Skip to the main content of the page
Skip to the Oregon.gov search
Skip to the main site navigation
Answers & Action
Oregon Insurance Division
Taxes and fees
Frequently asked questions
About Oregon Captive Insurance
Why form a captive
How to apply
Approved service providers
Annual filing requirement
Taxes and fees
Laws and regulations
News and links
Agency Main Content
Corporation excise tax
Captive insurance companies who are part of a consolidated federal return must file as part of the Oregon consolidated return. Any transactions between the captive insurance company and the parent or any member of the consolidated group will be eliminated in filing of the excise tax return for Oregon.
Generally, any deduction allowed on the federal consolidated return after eliminations required for consolidated reporting are allowed on the Oregon return. Due to the complexity of tax law, you should seek advice from a qualified tax and legal professional to understand how a captive insurance company could affect your tax situation.
Questions about the corporation excise tax? Email
or call 503-378-4988.
Oregon does not impose a premium tax on captive insurers.
Captives are subject to property tax on any property owned by the captive insurer.
The certificate of authority fee to transact insurance as a captive insurer is $5,000 for the year the director first issues the certificate of authority. The fee must be paid when an application for a permit to organize is submitted. Otherwise, the fee must be made with the captive insurance company application.
The fee for an annual renewal of a certificate of authority is $5,000, due by Dec. 31.
A captive insurer must pay the expenses and charges of an examination.