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These instructions are not a complete statement of laws and rules that apply to the Lane County Mass
Transit District Self-Employment tax. For more information, contact the Oregon Department of Revenue.
See “Taxpayer assistance.” You may access the laws, rules, forms, and instructions on the Internet at

Rounding cents to the nearest whole dollar

Please round all amounts to the nearest whole dollar. You
will no longer enter cents on your return. Drop amounts less
than 50 cents, and increase amounts from 50 to 99 cents to
the next dollar.

New forms

Form TSE-V, Oregon Transit Self-Employment Tax Payment
Voucher

Use Form TSE-V to make your transit self-employment tax
payment. Form TSE-V replaces the previous Form TSE-EXT
payment coupon. The new Form TSE-V is available in soft-
ware packages, on our Web site, and upon request. See “Tax-
payer assistance.”

Form TSE-AP, Oregon Transit Self-Employment Tax Apportion-
ment Worksheet

If all of your business activity is carried on within the tran-
sit district, your apportionment perxcentage is one hundred
percent and you do not need to complete Form TSE-AP

If your business activity is carried onboth in and out of the
transit district, you may use one of two methods to figue
your apportionment percentage. You may elect to use only
a sales factor or you may use a three factor formula. You
must complete Form TSE-AP and attach it to your return
when you file.

These new forms are available on our Web site at
www.oregon.gov/DOR.

What is the LTD Self-Employment tax?

The Lane Transit tax helps fund mass transportation in the
Lane Transit District. This tax is applied to self-employment
earnings of individuals doing business or providing services
in the district. The Oregon Department of Revenue collects
the tax for Lane Transit.

A list of ZIP codes included in the district boundary is on
the last page. For more information, call LTD at 541-682-6100,
or access their Web site at www.ltd.org.

The tax rate is 0.006 (0.6 of 1 percent).

Who must file and pay this tax?

Individuals

Anyone who has self-employment earnings from business
or service activities carried on in the Lane County Tansit
District must pay this tax.

People who must pay the self-employment tax include:

* Anyone who does business or provides services in the
transit district, and whose earnings are not subject to Ore-
gon withholding, regardless of where they live.

* Compensation received for performing religious services
independently is subject to self-employment tax.

* Real estate salespeople. Federal laws generally treat real
estate salespeople as self-employed. This includes those
who provide services to real estate brokers under contract.
This means commissions on sales are subject to the LID
Self-Employment tax.

Partnerships
Partnerships are not subject to LTD tax.

Individual partners of a partnership must pay this tax. How-
ever, a partnership may elect to file and pay forall individual
partners. See “Partnership Election” instmuctions.

Exemptions

* S corporation distributions are not subject to this tax.

* Insurance agents. All insurance agents are exempt from
the self-employment tax (ORS 731.840).

* Ministers. Compensation received by a minister or mem-
ber of a religious order for performing religious services
in the exercise of that ministry or religious order is not
subject to LTD Self-Employment tax.

Complete Form LTD, Lane County Mass Transit District Self-
Employment Tax return. Attach your payment to the front of
the form. Make your check payable to the Oregon Depart-
ment of Revenue. Do not use red ink or gel pens. Please use
only blue or black ink on your return and payment.

Mail to: LTDSE
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14003
Salem OR 97309-2502

150-560-001 (Rev. 11-04)



Important filing information

* Do not combine your LTD Self-Employment tax payment
with any other tax payment made to the Orgon Depart-
ment of Revenue.

* Do not attach your LTD Self-Employment tax return to
your Oregon income tax return or any other form.

* Mail your transit return to the Oregon Department of Rev-
enue. Transit returns cannot be filed electronically.

File one LTD Self-Employment tax return for all of your self-
employment earnings.

To avoid a penalty, file your return and pay your tax by the
due date.

Frequently asked questions

I have more than one business. How should I file my
Lane Transit return?

File one return. If you have separate business activities, at-
tach a schedule, for each separate business, to your return.
Compute the Lane Transit Self-Employment income sepa-
rately for each business. See instructions for line 1.

Can Ifile a joint return?

No. Each taxpayer having self-employment earnings must
file a separate Form L'ID. That’s true even if you and your
spouse filed a joint federal income tax return. The only ex-
ception is a partnership filing for all partners. Both spouses
could be members of the same partnership.

I’'m getting a refund on my Oregon individual income
tax return. Can | have that refund applied to this tax?

No. We can not apply any income tax refund to pay your
LTD Self-Employment tax.

Can I file my Transit Self-Employment Tax return
electronically?

No. File your transit return by mail. Make a copy for your
records, and mail your return to the Oregon Department of
Revenue address as printed at the bottom of the tax return.

