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Oregon Combined
Payroll Tax Report

How to assure
your report is

processed timely

�Do you use a tax preparer?
If so, the preparer may
need this booklet to file
your reports.

�Double-check your math.

� If you are sending a
payment, include an OTC
with your Form OQ.

� For each program you are
subject to, enter -0- if you
have no payroll or subject
hours worked.

� File electronically. See
page 6 for details.

Forms and Instructions
For Oregon Employers

FORMS ORDER REQUEST

FORM 013
CHANGE IN STATUS REPORT

FORM WR
OREGON ANNUAL WITHHOLDING
TAX RECONCILIATION REPORT

2003
Oregon Department of Revenue

Oregon Employment Department

Oregon Department of Consumer & Business Services

2003 Oregon Combined Tax Payment Coupons
(Form OTC) are not in this booklet. They are
sent separately to employers.
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FILING DUE DATES FOR QUARTERLY REPORTS
Quarter  Quarter Ending Date   Report Due Date

1st — Jan–Feb–Mar March 31, 2003 April 30, 2003

2nd — Apr–May–Jun June 30, 2003 July 31, 2003

3rd — Jul–Aug–Sep September 30, 2003 October 31, 2003

4th — Oct–Nov–Dec December 31, 2003 January 31, 2004

If the due date is on a weekend or holiday, the report is due the next working day.

WHERE TO FILE AND PAY

All reports in
Paper form

All payments
Form OTC

(see page 5)

All reports on
Magnetic Media
(cartridge or diskette

in federal format)

All reports using
Employment Dept.

software

Form WR
Annual Withholding Tax
Reconciliation Report

Mail to:
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14800
Salem OR 97309-0920

Mail to:
Tax Section, Room 107
Employment Department
875 Union St NE
Salem OR 97311-0030

Mail to:
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14260
Salem OR 97309-5060

 In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), this information is available
   in alternative formats by calling the Oregon Department of Revenue at 503-378-4988, or
1-800-456-4222 (within Oregon) or the Oregon Employment Department at 503-947-1488.
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Oregon Department of Revenue, Employment

Department, and Workers’ Compensation Divi-

sion rules differ. Please read all instructions

carefully. If you have questions, please contact the

appropriate agency. (See page 2.)

Employer new hire reporting program

As of October 1, 1998, all Oregon employers are

required to report new and rehired employees to the
Division of Child Support within 20 days of date

of hire. For information on the law and the proce-

dures for reporting, contact:

Department of Justice

Employer New Hire Reporting Program

1495 Edgewater St NW
Salem OR 97304

Telephone: 503-378-2868

Fax 503-378-2863 or 877-877-7415
E-mail: employer.reports@doj.state.or.us

Web site: www.dcs.state.or.us/employers.htm

Tax tables

The tax tables were updated effective January 2002.

To request a copy, please call 503-945-8091. The

tables are also available on the Internet at: www.

dor.state.or.us/withhold/bus.html.

Tax rates

• The Workers’ Benefit Fund (WBF) assessment rate

is .036.
• The taxable wage base for unemployment insur-

ance is $26,000.

• Tri-County Metropolitan Transportation District
(TriMet) tax rate is .006218.

• Lane Transit District (LTD) tax rate is .006.

Employers of Oregon nonresidents

You must withhold Oregon tax from all wages earned

by nonresident employees for services performed
in Oregon, unless the earnings for the year 2003 will

be $1,640 or less. Nonresident employees earning

more than $1,640 in Oregon income are required
to file an Oregon nonresident income tax return.

Nonresident employees may earn less than $1,640

in wages but still request withholding because they

have additional Oregon income from other sources.

Special payroll tax offset

The Oregon Legislature authorized the unemploy-

ment insurance tax system to collect revenues

during the first and second quarters of 2003 to fund
the Employment Department’s JOBS Plus program

and the Bureau of Labor and Industries’ Wage

Security Fund. The special payroll tax offsets to
fund both programs will be processed during the

first quarter of 2003 at a total of .1 percent (.07

percent for the JOBS Plus program and .03 percent
for the Wage Security Fund). The second quarter

offset will be just .07 percent for the JOBS Plus

program only. JOBS Plus provides incentives for
employers to hire job seekers receiving unemploy-

ment insurance benefits into on-the-job training in

private and public sector jobs. The Wage Security
Fund pays final wages to employees of companies

that have gone out of business without paying all

wages due their employees.

NEW INFORMATION

IMPORTANT INFORMATION
Common pay agent

Oregon does not recognize common pay agent

reporting.

Reporting hours may differ

The number of hours reported for UI tax on the

Wage Detail Report (Form 132) will not necessar-

ily equal the number of hours reported for the WBF
assessment in box 9 on Form OQ. See pages 11 and

13 for more information.

Easy, free electronic filing

You now can file your quarterly Oregon payroll tax

report electronically using your own computer. You

can file via e-mail, the Internet, or on diskette. Or,
if you have no payroll or subject hours to report, you

can file by telephone. For details, see page 6.

Filing for bankruptcy

If you file for bankruptcy, you need to notify sepa-

rately each state agency that administers the

payroll taxes and/or assessments to which you are
subject. Despite combined reporting, each agency

manages its own tax program.

Keep your records

All payroll records must be kept at least five years

after filing the required reports.
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REQUIRED FORMS
• Form OTC–Oregon Combined Tax Payment

Coupon. Form OTCs are mailed separately, by

December 31 of each year, to every employer that

does not pay using electronic funds transfer (EFT).
If you need to order additional coupons, write the

Oregon Department of Revenue, PO Box 14800,

Salem, OR 97309-0920, or call 503-945-8091 or
503-378-4988. When ordering, tell us how many

coupons you need for the remainder of the year.

NOTE:
Form OQ, Oregon Schedule B, and Form 132

are processed by the Employment Department

using automated equipment. Separately, Form

OTC and payments are processed by the

Department of Revenue. To correctly apply

payments, we must receive a Form OTC with

every payment, including payments made with

your Form OQ. Form OTC is not required for

payments made by EFT.

Other forms
• Form 013–Change in Status Report. Use this

form to report changes in your business. Do not

use Form OTC or Form OQ to make changes. See
the Change in Status Report at the back of this

booklet for detailed instructions. The Change in

Status Report is also available on the Internet at:
www.dor.state.or.us/formspay.html.

