee of the contractor’s work. 
· A license requires the contractor to maintain a surety bond and liability insurance - 

The CCB surety bond provides a limited amount of financial security if the contractor is ordered to pay damages in contract disputes. It is not intended to be a safety net for consumer damages. Consumers with large projects may wish to look into performance bonds. Liability insurance coverage provides for property damage and bodily injury caused by the contractor. It does not cover contract disputes, including poor workmanship. 

· If your contractor is not licensed - the CCB bond and dispute resolution services will not be available to you. 

2. What you should know about bids, contracts, and change orders: 

· Bids - Do not automatically accept the lowest bid - A low bid may make it necessary for the con-tractor to use lower quality materials and to cut corners in workmanship. 

· Contracts and Change Orders - Always get it in writing. Your contractor is required to provide a written contract if the contract price is more than $2000. The CCB recommends that all con-tracts be in writing. 

· Contracts should be as detailed as possible - Some items to include are materials and costs, permits, estimated start and completion dates, debris removal, and arbitration clauses. Make sure the contractor’s name, CCB number, and contact information is included in the contract. 

· Read and understand your contract before signing it - Don’t be pressured into signing your contract without taking the time needed to go through it. Make sure it includes enough details to avoid misunderstandings and to protect you and your property. 

3. Additional contract information you should know: 
· A Payment Schedule - should be included in the contract. Stick to the schedule and never pay in full for a project before the work is complete. 
· Special Note on Liens - Subcontractors and material suppliers that work on your project are often paid by the general contractor. If a general contractor fails to pay, the subcontractor may file a lien on your property. For information on construction liens, visit the CCB’s Consumer Help Page at www.oregon.gov/ccb, or contact an attorney. 
· Warranty on new residential construction - Contractors must make an offer of a warranty when constructing a new residential structure. Consumers may accept or refuse the warranty. 

4. If you should have a problem with your contractor - You can file a complaint with the CCB against a licensed contractor within one year of the substantial completion of work on your project. Contact the CCB at 503-378-4621 for help. 

[bookmark: _GoBack]Visit the CCB website at for more information on having a successful project.

www.oregon.gov/ccb
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information notice carefully. This information notice is required to be given if you contract 


for residential construction or remodeling, if you are buying a new home, or at any time
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Under Oregon law, your contractor and others who provide labor, materials, equipment, or 


services to your project may be able to claim payment from your property if they have not 


been paid. That claim is called a Construction Lien. 
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oes not pay subcontractors, employees, rental equipment dealers,


 


materials suppliers, or does not make other legally required payments, those who are owed 


money may place a lien against your property for payment. 
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verify that a
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bills related to your contract are paid, even if you have paid your 


contractor in full. 
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If you occupy or will occupy your home, persons who supply materials, labor, equipment,


 


or 


services ordered by your contractor are permitted by law to file a li


en against your property 


only if they have sent you a timely Notice of Right to Lien (which is different from this 


Information Notice), before or during construction. If you enter into a contract to buy a newly
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built, partially
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me, a lien may be claimed even though you have 
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Lien is not required prior to filing a lien. 


 


 


This notice is not intended to be a complete analysis of the law
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attorney for more information.


 


 


Common Questions and Answers About Construction Liens


 


 


Can someone record a construction lien even if I pay my contractor? 


Yes. Anyone who has not


 


been paid for labor, material, equipment, or services on your project and has provided you with a 


valid Notice of Right to Lien has the right to record a construction lien.


 


 


What is a Notice of Right to Lien? 


A Notice of a Right to Lien is sent to you by p
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provided labor, materials, or equipment to your construction project. It protects their construction 


lien rights against your property.


 


 


What should I do when I receive a Notice of Right to Lien? 


Don’t ignore it. Find out what


 


arrangements 


your contractor has made to pay the sender of the Notice of Right to Lien.


 


 


When do construction liens need to be recorded? 


In Oregon, construction liens generally need


 


to be recorded within 75 days from the date the project was substantially completed, or 75 days from 


the date that the lien claimant stopped providing labor, material, equipment, or services, whichever 


happened first. To enforce a lien, the lien holder mus


t file a lawsuit in a proper court within 120 days 


of the date the lien was filed.
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