
Who must pay this tax?

Anyone who has self-employment earnings from busi-
ness or service activities carried on in the district must
pay this tax.

Partnerships aren’t subject to the LTD tax. However, a
partnership may file and pay for all individual partners.
See Partnership Election instructions on page 2.

People who must pay the self-employment tax include:

• Anyone who does business or provides services in the
district, and whose earnings aren’t subject to Oregon
withholding, regardless of where they live.

• Compensation received for performing religious ser-
vices independently is subject to self-employment tax.

• Real estate salespeople. Federal laws generally treat
real estate salespeople as self-employed. This includes
those who provide services to real estate brokers un-
der contract. This means commissions on sales are
subject to the LTD Self-Employment tax.

What is the LTD Self-Employment tax?

The Lane Transit tax helps fund mass transportation in
the Lane Transit District. This tax is applied to self-em-
ployment earnings of taxpayers doing business or pro-
viding services in the district. The tax rate is .006 (.6 of
1 percent). The Oregon Department of Revenue collects
the tax for Lane Transit.

New information

The boundaries for the Lane Transit District have
changed effective January 1, 2000. Changes include:

• The addition of businesses and self-employed persons
located within the Urban Growth Boundary of Cottage
Grove.

• The deletion of businesses and self-employed persons
located in rural areas more that 2.5 miles from bus ser-
vice routes.

A map of the district is on the back of this booklet. For
questions about district boundaries, call Lane Transit at
541-682-6100.
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Exemptions:

• S corporation distributions are not subject to this tax.
• Insurance agents. All insurance agents are exempt

from the self-employment tax (ORS 731.840).
• Ministers. Compensation received by a minister or

member of a religious order for performing religious
services in the exercise of that ministry or religious or-
der is not subject to LTD Self-Employment tax.

LTD Self-Employment tax

These instructions aren’t a complete statement of
laws and rules that apply to the Lane County Mass
Transit District Self-Employment tax. For more in-
formation, contact the Oregon Department of Rev-
enue. See page 8 for numbers to call.

How to file
Complete Form LTD, the return for the Lane County
Mass Transit District Self-Employment tax. Attach your
payment to the front of the form. Make your check pay-
able to the Oregon Department of Revenue. Please do
not use red ink on your return or payment. Mail to:

LTDSE
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14003
Salem OR 97309-2502

Important: Don’t combine your LTD Self-Employment
tax payment with any other tax payments being made
to the Oregon Department of Revenue. Don’t attach
your LTD Self-Employment tax return to your Oregon
income tax return or any other form.

File one LTD Self-Employment tax return for all of your
self-employment earnings.

I have more than one business. How should I file my
Lane Transit return?

File one return. If you have separate business activities,
attach a schedule for each separate business to your re-
turn. Compute the Lane Transit Self-Employment in-
come separately for each business.

Can I file a joint return?

No. Each taxpayer having self-employment earnings
must file a separate Form LTD. That’s true even if you
and your spouse filed a joint federal income tax return.
The only exception is a partnership filing for all partners.
Both spouses could be members of the same partnership.

I’m getting a refund on my Oregon individual income
tax return. Can I have that refund applied to this tax?

No. We can’t apply any income tax refund to pay your
LTD Self-Employment tax.

When to file

Your Form LTD return is due the same day as your fed-
eral and Oregon individual income tax returns. For most

taxpayers, this is April 15. When the 15th falls on a Sat-
urday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date will be the
next business day.

Extensions

If you get an extension to file your federal or Oregon
individual income tax return, it also covers your LTD
Self-Employment tax return. Check the “Extension
Filed” box on your LTD Self-Employment tax return
when you file.

However, more time to file doesn’t mean more time to
pay. If you file an extension, make your payment by the
original due date of the return. Fill out the name and
address section of Form LTD and write “ADVANCE
PAYMENT” across the top. Be sure to use the same name
and Social Security number or federal employer ID num-
ber that you will use on your return when you file.
Please do not use red ink. Attach your payment to the
front of Form LTD.

Be sure to file your LTD Self-Employment tax return
within the extension period.

See the Oregon individual income tax return instructions
for full-year residents for more information on extensions.

Partnership election

A partnership may file and pay the LTD tax for all indi-
vidual partners. The partnership shall use net earnings
from self-employment as reported on federal Form 1065
to figure the tax. Do not make Oregon modifications to
the partnership’s earnings. If some partners have differ-
ent tax years than others, net earnings from self-employ-
ment may have to be computed from amounts from
different partnership years. For additional information,
see page 8 for telephone numbers to call.

Form LTD is due by April 15, for calendar year partner-
ships. Fiscal year partnerships should file by April 15
following the year in which the fiscal year ends. Do not
put the partnership’s fiscal year end information on
Form LTD.

Example: A partnership has a tax year ending August
31, 2000, and its partners use calendar tax years. The
partnership must file and pay by April 16, 2001.

Partnerships must attach a schedule listing the follow-
ing information for each partner:

• Name.
• Social Security number.
• Share of partnership income.
• Individual exclusion.

If your partnership is filing for all partners, you don’t
need to file a separate Form LTD unless you have net
self-employment earnings from sources other than the
partnership. Report only these additional net self-em-
ployment earnings on your Form LTD.
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Form LTD instructions

Name and address section

Fill in your name, address, telephone number, and So-
cial Security number. Fill in your federal employer ID
number, if you have one.

or

If filing as a partnership, fill in the partnership name, ad-
dress, telephone number, federal employer ID number,
and Business Identification Number (BIN), if known.

