1994 Oregon

Form 40
and
Form 40S

Full-Year Resident Income Tax Booklet

-
Want your refund faster?

0 Use your booklet label if you
have one.

[ Be sure to attach your W-2s.

[0 Use the correct Social Security
number.

[0 Double check your math.

[J Make sure you subtract your
federal tax liability (see instruc-
tions for the correct amount).

File your return electronically.
See page 3 for details.

~\

Oregon Department of Revenue
955 Center St. NE
Salem, OR 97310-2551

Please use this
label on your
return

New this year!

Federal schedules

You no longer have to file all your federal
schedules with your Oregon return. See
page 3 for more information.

Need help?

If you have questions or want to order forms,

you can call us 24 hours a day.

Call: Salem (503) 378-4988
Toll-free within Oregon 1-800-356-4222

The toll-free number is only available
January through April.

TDD (for nonvoice use only) (503) 945-8617

Habla Espafnol? Las personas que necesitan
asistencia en Espafiol pueden llamar al
numero en Salem (503) 945-8618.



Where Your Tax Dollar Goes

Source of General Fund Revenues 1993-1995

Corporate Income Tax / 6¢

Taxes on Insurance / 2¢ Personal Income Tax / 84¢

Tobacco Taxes / 3¢
Other / 5¢

Expenditure of General Fund Revenues 1993-1995

Primary and Secondary Education /42¢
Corrections / 6¢

Public Safety / 2¢

Natural Resources / 2¢

Community Colleges / 3¢
Higher Education / 11¢

Legislative Branch / 1¢

Judicial Branch / 4¢ Adult and Family Services / 4¢

Other / 3¢ Children’s Services / 3¢
Mental Health / 7¢
Senior Services / 4¢
Other Human Resources Programs / 8¢
Do | need to file?
If Gross Income
Marital Status Filing Status Age is More Than:
Single—can be claimed Any $500
. ) ) on another’s return
Single (including
divorced and legally Single Under 65 $4,120
separated) 65 or older $5,320
Head of Under 65 $4,960
household 65 or older $6,160
Married Under 65, (both) $7,640
joint return 65 or older (one) $8,640
Married 65 or older (both) $9,640
Married, Under 65 $3,820
separate return 65 or older $4,820
e : s : Under 65 $7,640
Qualifying widow(er) Qualifying widow(er) 85 or older $8.640
In addition, file a return if: These instructions aren’t a complete statement of laws

and Oregon Department of Revenue rules. You may need

= You are self-employed with net earnings over $400. more information or forms. See page 32.

< You had Oregon income tax withheld from your

wages. If you have disabilities and need special accommo-
= You are a nonresident or a part-year resident with in- ?Oaté(;?sﬁeslze page 32 for numbers to call and places

come taxed by Oregon.




New Information

New for 1994. you no longer have to file
all of your federal return with your Oregon return.
File only a copy of the front and back of the
federal form (1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040PC) with
your Oregon income tax return. Don't attach any
other federal schedules such as A, B, C, D, or Form
2441. We get federal schedule information electroni-
cally. This change does not affect 40S filers.

Labels. you may have received a mailing
label from us on this tax booklet. If you received
a label, please use it on the income tax return you
mail to the department. Make sure the label is cor-
rect. If it isn’t, mark through the incorrect informa-
tion and make corrections on the label. If someone
else prepares your return, ask the preparer to use
your label. Your return will be processed faster.

Oregon law follows federal law as of December 31, 1992.
For the 1994 tax year, most items are treated the same
way on your Oregon and federal tax returns.

Federal tax law changes

Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993. This
federal act became effective on August 10, 1993. Ore-
gon law is tied to federal law as of December 31, 1992.
The changes for 1993 not followed by Oregon will con-
tinue to create Oregon differences in 1994. These include:

= Employer-provided educational assistance deduc-
tions. See “Other additions,” page 19.

= Nonresidential real property. See “Difference in
depreciation for Oregon,” page 21.

= Election to expense certain tangible property
(Section 179 expenses). See “Other additions,”
page 19.

= Amortization of goodwill and related intangibles.
Oregon follows prior federal law and will require an
addition or subtraction on your Oregon return.
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Federal laws becoming effective in 1994 not followed by
Oregon include:

= Moving expenses. Federal law has new limitations on
moving expenses for 1994. Oregon follows prior fed-
eral law. This may require an addition or subtraction
on your Oregon return.

= Business meals and entertainment expenses. Be-
ginning in 1994, federal law allows only 50 percent of
the cost of your business meals and entertainment ex-
penses. Oregon follows prior federal law that allows
80 percent. The difference may be claimed as an “Other
subtraction.”

= Self-employed health insurance deduction. Oregon
allows self-employed people to claim 25 percent of
health insurance premiums as a subtraction from
income. Federal law may allow a different amount.
This may require a subtraction on your Oregon return.
You may not claim the same expenses as itemized
deductions on Schedule A.

Oregon tax information

= Extension to file. If you filed an extension, check the
“Extension filed” box on the form.

Active duty pay income will continue to be subtracted
from Oregon income if it was earned outside Oregon
from August 1, 1990, through the date the President sets
as the end of combat activities in the Persian Gulf.
See page 20, “Military active duty.”

Retirement income credit and special Oregon medi-
cal deduction. The minimum age requirement for 1995
will increase to age 60.

Electronic filing

Oregon is offering a joint federal/state electronic
filing program. People who file electronically with
the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) may file their
Oregon return electronically at the same time. The
program is open to full-year residents who are ex-
pecting refunds or have tax to pay. If you owe
additional tax, you can file your return any time
before the due date and you will have until
April 17, 1995, to pay the tax.

Table of contents/3



General information

What income does Oregon tax?

An Oregon resident is taxed on all income, including
income from outside the state. A nonresident of Oregon
is taxed only on income from Oregon sources.

What form do | use?
Use Form 40S if ALL of the following are true:

= You are a full-year Oregon resident.

= Your income is only from wages, interest, ordinary divi-
dends, unemployment, taxable scholarships, and fel-
lowship grants.

= You claim the standard deduction on your return.

= Your Oregon taxable income is $50,000 or less.

= You do not have pension or annuity income.

= You do not owe penalty or interest.

= You did not pay estimated tax during the year.

Use Form 40 if:

= You are a full-year Oregon resident, and
= You can’t use Form 40S.

You’'ll need to use Form 40 even if only one of the
following is true:

= You paid or should have paid estimated tax during the
year.

= You have adjustments on Form 1040, line 30, or Form
1040A, line 15c. Examples are alimony and IRA deduc-
tions.

= You have Oregon “additions” or “subtractions” other
than the federal tax subtraction. The most common
ones are listed on the return.

= You itemize deductions on your Oregon return.

= You are married filing separately and your spouse is
itemizing.

= You are claiming tax credits other than the exemption
credit or those listed on pages 15-16.

= You received pension or annuity income.

= You are in the military and claiming the subtraction for
military active duty pay.

= You owe penalty or interest.

Use Form 40P if:

= You are a part-year resident, or

= You are a part-year resident filing a joint return, and
your spouse is a full-year resident, or

= You and your spouse are part-year residents filing
jointly.

Use Form 40N if:

= You are a nonresident, or

= You are a nonresident filing a joint return, and your
spouse is a full-year or part-year resident, or

= You and your spouse are nonresidents filing jointly.

4/Choosing the correct form

To order forms 40P and 40N and instructions, see
page 32.

When should | file my return?

File as soon as possible. The filing deadline for calendar
year 1994 is April 17, 1995.

Returns for other tax periods are due by the 15th day of
the fourth month after the close of your tax year.

Need more time to file?

= If you need more time to file both your federal and
your Oregon returns:

— Generally, Oregon allows you the same extension
you have for your federal return. If you did have
a federal extension, check the “Extension Filed” box
on your Oregon return when you file.

— To avoid penalty and interest, mail any tax due by
April 17, 1995. Attach payment to a separate copy
of your federal extension.

— Include the amount you paid with your extension
on Form 40, line 43, when you file your return.

= If you need an extension of time to file for Oregon
only, send us a federal extension form. Write “For
Oregon only” across the top. Include your payment.
Send your extension and payment to: Extension Clerk,
Oregon Department of Revenue, PO Box 14950, Sa-
lem OR 97309-0980.

— Check the “Extension Filed” box on your Oregon
return when you file. We'll notify you only if your
extension is denied.

More time to file doesn’t mean
more time to pay!

You must pay any tax due when filing your extension.

If you don't pay all of the tax due with your extension,
you will owe interest after April 17, 1995, to the date of
your payment. The current interest rate is 10 percent per
year. If the tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the
interest rate increases to 14 percent per year.

You also will owe a 5 percent penalty if you pay after
April 17, 1995. If you file more than three months late,
add an additional 20 percent penalty. The penalties ap-
ply even if you filed an extension unless you meet the
following conditions:

1. Get an extension of time to file your return;

2. Pay at least 90 percent of the tax due by April 17,
1995;

3. Pay the balance of tax due at the time you file within
the extension period; and



4. Pay the interest on the balance of the tax due at the
time you file your return or within 30 days of our
billing date.

Were you stationed in the Persian Gulf area? Did you
receive additional time to file your 1994 federal return?
If so, Oregon allows the same additional time to file.
Write “Desert Storm” in red at the top of the form.

