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Estimated income tax

Oregon law requires some taxpayers to pay estimat-
ed tax. Oregon’s estimated tax system is similar to 
the federal system, but when you figure estimated 
tax for Oregon:

•	Use Oregon income tax laws and tax rates.

•	Do not include Social Security tax (FICA), self-
employment tax, or household employment tax.

In most cases, you must make estimated tax pay-
ments if you owe $1,000 or more when you file your 
2008 Oregon income tax return. That’s tax you owe 
after you subtract your credits and the tax withheld 
from your income, but before you subtract any 2007 
refund you applied to your 2008 estimated tax.

Pay estimated tax for tax year 2008 if:

You expect to owe $1,000 or more when you file your 
2008 Oregon income tax return, and you estimate the 
total income tax withholding will be less than:

•	100 percent of the tax shown on your 2007 income 
tax return that covered all 12 months of the year, or

•	90 percent of the tax to be shown on your 2008 
income tax return, or

•	90 percent of the tax on your 2008 annualized 
income.

Even if you expect to owe less than $1,000, you may 
still make estimated tax payments.

Note: Estimated tax payments are not a substitute for 
withholding Oregon income tax from wage income.

You can file a joint estimated tax Form 40-ESV with 
your spouse unless any of the following is true:

•	You or your spouse are nonresident aliens.
•	You are legally separated.
•	You and your spouse have different tax years. For 
example, you use a calendar year, and your spouse 
uses a fiscal year.

If you file a joint estimated tax Form 40-ESV, the pay-
ments are considered to be joint, regardless of which 
spouse actually made the estimated tax payment.

You can file separate Oregon income tax returns even 
if you file a joint Form 40-ESV. If you file separate 
income tax returns after filing a joint Form 40-ESV, 
decide who’ll claim the joint estimated tax payments. 

You can divide the estimated tax between you or 
agree that one of you will claim the entire amount. If 
you cannot agree, generally your estimated tax will 
be divided based on your separate tax liabilities.

Note: If you expect to file separate tax returns, use 
separate estimated tax accounts to help process your 
return.

Gross income
Generally, gross income includes all income you 
receive during the year. There are some exceptions, 
such as Social Security, Railroad Retirement Board 
benefits, and welfare payments.

Gross income includes wages, interest, and divi-
dends. It also includes gross profit from rentals, roy-
alties, businesses, farming, fishing, capital gains, and 
the sale of property. Do not subtract expenses, except 
cost of goods sold, when figuring gross profit.

Farmers and commercial fishermen
Farmers and fishermen are not required to pay esti-
mated tax if at least two-thirds of their 2007 gross 
income or two-thirds of their 2008 estimated gross 
income from all sources is from farming or fishing. 
This includes oyster farming.

You still need to file Form 10, Underpayment of Oregon 
Estimated Tax, with your Oregon income tax return to 
show you do not owe estimated tax. To download the 
form, go to our website, or to order the form, call us.

Your Oregon return is due April 15, 2009, even if you 
were required to file your federal return earlier.

Employees of farmers or fishermen do not qualify for 
this exception.

Farmers. Use the amounts on the following federal 
forms to determine your gross income from farming:

•	Federal Schedule F, line 11.
•	Federal Schedule E, line 42.
•	Federal Form 4797, line 20 (include only gains from 
sale of livestock held for draft, breeding, sporting, 
or dairy purposes).

Oregon allows farm income averaging for income tax 
purposes. Order Form FIA-40 (full-year resident) or 
Form FIA-40N/P (part-year resident and nonresident) 
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for more information. You can download these forms 
from our website.

Fishermen. Use the amounts from the following fed-
eral schedules to determine your gross income from 
fishing:

•	Schedule C, line 7.
•	Schedule C-EZ, line 1.
•	Schedule E, line 42.

Example 1: Waldo is a farmer. He wants to know if 
he must pay estimated tax. His 2007 return shows 
the following:

Wages $ 12,000
Interest   700
Net farm income   3,000
Total adjusted gross income $ 15,700

His farm schedule shows:
Gross income from crop sales $ 35,000
Total expenses – 32,000

Net farm profit $ 3,000

His gross income is:
Wages $ 12,000
Interest   700
Farm gross income   35,000

Total gross income $ 47,700
2⁄3 of $47,700 $ 31,800
Farm gross income $ 35,000

Waldo does not have to pay estimated tax. His farm 
gross income of $35,000 is more than two-thirds (66.7 
percent) of his total gross income ($47,700 × .667 = 
$31,800). But he does need to file Form 10 with his 
tax return.