• Form WR–Oregon Annual Withholding Tax

Reconciliation Report. Use this form to recon-
cile your state withholding account. Form WR is

due February 28 of each year.

Using the forms in this booklet ensures faster and
more accurate processing. Failure to use the correct

forms or format may result in a penalty.

If you use a tax preparer, please check to see if
the preparer needs this booklet to file your reports.

Your forms can be sent directly to your tax preparer.

Fill out the Change in Status Report to change your
forms’ mailing address to your tax preparer’s ad-

dress for future mailings.

Use the Order Request at the back of this booklet
to order additional reporting forms or reporting soft-

ware. Or you may order forms or software on the

Internet at: www.emp.state.or.us/tax under “Re-
porting Options for Oregon Quarterly Employer

Taxes.”

Forms needed for reporting
• Form OQ–Oregon Quarterly Tax Report. Use

this form to report state UI tax, state withholding
tax, WBF assessment, and TriMet and LTD taxes.

• Oregon Schedule B–State Withholding Tax. Use

this form only if state income tax withholding
deposits are required to be submitted semi-weekly

or on a one-banking day basis. File Oregon Sched-

ule B with Form OQ.

• Form 132–Employee Detail Report. If your busi-

ness is subject to Oregon UI tax, use this form to

report employee detail. File this form with Form
OQ. If you have more than 20 employees, or-

der additional Form 132s using the Order Re-

quest at the back of this booklet. Forms that are
incorrectly formatted or photocopied may be re-

turned, and a penalty may be assessed.
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Who must file

You must file a Form OQ each quarter:

• As long as you are registered as an active employer

with Oregon Department of Revenue, Oregon Em-
ployment Department, or have workers’ compen-

sation insurance in Oregon, even if you had no

payroll during the quarter. Reimbursing employ-
ers and Local Government Employers Benefit Trust

Fund employers must also file Form OQ.

• If you withhold a distribution on pensions or

annuities.

You must file Form 132:

• If you are an employer subject to UI law. Reim-
bursing employers and Local Government Em-

ployers Benefit Trust Fund employers also must

file Form 132.

You must file Oregon Schedule B:

• If you are required to deposit withholding taxes

on a semi-weekly or a one-banking day basis.

When to file

See page 3 for the report due dates.

Filing options

Electronic filing is far more efficient, accurate, and

less time consuming than paper filing. You can file

electronically using your own computer via e-mail
or the Internet, or by using your telephone.

• OTTER. You can file by e-mail or diskette using

the computer-based “OTTER” (Oregon Tax Em-
ployer Reporting) software program. The software

is free, user friendly, and popular with both large

and small employers. Your data can be imported
from separate payroll programs directly into the

electronic reporting format or copied from one

quarter to the next.

You may order OTTER by calling 503-947-1488,

by using the order form in this book, or by down-

loading the program from www.emp.state.or.us/tax.

• SETRON. Web-based SETRON (Secure Em-

ployer Tax Reporting On-line) reporting allows

any employer to report over the Internet. Because
it’s Web-based, any employer can report electroni-

cally regardless of computer type.  SETRON is

on the Employment Department’s Web site at:

www.emp.state.or.us/tax. Remember to print a

paper copy of your report to keep for your
records.

• Telephone (IVR). If you are an employer who has
no payroll or subject hours to report for a particular

quarter, you can file a “no payroll/no hours worked”

report by telephone, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
The telephone number is 503-378-3981. Confirma-

tion numbers are not issued. Your report is accepted

only at the end of the call.

Option specifications

For reporting-option specifications, call the Em-

ployment Department at 503-947-1488 (option 3).
Options are also available on the Internet at: www.

emp.state.or.us/tax under: “Reporting Options for

Oregon Quarterly Employer Taxes.” You may also
use the order form at the back of this booklet.

Annual filing

• If you file federal Form 943, you may file your
Oregon withholding reports once a year using

Form WA. Agricultural employers subject to

unemployment tax, WBF assessment, and/or tran-
sit tax must file Form OQ in addition to Form WA.

Call the Oregon Department of Revenue at 503-

945-8091 for more information.

• Employers with exclusively domestic employment

file the Combined Payroll Tax Reports annually, not
quarterly. The annual forms are sent out by Novem-

ber of each year. Call the Oregon Employment

Department at 503-947-1488 for more information.

Amended reports or adjustments

To amend data on Form OQ, Schedule B, or

Form 132. Copy the original report, make the nec-
essary changes on the copy, clearly write

“Amended” at the top of the form, write a brief ex-

planation of why you are amending your report, and
mail to: Oregon Department of Revenue, PO Box

14800, Salem OR 97309-0920.

To amend a report you filed using OTTER or

SETRON. Make the necessary corrections to your

original report using the appropriate program. Print

a paper copy of the corrected report, write

“Amended” in large letters at the top of the

FILING THE OREGON COMBINED QUARTERLY TAX REPORT
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State Withholding

TriMet District Excise

Lane Transit District Excise

Workers’ Benefit Fund Assessment

State Unemployment

.

.

.

.

.

OREGON COMBINED PAYROLL TAX 

   Payment Coupon 150-211-053 (Rev. 10-02)

TOTAL PAYMENT (add all the boxes at left) 

.

BUSINESS ID NO.YEAR

Date Received FORM

OTC

Enter quarter payroll was paid 
to employees: (1, 2, 3 or 4)

Make check payable to:

Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14800
Salem OR 97309-0920

corrected report, and write a brief explanation of

why you are amending your report. Mail the paper
copy of your corrected report to: Oregon Depart-

ment of Revenue, PO Box 14800, Salem OR 97309-

0920. Do not send your corrected report elec-

tronically.

PAYMENT INSTRUCTIONS

Oregon combined payments

Use current year OTC coupons. Oregon withhold-
ing tax due dates are the same as the dates for

depositing federal tax liability (see guidelines for

due dates on page 8). Unemployment insurance (UI)
tax, Workers’ Benefit Fund (WBF) assessment, and

transit tax payments are due quarterly.

• Please use blue or black ink. Our equipment can
only read these colors.