1995 estimated tax

Estimated tax is the amount of tax you expect to owe
when you file your 1995 Oregon individual income tax
return. The tax you owe is net income tax less your an-
ticipated Oregon withholding.

Who must pay estimated tax?

In most cases, people who expect to owe $500 or
more on their 1995 Oregon income tax return.

For example:

= Self-employed people who don’'t have Oregon tax
withheld from their income.

= Others who don't have Oregon tax withheld from their
income. Such income can include unemployment com-
pensation, pensions, interest, or dividends.

There are other limitations based on income. See page
32 to order the estimated tax coupons and instructions
or the information circular “Estimated Tax,” 150-101-648.

= Wage earners. If you expect to owe $500 or more on
your 1995 return, you need to increase the amount
your employer withholds from your wages. If you and
your spouse both work, see page 32 to order the in-
formation circular, “Oregon Income Tax Withholding:
Some Special Cases,” 150-206-643.

Exception:

You don't have to pay estimated tax if at least two-thirds
of your gross income is from farming or fishing. At-
tach Form 10, “Underpayment of Oregon Estimated Tax,”
to your Oregon income tax return. Check the box on
Form 10 to tell us you qualify for the farmer’s and fisher’s
exception. See page 32 to order Form 10.

How do | make estimated tax payments?

Complete an Oregon estimated tax Form 40ES. Forms are
included with the Oregon estimated tax instruction book-
let. The Oregon Department of Revenue mails estimated
tax booklets and forms to taxpayers who may need to
pay estimated tax, based on past tax returns.

If you don't get your Oregon estimated tax forms by the
end of February, see page 32 to order the forms.

When do | pay?

First-period estimated tax—due April 17, 1995.*
Second-period estimated tax—due June 15, 1995.

Third-period estimated tax—due Sept. 15, 1995.
Fourth-period estimated tax—due Jan. 16, 1996.

* Don’t send your Oregon estimated tax Form 40ES
and payment with your Oregon income tax return.
Mail Form 40ES with your estimated tax payment sepa-
rately to: Oregon Department of Revenue, PO Box
14950, Salem OR 97309-0980.

Residency

Am | a resident, a nonresident, or a part-year
resident?

The following definitions will help you decide.

= You are an Oregon resident, even though you live
outside Oregon, if all of the following are true:
— You think of Oregon as your permanent home.
— Oregon is the center of your financial, social, and
family life.
— Oregon is the place you intend to come back to
when you are away.

= You are a nonresident if your permanent home is out-
side Oregon all year.

= You are a part-year resident if you moved into or out
of Oregon during the tax year. But you still are a full-
year resident if:
— You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or
— You moved back to Oregon after a temporary ab-
sence.

Special-case Oregon residents. File Form 40N if all the
following are true:

< You are an Oregon resident who lived outside Ore-
gon the entire year.

< You didn’'t keep a home in Oregon during any part of
the year.

= You spent less than 31 days in Oregon during the year.

Filing status. Generally, you must use the same filing
status for your Oregon and federal returns.

Exceptions for married persons when spouses are:

= Full-year resident and part-year resident. You may
file separate Oregon returns. The full-year resident will
file on Form 40 and the part-year resident will file on
Form 40P. If you choose to file a joint return for Ore-
gon, file on Form 40P.

= Full-year resident and nonresident. You may file
separate Oregon returns. The full-year resident will file
on Form 40 and the nonresident will file on Form 40N.
If you choose to file a joint return for Oregon, file on
Form 40N.

= Part-year resident and nonresident. You may file
separate Oregon returns. The part-year resident will file
on Form 40P and the nonresident will file on Form
40N. If you choose to file a joint return for Oregon,
file on Form 40N.

Estimated tax/residency/5



= See page 32 to order the information circular, “Mar-
ried Persons Filing Separate Returns,” 150-101-656.

Armed forces
| was in the armed forces in 1994. How should I file?

= See if you meet all of the following requirements:

— You didn’t have a personal residence in Oregon for
yourself or for your family during any part of 1994.

— Your personal residence was outside of Oregon
during all of 1994.

— You spent less than 31 days in Oregon in 1994.

If you do, you will file as a nonresident. File Form 40N
to get a refund of Oregon tax withheld from your mili-
tary wages. Form 40N is in the part-year resident and
nonresident booklet. Contact the Oregon Department of
Revenue to order that booklet. See page 32.

= If you don’t meet all three requirements, file Form
40 in this booklet.

= Nonresidents stationed in Oregon. Oregon won't
tax your military income. But Oregon does tax other
income earned in Oregon by you or your spouse.
Nonresident members of the Oregon National Guard
or reserves may exclude only active duty pay. If you
have income taxed by Oregon, use Form 40N in the
nonresident and part-year resident booklet.

Elderly Rental Assistance (ERA)

To qualify for an ERA refund you must be a renter who
resided in Oregon on December 31, 1994, be age 58 or
older on December 31, 1994, have household income less
than $10,000, and use more than 20 percent of your
household income to pay for rent, fuel, and utilities.
If you think you qualify, see page 32 to order an
ERA booklet.

Are you self-employed?

If you are self-employed and do business in Washing-
ton, Multnomah, or Clackamas counties, you may need
to file a Tri-Met Self-Employment tax return. If you are
self-employed, have employees, and do business in Lane
County, you may need to pay Lane County Transit tax.
See page 32 to order forms or receive information.

Questions answered

What tax records do | need to keep?

Keep a complete copy of your federal and state returns.
Also, keep the original or a copy of all papers or state-
ments you used to prepare your return. Save these
records for at least three years. If your return is audited,
the law says you must show proof of your income
and expenses.

6/Military service; questions answered

Also, save all records about property you bought. Keep
these kinds of records for at least three years after you
sell the property.

For more information, see page 32 to order the infor-
mation circular “Record Keeping Requirements,”
150-101-608.

I’'m getting an income tax refund this year. When
will I get my check?

= If you file your return by April 1:
— If you use your label, allow 4-6 weeks to receive
your refund.
— If you don't use your label, allow 6-8 weeks to re-
ceive your refund.

= If you file your return after April 1:
— Add 2-3 weeks to the above.

Exception: If there is a mistake on your return, your
refund will be delayed.

I’'m moving. Will my refund check be forwarded
to me?

Yes. If you move after you mail your return, let us know
your new address for a faster refund. Write to: Address
Change, Oregon Department of Revenue, 955 Center St.
NE, Salem OR 97310-2501. Or see page 32 for numbers
to call. Also, tell your post office your new address.

May | round off cents to the nearest whole dollar?

Yes. You may round off cents to the nearest whole dol-
lar on your return and schedules. If you round off, do
so for all amounts. You may drop amounts less than 50
cents. Increase amounts from 50 to 99 cents to the next
dollar. For example, $12.15 becomes $12 and $233.50
becomes $234.

Is my tax return private information?

Yes. Any Oregon Department of Revenue employee who
gives out unauthorized information about your return
may be convicted of a class C felony.

Should I put my return together in a special order?

Yes. Put your Oregon return in the following order to
speed processing. Top to bottom:

1. Form 40 or Form 40S with Form W-2, 1099R, and all
other 1099s showing Oregon tax withholding stapled
to the lower front.

2. Attach any payment to the top of the W-2 form.

3. Copy of federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or
1040PC. Form 40S filers don’t need to attach this item.

4. Oregon Form 10, “Underpayment of Oregon Esti-
mated Tax.”

Staple all the pages of your return together in the top
left-hand corner.

Continued on page 11
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When do | need to file an amended Oregon return?

File Form 40X (Oregon amended return) any time you
need to correct your Oregon return. Generally, you are
allowed three years from the due date of the return or
the date the return was filed, whichever is later, to file
an amended return. If you amend your federal return,
usually you'll need to amend your Oregon return. See
page 32 to order this form.

What if I'm audited by the Internal Revenue Service
(IRS)?

File an amended Oregon return if any changes are made.
Generally, you must file within two years after the date
of the federal audit report to receive a refund.

What is electronic filing?

Oregon has joined 29 other states in the federal/
state electronic filing program. This program allows
the federal and state return to be sent together
electronically.

Electronic filing offers efficient and accurate one-stop
filing for taxpayers. This service will be available Janu-
ary 15 and will continue through August 15.

Generally, you need to file electronically through a tax
preparer or a company registered with the IRS. The pro-
gram is open to full-year residents who are expecting
refunds or have tax to pay.

Form 40S instructions

Caution: Not everyone may file Form 40S (short form).
See page 4 to see if this is the right form for you.

Do your federal return first. Use the information from
your federal return to complete your Oregon return.

Keep a complete copy of your federal and state re-
turns. Also, keep the original of all papers or re-
ceipts you used to prepare your return. Save these
records for at least three years.

Address section

Label. If you received a label on this tax booklet, please
use it on the Form 40S you mail to the department. Your
return will be processed faster. Don't attach the label
to your return until the return is completed. If some-
one else prepares your return, ask them to use
your label.

Make sure the label is correct. If it isn't, mark through
the incorrect information and make corrections on the
label. If you don't have a label, print or type your name,
address, and Social Security number on your return.