Example 2: Vern is a farmer. Julie is a wage earner 
and an artist. They will file jointly and want to know 
if they must pay estimated tax for 2008. Their return 
shows the following:

Schedule C business loss $ 	(1,500	)
Wages   	25,000	
Net farm income   	18,500	

Adjusted gross income $ 42,000

Their farm schedule shows:

Gross crop sales $ 	10,000
Gross livestock sales   	17,000
Farm gross income $ 	27,000
Total expenses – 	 8,500

Net farm profit $ 	18,500

Their business Schedule C shows:

Gross receipts $ 20,000

Cost of goods sold (COGS) – 12,000

Gross income after COGS   	 8,000
Total expenses   	 9,500

Net Schedule C business loss $ 	(1,500	)

Their gross income is:

Business gross income after COGS $ 	 8,000
Wage income   	25,000
Farm gross income   	27,000

Total gross income $ 	60,000
2⁄3 of $60,000 (gross income) $ 	40,000

Farm gross income $ 	27,000

Vern and Julie estimated their 2008 gross income and 
gross farm income will be about the same as their 
2007 income amounts. Because less than two-thirds 
of their gross income is from farming, they should 
make quarterly estimated tax payments for 2008.

Nonresidents and part-year residents
Nonresidents figure Oregon estimated tax only on 
income that is:

•	Subject to Oregon withholding, or
•	From conducting a trade or business within Oregon.

Use one of the worksheets in the estimated tax book-
let to figure the tax. Follow the same instructions as 
full-year residents for filing Form 40-ESV and paying 
estimated tax.

The amount of your payment is based on the tax you 
compute using one of the methods shown below. Use 
your 2007 Form 40N or Form 40P as a guideline to 
estimate your 2008 Oregon income tax. Follow the 
same instructions for filing Form 40-ESV and paying 
estimated tax that full-year residents do.

Farmer or fisherman
Figure your gross income as all the income you 
expect to earn both in and out of Oregon to deter-
mine if you need to pay Oregon estimated tax.

Example: Felicia, a resident of Washington, owns a farm 
in Oregon. All of her other income is from nonfarm 
sources within Washington. Her total farm income 
from Oregon sources is $50,000. Her total gross income 
from within and outside of Oregon is $90,000. Because 
Felicia’s gross income from farming is not equal to or 
greater than two-thirds of her total gross income, she 
does not qualify for the exception for farmers and fish-
ermen. She must make estimated tax payments.
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S corporation, limited liability  
company (LLC), or partnership income
If you’re a shareholder in an S corporation, a mem-
ber of an LLC, or in a partnership with income from 
Oregon sources, you may need to make estimated 
tax payments.

Part-year residents. For the part of the year you were 
a nonresident, you are subject to Oregon tax on your 
share of the Oregon income reported by the S corpo-
ration, LLC, or partnership. Partners must also report 
guaranteed payments. For the part of the year you 
were a resident, you’re subject to Oregon tax on your 
share of all the S corporation, LLC, or partnership 
income.

Nonresidents. You’re subject to Oregon tax on your 
share of the Oregon income reported by the S cor-
poration, LLC, or partnership. You’re also subject to 
Oregon tax on any guaranteed payments from the 
partnership. The payments are apportioned using 
the partnership’s percentage.

Retirees
If you’re retired or will soon retire, you may need to 
make estimated tax payments. Or, you may be able to 
have Oregon income tax withheld from your retire-
ment income. Contact the payer of the income to see 
if this is possible.

Retirees who are Oregon residents but not living in 
Oregon may be subject to tax on their Oregon-source 
pensions. This law applies to retirees who still have 
Oregon as their domicile but file as nonresidents.

Nonresident aliens
Estimated tax filing requirements are the same for 
both United States citizens and nonresident aliens. 
Nonresident aliens can be either Oregon residents or 
nonresidents. If you or your spouse are a nonresident 
alien, you must file separate estimated tax forms.

Fiduciaries
Do not file Form 40-ESV. You do not need to pay esti-
mated tax on behalf of an estate or trust.

Due dates
2008 estimated tax for calendar-year taxpayers

First payment—due April 15, 2008.
Second payment—due June 16, 2008.
Third payment—due September 15, 2008.
Fourth payment—due January 15, 2009.

If you still owe more income tax, pay the balance by 
April 15, 2009. You must pay the tax even if you get 
an extension to file your tax return.

Special cases: You do not need to make the fourth 
payment if:

•	You file your Oregon tax return before February 1, 
2009, and

•	You pay all tax due with your return.

You must still pay estimated tax on the earlier pay-
ment dates.

Fiscal-year taxpayers: Pay one-fourth of your Oregon 
estimated tax on the 15th day of the fourth, sixth, and 
ninth months of your tax year. The last payment is due 
15 days after the end of your tax year. If the due date 
falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, use the 
next regular workday.