• Make your check payable to “Oregon Depart-

ment of Revenue.”

Making your Oregon combined payments

To make sure your payments are correctly applied:

• Complete and send in a Form OTC with every
payment, when due.

• Indicate the amount paid to each tax program in

the appropriate box.

• Enter the quarter in the box to indicate when the

payroll was paid to employees.

• When making a payment for two or more quar-
ters, submit a separate coupon for each quarter.

Send payments with Form OTC coupons to:

Oregon Department of Revenue

PO Box 14800

Salem, OR  97309-0920

Do not staple or tape your payment to Form OTC.

Payment record

Retain records of payments made to all programs

for each quarter for use when you file Form OQ.

Electronic funds transfer (EFT)

Payments for combined payroll taxes can be made

using the Oregon Department of Revenue’s elec-

tronic funds transfer (EFT) program. This program
allows payments to be initiated via a touch-tone

telephone, a secure Internet site, or through your

financial institution.

You must pay your Oregon combined payroll taxes

electronically if you pay your federal tax liability
electronically.

If you do not meet the federal requirements for

mandatory participation in the EFT program, you
may participate on a voluntary basis.

Failure to file

If you don’t file a quarterly report, you may receive

an assessment(s) based on available information.

Penalty and interest will be charged on the amount
assessed (see page 9).
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If your total federal Oregon withholding
tax liability is: tax payments are due:

• Less than $2,500 by the quarterly report due date
for the quarter

• $50,000 or less in
by the 15th of the month following payroll

the lookback period*

• More than $50,000 in
Semi-weekly Deposit Schedule

the lookback period*

If the day falls on a: Then pay taxes by:

Wednesday, Thursday,
the following Wednesday

and/or Friday

Saturday, Sunday,
the following Friday

Monday, and/or Tuesday

• $100,000 in a  
within one banking daysingle pay period

A business is required to have an authorization

agreement filed with the Department of Revenue
before initiating EFT payments. Information and au-

thorization agreements are available on the Internet

at: www. dor.state.or.us/withhold/bus.html, or by
calling the EFT help line at 503-947-2017.

Alternate payment method

Multistate employers who believe that federal with-

holding methods create an undue burden for them

that is not shared by most other similar employers
may request a different method of withholding tax

payments. You must submit a written request to:

Withholding Manager

Oregon Department of Revenue

955 Center Street NE

Salem OR 97301-2555

Your written request must contain the following

information:

• The business name of the employer.

• The Oregon business identification number.

• The nature of the burden.

• The remedy requested.

• And a proposed effective date of the modified

withholding method.

You cannot use an alternative withholding method
before the Oregon Department of Revenue has

approved your request in writing and has designated

the effective date of the change. (Refer to ORS
316.191)

* The lookback period is the twelve-month period that ended the preceding

June 30. The lookback period for agricultural employers is the calendar year
prior to the calendar year just ended.

GUIDELINES FOR OREGON WITHHOLDING PAYMENT DUE DATES

➛

➛

➛

➛

Payrolls
paid in:

Quarter 1

Jan–Feb–Mar

Quarter 2

Apr–May–Jun

Quarter 3

Jul–Aug–Sep

Quarter 4

Oct–Nov–Dec
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PENALTIES

—Form 132–Employee Detail Report,

      and/or

• Pay all unemployment insurance taxes due.

The penalty is 1 percent of the employer’s previous
year’s taxable payroll.

State withholding and transit taxes

• You will be charged a 5 percent late payment pen-

alty on any unpaid tax after the due date of the

payment.

• You will be charged an additional 20 percent pen-
alty on any tax due as of the due date and if Form

OQ is filed more than three months late.

• You will be charged a 100 percent penalty on any

tax due if Form OQs are not filed for three years
in a row.

Workers’ Benefit Fund assessment

You are subject to a late filing penalty if the Form
OQ is filed or payment is received more than 10 cal-

endar days after the due date. A civil penalty of up

to $2,000 may be assessed for each violation if the
payment or Form OQ is not filed timely. Penalties

will be assessed at 10 percent of the outstanding bal-

ance, with a minimum of $50 for each violation.

 INTEREST
Unemployment insurance tax

Interest is assessed on unpaid or late paid

unemployment insurance tax. The rate is 1.5
percent per month or fraction of a month after

the payment is due. Payments are due the last day

of the month following the quarter. Interest is
assessed if the payment is one day late. Use only

unpaid tax when calculating interest. Do not

calculate interest on previously assessed interest or
penalties.

Use this same calculation for Local Government
Employers Benefit Trust Fund participants. Reim-

bursing employers should not calculate interest. In-

terest due on unpaid balances is billed.

State withholding and transit taxes

You will be charged interest on any remaining tax

left unpaid after the due date. Employers should not

calculate interest due. You will be billed for
interest due on unpaid balances.

Workers’ Benefit Fund assessment

Interest is assessed on unpaid or late paid Workers’

Benefit Fund assessments. The rate of  9 percent per

year may be charged on all overdue balances.

Unemployment insurance tax

A late filing penalty may be assessed if Form OQ

or the Employee Detail Report (Form 132) is filed
more than 10 calendar days after the due date,

and you have received a previous warning. This is

in addition to interest due. The late filing penalty
is $5 for each employee reported, with $65

minimum and $1,300 maximum penalty amounts.

Incomplete reports may also be assessed a similar
penalty. If no subject wages are reportable but the

report is filed late, a $5 late filing penalty may be

assessed.

In addition, if Form 132 is not correctly format-
ted or is incomplete, it may be returned. If it is

not resubmitted before the tenth day following the

due date, a penalty may be assessed. To prevent this,
send the reports electronically using the OTTER

software the Employment Department provides (see

page 6).

 An additional penalty may be charged to employ-
ers who have failed as of September 1 to:

• File all unemployment insurance tax reports:

—Form OQ–Oregon Quarterly Tax Report,

      and/or
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OREGON QUARTERLY TAX REPORT (Form OQ)
Line-by-Line Instructions

Before you complete Form OQ, review the business

name, mailing address, Oregon Business Identifica-

tion Number (BIN), and Federal Employer Identi-
fication Number (EIN) to be sure they are all cor-

rect. Make corrections on the Change in Status Re-

port included at the end of this booklet.