Social Security number. The request for your Social
Security number(s) is authorized by Section 405, Title 42,
of the United States Code. You must give us this infor-
mation. It will be used to establish your identity.

Check the boxes

Filing status

Check the box next to your filing status. Check the same
filing status you checked on your federal return. If you
and your spouse don't have the same residency status,
you may file separate returns for Oregon even if you filed
married filing joint for federal. See page 5 for exceptions.

If you are married filing separately, fill in your
spouse’s name and Social Security number by box num-

ber 3. Don't fill in your spouse’s name or Social Secu-
rity number in the heading of the return.

If you are filing as head of household, fill in the name
of the qualifying person from your federal return by box
number 4.

Exemptions

6a and 6b. Yourself and spouse. Check “Yourself” and
other boxes that apply. If you can be claimed as
a dependent on someone else’s return, you
can’t claim an exemption for yourself on your
Oregon return.

Severely disabled. Did you have a severe disability at
the end of 1994? If so, you may claim an additional
exemption credit. You are considered to have a severe
disability if any of the following apply:

= You lost the use of one or both feet.
= You lost the use of both hands.
= You have a permanent condition that without special
equipment or help limits your ability:
— To earn a living, or
— To maintain a household, or
— To transport yourself.

Special equipment doesn’t include such items as glasses,
ordinary crutches, hearing aids, or contact lenses.

Generally, a condition caused by the normal aging pro-
cess does not qualify.

You don't qualify for this exemption if:

= You have a temporary disability from an injury or ill-
ness and are expected to recover, or
< Your condition keeps you from doing your former
work but allows you to do other kinds of work with-
out special equipment.
Continued on page 15
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Tax tables for Form 40S and Form 40

S

Use column S if you are

« Single
» Married filing separately

Use column J if you are

* Married filing jointly
* Head of household
Widow(er) with dependent child

If income If income If income If income
from Form from Form from Form from Form
40S line 16, 40S line 16, 40S line 16, 40S line 16,
or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you
line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column
But But But But
At less S J At less S J At less S J At less S J
least than least than least than least than
$0 — 4,650 $4,650 — 9,450 $9,450 — 14,250 $14,250 — 19,050
0- 20 0 0 | 4650- 4750 287 245 9450—- 9550 708 581 | 14250- 14350 1140 993
20— 50 2 2 | 4750— 4850 294 252 9550—- 9650 717 588 | 14350- 14450 1149 1002
50— 150 5 5| 4850- 4950 301 259 9650- 9750 726 595 | 14450- 14550 1158 1011
150- 250 10 10 | 4950- 5050 308 266 9750- 9850 735 602 | 14550- 14650 1167 1020
250- 350 15 15 | 5050- 5150 315 273 9850- 9950 744 609 | 14650— 14750 1176 1029
350- 450 20 20 | 5150- 5250 322 280 9950- 10050 753 616 | 14750— 14850 1185 1038
450- 550 25 25 | 5250- 5350 330 287 | 10050- 10150 762 623 | 14850— 14950 1194 1047
550- 650 30 30 | 5350- 5450 339 294 | 10150- 10250 771 630 | 14950—- 15050 1203 1056
650- 750 35 35 | 5450- 5550 348 301 | 10250- 10350 780 637 | 15050- 15150 1212 1065
750- 850 40 40 | 5550- 5650 357 308 | 10350- 10450 789 644 | 15150- 15250 1221 1074
850- 950 45 45 | 5650- 5750 366 315 | 10450- 10550 798 651 | 15250- 15350 1230 1083
950- 1050 50 50 | 5750- 5850 375 322 | 10550- 10650 807 660 | 15350— 15450 1239 1092
1050- 1150 55 55 | 5850- 5950 384 329 | 10650- 10750 816 669 | 15450- 15550 1248 1101
1150- 1250 60 60 | 5950- 6050 393 336 | 10750- 10850 825 678 | 15550- 15650 1257 1110
1250- 1350 65 65 | 6050- 6150 402 343 | 10850- 10950 834 687 | 15650- 15750 1266 1119
1350- 1450 70 70 | 6150- 6250 411 350 | 10950- 11050 843 696 | 15750— 15850 1275 1128
1450- 1550 75 75 | 6250- 6350 420 357 | 11050- 11150 852 705 | 15850- 15950 1284 1137
1550- 1650 80 80 | 6350— 6450 429 364 | 11150- 11250 861 714 | 15950- 16050 1293 1146
1650- 1750 85 85 | 6450- 6550 438 371 | 11250- 11350 870 723 | 16050- 16150 1302 1155
1750- 1850 90 90 | 6550- 6650 447 378 | 11350- 11450 879 732 | 16150- 16250 1311 1164
1850- 1950 95 95 | 6650- 6750 456 385 | 11450- 11550 888 741 | 16250- 16350 1320 1173
1950- 2050 100 100 | 6750- 6850 465 392 | 11550- 11650 897 750 | 16350- 16450 1329 1182
2050- 2150 105 105 | 6850— 6950 474 399 | 11650- 11750 906 759 | 16450- 16550 1338 1191
2150- 2250 112 110 | 6950— 7050 483 406 | 11750- 11850 915 768 | 16550- 16650 1347 1200
2250- 2350 119 115 | 7050- 7150 492 413 | 11850- 11950 924 777 | 16650— 16750 1356 1209
2350- 2450 126 120 | 7150- 7250 501 420 | 11950- 12050 933 786 | 16750— 16850 1365 1218
2450- 2550 133 125 | 7250- 7350 510 427 | 12050- 12150 942 795 | 16850— 16950 1374 1227
2550- 2650 140 130 | 7350- 7450 519 434 | 12150- 12250 951 804 | 16950—- 17050 1383 1236
2650- 2750 147 135 | 7450- 7550 528 441 | 12250- 12350 960 813 | 17050—- 17150 1392 1245
2750- 2850 154 140 | 7550- 7650 537 448 | 12350- 12450 969 822 | 17150- 17250 1401 1254
2850- 2950 161 145 | 7650- 7750 546 455 | 12450- 12550 978 831 | 17250- 17350 1410 1263
2950- 3050 168 150 | 7750- 7850 555 462 | 12550- 12650 987 840 | 17350— 17450 1419 1272
3050- 3150 175 155 | 7850- 7950 564 469 | 12650-— 12750 996 849 | 17450- 17550 1428 1281
3150- 3250 182 160 | 7950- 8050 573 476 | 12750—- 12850 1005 858 | 17550— 17650 1437 1290
3250- 3350 189 165 | 8050- 8150 582 483 | 12850— 12950 1014 867 | 17650— 17750 1446 1299
3350— 3450 196 170 | 8150— 8250 591 490 | 12950- 13050 1023 876 | 17750— 17850 1455 1308
3450- 3550 203 175 | 8250- 8350 600 497 | 13050- 13150 1032 885 | 17850— 17950 1464 1317
3550- 3650 210 180 | 8350—- 8450 609 504 | 13150- 13250 1041 894 | 17950-— 18050 1473 1326
3650- 3750 217 185 | 8450- 8550 618 511 | 13250-— 13350 1050 903 | 18050-— 18150 1482 1335
3750— 3850 224 190 | 8550- 8650 627 518 | 13350— 13450 1059 912 | 18150— 18250 1491 1344
3850- 3950 231 195 | 8650- 8750 636 525 | 13450- 13550 1068 921 | 18250- 18350 1500 1353
3950- 4050 238 200 | 8750- 8850 645 532 | 13550— 13650 1077 930 | 18350— 18450 1509 1362
4050- 4150 245 205 | 8850- 8950 654 539 | 13650— 13750 1086 939 | 18450- 18550 1518 1371
4150- 4250 252 210 | 8950- 9050 663 546 | 13750— 13850 1095 948 | 18550-— 18650 1527 1380
4250— 4350 259 217 | 9050- 9150 672 553 | 13850- 13950 1104 957 | 18650— 18750 1536 1389
4350— 4450 266 224 | 9150— 9250 681 560 | 13950— 14050 1113 966 | 18750— 18850 1545 1398
4450—- 4550 273 231 | 9250- 9350 690 567 | 14050- 14150 1122 975 | 18850— 18950 1554 1407
4550—- 4650 280 238 | 9350- 9450 699 574 | 14150- 14250 1131 984 | 18950— 19050 1563 1416
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Tax tables for Form 40S and Form 40

Use column S if you are

Use column J if you are

« Married filing jointly

S « Single J » Head of household
 Married filing separately Widow(er) with dependent child

If income If income If income If income

from Form from Form from Form from Form

40S line 16, 40S line 16, 40S line 16, 40S line 16,

or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you

line29is  use column line 29 is use column line29is  use column line 29 is use column

But But But But

At less S J At less S J At less S J At less S J
least than least than least than least than