Can I file an amended Transit Self-Employment Tax
return?

Yes. File an amended transit return any time you need to cor-
rect your return as originally filed. Generally, you are al-
lowed three years from the due date of the return or the date
the return was filed, whichever is later, to file an amended
return to claim a refund. Check the “Amended return” box
on your transit return.

What if business is done both inside and outside of the
district?

Use an apportionment formula by completing Form TSE-AP
You may elect to use only a sales factor or you may use a
three-factor formula. The election to use the sales factor only
is irrevocable.

What if 'm audited by the IRS?

If changes are made that affect your self-employment earn-
ings, file an amended return to report and pay any addi-
tional tax due. If the change reduces your transit tax, you
have two years from the date of the audit report to claim a
refund.

Why am | being charged penalty and interest on my
unpaid taxes when | have a valid extension?

You are responsible for a 5% penalty and interest if you do
not pay your tax by the original due date. This is tue even
if you have an extension of time to file. Attach a copy of your
extension to your transit return and check the “Extension
filed” box to avoid additional penalties.

Formore information, visit our Web site at www.oregon.gov/DOR.

Your Lane Transit return is due the same day as your fed-
eral and Oregon individual income tax returns. For most tax-
payers, this is April 15. Fiscal year returns are due the 15th
day of the fourth month after the end of the fiscal year When
the 15th falls on a Saturday, Sunday;, or legal holiday, the due
date will be the next business day:

If you get an extension to file your federal or Orgon indi-
vidual income tax return, it will also extend your ITD Self-
Employment tax return. Check the “Extension Filed” box
on your LTD Self-Employment tax return and attach a copy
of the extension to your return when you file.

However, more time to file does not mean more time to pay
If you have an extension, you must make your payment by
the original due date of the return to avoid a penalty and
interest charge. Complete Form TSE-V and send it with your
payment of tax. Form TSE-V is available on our Web site at
www.oregon.gov./DOR, or see “Taxpayer assistance.” Be
sure to use the same name and Social Security number (SSN)
or federal employer identification number (FEIN) that you
will use on your return when you file.

Be sure to file your LTD Self-Employment tax return within
the extension period.

Partnership Election

A partnership may elect to file and pay the transit self-em-
ployment tax for the individual partners. The partnership
must use net earnings from self-employment as reported on
federal Form 1065 to figure the tax. Do not make Oregon
modifications to the partnership’s earnings. If some partners
have different tax years than others, net earnings from self-
employment is determined using amounts from different
partnership years.



The partnership’s return and payment shall be based upon
the net earnings from self-employment of the individual
partners from the partnership for their taxable years ending
with or within the calendar year.

Due date: April 15. The partnership must file a return and
pay the tax due on or before the 15th day of the fourth month
following the end of the calendar year.

Fiscal year taxpayers: When a partnership tax year ends
within a calendar year, the partnership files on a calendar
year basis with the return due the following April 15.

Example: If a partnership has a tax year ending August 31,
2004, and its partners use a calendar yeay the partnership
must pay on or before April 15, 2005, the amount due from
the partner’s net earnings from the partnership for its tax-
able year ending August 31, 2004.

Partnerships must attach a schedule listing the following
information for each partner:

* Name.

* SSN.

¢ Share of partnership income.
¢ Individual exclusion.

Partners: If your partnership is filing on behalf of all part-
ners, you do not need to file a separate Form [TD unless you
have net self-employment earnings from sources other than
the partnership. Report only these additional net self-em-
ployment earnings on your individual Form LTD.

Amended returns

You must file an amended return to claim a refund of tax
paid. To file an amended return, use the appropriate form
for the year of the original return and check the box indicat-
ing “This is an amended return.” Attach an explanation of
the changes made.

Form LTD instructions

Name and address section

Individuals: Fill in your name, address, telephone number,
and SSN.

The request for your SSN(s) is authorized by Section 405,
Title 42, United States Code. You must give us this informa-
tion. It will be used to establish your identity

Partnerships: Fill in the partnership name, address, tele-
phone number, FEIN, and Oregon business identification
number (BIN).

You must provide, on a schedule attached to Form ITD, the
name and SSN for each partner Your return cannot be pro-
cessed without this information.

Line instructions—Form LTD

Instructions are for lines not fully explained on the return.

Line 1. Self-employment earnings. Fill in the amount from
federal Schedule SE, Section A, line 3, or Section B, line 3. If
you have separate business activities, do not use the “net”
amount of all businesses shown on federal Schedule SE. In-
stead, compute the LTD Self-Employment income separately
for each business. The loss from one business cannot be off-
set against the income of another business. File one eturn,
attach a schedule for each separate business, and start with
line 3 on Form LTD. If you have self-employment earnings
from a separate business operated wholly outside of the
Lane Transit district, do not include those earnings on line
1 or 3 of Form LID.

