Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

Types of Foster Care

Contact us

Call 1-800-331-0503 or contact us on-line about foster parenting or adoption.

Types of foster care  

Foster care settings

You may provide foster care for a child for just a few days, weeks, months or even years. Around the state of Oregon foster homes are greatly needed for all types of children, including infants, teens, sibling groups, and minority children. Certified foster parents receive on going support and training. Foster families can specify the gender and age range of child that best fits with their family structure, parenting preferences and experience. Foster parents are members of their foster child’s team. Foster parent’s observations and knowledge of a foster child in their home can be helpful when identifying services that best meet this child’s needs.

There are additional options for families and individuals interested in foster care. Types of care they may consider include:

Emergency foster care: Emergency foster care is often referred to as Family Shelter Care. Families providing shelter care are needed to help children feel safe in a crisis. Homes for these children are needed with little advance notice after hours or on weekends. Placements are typically a few days, but may last longer.

Specialized foster care: There is a need for medically trained individuals and families to provide foster care for medically fragile children. These children have chronic and serious medical conditions or disabilities and need specialized foster parents trained to meet children’s medical needs. Frequently these children require in home nursing care by a Licensed Practical Nurse or a Registered Nurse. Additional training and in home assistance is provided when needed.

Relative Foster Care: Relative foster care is provided by the child's relatives in the relative's home. Relative foster care families are valuable resources for children and DHS is committed to building a strong partnership with these families.

Independent Living Program: The DHS child welfare Independent Living Program (ILP) is designed to assist youths who are or were in foster care to become independent adults. Youth served must be age 14 or older.

Youth attend training programs and classes to prepare them to live independently. Youth often transition from foster homes to apartments or group living situations, while supported and guided by their caseworker.

Respite foster care: Families and individuals who can volunteer for just a few hours, a day, or longer, to offer foster parents a break, are greatly valued. Respite care providers have an opportunity to share positive experiences with local kids. Being a respite provider can provide an opportunity for people taking classes to become a foster parent to learn more about foster children.