$19,050 — 23,850 $23,850 — 28,650 $28,650 — 33,450 $33,450 — 38,250
19050— 19150 1572 1425 | 23850— 23950 2004 1857 | 28650— 28750 2436 2289 | 33450- 33550 2868 2721
19150- 19250 1581 1434 | 23950- 24050 2013 1866 | 28750— 28850 2445 2298 | 33550- 33650 2877 2730
19250— 19350 1590 1443 | 24050- 24150 2022 1875 | 28850— 28950 2454 2307 | 33650-— 33750 2886 2739
19350— 19450 1599 1452 | 24150- 24250 2031 1884 | 28950- 29050 2463 2316 | 33750-— 33850 2895 2748
19450— 19550 1608 1461 | 24250-— 24350 2040 1893 | 29050- 29150 2472 2325 | 33850- 33950 2904 2757
19550— 19650 1617 1470 | 24350— 24450 2049 1902 | 29150- 29250 2481 2334 | 33950- 34050 2913 2766
19650— 19750 1626 1479 | 24450- 24550 2058 1911 | 29250- 29350 2490 2343 | 34050- 34150 2922 2775
19750- 19850 1635 1488 | 24550— 24650 2067 1920 | 29350- 29450 2499 2352 | 34150- 34250 2931 2784
19850— 19950 1644 1497 | 24650— 24750 2076 1929 | 29450- 29550 2508 2361 | 34250- 34350 2940 2793
19950— 20050 1653 1506 | 24750— 24850 2085 1938 | 29550- 29650 2517 2370 | 34350- 34450 2949 2802
20050- 20150 1662 1515 | 24850— 24950 2094 1947 | 29650- 29750 2526 2379 | 34450- 34550 2958 2811
20150- 20250 1671 1524 | 24950-— 25050 2103 1956 | 29750- 29850 2535 2388 | 34550- 34650 2967 2820
20250- 20350 1680 1533 | 25050-— 25150 2112 1965 | 29850- 29950 2544 2397 | 34650- 34750 2976 2829
20350—- 20450 1689 1542 | 25150- 25250 2121 1974 | 29950- 30050 2553 2406 | 34750- 34850 2985 2838
20450- 20550 1698 1551 | 25250-— 25350 2130 1983 | 30050- 30150 2562 2415 | 34850- 34950 2994 2847
20550- 20650 1707 1560 | 25350-— 25450 2139 1992 | 30150- 30250 2571 2424 | 34950- 35050 3003 2856
20650—- 20750 1716 1569 | 25450- 25550 2148 2001 | 30250- 30350 2580 2433 | 35050- 35150 3012 2865
20750- 20850 1725 1578 | 25550-— 25650 2157 2010 | 30350- 30450 2589 2442 | 35150- 35250 3021 2874
20850— 20950 1734 1587 | 25650— 25750 2166 2019 | 30450- 30550 2598 2451 | 35250- 35350 3030 2883
20950—- 21050 1743 1596 | 25750- 25850 2175 2028 | 30550- 30650 2607 2460 | 35350- 35450 3039 2892
21050- 21150 1752 1605 | 25850- 25950 2184 2037 | 30650- 30750 2616 2469 | 35450- 35550 3048 2901
21150- 21250 1761 1614 | 25950- 26050 2193 2046 | 30750- 30850 2625 2478 | 35550- 35650 3057 2910
21250- 21350 1770 1623 | 26050- 26150 2202 2055 | 30850- 30950 2634 2487 | 35650- 35750 3066 2919
21350- 21450 1779 1632 | 26150- 26250 2211 2064 | 30950- 31050 2643 2496 | 35750- 35850 3075 2928
21450—- 21550 1788 1641 | 26250- 26350 2220 2073 | 31050- 31150 2652 2505 | 35850- 35950 3084 2937
21550- 21650 1797 1650 | 26350- 26450 2229 2082 | 31150- 31250 2661 2514 | 35950- 36050 3093 2946
21650- 21750 1806 1659 | 26450- 26550 2238 2091 | 31250- 31350 2670 2523 | 36050- 36150 3102 2955
21750- 21850 1815 1668 | 26550- 26650 2247 2100 | 31350- 31450 2679 2532 | 36150- 36250 3111 2964
21850- 21950 1824 1677 | 26650— 26750 2256 2109 | 31450- 31550 2688 2541 | 36250- 36350 3120 2973
21950- 22050 1833 1686 | 26750— 26850 2265 2118 | 31550- 31650 2697 2550 | 36350- 36450 3129 2982
22050— 22150 1842 1695 | 26850— 26950 2274 2127 | 31650- 31750 2706 2559 | 36450- 36550 3138 2991
22150- 22250 1851 1704 | 26950- 27050 2283 2136 | 31750- 31850 2715 2568 | 36550- 36650 3147 3000
22250- 22350 1860 1713 | 27050- 27150 2292 2145 | 31850- 31950 2724 2577 | 36650- 36750 3156 3009
22350— 22450 1869 1722 | 27150- 27250 2301 2154 | 31950- 32050 2733 2586 | 36750- 36850 3165 3018
22450— 22550 1878 1731 | 27250- 27350 2310 2163 | 32050- 32150 2742 2595 | 36850- 36950 3174 3027
22550- 22650 1887 1740 | 27350- 27450 2319 2172 | 32150- 32250 2751 2604 | 36950- 37050 3183 3036
22650— 22750 1896 1749 | 27450- 27550 2328 2181 | 32250- 32350 2760 2613 | 37050- 37150 3192 3045
22750— 22850 1905 1758 | 27550- 27650 2337 2190 | 32350- 32450 2769 2622 | 37150- 37250 3201 3054
22850— 22950 1914 1767 | 27650— 27750 2346 2199 | 32450- 32550 2778 2631 | 37250- 37350 3210 3063
22950— 23050 1923 1776 | 27750— 27850 2355 2208 | 32550- 32650 2787 2640 | 37350- 37450 3219 3072
23050—- 23150 1932 1785 | 27850— 27950 2364 2217 | 32650- 32750 2796 2649 | 37450- 37550 3228 3081
23150— 23250 1941 1794 | 27950- 28050 2373 2226 | 32750- 32850 2805 2658 | 37550- 37650 3237 3090
23250—- 23350 1950 1803 | 28050- 28150 2382 2235 | 32850- 32950 2814 2667 | 37650— 37750 3246 3099
23350— 23450 1959 1812 | 28150- 28250 2391 2244 | 32950- 33050 2823 2676 | 37750- 37850 3255 3108
23450— 23550 1968 1821 | 28250- 28350 2400 2253 | 33050- 33150 2832 2685 | 37850- 37950 3264 3117
23550- 23650 1977 1830 | 28350- 28450 2409 2262 | 33150- 33250 2841 2694 | 37950- 38050 3273 3126
23650— 23750 1986 1839 | 28450- 28550 2418 2271 | 33250- 33350 2850 2703 | 38050- 38150 3282 3135
23750— 23850 1995 1848 | 28550— 28650 2427 2280 | 33350- 33450 2859 2712 | 38150- 38250 3291 3144
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Tax tables for Form 40S and Form 40

Use column S if you are

Use column J if you are

« Married filing jointly

S * Single » Head of household
« Married filing separately Widow(er) with dependent child

If income If income If income If income

from Form from Form from Form from Form

40S line 16, 40S line 16, 40S line 16, 40S line 16,

or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you

line29is  use column line 29 is use column line29is  use column line 29 is use column

But But But But

At less S J At less S J At less S J At less S J
least than least than least than least than