Example: Your tax year begins July 1, 2007 and ends 
June 30, 2008. The estimated tax Form 40-ESV and 
payments are due:

•	October 15, 2007.
•	December 15, 2007.
•	March 15, 2008.
•	July 15, 2008.

Additional withholding
If you don’t have enough Oregon tax withheld from 
your wages, ask your employer to increase your with-
holding. You can change your Oregon withholding 
without changing your federal withholding. File a 
new federal Form W-4, Employee’s Withholding Allow-
ance Certificate, with your employer. Write “For state 
use only” on the W-4.

Do you and your spouse both work? Or, do you or your 
spouse have two jobs? If so, we have information to 
help you figure tax that should be withheld from your 
wages. Send for Oregon Income Tax Withholding: Some 
Special Cases by writing to: Forms, Oregon Depart-
ment of Revenue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990. 
Or, download the form from our website.

How to figure your payments
You will need:

•	Your 2007 Oregon income tax return and instructions.
•	2008 exemption credit: $169.
•	2008 federal tax subtraction limit: $5,600 ($2,800 
married filing separately).

•	2008 tax rate charts.
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You may need:

•	Your federal income tax return and schedules.
•	The appropriate worksheet from the estimated 
income tax instructions for Form 40-ESV.

Method 1: 2008
90 percent of your 2008 net income tax. To figure 
your payments under this method, use the appropri-
ate worksheet in the estimated income tax instruc-
tions for Form 40-ESV.

Use your 2007 income tax returns and instructions as 
guides to estimate your 2008 federal adjusted gross 
income (AGI).

Example: Basil used his 2007 tax return to estimate his 
2008 income and Oregon tax. He estimates his net tax 
liability for Oregon will be $3,600. Basil should pay 90 
percent of that amount ($3,600 × .90 = $3,240) in four 
equal payments. He should pay $810 ($3,240 ÷ 4) each 
payment period.

Method 2: Safe harbor—2007
100 percent of the tax shown on your 2007 income 
tax return. Your 2007 return must have a net income 
tax and be filed on time, including extensions. Pay 
25 percent of this amount on each estimated tax pay-
ment due date. You cannot use this method if in tax 
year 2007 you:

•	Did not file an Oregon return, or
•	Filed a short-year return.

Example: Arianne’s 2007 tax was $1,000 after credits. 
She should pay $250 ($1,000 ÷ 4) on each of the four 
estimated tax due dates.

Method 3: Annualized—2008
90 percent of your 2008 annualized net income tax. 
If you don’t get your taxable income evenly through-
out the year, you may annualize your income to 
figure your estimated tax payments. Use the annu-
alized income worksheet on the Form 10, Interest on 
Underpayment of Estimated Tax, as a guide. Download 
Form 10 and instructions from our website. Or, call 
us to order it.

Computing your annualized tax. Compute your Ore-
gon income from the beginning of the year to the end 
of the month preceding the estimated tax payment 
due date. For example, if you’re annualizing your 
income through June 15, include only your income 
from January through May. Do not include income 
earned between June 1 and June 15.

Next, figure your Oregon itemized deductions, addi-
tions, and subtractions for the same period. You don’t 
need to figure your itemized deductions if you’re 
taking the standard deduction.

Then, use the following formula to figure your annu-
alized income, itemized deductions, additions, and 
subtractions.

First payment
 Actual income January 1 to
   March 31 × 4 = $___ annualized amount

Second payment
 Actual income January 1 to
   May 31 × 2.4 = $___ annualized amount

Third payment
 Actual income January 1 to
   August 31 × 1.5 = $___ annualized amount

Fourth payment
 Actual income January 1 to
   December 31 × 1.0 = $___ annualized amount

To figure your annualized Oregon taxable income, 
add your annualized Oregon additions to your annu-
alized federal adjusted gross income. Then subtract:

•	Your annualized Oregon subtractions. Don’t 
include your federal tax subtraction. Use the for-
mula above. Substitute your subtractions to date 
for your income.

•	Your annualized itemized deductions. Use the for-
mula above. Substitute your itemized deductions 
to date for your income.

•	Your standard deduction based on your filing sta-
tus if you’re not itemizing. Don’t annualize the 
standard deduction.

•	Federal tax figured on your annualized federal tax-
able income. Use the federal tax rate charts to deter-
mine the tax on your annualized federal taxable 
income. The 2008 federal tax subtraction is limited 
to $5,600 ($2,800 if married filing separately).

Then use the 2008 Oregon tax rate charts to figure 
your annualized tax before credits. Oregon’s tax 
rates change each year because of inflation. Do not 
use a 2007 rate chart.

You must reduce your annualized tax by:

•	The exemption credits you expect to claim on your 
Oregon return, $169 each in 2008, and

•	Any other Oregon credit in the period you earn it 
to arrive at net annualized tax.