The North American Industry Classification System

(NAICS) code is assigned by the Employment Depart-
ment. Coding determination is based on information

supplied by the employer and reflects the primary ac-

tivity for your company in Oregon. If you have ques-
tions regarding these codes, call 1-800-237-3710, ext.

7-1248 (toll-free within Oregon) or 503-947-1248.

Line-by-line instructions
Number of covered workers for state unemploy-

ment insurance. Complete this section if you are sub-

ject to unemployment insurance (UI). If you have ques-
tions on how to count workers, call 1-800-237-3710,

ext. 7-1248 (toll-free within Oregon) or 503-947-1248.

The “monthly number of covered workers” you re-

port on Form OQ should include all full-time and

part-time workers who worked or received pay sub-
ject to unemployment insurance law during the pay-

roll period which includes the 12th of the month.

Some examples include:

• Daily pay period. Enter the number of workers on

the daily payroll for the workday nearest the 12th
of the month.

• Weekly, bi-weekly, or semi-monthly pay period.

Enter the number of workers on the payroll for
the period which includes the 12th of the month.

• Monthly pay period. Enter the number of workers

on your monthly payroll.

• If there were no covered workers during any pay

period, enter zero in the appropriate boxes. Do

not leave these boxes blank.

Add the numbers for the three months and place the

sum in the Total (M1 + M2 + M3) box. This total
is used to verify that the scanner has correctly read

the monthly entries.

OQ columns

In each column, enter the total subject wages paid

for each tax program this quarter. If you have ques-

tions, refer to the specific program information in

this booklet.

In each column, enter the total tax owed to each

state program. If any of the amounts are less than

zero, enter -0-. Do not enter any credit items. Any

credit in one tax program may be used in that

same program as a credit in the next quarter.

Column A. Unemployment Insurance (UI)

Box 1. Subject wages. This amount must be the

same as line 1 (total subject wages) on Form 132.
Include wages exceeding the taxable wage base for

UI reporting purposes.

Box 2. Excess wages. Enter “Excess wages.” Ex-
cess wages are wages above the taxable wage base

for the year per person. The taxable wage base for

2003 is $26,000 per employee per year. Reimburs-
ing employers and Local Government Employers

Benefit Trust Fund participants leave this box

blank.

Box 3. Taxable wages. Enter box 1A minus box 2A.

Reimbursing employers leave this box blank.

Box 4. Tax rate. Use your current year’s UI tax

rate. If  you are subject to UI tax and no rate is

printed, call the Employment Department at 503-
947-1488. Reimbursing employers leave this box

blank.

Box 5. Total tax. Multiply box 3A by box 4A.

Round off to the nearest cent and enter the tax

amount. Enter -0- if you had no UI tax this quarter.

Box 6. Tax prepaid this quarter. Enter the amount

of UI tax prepaid or credits used this quarter. Include

any credit amount that may have been overpaid in
previous quarters where no refund was requested or

issued.

UI tax payments are due once per quarter on the

same day as the tax reports.

Box 7. UI penalty and interest owed. Enter the
amount of penalty and interest owed if the report is

late. Figure the penalty amount by multiplying the

number of employees by $5. The minimum  penalty
is $65. The maximum penalty is $1,300. If there were

no employees, the penalty is $5. Late reports are

those submitted more than 10 days after the due date.
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To calculate interest owed, multiply the unpaid tax

owed by .015 for each month or fraction of a month
after the date the payment is due. Interest is assessed

even if the payment is one day late.

When calculating interest, use only the amount of

unpaid tax. Do not calculate interest on previously

assessed interest or penalties.

Box 8. Total due. Enter box 5A minus box 6A plus

box 7A.  If the amount is less than zero, enter -0-.

Column B. State withholding

Box 1. Subject wages. Enter total wages subject to

income tax (salaries, commissions, and bonuses),

paid to Oregon employees this quarter.

• If you are reporting withholding on pension or an-

nuity distributions, enter the amount of distribu-
tions with Oregon withholding.

• This amount need not match box 1A.

• Enter -0- if you had no payroll this quarter.

Box 5. Total tax. Enter total Oregon tax withheld this
quarter. Enter -0- if you had no withholding tax this

quarter (for deposit rules, see page 8). If you deposit:

• Quarterly–complete only box 5B.

• Monthly–complete boxes on line 17 (M1, M2,

and M3) on Form OQ. Add boxes and enter the

total into box 5B.

• Semi-weekly or one-banking day depositors–

complete and file Oregon Schedule B. Enter the

total in box 5B.

Box 6. Tax prepaid this quarter. Enter the amount

of withholding tax prepaid this quarter. Include any

credits used.

Box 8. Total due. Enter box 5B minus box 6B. If

the amount is less than zero, enter -0-.

Column C. Tri-County Metropolitan
Transportation District (TriMet)

Box 1. Subject wages. Enter wages paid for work
done in the TriMet district. Enter -0- if there was no

payroll in the district this quarter. Leave blank if not

subject.

Box 4. Tax rate. The 2003 TriMet tax rate is

.006218.

Box 5. Total tax. Multiply box 1C by box 4C.

Round off to the nearest cent and enter the tax

amount. If you are subject to TriMet, but had no tax

this quarter, enter -0-.

Box 6. Tax prepaid this quarter. Enter the amount
of TriMet tax prepaid this quarter. Include any cred-

its used.

Box 8. Total due. Enter box 5C minus box 6C. If

the amount is less than zero, enter -0-.

Column D. Lane Transit District (LTD)

Box 1. Subject wages. Enter wages paid for work

done in the Lane Transit district. Enter -0- if there
was no payroll in the district this quarter. Leave

blank if not subject.

Box 4. Tax rate. The 2003 LTD tax rate is .006.

Box 5. Total tax. Multiply box 1D by box 4D.

Round off to the nearest cent and enter the tax
amount. If you are subject to LTD, but had no tax

this quarter, enter -0-.

Box 6. Tax prepaid this quarter. Enter the amount

of LTD tax prepaid this quarter. Include any cred-
its used.

Box 8. Total due. Enter box 5D minus box 6D. If

the amount is less than zero, enter -0-.