$38,250 — 41,250 $41,250 — 44,250 $44,250 — 47,250 $47,250 — 50,001
38250—- 38350 3300 3153 | 41250- 41350 3570 3423 | 44250- 44350 3840 3693 | 47250- 47350 4110 3963
38350— 38450 3309 3162 | 41350- 41450 3579 3432 | 44350- 44450 3849 3702 | 47350- 47450 4119 3972
38450- 38550 3318 3171 | 41450— 41550 3588 3441 | 44450- 44550 3858 3711 | 47450- 47550 4128 3981
38550— 38650 3327 3180 | 41550- 41650 3597 3450 | 44550- 44650 3867 3720 | 47550- 47650 4137 3990
38650— 38750 3336 3189 | 41650- 41750 3606 3459 | 44650- 44750 3876 3729 | 47650- 47750 4146 3999
38750— 38850 3345 3198 | 41750— 41850 3615 3468 | 44750— 44850 3885 3738 | 47750— 47850 4155 4008
38850— 38950 3354 3207 | 41850— 41950 3624 3477 | 44850— 44950 3894 3747 | 47850-— 47950 4164 4017
38950- 39050 3363 3216 | 41950- 42050 3633 3486 | 44950- 45050 3903 3756 | 47950- 48050 4173 4026
39050- 39150 3372 3225 | 42050- 42150 3642 3495 | 45050- 45150 3912 3765 | 48050- 48150 4182 4035
39150- 39250 3381 3234 | 42150- 42250 3651 3504 | 45150- 45250 3921 3774 | 48150- 48250 4191 4044
39250- 39350 3390 3243 | 42250- 42350 3660 3513 | 45250- 45350 3930 3783 | 48250- 48350 4200 4053
39350— 39450 3399 3252 | 42350- 42450 3669 3522 | 45350-— 45450 3939 3792 | 48350- 48450 4209 4062
39450- 39550 3408 3261 | 42450- 42550 3678 3531 | 45450- 45550 3948 3801 | 48450- 48550 4218 4071
39550—- 39650 3417 3270 | 42550- 42650 3687 3540 | 45550- 45650 3957 3810 | 48550- 48650 4227 4080
39650— 39750 3426 3279 | 42650- 42750 3696 3549 | 45650- 45750 3966 3819 | 48650- 48750 4236 4089
39750- 39850 3435 3288 | 42750- 42850 3705 3558 | 45750- 45850 3975 3828 | 48750- 48850 4245 4098
39850— 39950 3444 3297 | 42850- 42950 3714 3567 | 45850- 45950 3984 3837 | 48850- 48950 4254 4107
39950— 40050 3453 3306 | 42950- 43050 3723 3576 | 45950-— 46050 3993 3846 | 48950- 49050 4263 4116
40050- 40150 3462 3315 | 43050- 43150 3732 3585 | 46050- 46150 4002 3855 | 49050- 49150 4272 4125
40150- 40250 3471 3324 | 43150— 43250 3741 3594 | 46150- 46250 4011 3864 | 49150- 49250 4281 4134
40250- 40350 3480 3333 | 43250- 43350 3750 3603 | 46250— 46350 4020 3873 | 49250- 49350 4290 4143
40350— 40450 3489 3342 | 43350- 43450 3759 3612 | 46350— 46450 4029 3882 | 49350- 49450 4299 4152
40450—- 40550 3498 3351 | 43450- 43550 3768 3621 | 46450— 46550 4038 3891 | 49450- 49550 4308 4161
40550— 40650 3507 3360 | 43550- 43650 3777 3630 | 46550— 46650 4047 3900 | 49550- 49650 4317 4170
40650—- 40750 3516 3369 | 43650- 43750 3786 3639 | 46650— 46750 4056 3909 | 49650- 49750 4326 4179
40750- 40850 3525 3378 | 43750- 43850 3795 3648 | 46750— 46850 4065 3918 | 49750- 49850 4335 4188
40850—- 40950 3534 3387 | 43850- 43950 3804 3657 | 46850— 46950 4074 3927 | 49850- 49950 4344 4197
40950—- 41050 3543 3396 | 43950- 44050 3813 3666 | 46950— 47050 4083 3936 | 49950- 50001 4353 4206
41050- 41150 3552 3405 | 44050— 44150 3822 3675 | 47050— 47150 4092 3945
41150- 41250 3561 3414 | 44150— 44250 3831 3684 | 47150- 47250 4101 3954
If your taxable income from Form 40, line 29 is more than $50,000, you must use the tax rate charts below to

compute your tax liability.

TAX RATE CHARTS

If your taxable income is:
Over $50,000 .........ccccevvrnnene

Tax Rate Chart A:

For persons filing
SINGLE OR MARRIED FILING SEPARATELY

Your tax is:
$4,353 plus 9% of excess over $50,000

Tax Rate Chart B:

For persons filing
JOINTLY, HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD or QUALIFYING
WIDOW(ER) WITH DEPENDENT CHILD

If your taxable income is:
Over $50,000

Your tax is:
$4,206 plus 9% of excess over $50,000
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Continued from page 11

If you have a permanent severe disability, your physi-
cian must write a letter describing your disability.

Check the “Severely disabled” exemption box. If your
spouse qualifies, he or she may also claim this exemp-
tion. You and your spouse may also qualify for the credit
for the loss of use of limbs. See instructions on page 16.

6¢c. Dependents. Enter the number of your children
claimed as dependents and other dependents in box 6c.
Fill in the first names of your children and other depen-
dents. In most cases, you must claim the same number
of dependents as claimed on your federal return.

6d. Disabled child. You may have an additional exemp-
tion for your dependent child with disabilities. To qualify,
your child must meet all of the following:

= Qualify as your dependent.

= Be age 17 or younger on December 31, 1994.

= Be eligible for “early intervention services” or diag-
nosed with disabilities for special education purposes.
Learning disabilities alone don’t qualify for this
exemption.

= Your child must have a health-related disability requir-
ing special education as defined by the Oregon De-
partment of Education. This includes:
— Autism.
— Visual impairment.
— Mental retardation.
— Serious emotional disturbance.
— Traumatic brain injury.
— Hearing impairment.
— Orthopedic impairment.
— Multiple disabilities.

Your child must have been diagnosed as of Decem-
ber 31, 1994, through the child’s local school district
by a qualified examiner authorized by the Oregon
Department of Education.

Get a statement of eligibility that confirms one of the
disabilities listed above and the cover sheet from one of
the following:

= The child’s Individualized Education Program (IEP).
= The child’s Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP).

Write in your child’s name on the “Disabled children
only” line. Also be sure to include the child’s name on
line 6¢ for “Dependents.”

Age 65 or older, or blind

Check the boxes on line 7 if you or your spouse were
age 65 or older or were blind on December 31. Check
the same boxes you checked on your federal return. Use

this information to compute your standard deduction. See
page 8.

Line instructions

The following instructions are for lines not fully
explained on the form.

8. Wages. Fill in all pay for work (shown on your W-2s)
plus your taxable scholarships and fellowship grants.

9. Interest. Fill in your total interest. Include:

= Any interest received or credited to your account so
you could withdraw it. That's true even if the interest
wasn’t entered in your passbook.

= Any interest received on tax refunds.

If you have interest from the U.S. government, other than
tax refund interest, file Oregon Form 40.

10. Dividends. Fill in your total dividends. Include
stock dividends you got under a public utility dividend
reinvestment plan. If you have dividends that are non-
taxable distributions, use Form 40.

11. Unemployment. Fill in all unemployment com-
pensation. This is the amount on federal Form 1040, line
19, or Form 1040A, line 12.

13. 1994 federal tax liability.

Caution: Carefully follow the instructions below. Don’t
confuse your federal tax liability from your federal re-
turn with the federal tax withheld on your W-2.

Limit: Don't fill in less than -0- or more than $3,000
($1,500 if married filing separately).

Fill in your federal tax liability from:

« Form 1040EZ, line 9 minus line 7, or
« Form 1040A, line 25 minus line 28c, or
e Form 1040, line 46 minus line 56.

Is the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) figuring your
federal tax for you? Fill in as much of your Oregon
Form 40S as possible. Do not write an amount on line
13. Attach a copy of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, or
1040EZ. We will use that information to determine your
federal tax liability. If you need help, see page 32 for
numbers to call.

16. Oregon taxable income. Caution: Is the amount
on this line more than $50,000? If so, you must use Form
40, pages 23-26.

19. child and dependent care credit. You are al-

lowed an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the fed-
eral child and dependent care credit.
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Use the following worksheet:

1. Enter the amount from federal 1.
Form 2441, line 7, or Form
1040A, Schedule 2, line 7.

2. Enter the decimal amount from 2. %
the following table.

If your federal
taxable income

from Form 1040, Your
line 37, or decimal
Form 1040A, amount
line 22 is: is:
Over— But not over—
e $ 5,000 .30
$ 5,000 10,000 .15
10,000 15,000 .08
15,000 25,000 .06
25,000 35,000 .05
35,000 45,000 .04
45,000 —_ .00
3. Multiply the amount on line 1 3.

by the decimal amount on line 2.
Enter the result here.

4. Multiply any child and dependent 4.
care expenses for 1993 that you
paid in 1994 by the decimal amount
that applies to your 1993 federal
taxable income. Enter the result.

5. Add the amounts on line 3 and 4. 5.
Enter here and on Form 408,
line 19.

Carryover. Your total 1994 child care credit can't be
more than your tax liability for Oregon. If it is, the ex-
cess credit can be carried forward over the next five
years. If the excess isn’t used within five years, it's lost.
See instructions for line 21.

20. Political contribution credit. Fill in your total po-
litical contributions, but not more than $100 on a joint
return or $50 on all others. The contribution must have
been made during 1994. It must have been a donation
of money to any of the following:

= A political party.

= A qualified candidate for federal, state, or local office
to be voted on in Oregon.

= A committee or association organized to support or
oppose ballot measures or candidates to be voted on
in Oregon.

21. Other credits.

= Child and dependent care credit carryover from
prior years. Fill in the carryover amount on line 21.
Label the line “Child care credit carryover.” The amount
of the prior year carryover plus your current year’'s
credit can’t exceed your Oregon tax liability. If it does,
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the excess credit can be carried forward over the next
five years. If the excess isn't used within five years,
it's lost.

= Credit for the elderly or the disabled. The Oregon
credit is 40 percent of the federal credit. You get an
Oregon credit only if you qualify for the federal credit.

Multiply the amount on federal Schedule R, line 21,
or Form 1040A, Schedule 3, line 21 by .40 (40%).

= Credit for income tax paid to another state. You
may be eligible for this credit if you paid income tax
to another state. See page 29 of Form 40 instructions
to figure your credit.

= Credit for home care of an elderly person. You
may be eligible for this credit if your household income
is less than $17,500 and you pay expenses for the care
of someone age 60 or older. The care must keep that
person from being placed in a nursing home. That
person’s household income must be $7,500 or less.
See page 32 to order the information circular,
“Home Care for the Elderly Credit,” 150-101-653, and
form 150-101-024, “Credit for Home Care of an
Elderly Person.” The Oregon Department of
Human Resources must certify that the elderly
person qualifies.

= Credit for loss of use of limbs. If you have a per-
manent and complete loss of the use of two limbs, you
may take a tax credit of $50. If your spouse qualifies,
he or she may also claim a $50 credit. You can’t claim
this credit for a dependent.