You must provide a federal employer ID number or So-
cial Security number for each partner. Your return can-
not be processed without this information.

The request for your Social Security number(s) is author-
ized by Section 405, Title 42, United States Code. You
must give us this information. It will be used to estab-
lish your identity.

Line instructions Form L TD
Instructions are for lines not fully explained on the form.

1. Self-employment earnings. Fill in the amount from
federal Schedule SE, Section A, line 3, or Section B, line
3. If you have separate business activities, don’t use the
“net” amount of all businesses shown on federal Sched-
ule SE. Instead, compute the LTD Self-Employment in-
come separately for each business. File one return and
attach a schedule for each separate business. If you have
self-employment earnings from a separate business op-
erated wholly outside of the district, don’t include those
earnings on line 1 of Form LTD.

You don’t need to make Oregon changes or modifica-
tions to federal income on Form LTD. Your earnings
that are subject to LTD Self-Employment tax will usu-
ally be the same as the earnings you report on your fed-
eral Schedule SE, Section A, line 3, or Section B, line 3.

Exception: Did you receive partnership income? If so,
did the partnership file Form LTD and pay the tax for
the partners? If so, reduce the amount from your fed-
eral Schedule SE, Section A, line 3, or Section B, line 3
by the amount of your income from that partnership.

2. Apportionment percentage. Fill in the percentage from
line 3d, column C, or line 6 of the worksheet on the back
of Form LTD. Don’t fill in less than -0- or more than 100
percent. Fill in 100 percent on line 2 of Form LTD if all
your business activities are within the district.

If part of your business or service activity is carried
on outside the transit district, you may choose to use
the entire three-factor formula or the sales factor only.
If you use the entire three-factor formula, the sales
factor is doubled. Don’t count any factor with a zero
in column B. For example, if you have only sales and
payroll in column B, divide the amount on line 5 by
three. If you use the sales factor only, complete lines
3a through 3d of the apportionment worksheet on the

back of Form LTD. Fill in the percentage of sales
within the district on line 2 on the front of the form.
Once you choose to use the sales factor only, you must
continue to use it, unless the Oregon Department of
Revenue allows you to change it.

4. Exclusion. The total exclusion for all your businesses
is limited to $400. Fill in $400 or the amount on line
3, whichever is less. Was the exclusion partially or
completely used on another 2000 Form LTD filed by
your partnership? If so, fill in only the unused
amount of the $400 exclusion.

Partnerships. Fill in $400 for each partner or each
partner’s share of the amount on line 3, whichever is
less. If any partner’s exclusion was partially or com-
pletely used on another 2000 Form LTD, include on
line 4 only that partner’s unused amount of the $400
exclusion. Each partner is responsible for ensuring
that the total of all exclusions doesn’t exceed $400.

7. Prepayments. Fill in the amount of any advance pay-
ments you made before filing this return. Include pay-
ments made with an extension.

9. Penalty and interest. For filing or paying late.

Due date. Form LTD is due the same day as your fed-
eral and Oregon income tax returns. For most taxpay-
ers, this is April 16, 2001.

Interest. Are you paying your tax after the due date?
If you are, include interest on any unpaid tax.

The current interest rate is 10 percent annually, or
.8333 percent per month (.0274 percent per day). The
interest rate may change once a calendar year.

Interest is figured daily for periods of less than a
month. A full month, for example, is April 16 through
May 15. Here’s how to figure daily interest:

Tax × Rate × Number of days

Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you:

• Mail your LTD Self-Employment tax payment af-
ter the due date (see exception below), or

• File Form LTD after the due date (see exception
below).

Penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid balance of your tax.

If you file more than three months late, add an addi-
tional 20 percent penalty.

Exception: You don’t owe a penalty if you do all of
the following:

a. Get an extension of time to file your return, and
b. Pay at least 90 percent of your LTD Self-Employ-

ment tax by the original due date of the return, and
c. Pay the balance of tax due when you file within the

extension period, and
d. Pay the interest on the balance of tax due when

you file your return or within 30 days of the bill-
ing you receive from the department.

Sign your return.
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Questions?

Are you unsure if you are doing business within the LTD
boundaries? Call LTD at 541-682-6100.

For assistance with filing your return, contact the Or-
egon Department of Revenue.

Telephone: Salem ......................................... 503-378-4988

Toll-free within Oregon ...... 1-800-356-4222

To order forms, write to: Forms, Oregon Department
of Revenue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990.
Some forms are also available on our Web site at:
www.dor.state.or.us.

¿Habla español? Línea de mensaje. Las personas que
necesitan asistencia en español pueden dejar un mensaje.
El número disponible todo el año en Salem es 503-945-8618.

A message line is available all year for those who need as-
sistance in Spanish. The number in Salem is 503-945-8618.

TTY (hearing or speech impaired only): These numbers
are answered by machine only and are not for voice
use. The toll-free number within Oregon is 1-800-886-
7204. In Salem the number is 503-945-8617.

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). In compliance
with the ADA, this information is available in alterna-
tive formats upon request by calling 503-378-4988.

Oregon Dept. of Revenue
The map on this page has been removed because it made the file size so large. I've made the map a separate link. If you need the map you will find it at http://www.dor.state.or.us/formsmass.html. Look for the "LTD Map" link.
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