Workers’ Benefit Fund (WBF) assessment

Box 9. Enter the sum of all hours worked by all

workers who are subject to WBF assessment. Do

not include volunteers. Round the sum of hours
down to the nearest whole. If you do not track actual

hours worked, you may use a flat rate of 40 hours

per week or 173.33 hours per month (prorated for
part-time workers). If you have other information

showing hours worked (such as a contract), you

may use this information to determine hours
worked. Include overtime hours. Do not include

standby time. (You must document how calculations

are made in case of an audit.) If you have no hours
or only volunteer workers’ hours to report for the

quarter, enter -0-. More detail on determining hours

worked is available at www.cbs.state.or.us/

external/bad/badrec4.html.

Box 10. Assessment rate. The current WBF assess-

ment rate is .036. Employers contribute one-half of

the hourly assessment amount and deduct one-half
from workers’ wages.
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Box 11. Multiply box 9 times box 10. Round down

to the nearest cent. This is the total WBF assessment
due for the quarter. If no assessment is due for the

quarter, enter -0-.

Box 12. Enter the amount of prepaid WBF assess-

ment or WBF assessment credits used this quarter.

Box 13. Subtract box 12 from box 11. This is the

net WBF assessment amount due for the quarter.

This amount should match the amount you enter
in the “Workers’ Benefit Fund Assessment” box

on Form OTC. If the amount is less than zero,

enter -0-.

Box 14. Total payment due

Enter total payment due. Add boxes 8A, 8B, 8C,
8D, and 13. Do not include any credits. Make

your payment to the Department of Revenue using

electronic funds transfer (EFT). Or make your
check payable to “Oregon Department of Revenue.”

Include a payment coupon (Form OTC) when

you mail your check.

Note: You cannot use Form OQ to transfer cred-

its between programs.

• Credit applied to another program:

Send a written request along with a copy of Form
OQ to the agency that handles the program that

has the credit.

Include your account name, BIN, tax program,

quarter, and year where the credit exists. Give the

same information for where you want the credit
applied. Also include any notices or memos you’ve

received regarding the credit.

• Credit refunded:

Send a written request to the agency that handles
the program that has the credit. Include your

account name, BIN, the word “Refund,” and the

amount to refund. Also include any notices or
memos you have received regarding the credit.

Box 15. Special payroll tax offsets

Special Payroll Tax Offsets to fund the JOBS Plus

program and the Wage Security Fund will be re-

ported for the first two quarters of 2003. Employ-
ers subject to both state and federal unemployment

insurance tax and not at the maximum 5.4 percent

tax rate, must calculate and report the special pay-
roll tax offsets for each of the quarters. The offset

for the first quarter is .001 or .1 percent, with

.0007 or .07 percent funding the JOBS Plus program

and .0003 or .03 percent funding the Wage Security

Fund. The offset for the second quarter is .0007 or

.07 percent, funding the JOBS Plus program only.

The offsets must be deducted only when reporting

the “contributions paid to the state unemployment
fund” on Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA)

Forms 940 and 940EZ.

Do not add or subtract this amount from boxes 5A
or 14.

If you are a reimbursing employer, Local Govern-

ment Employers Benefit Trust Fund (LGEBTF)
member, or an employer not required to pay FUTA,

do not complete this section or report the special

payroll tax offset.

Multiply box 3A by the amount of the offset (.0007)

for the first or second quarters of 2003.

See page 14 for more information on the special
payroll tax offset.

Box 16. Amount applied to UI trust fund

Subtract line 15 from box 5A. Use this amount on

federal Form 940 or 940EZ as the tax actually paid
to the state for the first two quarters of 2003. Do not

add or subtract this figure from taxes owed in box

5A or 14.

Box 17. Monthly summary of state withholding
tax liability

This line is for those who are required to deposit
withholding taxes on a monthly basis. Show the

amount withheld in each month of the quarter then

total the amount withheld during the quarter. The
total must equal the total withholding tax reported

in box 5B.

Do not include payments made for UI tax, WBF

assessment, or transit taxes in these boxes.

If you deposit only once a quarter, enter the total

amount withheld in box 5B.

If you are required to deposit withholding on a daily

or semi-weekly basis, do not complete this line. Re-

port withholding on Oregon Schedule B. (For de-
termining how often withholding must be deposited,

see page 8 of this booklet.)

Signature

Sign Form OQ on the signature line and include a

phone number and the date the form was prepared.

A signature is required even if you file a -0- report.
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EMPLOYEE DETAIL REPORT (Form 132)

the amount of Oregon tax withheld from your employ-
ees during each payroll period. Enter the total tax
withheld for each month in boxes A, B, and C.
Enter the total of all the amounts in box D. The total
should equal the total withholding tax reported in box
5B on Form OQ. DO NOT ENTER CREDITS.

Line instructions—Oregon Schedule B

Complete Oregon Schedule B if you are required to
deposit on a semi-weekly or one-banking day basis.

This form includes a box for every day of the quarter.

Locate the boxes that match your payroll dates. Enter

OREGON SCHEDULE B
Example: How to complete Oregon Schedule B

Complete only if you pay unemployment insurance

tax or reimburse the Employment Department for
benefits paid.

Line 1.Total subject wages. Enter the total subject

wages for all employees for the quarter. If you use

multiple pages of Form 132, enter the total amount
on page 1 only. This figure (total for all pages) must

equal the amount in box 1A on Form OQ.

Column 2. Social Security number. Enter the So-

cial Security number for each employee reported.

Column 3. Employee name. Enter the first initial
and last name of each employee reported.

Column 4. Hours worked during this quarter.

Enter the number of hours the employee worked in

the quarter. If you do not track hours for a full-time
employee, use 520 hours for the report. Do not re-

port fractions or portions of an hour worked by

an individual. Round up any portion of an hour to
the nearest whole hour.

Report the actual number of hours worked. This is

straight time and overtime. Do not report hours

paid for sick leave, vacation leave, or any other
hours paid where no work was performed. Even

though these hours are not reported in column 4,

wages paid are still reported as subject wages in

column 5.

Report hours in the quarter worked and wages in the

quarter received.

The number of hours worked subject to unemployment

insurance does not need to equal the number of hours
reported for Workers’ Benefit Fund assessment.

Enter -0- for an employee who did not work during
the quarter, but received wages (do not leave blank).

