Form LTD and Instructions

Lane County Mass Transit District
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What is the LTD Self-Employment tax?

The Lane Transit tax helps fund mass transportation in
the Lane Transit District. This tax is applied to self-em-
ployment earnings of taxpayers doing business or pro-
viding services in the district. The tax rate is 0.006 (0.6
of 1 percent). The Oregon Department of Revenue col-
lects the tax for Lane Transit.

lII

New information

The boundaries for the Lane Transit District changed ef-
fective January 1, 2000. Changes include:

= The addition of businesses and self-employed persons
located within the Urban Growth Boundary of Cottage
Grove.

= The deletion of businesses and self-employed persons
located in rural areas more than 2.5 miles from bus ser-
vice routes.

A map of the district is on the back of this booklet. For
questions about district boundaries, call Lane Transit at
541-682-6100 or you may access the Lane County Tran-
sit District Web site at www.Itd.org.
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Who must pay this tax?

Anyone who has self-employment earnings from busi-
ness or service activities carried on in the Lane County
Transit district must pay this tax.

Partnerships are not subject to the LTD tax. However,
individual partners are subject to the tax. A partnership
may file and pay for all individual partners. See Partner-
ship Election instructions on page 2.

People who must pay the self-employment tax include:

= Anyone who does business or provides services in the
district, and whose earnings are not subject to Oregon
withholding, regardless of where they live.

= Compensation received for performing religious ser-
vices independently is subject to self-employment tax.

= Real estate salespeople. Federal laws generally treat
real estate salespeople as self-employed. This includes
those who provide services to real estate brokers un-
der contract. This means commissions on sales are sub-
ject to the LTD Self-Employment tax.

Exemptions:
= S corporation distributions are not subject to this tax.



= Insurance agents. All insurance agents are exempt from
the self-employment tax (ORS 731.840).

= Ministers. Compensation received by a minister or
member of a religious order for performing religious
services in the exercise of that ministry or religious or-
der is not subject to LTD Self-Employment tax.

These instructions are not a complete statement of
laws and rules that apply to the Lane County Mass
Transit District Self-Employment tax. For more in-
formation, contact the Oregon Department of Rev-
enue. See page 8 for numbers to call. You may
access the laws, rules, forms, and instructions on
the Internet at www.dor.state.or.us.

How to file

Complete Form LTD (Lane Transit District Self-Employ-
ment Tax return). Attach your payment to the front of the
form. Make your check payable to the Oregon Depart-
ment of Revenue. Please use blue or black ink on your
return and payment. Mail to:

LTDSE

Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14003

Salem OR 97309-2502

Important: Do not combine your LTD Self-Employment
tax payment with any other tax payments being made to
the Oregon Department of Revenue. Do not attach your
LTD Self-Employment tax return to your Oregon income
tax return or any other form.

File one LTD Self-Employment tax return for all of your
self-employment earnings.

Frequently asked questions

| have more than one business. How should | file
my Lane Transit return?

File one return. If you have separate business activities,
attach a schedule for each separate business to your
return. Compute the Lane Transit Self-Employment
income separately for each business. See instructions for
line 1 on page 7.

Can I file ajointreturn?

No. Each taxpayer having self-employment earnings
must file a separate Form LTD. That’s true even if you
and your spouse filed a joint federal income tax return.
The only exception is a partnership filing for all partners.
Both spouses could be members of the same partnership.

I’'m getting a refund on my Oregon individual
income tax return. Can | have that refund
applied to this tax?

No. We can not apply any income tax refund to pay your
LTD Self-Employment tax.

2 General information

When to file

Your Lane Transit return is due the same day as your fed-
eral and Oregon individual income tax returns. For most
taxpayers, this is April 15. When the 15th falls on a Sat-
urday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date will be the
next business day.

Extensions

If you get an extension to file your federal or Oregon indi-
vidual income tax return, it also applies to your LTD Self-
Employment tax return. Check the “Extension Filed” box
on your LTD Self-Employment tax return when you file.

