Oregon's reciprocal preference law
ORS 279A.120 requires public contracting agencies, in determining the lowest responsible bidder, to add a percent increase to each out-of-state bidder's bid price which is equal to the percent of preference given to local bidders in the bidder's home state. That is, if the low bidder is from a state that grants a 10 percent preference to its own in-state bidders, the Oregon agency must add 10 percent to that bidder's price when evaluating the bid.
The Department of Administrative Services (DAS), Procurement Services office has gathered information on preference laws of all states. This list is for your use in making contract awards under Oregon's reciprocal preference law. If you are in need of any assistance in the application of this law, please call or contact the Procurement Services office:
Department of Administrative Services
Procurement Services Office
1225 Ferry Street SE
Salem, OR 97301-4285
Tel: (503) 378-4642