If you need to adjust hours worked in a previous
quarter, file an amended Form 132 for that quarter

(see page 6).

Column 5. Total subject wages paid this quarter.

Wages are reported in the quarter paid to the em-

ployee regardless of when earned. Enter the total
subject wages paid to each employee during the

quarter regardless of whether the employee’s wages

exceeded the taxable wage base.

Do not use this report to correct wages for another

quarter. File an amended Form 132 for that quarter
(see page 6).

Box 6. Page total. Enter the total subject wages for
all employees reported on the page. Do not include

the totals from other pages of this form.

A. Daily Oregon Withholding Tax Liability—First Month of Quarter

2500 00

450 00

1450 00

1600 00

300 00

6300 00A. Total Withholding Tax Liability for the First Month of the Quarter  . . . . . . . A

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24
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31
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OREGON UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX

Subject wages

Generally, wages reportable for Federal Unemploy-

ment Tax Act (FUTA) purposes are reportable for
Oregon unemployment insurance (UI) tax. All

wages, including draws, are reportable when paid

to the employee. For example, wages paid April 1,
for work performed in March are reportable in the

second quarter (April–June).

An employee is any person (including aliens
and minors) employed for pay by any employer sub-

ject to Employment Department law (ORS

657.015).

“Wages” means all compensation for service,

unless specifically excluded by law. Payments other

than cash are reportable at their cash value in
the quarter in which they are available to the

employee.

The following are examples of subject wages:

• Payments for services to individuals in the

employ of any type of corporation, except those
electing to be excluded under the family corpora-

tion provision (see excluded wages).

• Payments for agricultural and domestic labor by

qualified employers.

• Payments for services to individuals in the
employ of nonprofit organizations or political sub-

divisions.

• Payments for services performed in the employ

of a church or other religious organization.

• Special payment for services, such as commis-
sions, fees, bonuses, prizes, separation allow-

ances, guaranteed wage payments, vacation, and

holiday pay.

• Employee tips reported by the employer pursu-

ant to Section 3306 of the Internal Revenue
Code.

• The actual value of lodging (room, apartment, or

house rental) and meals provided to employees as
part of their pay. When the actual cash value is

not available, the following minimum amounts

have been established: room and board—$150 per
month, meals—$1.50 per meal. Note: noncash

payments for agricultural and domestic services

are not subject.

Excluded wages

Examples of payments that are not subject under un-

employment insurance law are:

• Payments to a proprietor or the proprietor’s spouse,

parent, or child under 18.

• Payments to a legally responsible and registered

general partner or partners of a Limited Liability
Partnership (LLP) or to members of a Limited

Liability Company (LLC).

• Noncash payments to workers in agricultural or

domestic employment.

• Sick pay under workers’ compensation law.

• Closely held family corporations may elect to
exclude payments for services to corporate offic-

ers who:

—Are directors,

—Have a substantial ownership interest in the

corporation, and

—Are members of the same family, such as par-

ents, daughters, sons, daughters-in-law, sons-

in-law, or grandchildren.

However, those excluded may be subject to higher

FUTA tax.

An election to exclude corporate officers must be

in writing and will be effective the first day of the

calendar quarter in which it is submitted for ap-
proval.

Unemployment insurance tax payments

UI tax payments are due quarterly in accordance

with the payment instructions on page 7. When

there is more owed than taxes, payments are applied
first to legal fees, penalties, and interest. The re-

mainder is applied to tax owed.

Special payroll tax offsets

The Oregon Legislature authorized the unemploy-

ment insurance tax system to collect revenues dur-

ing the first and second quarters of 2003 to fund the
Employment Department’s JOBS Plus program and

the Bureau of Labor and Industries’ Wage Security

Fund. The special payroll tax offsets to fund both
programs will be processed during the first quarter

of 2003 at a total of .1 percent (.07 percent for the
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Office Phone

Albany ...........................541-967-2171

Astoria ...........................503-325-4821
Beaverton .......................503-626-2151

Bend ...............................541-388-6086

Coos Bay area ................541-756-8469
Corvallis ........................541-757-4261

Eugene ...........................541-686-7797

Grants Pass ....................541-474-3151
Gresham .........................503-666-1985

Hillsboro ........................503-681-0226

Hood River ....................541-386-6020
Klamath Falls .................541-883-5628

LaGrande .......................541-963-7111

STATE EMPLOYMENT TAX OFFICES

JOBS Plus program and .03 percent for the Wage

Security Fund). The second quarter offset will be
.07 percent for the JOBS Plus program only. JOBS

Plus provides incentives for employers to hire job

seekers receiving unemployment insurance benefits
into on-the-job training in private and public sec-

tor jobs. The Wage Security Fund pays final wages

to employees of companies that have gone out of busi-
ness without paying all wages due their employees.

You may not use this amount to calculate a credit

when reporting on federal Form 940 and 940EZ. To

calculate “contributions paid to the state,” use two
lines in item 3 on Form 940 (computation of tenta-

tive credit), one for the first two quarters and one

for the remaining two quarters.

The “state experience rating” for the first and sec-
ond quarters is the unemployment insurance tax rate

minus .001 for the first quarter and minus .0007 for

the second quarter. “Contributions actually paid to
the state” should equal the amounts found on line

16 on Form OQ for the first and second quarters,

plus the total in line 5A for the third and fourth quar-
ters. This assumes payments for each quarter. If the

amounts paid were less than what is owed, report

the amount actually paid.

To obtain Forms 940 and 940EZ, contact the IRS
at 1-800-829-3676. You may also download the

forms from the Internet at: www.irs.gov.

Employer ceases to be subject to UI tax

An employer who ceases to have sufficient employ-

ment or payroll subject to ORS Chapter 657 must

file an application for such a finding by the direc-
tor of the Employment Department in accordance

with ORS 657.415. Such exemption shall continue

until the employer again qualifies as an employer
as defined in ORS 657.

Equal opportunity employer

The Employment Department is an equal opportu-
nity agency and does not discriminate in providing

services on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, na-

tion of origin, age, disability, political affiliation or
belief, citizenship, or marital status. Auxiliary aids

and services are available upon request to disabled

individuals. Contact the nearest Employment De-
partment office for assistance.

