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State issues order against consumer finance lender

for exposing clients to identity theft
Noble Finance must cease and desist, reimburse investigative costs

(Salem) - The Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services issued a cease-and-desist order
against Noble Finance Corporation for failure to protect confidential files at its former Portland location. The
department ordered the company to restore any customer’s credit that may have been damaged and
reimburse any customer’s money lost as a result of any unauthorized use of the customer’s information.

The department’s Division of Finance and Corporate Securities (DFCS) started investigating Noble Finance
in 2005 when it was notified that a non-employee attempted to sell a number of Noble’s client files to an
undercover Portland police officer. The man claimed he found the files in a dumpster behind the firm’s
Portland location. After DFCS began investigating, Noble Finance hired an outside firm to review its
security policies and procedures, and made changes suggested by the firm. The Texas-based financing
corporation later closed its Oregon offices and is no longer transacting business in Oregon.

In consenting to the order, Noble Finance also reimbursed the department for investigation costs of $20,000
and contributed $5,000 to assist in the production and distribution of a brochure to inform businesses and
organizations about record protection requirements.

“Protecting customers’ personal information must be a priority for all businesses and organizations in
Oregon,” said David Tatman, administrator of the Division of Finance and Corporate Securities. “The theft
of someone’s identity can result in ruined credit history that can takes months, even years, to correct.”

In 2007, Oregon’s legislature passed the Oregon Identity Theft Protection Act that outlines the
responsibilities of any business or organization that collects personal data. Civil penalties for violating the
new law can be up to $100,000. The act also gives consumers free or low-cost options for safeguarding their
credit files. For additional information on the Oregon Identity Theft Protection Act, call DFCS at 1-866-
814-9710 or 503-378-4140, or go to www.dfcs.oregon.gov and click on Identity Theft.

DFCS can help consumers find licensing, registration, and enforcement history information on individuals
and companies offering financial services. You can call DFCS toll-free (866) 814-9710, (503) 378-4140 in
Salem, or go to http://www.dfcs.oregon.gov/.
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The Division of Finance and Corporate Securities (DFCS) helps ensure that a wide range of financial
products and services are available to Oregonians and protects consumers from financial fraud and abuse. It
does that by licensing financial institutions and service providers, regulating the sale of securities in Oregon,



investigating complaints and alleged violations of financial-service laws, and providing education and other
resources to consumers.

The Department of Consumer and Business Services is Oregon’s largest business regulatory and consumer
protection agency. For more information, visit www.dcbs.oregon.gov.




