Health and life insurance
HB 4046: Exempts Accident-Only Policies from One Percent Assessment to Fund Medical Assistance Programs (Chapter 15, 2012 Oregon Laws)
House Bill 4046 exempts accident-only insurance policies and specified policies that pay benefits on an indemnity basis, from the assessment imposed in 2009 in House Bill 2116. That bill created an account funded by a 1 percent assessment on health insurance premiums, to be used by the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) for children's medical assistance programs. Some types of insurance policies were excluded from the assessment, such as vision-only and dental-only policies, and Medicare advantage plans.
This bill removes the requirement that insurers pay a 1 percent assessment on premiums from accident only, specified disease, and hospital indemnity policies that pay benefits on an indemnity basis to Department of Consumer and Business Services to help fund the Healthy Kids program. Currently, the assessment will end on Sept. 30, 2013. The exemption from the assessment allowed by HB 4046 is effective on Sept. 29, 2013, so the exempted premiums will continue to pay the assessment but if the program and assessment is extended, these policies would not be subject to the assessment.
- Effective Date: Sept. 29, 2013