Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Board Members
Paul McKenna

Paul McKenna, who chairs the Board, was appointed to the Public Employees' Benefit Board in 2002. Paul is the research director of Service Employees International Union (SEIU), Local 503, and Oregon Public Employees Union (OPEU). He has worked more than 30 years for SEIU and its members. As a board member he tries to represent all state employees in every meeting. Paul, who calls himself the numbers guy, likes to make decisions based on data. When it comes to staying healthy, he also relies on numbers. In recent years, Paul has set and met several numerical annual fitness goals such as walking 4 million steps and doing 10,000 push-ups. 
Jeanene Smith, MD, MPH

Jeanene Smith, M.D., MPH, is vice chair of the Board and was first was appointed to the Board in 2005. She is chief medical officer for the Oregon Health Authority, and continues to serve as administrator of the Office for Oregon Health Policy and Research (OHPR). She has practiced family medicine in both private practice and community clinics for more than 15 years, and continues to see patients on a limited basis. She brings great knowledge of the health care system to PEBB. Jeanene sees board membership a great responsibility and she is honored to serve. She stays active by kayaking, hiking and camping in rural Alaska.    

​Stacy Chamberlain, JD

Stacy Chamberlain J.D., was appointed to the Public Employees' Benefit Board in May 2013. Stacy is the staff representative with Oregon AFSCME. She began her work with AFSCME in 2005. Prior to her work with AFSCME, Stacy worked as a legislative aide, a law clerk at the U.S. Attorney's Office and an associate at a Portland law firm. A Portland native, she graduated from Portland State University and earned a law degree from Willamette University. Stacy is a licensed attorney and brings with her a deep knowledge of labor and politics in Oregon. Stacy stays healthy by eating well, running and keeping up with her young son.

​Sean Kolmer, MPH

​Sean Kolmer, M.P.H., was appointed to the Public Employees' Benefit Board in 2011. He serves as health policy adviser in the Governor's Office. Before he joined the Governor's Office, Sean was deputy administrator of the Office for Oregon Health Policy and Research and worked on several research projects for the National Institutes of Health at Oregon Health & Science University including a partnership with the National Football League. He prefers a backpack to a briefcase. Sean stays active by golfing when the weather is nice. He also enjoys running and playing basketball with his son.


Mitch Morrow, MBA

Mitch Morrow, M.B.A., was appointed to the Public Employees' Benefit Board in 2012. Mitch is deputy director of the Oregon Department of Corrections. He joined the department in 1983 as a corrections officer and moved up the ranks, while earning a bachelor’s degree and a Master of Business Administration from George Fox University. He is honored to be a part of a board that is dedicated to improving the health of its members. Mitch understands the importance of work life balance and always makes time to stay active. He enjoys biking, lifting weights, golfing and running with his wife of 34 years.

Rich Peppers

Rich Peppers was appointed to the Public Employees' Benefit Board in 2005. Rich is assistant executive director of SEIU Local 503, OPEU. He has worked for SEIU and its members for more than 30 years. Rich is proud of his work on the board and takes his membership very seriously because he understands just how important good health care is for state workers. He stays active by running every morning before the sun rises and enjoys hiking in the Columbia Gorge with family and friends.


​Clyde Saiki

Clyde Saiki is deputy director for Central Services for the state's Department of Transportation. In this position since January 11, 2010, Clyde oversees Financial Services, Information Systems, Human Resources, Budget Unit, Audit Services, Facilities, Procurement, Central Services Operations and Business Services. Prior to coming to ODOT Clyde spent 23 years at the Department of Human Services where he held a number of different leadership positions in Human Resources, Facilities, Contracts, and the agency’s Volunteer Program.  He also served as the department’s Chief Administrative Officer and spent the last four years at DHS as the Deputy Director of Operations. Clyde holds a Bachelor of Science degree from Oregon State University.
Representative Brian Clem

Representative Brian Clem is the House’s non-voting member of the Board. In 2006, Brian was elected to the Oregon House. He is a 5th generation Oregonian, born and raised in Coos Bay. After graduating Magna Cum Laude from Oregon State University, he worked for State Senator Cliff Trow and later U.S. Senator Ron Wyden.  Two governors appointed Brian to the Oregon Student Assistance Commission. He was serving his 4th term as its chair and his second term as President of the Salem City Club before resigning to serve House District 21.


Senator Betsy Johnson

Senator Betsy Johnson is the Senate's non-voting member on the Board. She is serving her second term in the Senate after three terms in the House. Prior to serving in elected office, she founded an aviation company, managed the Aviation Division of the Oregon Department of Transportation and represented the Oregon Pilots Association. She is vice chair of the legislature's Joint Committee on Ways and Means. 



Kathy Loretz

Kathy Loretz joined PEBB in 2009 as Deputy Administrator. She continues in that role as well as the PEBB/OEBB Interim Administrator. Kathy will fill both position until a permanent administrator is selected. Her healthcare experience includes radiological technology, business manager of a medical clinic, manager with the Division of Medical Assistance Programs and a manager with SAIF Corporation. Kathy enjoys spending time at the coast and with her family.