Employment offices listed below

Information on unemployment insurance tax laws

is available by calling these numbers. Call 503-

947-1488 for the Central Office in Salem. The TTY
number is 711. Written inquiries may be sent to: Tax

Section, Employment Department, 875 Union St

NE, Salem OR 97311-0030. The e-mail address is:
taxinfo@emp.state.or.us.

McMinnville ..................503-434-7574

Medford .........................541-776-6067
Newport .........................541-574-2303

Ontario ...........................541-889-2710

Oregon City ...................503-657-2002
Pendleton .......................541-276-9050

Portland–Downtown ......503-731-4276

Portland–North ..............503-280-6013
Redmond........................541-548-8196

Roseburg ........................541-440-3344

Salem–Field Office ........503-378-3352
Salem–Central Office ....503-947-1488

Woodburn ......................503-982-2817

Office Phone
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OREGON WITHHOLDING TAX
Subject wages

Some examples of taxable wages are:

• Salaries, commissions, bonuses, wages, fees,

prizes, separation allowances, guaranteed wage

payments, and vacation or holiday pay.

• Payments by a corporation, including S corpora-

tions and professional corporations, to a corpo-
rate officer for services, including guaranteed

wage payments for services.

• Wages paid when an employer-employee relation-

ship exists between a husband and wife or a par-

ent and child.

Exempt wages

Oregon withholding law exempts wages paid for

certain kinds of services, labor, employee allow-
ances for the benefit of employer, and reimbursed

employee business expenses. A list of exempt wages

is in the Oregon Business Guide. Call the Oregon
Business Information Center at 503-986-2200 to

order a copy.

Withholding on IRAs, annuities, and
compensation plans

The withholding of taxes from commercial annu-

ities, employer-deferred compensation plans, and
retirement plans is mandatory for the payer. How-

ever, an individual may choose to have no withhold-

ing. The payer must present the federal Form W-4P
or a similar form to the payee. The payee uses Form

W-4P to show the exemptions for state withholding.

Withhold as if the payments were wages, using the
tax tables furnished by the Oregon Department of

Revenue. The amount of withholding per payee

must be $10 or more.

• Withholding on pensions and annuities requires a

separate Business Identification Number (BIN)

from your payroll account as these are not actu-
ally payroll wages.

Oregon does not follow the federal backup withhold-

ing rules for pensions and annuities distributions.

The payer issues 1099s to the payees at the end of

the year and files Form WR with the Oregon

Department of Revenue.

For more information, call 503-945-8091.

Figuring exemptions

Use the number of exemptions claimed by an

employee on Internal Revenue Service Form W-4.

Oregon does not have its own W-4 or W-4P. If an
employee didn’t file a Form W-4, use “single -0-”

exemptions. Don’t allow the exemptions on W-4 if:

• The employee claims exempt status for state with-

holding tax only, or

• The Oregon Department of Revenue or the Inter-

nal Revenue Service tells you not to allow the ex-
emptions.

You must send a copy of Form W-4 to the Depart-

ment of Revenue within 20 days after receiving it

if the employee claims:

• More than 10 exemptions.

• Exemption from federal or state tax, and the

employee’s income is expected to exceed $200

per week.

• Exemption from state withholding tax but not from

federal withholding tax.

Send copies to: W-4 Project Manager, PO Box

14560, Salem, OR 97309-5011. Make sure that
Form W-4 has complete information on both em-

ployer and employee.

Figuring withholding tax

To figure the amount of tax to withhold from an

employee’s wages:

• Use the “wage bracket” tables in the Oregon With-
holding Tax Tables, effective January 1, 2002, or

• Use the percentage formula for computer payroll

systems in the Oregon Withholding Tax Tables.

Note: If you need a copy of the Oregon Withhold-

ing Tax Tables, call 503-945-8091 or 503-378-4988.
This information is also available on the Internet at:

www.dor.state.or.us/withhold/bus.html.

All Oregon employers must withhold tax from em-

ployee wages (including draws) at the time employ-

ees are paid. Taxes are withheld and reported in the
quarter the employee is paid.

Employees who need additional state withholding
can request Circular 150-206-643 from the De-

partment of Revenue. Some employers must with-

hold and report state withholding tax even though
they don’t have to withhold federal tax.
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Revenue field offices listed below

Forms and assistance are available at the offices
shown below. Don’t send your reports or payments

to these addresses. You also may call 1-800-356-

4222 (toll-free within Oregon) or 503-378-4988 in
Salem. The TTY number is 1-800-886-7204 (toll-

free within Oregon) or 503-945-8617 in Salem. A

Office Address

Bend .............. 951 SW Simpson, Suite 100

Eugene .......... 1600 Valley River Dr,

Suite 310

Medford ........ 24 West 6th Street

Newport ........ 119 NE 4th St, Suite 4

North Bend ... 3030 Broadway

OREGON DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE FIELD OFFICES

Office Address
Pendleton ...... 700 SE Emigrant Ave, Suite 310

Portland ......... 800 NE Oregon St, Suite 505

Salem Main ... 955 Center St, Room 135

Salem Field ... 4275 Commercial St SE
Building 2, Suite 180

Tualatin ......... 6405 SW Rosewood St, Suite A

message line is available all year for those who need
assistance in Spanish. The number in Salem is 503-

945-8618. Written inquiries may be sent to: Oregon

Department of Revenue, 955 Center Street NE,
Salem OR 97301-2555. The Internet address is:

www.dor.state.or.us.

TRANSIT DISTRICT EXCISE TAX
These tax programs are administered by the Oregon
Department of Revenue for the Tri-County Metro-

politan Transportation District (TriMet) and the

Lane Transit District (LTD).  They provide revenue
for mass transit (ORS Chapter 267). Transit payroll

(excise) tax is imposed on most employers who pay

wages for services performed in the TriMet or LTD
districts.

TriMet service area

TriMet serves the Portland Metropolitan area, which

includes parts of Multnomah, Washington, and
Clackamas counties. For information on TriMet

boundaries, call 503-962-6466 or the Oregon

Department of Revenue at 503-945-8091.