However, more time to file does not mean more time to
pay. If you file an extension, make your payment by the
original due date of the return. Fill out the name and ad-
dress section of Form LTD and write “ADVANCE PAY-
MENT” across the top. Be sure to use the same name and
Social Security number or federal employer ID number that
you will use on your return when you file. Please use blue
or black ink. Attach your payment to the front of Form LTD.

Be sure to file your LTD Self-Employment tax return
within the extension period.

See the Oregon individual income tax return, Form 40,
instructions for full-year residents; Form 40N for nonresi-
dents; or Form 40P for part-year residents for more in-
formation on extensions.

Partnership election

A partnership may file and pay the LTD tax for all indi-
vidual partners. The partnership must use net earnings
from self-employment as reported on federal Form 1065
to figure the tax. Do not make Oregon modifications to
the partnership’s earnings. If some partners have differ-
ent tax years than others, net earnings from self-employ-
ment may have to be computed from amounts from
different partnership years. For additional information,
see page 8 for telephone numbers to call.

Form LTD is due by April 15 for calendar-year partner-
ships. Fiscal year partnerships must file by April 15 fol-
lowing the year in which the fiscal year ends. Do not put
the partnership’s fiscal year end dates on Form LTD.

Example: A partnership has a tax year ending August 31,
2001. The partnership must file and pay by April 15, 2002.

Partnerships must attach a schedule listing the follow-
ing information for each partner:

= Name.

= Social Security number.

= Share of partnership income.
= Individual exclusion.

If your partnership is filing for all partners, you do not
need to file a separate Form LTD unless you have net
self-employment earnings from sources other than the
partnership. Report only these additional net self-em-
ployment earnings on your Form LTD.

... Continued on page 7



Continued from page 2 . . .
Form LTD instructions

Name and address section

Individuals: Fill in your name, address, telephone num-
ber, and Social Security number.

Partnerships: Fill in the partnership name, address, tele-
phone number, federal employer ID number, and Oregon
Business Identification Number (BIN).

You must provide on a schedule attached to Form LTD
the name and Social Security number for each partner.
Your return cannot be processed without this information.

The request for your Social Security number(s) is authorized
by Section 405, Title 42, United States Code. You must give
us this information. It will be used to establish your identity.

Line instructions—Form LTD

Instructions are for lines not fully explained on the form.

1. Self-employment earnings. Fill in the amount from fed-
eral Schedule SE, Section A, line 3, or Section B, line 3. If
you have separate business activities, do not use the
“net” amount of all businesses shown on federal Sched-
ule SE. Instead, compute the LTD Self-Employment in-
come separately for each business. The loss from one
business cannot be offset against the income of another
business. File one return, attach a schedule for each sepa-
rate business, and start with line 3 on Form LTD. If you
have self-employment earnings from a separate business
operated wholly outside of the Lane Transit district, do
not include those earnings on line 1 or 3 of Form LTD.

You do not need to make Oregon changes or modifica-
tions to federal income on Form LTD. Your earnings
that are subject to LTD Self-Employment tax usually
will be the same as the earnings you report on your fed-
eral Schedule SE, Section A, line 3, or Section B, line 3.

Exception: Did you receive partnership income? If so,
did the partnership file Form LTD and pay the tax for
the partners? If so, reduce the amount from your fed-
eral Schedule SE, Section A, line 3, or Section B, line 3
by the amount of your income from that partnership.

2. Apportionment percentage. Fill in the percentage
from line 3d, column C, or line 6 of the worksheet on
the back of Form LTD. Do not fill in less than -0- or
more than 100 percent. Fill in 100 percent on line 2 of
Form LTD if all your business activities are within the
Lane County Transit district.