Obtain a Disability Certification Form the first year you
file for the credit. Get the form from your county public
health officer. The health officer must sign the form.

You also qualify for an additional exemption for se-
verely disabled persons. See pages 11 and 15.

The following credits apply to only a few people and
aren’t explained in this booklet. See page 32 to get more
information on these credits.

< Child development.
= Rural medical practitioners.
= Involuntary moving of a mobile home.

24. Oregon income tax withheld from wages. Fill
in the total Oregon tax withheld from your wages. That's
the amount shown on your wage slips (W-2 forms) in
box 18. Don't use the FICA (Social Security) amount.

Staple readable copies of your wage slips to the front
of your return. If you don’'t have a W-2 form you must
provide other proof of any tax withheld from your wages.
Proof may include a final paycheck stub or a letter from
your employer. Substitute wage slips can't be filed be-
fore February 1.

If you paid estimated tax for 1994, you must use
Form 40.



If you have tax to pay, you might want to withhold ad-
ditional amounts for Oregon. If you and your spouse
both work, see page 32 to order the information circu-
lar, “Oregon Income Tax Withholding: Some Special
Cases,” 150-206-643.

25. Tax-to-pay. Attach a check or money order to your
return. Make checks or money orders payable to “Ore-
gon Department of Revenue.” Do not make your
check out to “IRS” or “Internal Revenue Service.” Write
your Social Security number and “1994 Form 40S” on
your check. Don't send cash or postdated checks. Stop
here on the form.

26. Refund. You must have a refund of $5 or greater
on line 26 to use lines 27-31.

27. Oregon Nongame Wildlife. Your donation wiill
fund the protection of nongame wildlife and its habitat.
A donation will reduce your refund.

If you don't have a refund on line 26 but you want to
contribute, mail your donation to: Oregon Department
of Fish and Wildlife, Attention: Fiscal Manager, PO Box
59, Portland OR 97207.

28. child Abuse Prevention. Your donation will fund
programs through the Children’s Trust Fund to help pre-
vent child abuse and neglect. A donation will reduce
your refund.

If you don't have a refund on line 26 but you want to
contribute, mail your donation to: Children’s Trust
Fund, 530 Center St. NE #300, Salem OR 97310.

29. Alzheimer’s Disease Research. Your donation
goes to the Alzheimer’s Research Partnership of Oregon
for research on Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders.
A donation will reduce your refund.

If you don't have a refund on line 26 but you want to
contribute, mail your donation to: Alzheimer’s Research
Partnership, PO Box 10051, Portland OR 97210.

30. Stop Domestic and Sexual Violence. Your do-
nation will fund programs through the Oregon Coalition
Against Domestic and Sexual Violence. A donation will
reduce your refund.

If you don't have a refund on line 26 but you want to
contribute, mail your donation to: OCADSV, 520 NW
Davis, Suite 310, Portland OR 97209.

31. AIDS/HIV Education and Services. Your dona-
tion will fund grants by the Living with HIV Fund for
AIDS/HIV education and services. A donation will
reduce your refund.

If you don't have a refund on line 26 but you want to
contribute, mail your donation to: The Research and
Education Group, 2701 NW Vaughn, Suite 770, Portland
OR 97210.

33. Net refund. The Oregon Department of Revenue
cannot refund amounts less than $5.

Double-check your figures, including your Social
Security number. The most common mistakes are
math errors and the amount claimed for the fed-
eral tax subtraction. Accuracy speeds processing
your return.

Sign your return (both must sign on a joint
return).

Staple readable copies of wage slips, receipts, and
other necessary papers.

Labels will speed processing your return. If you
received a label, please attach it to the return you
mail to the department.

Mail your return in a stamped envelope. Use a
business envelope (4 x 9% inches) to speed pro-
cessing your return.

Mail refund returns or no-tax-due returns to:
REFUND, PO Box 14700, Salem OR 97309-0930.

Mail tax-to-pay returns to: Oregon Department
of Revenue, PO Box 14555, Salem OR 97309-0940.

If you believe you can't pay, file your return any-
way. The Department of Revenue will work with
you to set up a payment plan on a case-by-case
basis.
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Form 40 Instructions

Do your federal return first. Use the information from
your federal return to complete your Oregon return.

You must attach a copy of your federal 1040, 1040A,
1040EZ, or 1040PC to your Oregon tax return. Don’t
attach any other federal schedules such as A, B, C,
D, or Form 2441.

Keep a complete copy of your federal and state re-
turns. Also, keep the original of all papers or re-
ceipts you used to prepare your return. Save these
records for at least three years.

Fiscal year filers

Write “Fiscal Year” in the center at the top of the form.
Use red ink. Fill in the date your fiscal year ended.

Address section

Label. If you received a label with this tax booklet, please
use it on the income tax return you mail to the depart-
ment. Your return will be processed faster. Don't attach
the label to your return until the return is completed. If
someone else prepares your return, ask them to use
your label.

Make sure the label is correct. If it isn't, mark through
the incorrect information and make corrections on the
label. If you don't have a label, print or type your name,
address, and Social Security number on your return.

Social Security number. The request for your Social
Security number(s) is authorized by Section 405, Title 42,
of the United States Code. You must give us this infor-
mation. It will be used to establish your identity.

Check the boxes

Filing status

Check the box next to your filing status. Check the same
filing status you checked on your federal return. If you
and your spouse don't have the same residency status,
you may file separate returns for Oregon even if you filed
married filing joint for federal. See page 5 for exceptions.

If you are married filing separately, fill in your
spouse’s hame and Social Security number next to box
number 3. Don't fill in your spouse’s name or Social Se-
curity number in the heading of the return.

If you are filing as head of household, fill in the name
of the qualifying person from your federal return by box
number 4.

Exemptions

6a and 6b. Yourself and spouse. Check “Yourself” and
other boxes that apply. If you can be claimed as a de-
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pendent on someone else’s return, you can’t claim
an exemption for yourself on your Oregon return.

Severely disabled. Did you have a severe disability at
the end of 1994? If so, you may claim an additional
exemption credit. You are considered to have a severe
disability if any of the following apply:

= You lost the use of one or both feet.
= You lost the use of both hands.
= You have a permanent condition that without special
equipment or help limits your ability:
— To earn a living, or
— To maintain a household, or
— To transport yourself.

Special equipment doesn’t include such items as glasses,
ordinary crutches, hearing aids, or contact lenses.

Generally, a condition caused by the normal aging pro-
cess does not qualify.

You don't qualify for this exemption if:

= You have a temporary disability from an injury or ill-
ness and are expected to recover, or

= Your condition keeps you from doing your former
work but allows you to do other kinds of work with-
out special equipment.

If you have a permanent severe disability, your physi-
cian must write a letter describing your disability.

Check the “Severely disabled” exemption box. If your
spouse qualifies, he or she may also claim this exemp-
tion. You and your spouse may also qualify for the credit
for the loss of use of limbs. See instructions on page 29.

6¢c. Dependents. Enter the number of your children
claimed as dependents and other dependents in box 6c.
In most cases, you must claim the same number of de-
pendents as claimed on your federal return.

6d. Disabled child. You may have an additional exemp-
tion for your dependent child with disabilities. To qualify,
your child must meet all of the following:

= Qualify as your dependent.

= Be age 17 or younger on December 31, 1994.

= Be eligible for “early intervention services” or diag-
nosed with disabilities for special education purposes.
Learning disabilities alone don’t qualify for this
exemption.

= Your child must have a health-related disability requir-
ing special education as defined by the Oregon De-
partment of Education. This includes:
— Autism.
— Visual impairment.
— Mental retardation.
— Serious emotional disturbance.



— Traumatic brain injury.
— Hearing impairment.
— Orthopedic impairment.
— Multiple disabilities.

Your child must have been diagnosed as of Decem-
ber 31, 1994, through the child’s resident school dis-
trict, by a qualified examiner authorized by the Oregon
Department of Education.

Get a statement of eligibility which confirms one of the
disabilities listed above and the cover sheet from one of
the following:

= The child’s Individualized Education Program (IEP).
= The child’s Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP).

Write in your child’s name on the “Disabled children
only” line. Also be sure to include the child as an exemp-
tion in the total for line 6c¢.

Age 65 or older, or blind

Check the boxes on line 7 if you or your spouse were
age 65 or older or were blind on December 31. Check
the same boxes you checked on your federal return. Use
this information to compute your standard deduction. See
page 27.

Line instructions

The following instructions are for lines not fully
explained on the form.

Additions

Additions increase your federal adjusted gross income.

9. Interest on government bonds of other states.
If you didn’t include this interest in your federal income,
fill in the interest you received from state and local gov-
ernments other than Oregon. Generally, you don't pay
federal tax on this. But you do pay Oregon tax. Ex-
ample: Include interest from State of Washington bonds
or from San Francisco city bonds. Leave out interest from
Oregon government bonds.

10. Federal election on interest and dividends of
a minor child. Did you make the election to report the
interest or dividends of your minor child on your fed-
eral return? If so, you must add the amount that is sub-
ject to the special federal tax to Oregon income. On Form
40, line 10, fill in the smaller of line 6 or 7 from federal
Form 8814.

11. other additions. Identify the additions you are re-
porting in the space on the form.