Note: If you are a high-income taxpayer, your exemp-
tion credits may be reduced.

Example 1: Bill and Mary are married with no depen-
dents. Neither is 65 or older or blind. They had no 
withholding tax. They had the following income:

  Federal adjusted
 Period gross income
 January 1 to March 31 $ 8,000
 January 1 to May 31   16,000
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 January 1 to August 31   20,000
 January 1 to December 31   38,000
First payment
Annualized income
 $8,000 × 4 = $ 32,000
 Less: Standard deduction – 3,650
 Federal tax subtraction – 1,700
Total deductions – 5,350
Annualized taxable income $ 26,650
Oregon tax $ 1,991
Less: 2008 exemption credit (2 × $169) – 338
Annualized Oregon tax $ 1,653
	 90% of the first period’s tax
	 $1,653 × .225 (1st required 
 installment—pay this amount)	 $	 372
Second payment
Annualized income
 $16,000 × 2.4 = $ 38,400
 Less: Standard deduction – 3,650
 Federal tax subtraction – 2,660
Total deductions – 6,310
Annualized taxable income $ 32,090
Oregon tax $ 2,480
Less: 2008 exemption credit (2 × $169) – 338
Annualized Oregon tax $ 2,142
 90% of the second period’s tax
 $2,142 × .45 (2nd required 
 installment—[$964 – 372] pay $592)	 $	 964
Third payment
Annualized income
 $20,000 × 1.5 = $ 30,000
 Less: Standard deduction – 3,650
 Federal tax subtraction – 1,410
Total deductions – 5,060
Annualized taxable income $ 24,940
Oregon tax $ 1,837
Less: 2008 exemption credit (2 × $169) – 338
Annualized Oregon tax $ 1,499
	 90% of the third period’s tax
 $1,499 × .675 (3rd required installment—
 [$1,012 – 372 – 592] pay $48)	 $	 1,012

Fourth payment
Annualized income
 $38,000 × 1.0 = $ 38,000
 Less: Standard deduction – 3,650
 Federal tax subtraction – 2,600
Total deductions – 6,250
Annualized taxable income $ 31,750
Oregon tax $ 2,450
Less: 2008 exemption credit (2 × $169) – 338
Annualized Oregon tax $ 2,112

	 90% of the fourth period’s tax

	 $2,112 × .9 (4th required
	 installment—[$1,901 – 372 – 592 – 48] 
 pay $889)	 $	 1,901

Short-year taxpayers: You do not need to file Form 
40-ESV, the estimated tax payment voucher, if the 
short taxable year is less than four months. If the 
short year is longer than four months, you may need 
to file Form 40-ESV.

Applying income tax refund  
to estimated tax payment
If your refund is $1 or more and you filed your return 
on time, you can apply it to next year’s estimated tax 
payments. You must file Form 40, Form 40N, or Form 
40P. Your refund will be applied to your first payment 
due unless you tell us otherwise. You can’t apply your 
refund if you file Form 40S.

You may need to begin paying estimated tax if you 
paid withholding in prior years and your economic 
situation has changed.

If you apply your refund to your estimated taxes and 
the Oregon Department of Revenue reduces your 
refund, you may need to make a payment for the dif-
ference. Do it immediately. We apply payments first 
to underpayments from earlier periods.

Example: The June 15 payment is first applied to any 
underpayment for the first payment period. The bal-
ance of the June payment is then applied to the second 
payment period.

What to do if your estimated income, 
deductions, or credits change?
Amended estimated tax. Did your expected income 
or deductions change after you made your first esti-
mated tax payment? If so, refigure your estimated tax, 
using the new income or deductions. Then use the 
amended estimated tax worksheet in the estimated 
tax booklet to figure how much to pay.

Did not pay estimated tax on April 15?
Even if you don’t need to pay estimated tax on April 
15…

•	If your expected income, deductions, or credits 
change, you may need to pay estimated tax at a 
later date. Fill out the appropriate tax worksheet in 
the estimated tax booklet.

•	If your income changes after April 1 and before June 
2, file by June 15. Make three equal payments.
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•	If your income changes after June 1 and before 
September 2, file by September 15. Make two equal 
payments.

•	If your income changes after September 1, file by 
January 15. Pay your estimated tax in full.

Taxpayer assistance
General tax information........www.oregon.gov/DOR
	 Salem.......................................................503-378-4988 
	 Toll-free from an Oregon prefix......1-800-356-4222 

Asistencia en español:
	 Salem.......................................................503-378-4988	
Gratis de prefijo de Oregon..................1-800-356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
	 Salem.......................................................503-945-8617
	 Toll-free from an Oregon prefix...... 1-800-886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the 
help numbers for information in alternative formats.