If part of your business or service activity is carried on
outside the Lane County Transit district, you may choose
to use the entire three-factor formula or the sales factor
only. If you use the entire three-factor formula, the sales
factor is doubled. Do not count any factor with a zero in
column B. For example, if you have only sales and pay-
roll in column B, divide the amount on line 5 by three.
If you use the sales factor only, complete lines 3a through
3d of the apportionment worksheet on the back of Form
LTD. Fill in the percentage of sales within the district on

line 2 on the front of the form. Once you choose to use
the sales factor only, you must continue to do so in all
future years, unless the Oregon Department of Revenue
lets you change your apportionment method.

4. Exclusion. The total exclusion for all your businesses
is limited to $400. Fill in $400 or the amount on line 3,
whichever is less. Was the exclusion partially or com-
pletely used on another 2001 Form LTD filed by your
partnership? If so, fill in only the unused amount of
the $400 exclusion.

Partnerships. Fill in $400 for each partner or each
partner’s share of the amount on line 3, whichever is
less. If any partner’s exclusion was partially or com-
pletely used on another 2001 Form LTD, include on
line 4 only that partner’s unused amount of the $400
exclusion. Each partner is responsible for ensuring that
the total of all exclusions does not exceed $400.

7. Prepayments. Fill in the amount of any advance pay-
ments you made before filing this return. Include pay-
ments made with an extension.

9. Penalty and interest. For filing or paying late.

Due date. Form LTD is due the same day as your fed-
eral and Oregon income tax returns. For most taxpay-
ers, this is April 15, 2002.

Interest. Are you paying your tax after the due date?
If you are, include interest on any unpaid tax.

The interest rate is 10 percent annually, or 0.8333 per-
cent per month (0.0274 percent per day) for interest
periods beginning before February 1, 2002. The rate in
effect for interest periods beginning on or after Feb-
ruary 1, 2002 is 8 percent annually, or 0.6667 percent
per month (0.0219 percent per day). The interest rate
may change once a calendar year.

Interest is figured daily for periods of less than a
month. A full month, for example, is April 16 through
May 15. Here’s how to figure daily interest:

Tax x Rate x Number of days
Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you:

= Mail your LTD Self-Employment tax payment af-
ter the due date (see exception below), or
= File Form LTD after the due date (see exception below).

Late payment penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid bal-
ance of your tax.

If you file more than three months late, add an addi-
tional 20 percent late filing penalty.

Exception: You do not owe a penalty if you do all of
the following:

a. Get an extension of time to file your return, and

b. Pay at least 90 percent of your LTD Self-Employ-
ment tax by the original due date of the return, and

c. Pay the balance of tax due when you file within the
extension period, and

d. Pay the interest on the balance of tax due when you
file your return or within 30 days of the billing you
receive from the department.

Sign your return. . .
Form LTD instructions 7



Oregon Department of Revenue
955 Center Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2555

Taxpayer assistance

Are you unsure if you are doing business within the
transit district? Call LTD at 541-682-6100.

For more information, go to the LTD Web site at
www.ltd.org.

For assistance with filing your return, contact the Ore-
gon Department of Revenue.

Telephone: Salem ..., 503-378-4988
Toll-free within Oregon ..... 1-800-356-4222

Forms: Many forms are available on our Web site at
www.dor.state.or.us. Or write to: Forms, Oregon Depart-
ment of Revenue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990.

(Habla espafiol? Linea de mensaje. Las personas que
necesitan asistencia en espafiol pueden dejar un mensaje.
El nimero disponible todo el afio en Salem es 503-945-8618.

A message line is available all year for those who need as-
sistance in Spanish. The number in Salem is 503-945-8618.

TTY (hearing or speech impaired only). These numbers
are answered by machine only and are not for voice use.
The toll-free number within Oregon is 1-800-886-7204. In
Salem the number is 503-945-8617.

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). In compliance
with the ADA, this information is available in alternative
formats upon request. The toll-free number within Ore-
gon is 1-800-356-4222. In Salem, call 503-378-4988.
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