= Federal income tax refunds. Did you get a federal
tax refund in 1994 because you filed an amended fed-

eral return for a prior year? Or because you were au-
dited? If so, you may need to include the refund on
line 11. If you need help, see page 32 for numbers
to call.

Election to expense certain tangible property
(Section 179 expenses). Federal law allows you to
expense up to $17,500 of the cost of qualifying assets
on your federal return. Oregon only allows you to
expense up to $10,000 of the cost of qualifying
assets on your Oregon return. You will need the
Oregon Depreciation Schedule. See below for order
instructions.

Difference in depreciation for Oregon. Are you
depreciating business property you placed in service
after December 31, 1980, and before January 1, 1985?
Or are you depreciating nonresidential real property
you placed in service on or after May 13, 19937 If
so, the depreciation deduction allowed by Oregon
may be different than the amount allowed on your
federal return.

You will need the Oregon Depreciation Schedule and
instructions. To order, write to: Forms, Oregon Depart-
ment of Revenue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR
97309-0990. Or see page 32 for numbers to call. Is your
Oregon depreciation less than your federal deprecia-
tion? If so, fill in the amount from line 4 of the Ore-
gon Depreciation Schedule. If not, see instructions for
Form 40, line 18.

Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduc-
tion. Did you claim Oregon gambling losses as an
itemized deduction on your federal Schedule A? For
Oregon purposes, gambling losses are limited to gam-
bling winnings taxed by Oregon. If you need help, see
page 32 for numbers to call.

Lump-sum payment from a qualified retirement
plan. If you used the 5- or 10-year averaging method
for federal purposes, you may have this addition. The
amount of the addition is the total of your ordinary
income portion and your capital gain portion. Include
the capital gain portion only if you did not include it
in your federal adjusted gross income. This informa-
tion is on the federal Form 1099R your employer gave
you. Fill in this sum on line 11. Attach a copy of fed-
eral Form 1099R with your wage slips.

Employer-provided educational assistance deduc-
tions. Any employer-provided educational assistance
you received which was not included in federal income
must be claimed as an addition on line 11.

Passive loss adjustment for real estate profession-
als. Real estate professionals may now claim ordinary
losses on rental property for federal purposes. Oregon
follows prior federal law requiring these to be claimed
as passive losses. If you need help, see page 32.
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= Moving expenses. Federal law has new limitations on
moving expenses for 1994. Oregon follows prior fed-
eral law. If you need help, see page 32.

= Amortization of goodwill and related intangibles.
Oregon follows prior federal law and will require an
adjustment on your Oregon return.

= Other additions. The following additions apply to
only a few people and are not explained in this book-

let. If you need help, see page 32.

— Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property.

— Depletion in excess of property basis.

— Sale of Oregon inherited farm or forest property
acquired from a decedent who died before Janu-
ary 1, 1987.

— Federal deduction for bus operating authorities.

— Passive losses.

— Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and
simple or complex trusts.

Subtractions
Subtractions reduce your federal adjusted gross income.

14. 1994 federal tax liability. Caution: Carefully fol-
low the instructions below. Don’t confuse your federal
tax liability calculated on your federal return with the
federal tax withheld on your W-2.

Limit: Don't fill in less than -0- or more than $3,000
($1,500 if married filing separately).

Fill in your federal tax liability from:

= Form 1040, line 46 minus line 56, or
« Form 1040A, line 25 minus line 28c, or
e Form 1040EZ, line 9 minus line 7.

On your federal return did you have:

= Alternative minimum tax, Form 1040, line 48?
= Recapture taxes, Form 1040, line 49?
= Tax on qualified retirement plans, Form 1040, line 51?

Add these to your federal tax.

Caution: Don't add self-employment tax, Form 1040, line
47, or the Social Security and Medicare tax on tips, Form
1040, line 50, or advance earned income credit payments,
Form 1040, line 52.

Did you pay additional federal tax in 1994 because
you were audited or you filed an amended return?
If so, read the instructions for line 18.

Note: Your federal tax subtraction, line 14, plus your
foreign tax subtraction (from “Other subtractions,” line
18) can't exceed $3,000.

15. social Security income. Write in the amount, if
any, from federal Form 1040, line 20b, or Form 1040A,
line 13b. If you have Tier 2, windfall/dual-vested, or
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supplemental Railroad Retirement benefits, read the in-
structions for line 18.

16. Oregon income tax refund included in federal
income. Fill in your Oregon income tax refund from
your federal Form 1040, line 10.

17. Interest and dividends from U.S. government.
Fill in your interest and dividends from the U.S. govern-
ment you included on your federal return. Include U.S.
government interest and dividends you got through part-
nerships or grantor trusts. Examples: interest from U.S.
Series EE and HH bonds, and Treasury bills and notes.
You may also subtract the interest and dividends if they're
paid to you by organizations that invest in U.S. govern-
ment securities.

U.S. government interest and dividends must be reduced
by any interest expense relating to U.S. government ob-
ligations you deducted on your federal Schedule A.

18. other subtractions. You may qualify for other sub-
tractions explained below. Identify the subtraction in the
space on the form.

= Military active duty. You may qualify for three dif-
ferent subtractions for U.S. military active duty pay. To
be eligible for the subtractions, the active duty pay
must be included in federal income.

The Oregon military active duty pay subtractions are
as follows:

1. If you entered or you were discharged from mili-
tary service in 1994, you can subtract all military
active duty income earned outside Oregon.

2. You can subtract active duty pay earned outside
Oregon from January 1 through the date the Presi-
dent sets as the end of combat activities in the Per-
sian Gulf. The date was not set when this
publication was printed.

3. Whether or not you are eligible for the other mili-
tary subtractions, you may still subtract up to $3,000
of active duty pay. The subtraction for each spouse
receiving active duty pay is limited to $3,000.

Reserve summer camp is active duty. However, drills
and weekend meetings of reserve units aren’t active
duty. If you are in the guards or the reserves, and your
W-2 form doesn’t show a separate amount for active
duty, contact your paymaster.

Note: You may qualify for more than one military ac-
tive duty pay subtraction. However, your total subtrac-
tion cannot exceed your total active duty pay income.

Example 1. Rumi enlisted in the Navy in 1989. From
January 1, 1994, until August 15, 1994, she was sta-
tioned in Hawaii. From August 15 until the end of the
year she served in Oregon as a recruiter. For 1994 she
earned the following active duty pay: $10,000 in Ha-
waii and $6,000 in Oregon. Combat activities have not



ended in the Persian Gulf. She is eligible for the fol-
lowing subtractions: $10,000 earned outside of Oregon
during the time of the Persian Gulf crisis, and $3,000
earned within the state, for a total of $13,000.

Example 2. In 1994, Andy was stationed in Omaha,
Nebraska. He spent more than 30 days in Oregon. He
earned $25,000 for the year—$3,200 earned after No-
vember 25. If the President declared the end of the
combat activities in the Persian Gulf on November 25,
the subtraction is figured as follows: Active duty pay
earned outside of Oregon before Persian Gulf combat
activities ended is $21,800. Active duty pay earned ei-
ther in or out of Oregon is limited to $3,000 for a total
subtraction of $24,800.

Example 3. Paul is an officer in the Air Force Reserve.
He earned $3,300 from reserve summer camp and ad-
ditional active duty days in Oregon. He earned $4,200
during the year for weekend drills and meetings of his
reserve unit. Since all of his active duty pay was earned
in Oregon, he only qualifies for the $3,000 subtraction.
Therefore, his total subtraction is $3,000.

Example 4. Natasha enlisted in the Army April 15 and
was stationed overseas. She earned $8,000 in 1994. She
qualifies for the year of entry subtraction of $8,000 and
for the $3,000 subtraction. She also qualifies for a sub-
traction for active duty pay earned outside of Oregon.
However, her total military active duty pay subtraction
cannot exceed $8,000.

Example 5. Ryan served in Saudi Arabia in the com-
bat zone from January 1 until May 9. He filed jointly
with his wife who lives in and maintains a residence
in Oregon. He earned $8,000 combat pay. He was
transferred to Germany for the rest of 1994 where he
earned an additional $15,000 of active duty pay. The
President did not declare an end to the combat activi-
ties in 1994. Ryan can exclude his combat pay on his
federal return, so he can’t subtract it on his Oregon
return. Therefore, Oregon’s subtraction is limited
to $15,000.

Enter the total of your military subtractions on line 18.
Label it “Military active duty pay.”

Federal tax from a prior year. Did you pay addi-
tional federal tax in 1994 because you were audited
or you amended a prior year’s return? If so, you may
be able to subtract the additional tax. This subtraction
applies only to additional tax you paid because your
return was changed. It doesn’t include the tax from the
original return or interest or penalties you paid.

To figure your subtraction for federal tax from a prior
year, follow these steps:
1987 and after:

Step 1: From $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing sepa-
rately) subtract your federal tax, Form 40,
line 14.

Step 2: On Form 40, line 18, fill in the lesser of:
— The amount you figured in step 1, or
— Additional federal tax from a prior year.

Label the line “Prior year’s federal tax” and list year(s)
involved.

For information on 1986 and before, see page 32 for
numbers to call.