You do not need to make Oregon changes or modifications
to federal income on Form LID. Your earnings that are sub-
ject to LTD Self-Employment tax usually will be the same as
the earnings you report on your federal Schedule SE, Sec-
tion A, line 3, or Section B, line 3.

Exception: Did you receive partnership income? If so, did
the partnership file Form LID and pay the tax for the part-
ners? If so, reduce the amount from your federal Schedule
SE, Section A, line 3, or Section B, line 3 by the amount of
your income from that partnership.

If you have a loss on federal Schedule SE, line 3, you are
not required to file a transit self-employment tax return for
the year of the loss. The loss from one business activity can-
not offset the income of another There is no carry-forward
of losses.

Line 2. Apportionment:

* Enter 100 percent if all of your business activity is within
the transit district.

¢ Attach a completed Form TSE-AP if your business activ-
ity is carried on both in and out of the district.

Line 4.Exclusion. The total exclusion for all of your self-em-
ployment earnings is limited to $400.

Individuals. Enter $400 or the amount on line 3, whichever
is less. Was the exclusion partially or completely used on an-
other 2004 Form LID filed by your partnership? If so, fill in
only the unused amount of the $400 exclusion.

Partnerships. Enter $400 for only those partners whose share
of positive earnings are included in the amount on line 3. If
any partner’s exclusion was partially or completely used on
another 2004 Form LID, include on line 4 only that partner’s
unused amount of the $400 exclusion. Each partner is -
sponsible for ensuring that the total of all exclusions does
not exceed $400.

Do not include any partner with a loss.

Line 7.Prepayments. Fill in the amount of any advance pay-
ments you made before filing this return. Include payments
made with an extension of time to file, or with a payment
voucher, Form TSE-V.



Line 8. Tax-to-pay. Include your check or money order pay-
able to the Oregon Department of Revenue. An expected
refund from your state income tax cannot be used to pay
your transit tax.

Line 9. Penalty and interest. For filing or paying late.

Due date. Form LTD is due the same day as your federal and
Oregon income tax returns. For a calendar year return, this
is April 15, 2005.

Interest. Are you paying your tax after the due date? If you
are, include interest on any unpaid tax.

If you do not pay the tax by the due date, interest will be
charged on the unpaid tax. Interest periods generally begin
on the 16th day of the month the return is due. Returns a®e
due on the 15th unless the 15th falls on a Saturday, Sunday;
or holiday. Interest is figured daily for periods of less than a
month. A month, for example, is May 16 to June 15. Interest
rates may change once a calendar year

To calculate interest due:

* Tax x Annual interest rate x Number of full years.
* Tax x Monthly interest rate x Number of months.
¢ Tax x Daily interest rate x Number of days.

Interest rates and effective dates:

For periods beginning  Annual

January 1, 2004 6%
January 1, 2005 5%

Monthly Daily

0.5000% 0.0164%
0.4167% 0.0137%

Interest accrues on any unpaid tax during an extension of
time to file. For more information, see the publication, Corm-
puting Interest on Tax You Owe, at www.oregon.gov/DOR.

Additional interest on deficiencies and delinquencies. In-
terest will increase by one-third of 1 percent per month (4
percent yearly) on unpaid tax. If the tax is not paid within
60 days of our bill, the interest rate increases to 9 percent
per year.

Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you:

* Mail your payment of tax due after the due date (even if
you have an extension), or

¢ File your return showing tax due after the due date, in-
cluding any extension.

Penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid balance of your tax.

If you file your return more than three months after the origi-
nal or extended due date, add an additional penalty of 20
percent of the unpaid tax.

If you do not file required returns for three consecutive years
by the due date of the third year’s return, an additional fail-
ure to file penalty may be charged up to one hundred per-
cent of any tax due.

Sign your return. Please sign and date your return before
mailing.

LTD cities and ZIP codes

LTD serves the entire Eugene-Springfield urban area as well
as several rural areas. For information on LTD boundaries,
call 541-682-6100 or access the Lane Transit Web site at

www.ltd.org.