ZIP codes completely
in TriMet district

ZIP codes partially
in TriMet district

97005

97006
97008

97024

97027
97030

97034

97035
97036

97060

97062

97068
97201

97202

97203
97204

97205

97206
97209–97225

97227

97229
97230

97232

97233
97258

97266

97267
97268

97007

97009

97013
97015

97019

97022
97023

97045

97055

97060
97070

97080

97113

97116

97123

97124
97140

97231

97236

LTD service area

LTD serves the entire Eugene-Springfield urban

area as well as several rural areas. For information

on LTD boundaries, call 541-682-6100 or the
Oregon Department of Revenue at 503-945-8091.

City Zip Code

Alvadore 97409

Blue River 97413

Coburg 97401
Cottage Grove 97424

Creswell 97424

Dexter 97431
Elmira 97437

Eugene 97401

Eugene 97402
Eugene 97403



Page 18

Eugene 97404

Eugene 97405
Eugene 97440

Fall Creek 97438

Finn Rock 97488
Goshen 97401

Jasper 97438

Junction City 97448
Lancaster 97448

Leaburg 97489

Lowell 97452
Maywood 97413

McKenzie Bridge 97413

Pleasant Hill 97455
Springfield 97477

Springfield 97478

Thurston 97482
Trent 97431

Veneta 97487

Vida 97488
Walterville 97488

Who must file a report?

All employers who have employees working in the
TriMet or LTD districts and who aren’t exempt (see

“Exempt payroll” to the right) must register and file

with the Oregon Department of Revenue. If an em-
ployer doesn’t have employees working within the

transit district boundaries, the payroll isn’t subject

to the transit tax.

Wages subject to transit districts

Wages means all salaries, commissions, bonuses,

fees, or other items of value paid to a person for ser-
vices performed within a transit district. See ORS

267.380 for further details. Transit district wages

also include:

• Contributions to a Simplified Employee Pension
(SEP) made at the election of the employee.

• Payments for the purchase of IRC section 403(b)
annuities under salary reduction agreements.

• Contributions to 401(k) retirement plans made at
the election of the employee, including employer-

matched contributions.

• Pick-up payments to governmental retirement

plans under salary reduction agreements.

• Amount deferred under governmental deferred

compensation plans.

• Any amount deferred under a nonqualified de-

ferred compensation plan.

• Payment to an IRC408 Individual Retirement

Account under salary reduction agreement.

Exempt payroll

The following are exempt from TriMet and LTD

excise taxes:

• Federal government units.

• Federal credit unions.

• Public school districts.

• Organizations, except hospitals, that have quali-
fied for exemption under ORS 267.380(1)(b).

• All foreign insurers are exempt. All insurance ad-

justers, agents, and agencies, as well as their of-

fice support staff, whether representing foreign or
domestic companies also are exempt.

• Domestic service in a private home.

• Casual labor.

• Services performed outside the district.

• Seamen who are exempt from garnishment.

• Employee trusts that are exempt from taxation.

• Tips paid by the customer to the employee.

• Wages paid to employees whose labor is solely

connected to planting, cultivating, or harvesting

seasonal agricultural crops.

The following are exempt from LTD but subject to

TriMet:

• Public education districts.

• Public special service and utility districts.

• Port authorities.

• Fire districts.

• City, county, and other local government units.

How to figure the transit tax

The transit tax is imposed directly on the employer.
It is imposed only for the amount of gross payroll

paid for services performed within the TriMet or

LTD district.

Use the current TriMet or LTD tax rates. If you

are subject to TriMet or LTD transit tax and no tax

rate is printed, contact the Oregon Department of
Revenue at 503-945-8091.
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OREGON WORKERS’ BENEFIT FUND ASSESSMENT

The Workers’ Benefit Fund (WBF)

The Workers’ Benefit Fund assessments collected
from employers and workers are deposited into the

Workers’ Benefit Fund. This fund supports

programs which directly benefit injured workers
and the employers who help them return to the work

force. More information about specific programs

supported by the fund may be found on the Internet
at www.cbs.state.or.us/external/wcd/docs/wcd_

facts/top_ben.pdf.

To keep the fund in balance, the director of the
Department of Consumer and Business Services

determines and sets the WBF assessment rate

annually in compliance with requirements in ORS
656.506.

Note: This assessment is separate from your

workers’ compensation insurance premium.

Workers subject to Workers’
Benefit Fund (WBF) assessment

Workers subject to the Workers’ Benefit Fund
assessment are workers for whom the employer is

required by law to provide workers’ compensation

insurance coverage. If the employer elects to
provide workers’ compensation insurance coverage

for himself and/or nonsubject workers, the WBF

assessment must also be reported.

For each quarter that you have subject workers or

covered nonsubject workers, you must file a Form

OQ to report hours worked. For any quarter you
have coverage, but no workers or only volunteer

workers, you must file a Form OQ to report -0-

hours worked and -0- assessment due. If you do not
file a Form OQ during the time you have subject

workers or workers’ compensation insurance

coverage, you may be assessed a penalty.

For information on subject workers, call 503-947-

7815, or write: Compliance Unit, DCBS/WCD, 350
Winter St NE, Rm 27, Salem, OR 97301-3879.

For all other questions regarding the WBF assess-
ment, call the WBF hotline at 503-378-2372, or

check out the Information Sheet at www.cbs.state.

or.us/external/bad/badrec4.html.

Hourly assessment

The assessment is based on the total number of
hours or parts of hours worked by all subject work-

ers in the same pay period as is used to compute the

employee’s withholding. The hourly assessment rate
is printed on Form OQ in box 10, and may change

annually.

How to update or close your Workers’
Benefit Fund assessment account

If you change ownership, discontinue business, or
cease to employ workers, contact your workers’

compensation insurer with the corrected infor-

mation. When your insurer terminates or files an
endorsement to the guaranty contract with the

Workers’ Compensation Division, your WBF

assessment account also will be corrected or closed.
You also may use the Change in Status Report to

expedite updating or closing your WBF assessment

account for reporting purposes, but your insurance
coverage and claims liability remain unchanged and

in effect until your insurer notifies the Workers’

Compensation Division directly.

Send notices or requests regarding the Workers’

Benefit Fund assessment to:

Workers’ Compensation Assessments Section
DCBS/BAD
350 Winter St NE, Rm 300

Salem OR 97301-3878


