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State issues fines, enforcement orders in 4 mortgage lending cases 
Mortgage companies failed to comply with requirements 

 
(Salem) — As part of its ongoing effort to protect consumers and ensure a fraud-free mortgage lending market, 
the Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services ordered four companies to cease and desist 
violating Oregon’s mortgage lending laws.  
 
The department, through the Division of Finance and Corporate Securities (DFCS), issued orders in the 
following cases: 
 

•  Morgan Financial Inc. DFCS ordered Mortgage Financial Inc. to pay a fine of $5,000 for employing a 
loan originator who had been convicted of a felony. The company, a mortgage lender licensed in Oregon 
with branches in several Western states, completed the required criminal records check for a loan 
originator but did not recognize that the felony conviction disqualified him from being employed as a 
loan originator. Morgan Financial cooperated with DFCS, ceasing the employment of the disqualified 
employee and promptly paying the fine.  

 
•  Charles D. Rose dba Executive Mortgage & Financial Services. DFCS ordered this Lake Oswego 

company to pay a civil penalty of $25,000 for failing to notify DFCS of the hire of a loan originator, 
failing to maintain a personnel ledger for another employee, and failing to maintain certain disclosures 
in a borrower’s loan file. The company cooperated with the investigation and DFCS suspended a portion 
of the fine pending compliance with terms of the cease-and-desist order, including no further violations 
of the law. 

 
•  Fairlane Mortgage Inc. This Colorado mortgage company obtained a mortgage for an Oregon consumer 

without having an Oregon license. Fairlane Mortgage made arrangements to use the Oregon mortgage-
lending license of another company to complete the loan and did not realize that such “renting” of a 
license violated the law. Because Fairlane cooperated with the investigation and relied upon erroneous 
advice that it could use the other company’s license, DFCS ordered the company to pay a civil penalty 
of $1,286.20, the amount of money the company earned from the loan in question. 

 
•  Gibraltar Funding Corp. Rev. Anthony Miller of New York purchased Gibraltar Funding Corp., a 

mortgage company located in Florida but licensed in Oregon. Within one month of purchasing the 
company, Miller learned the former owners and employees allegedly had created false documents, such 
as paystubs, to obtain mortgages. Miller closed the Florida location, terminated the employees, and 
reported the violations to DFCS. DFCS formally ordered Gibraltar Funding Corp. to cease engaging in 
the fraudulent activity as a follow-up to Miller’s activities. DFCS did not fine Gibraltar Funding Corp. 
since Miller had discovered the violations quickly, acted appropriately in response, and had not owned 
the company at the time that the violations occurred. Gibraltar Funding Corp. elected not to renew its 
Oregon license. The individuals involved in the alleged creation of false documents are still under 
investigation. 
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“These cases highlight how important it is that mortgage companies make sure they understand the regulations 
that apply to their industry,” said David Tatman, administrator of the Division of Finance and Corporate 
Securities. “The regulations were created to facilitate consumers’ ability to make informed financial decisions, 
protect consumers from financial harm, and ensure a competitive, fraud-free mortgage lending marketplace.” 
 
DFCS, which licenses companies that offer mortgages to Oregon consumers, has been increasing its 
enforcement activities after receiving more complaints about the industry. Licensed mortgage lenders are 
responsible for complying with all mortgage lending laws and rules as well as supervising individuals who work 
for them. No mortgage lender may transfer, sell, or rent its license to another company.  
 
“We expect mortgage lenders to comply with the regulations, and we stand ready to sanction those who fail to 
uphold their legal and professional obligations,” Tatman said. 
 
DFCS advises consumers to do their homework before doing business with any financial professional. To check 
a mortgage lender’s credentials and licensing history, call DFCS toll-free (866) 814-9710, (503) 378-4140 in 
Salem, or go to www.dfcs.oregon.gov and click on “Mortgage Lenders & Loan Originators.” 
 

### 

 

The Division of Finance and Corporate Securities, part of the Department of Consumer & Business Services, 
helps ensure that a wide range of financial products and services are available to Oregonians and helps protect 
consumers from financial fraud and abuse. For more information, visit www.dfcs.oregon.gov. 
 
The Department of Consumer and Business Services is Oregon’s largest business regulatory and consumer 
protection agency. For more information, visit www.dcbs.oregon.gov. 