City ZIP Code City ZIP Code
Alvadore 97409 Goshen 97405
Blue River 97413 Jasper 97438
Coburg 97408 Junction City 97448
Cottage Grove 97424 Lancaster 97448
Creswell 97426 Leaburg 97489
Dexter 97431 Lowell 97452
Elmira 97437 Maywood 97413
Eugene 97401 McKenzie Bridge 97413
97402 Pleasant Hill 97455
97403 Springfield 97477
97404 97478
97405 Thurston 97482
97408 Trent 97431
97440 Veneta 97487
Fall Creek 97438 Vida 97488
Finn Rock 97488 Walterville 97488

Taxpayer assistance

Oregon Department of Revenue

Telephone: Salem. ..o, 503-378-4988

Toll-free within Oregon ............. 1-800-356-4222
For general tax information ........... www.oregon.gov/DOR
E-mail ..o tse.help.dor@state.or.us

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only): 503-
945-8617 (Salem) or 1-800-886-7204 (toll-free within Oregon).

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): This information
is available in alternative formats. Call 503-378-4988 (Salem)
or 1-800-356-4222 (toll-free within Oregon).

Asistencia en espafol. Llame al 503-945-8618 en Salem o
llame gratis al 1-800-356-4222 en Oregon.

Lane Transit District boundary information

Telephone ..........cccoviiiiiiiiiie, 541-682-6100
Internet.......ccooovveeiiiiiiieeee e www.ltd.org



FORM

-LTD

(240)

Lane County
Mass Transit District

SELF-EMPLOYMENT TAX | : .

For office use only
Date received

2004/ Bz

Fiscal Year
Beginning:

Mo Day Year
/ 04 e Ending:

If you have previously D Name change
filed a return, indicate if: |:| Address change

Fiscal Year

Mo/ Day / Year

Last name (if an individual filing)
®

First name and initial Social Security number (SSN)

Partnership name (if a partnership filing)

Federal employer identification number (FEIN)

Business address

Oregon business identification number (BIN)
®

City State

ZIP Code County Telephone number

( )

Did you file Form LTD for 2003?

®[ | An extension has been filed

|:| Yes |:| No (if No, give reason) 0|:| This is an amended return
Include your payment with this return. Round all amounts to the nearest whole dollar.
1. Total self-employment earnings from federal Schedule SE. See instructions............cccccvevieiiiieennenn. e 1 | |
2. Apportionment percentage. From Form TSE-AR, Transit Self-Employment Tax Apportionment
Worksheet (150-500-051). Not less than -0- or more than 100%. If all your business activity is o
within the Lane Transit District, fill in 100%0..... ... e e e e e anrae e 2| %o
3. Net self-employment earnings. Multiply [ine 1 by iN€ 2.........cooiiiiiiiiiiii e L 3| |
4. Less: Exclusion. Not more than $400 per taxpayer Each taxpayers exclusion is the lesser
of the taxpayer's self-employment earnings or $400.........c.ooiiiiriiiiir e e 4 | |
5. Net earnings from self-employment subject to transit district tax. Line 3 minus line 4......................... ®5 | |
6. Tax on self-employment earnings within the LaneTransit District.
Multiply the amount on lin€ 5 by 0.006 ..........eeiiiiiiiii e e e e e e e e e eee s ® 6 | |
A (=] o T= 1Y/ 4= 0 £ PSP PPPRR PR e 7 | |
8. TAX-TO-PAY. Is line 6 more than line 7? If so, line 6 minus line 7...........cccocuveeerieeinnnnn, TAX-TO-PAY @ 8 | |
9. Penalty and interest. For filing or paying late. See iNStruCtioNS...........ccceviieiiiii i 9 | |
10. Total amount due. Line 8 PlUS lINE O.......eeiiiiiiii i 10 | |
11. REFUND. Is line 7 more than line 67 If so, line 7 minus liN@ 6.............ceeevveeiiiiiciiiiiiieeeeeee. REFUND @11 | |

Individuals: Attach a copy of your federal Schedule SE. Business Activity: [ ]Sales [ ]Services [ ]Other:

Include a copy of your extension if you file after the due date.

Partnerships: Attach a schedule listing each partners name, Social Security number, partnership earnings, and exclusion.

Under penalties for false swearing, | declare that | have examined this return, including accompany-
ing schedules and statements. To the best of my knowledge and belief it is true, correct, and
complete. If prepared by a person other than the taxpayer, this declaration is based on all information

| authorize the Department
of Revenue to discuss this
return with this preparer.

of which the preparer has any knowledge. Clyes [INo
Your signature Date Signature of preparer other than taxpayer License No.
SIGN | X X
HERE

Address

Telephone No.

Do NOT attach your LTD self-employment tax return to your Oregon income tax return,or any other form.

Make check or money order payable to:
Oregon Department of Revenue

150-560-001 (Rev. 11-04) Web

Mail your return to: LTDSE
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14003
Salem OR 97309-2502
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