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RULE CAPTION

The Emerging Small Business eligibility requirements are modified to create a two-tier designation system.
Not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the agency’s intended action.

RULEMAKING ACTION

AMEND:

445-050-0115, 445-050-0125 and 445-050-0135

ORS  200.055                                                                                                                                     _                                                                ______________________
Stat. Auth. Other Authority

2005 Oregon Laws Chapter 683                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
Stats. Implemented

RULE SUMMARY

These rule changes implement the following changes made by 2005 Oregon Laws Chapter 683 :
Creates a two-tier system for certification of emerging small businesses and modifies the qualifications by
increasing the employee and gross-receipts thresholds.  “Tier one firm” means a business that employs fewer
than 20 full-time equivalent employees and has average annual gross receipts for the last three years that do
not exceed $1.5 million for a business performing construction, as defined in ORS 446.310, or $600,000 for
a business not performing construction.  “Tier two firm” means a business that employs fewer than 30 full-
time equivalent employees and has average annual gross receipts for the last three years that do not exceed
$3 million for a business performing construction, as defined in ORS 446.310, or $1 million for a business
not performing construction.

Increases the limit on certification from seven to twelve years, six years at each tier.  Allows reinstatement of
a formerly certified business if the business still qualifies as an emerging small business and has eligibility
remaining.

Transfers the Emerging Small Business Account from the Consumer and Business Services Fund to the State
Highway Fund.

A public rulemaking hearing may be requested in writing by 10 or more people, or by an association with 10 or more members,
within 21 days following the publication of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Oregon Bulletin or 28 days from the date
Notice was sent to people on the agency mailing list, whichever is later. If sufficient hearing requests are received, the notice of the
date and time of the rulemaking hearing must be published in the Oregon Bulletin at least 14 days before the hearing.

The agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals
while reducing the negative economic impact of the rule on business.
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