Difference in depreciation for Oregon. Are you
depreciating business property you placed in service
after December 31, 1980, and before January 1, 1985?
Or are you depreciating nonresidential real property
you placed in service on or after May 13, 19937 If
so, the depreciation deduction allowed by Oregon
may be different than the amount allowed on your
federal return.

You will need the Oregon Depreciation Schedule and
instructions. To order, write to: Forms, Oregon Depart-
ment of Revenue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR
97309-0990. Is your Oregon depreciation more than
your federal depreciation? If so, fill in the amount from
line 4 of the Oregon Depreciation Schedule. If not, see
the instructions for Form 40, line 11.

Difference in home mortgage interest for Oregon.
Did you claim a mortgage interest credit on your fed-
eral return? If so, you may claim a subtraction on your
Oregon return for the home mortgage interest not in-
cluded in your itemized deductions reported on your
federal return. You must use itemized deductions for
Oregon to claim this subtraction.

Payments from IRAs and Keoghs. You may be able

to subtract some of your payments if all of the follow-

ing apply:

— You contributed to an IRA or Keogh when you
were a nonresident;

— You paid tax on these contributions in your state
of residence; and

— You did not receive a tax benefit for these contri-
butions by any other state.

If you qualify, you may subtract an amount equal to
the amount of contributions that were taxed in another
state. Once your subtractions equal the contributions
that were previously taxed, all other payments are
taxable.

Lottery winnings included on your federal return.
Did you include winnings from the Oregon Lottery or
Powerball on your federal return? These winnings are
not taxed by Oregon. Fill in the total Oregon Lottery
and Powerball winnings from your federal return. La-
bel the line, “Oregon Lottery.” Do you have Oregon
Lottery losses claimed as an itemized deduction? If so,
see page 19.

= Logger’s and construction worker’s commuting

costs. You may claim the cost of getting to job sites
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more than 50 miles from your home. You must be a
bucker or a faller with your own equipment, be paid
on a per unit cut basis, and be a member of a recog-
nized construction trade, craft, or union.

Commuting costs are gas, oil, upkeep, and repairs. You
may claim only the actual costs of commuting. Don’t
use the federal mileage rate. You can’t claim meals or
lodging. Construction workers can’t claim more than
one year of commuting costs for the same job site.
Keep a record of your actual costs. Be sure to label
this subtraction as “Commuting costs.” Don’t include
any costs claimed as employee business expenses.

= American Indian. Are you an enrolled member of a
federally recognized tribe? If so, you may subtract any
income earned while living and working in “Indian
country.” Indian country means those areas set aside
for the residence of tribal Indians. It includes reserva-
tion land and other land held in trust by the United
States for a tribe. Label the line “American Indian” and
include your tribal enrollment number on line 18.

= Federal targeted jobs tax credit. Did you claim a
federal targeted jobs tax credit? If so, you had wages
you couldn’t deduct as business expenses. Fill in those
wages on line 18. Label the line “Jobs credit.”

= Interest on government bonds of Oregon. Were
you required to include interest from Oregon state and
local government bonds in your federal income? If so,
fill in the amount included on federal Form 1040,
line 8a, and label it “Interest on Oregon bonds.”

= Business meals and entertainment expenses. Fed-
eral law allows 50 percent of the cost of your busi-
ness meals and entertainment expenses. Oregon
follows prior federal law that allows 80 percent. The
difference may be claimed on line 18.

= Passive loss adjustment for real estate profession-
als. Real estate professionals may now claim ordinary
losses on rental property for federal purposes. Oregon
follows prior federal law requiring these to be claimed
as passive losses. If you need help, see page 32.

= Moving expenses. Federal law has new limitations on
moving expenses for 1994. Oregon follows prior fed-
eral law. If you need help, see page 32.

= Amortization of goodwill and related intangibles.
Oregon follows prior federal law and will require an
adjustment on your Oregon return.

= Other subtractions. The following subtractions ap-
ply to only a few people and are not explained in this
booklet. If you need help, see page 32.

— Foreign tax.

— Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property.
— Artists who make a charitable art donation.

— Sale of public utility reinvestment plan stock.
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— Tier 2, windfall/dual-vested, or supplemental Rail-
road Retirement benefits.

— Passive losses.

— Local private activity bond interest.

— Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and
simple or complex trusts.

— Oil heat tank cleanup costs paid by the Oil Heat
Commission.

— Underground storage tank pollution grant.

Deductions

You may claim either net itemized deductions or
Oregon’s standard deduction, whichever is larger.

= If you claim itemized deductions, fill in lines 21-25.
= If you claim the standard deduction, fill in line 26 only.

Note: Married persons filing separate returns must item-
ize deductions if their spouse itemizes. Don’t claim the
standard deduction if your spouse itemizes.

21. itemized deductions. Generally, you may claim
your total itemized deductions shown on federal Sched-
ule A, line 29. But there is an exception. If you itemize
for Oregon only, fill out a separate Schedule A for Ore-
gon. You may claim itemized deductions for Oregon,
even if you couldn’t on your federal return.

22. Special Oregon medical deduction. Were you or
your spouse age 59 or older on December 31, 19947 If
so, your deduction is the lesser of line 1 or line 3 from
your federal Schedule A. To claim this deduction, you
must itemize deductions. You can do this by filling out
a Schedule A for both federal and Oregon or filling out
one for Oregon only. Note: The minimum age require-
ment for 1995 will increase to age 60.

24. state income tax claimed as an itemized deduc-
tion. Fill in the amount of Oregon income tax
you claimed as an itemized deduction on federal Sched-
ule A.

Are you claiming a credit for taxes paid to another state?
If so, include the other state’s tax after credits on the
mutually taxed income or the tax claimed as an item-
ized deduction, whichever is less. See instructions for
line 38, page 29.

Did you limit itemized deductions on your federal return
because your adjusted gross income exceeded $111,800
($55,900 if married filing separately)? If so, you may need
to complete a worksheet to figure how much Oregon
income tax to subtract from itemized deductions. See
page 32 to order the information circular, “Limit on Item-
ized Deductions,” 150-101-611.

25. Net Oregon itemized deductions. Fill in the
amount only if it is larger than your standard deduction

shown below. )
Continued on page 27
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Continued from page 22

26. standard deduction. Fill in the standard deduc-
tion only if it is larger than your net itemized deductions.

Generally, your standard deduction is based on your fil-
ing status as follows:

Single $1,800
Married filing jointly 3,000
Married filing separately 1,500
Head of household 2,640
Qualifying widow(er) 3,000

If you can be claimed as a dependent on another
person’s return, your standard deduction is limited to the
greater of:

1. $500, or
2. Your earned income. This is limited to the maximum
allowed for your filing status, as shown above.

You are allowed an additional deduction amount if you
or your spouse are age 65 or older or blind. The addi-
tional amount is based on your filing status:

Single or head of household—$1,200
All others—$1,000

Example. Al and Amy Edwards are filing a joint return.
Al is 70 years old and blind. Amy is 68. Their standard
deduction is figured as follows:

Married filing jointly $3,000
Additional amount due to Al's age 1,000
Additional amount due to Amy’s age 1,000
Additional amount due to Al's blindness 1,000
Total standard deduction $6,000

Fill in the total standard deduction on line 26, Form 40.

Oregon tax

30. Oregon tax. Figure the tax on your Oregon tax-
able income, line 29. Use the tax tables or rate charts
on pages 12-14.

Example 1: A single Oregon taxpayer has taxable in-
come of $19,500. The tax from the table on page 13 is
$1,608.

Example 2: A married couple has Oregon taxable
income of $69,500. They are filing jointly. They use the
married filing jointly rate chart B. They figure their tax
like this:

Oregon taxable income $69,500

Tax on first $50,000 of taxable

income $4,206
Tax on next $19,500 of taxable

income ($19,500 x .09): 1,755
Their Oregon tax $5,961

31. Interest on certain installment sales. Do you
have installment sales on which you were required to
pay interest on the deferred tax liability for federal pur-
poses? If so, you must also compute interest for Oregon.
The amount due for Oregon is computed the same way
as was done for federal. The current interest rate is .8333
percent per month.

Credits

Credits reduce your Oregon tax.

34. Retirement income credit. Were you age 59 or
older on December 31, 1994, and receiving retirement
income? If so, you may qualify for a credit. Retirement
income includes payments included in federal taxable
income from a:

= U.S. government pension (includes military).
= State or local government pension.

= Employee pension.

= Individual retirement plan.

= Deferred compensation plan including defined benefit,
profit sharing, and 401(k).

= Employee annuity plan.

Use the worksheet below to figure your credit. Note: The
minimum age requirement for 1995 will increase to
age 60.

PART 1
= General Limits
You don’t qualify for this credit if:

— The person receiving the retirement income was
less than age 59 on December 31, 1994,

— Your household income is $22,500 or more
($45,000 or more if married filing jointly), or

— You received more than $7,500 ($15,000 if married
filing jointly) in Social Security and/or Tier 1 Rail-
road Retirement benefits.

PART 2
= Determining Household Income Limits

See “What is included in household income” below to
determine your household income.

Enter household income.

Household income base.
Enter $15,000 ($30,000
if married filing jointly).
3. Line 1 minus line 2, but 3.
not less than -0-.
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PART 3
= Determining Credit Amount

1. Enter $7,500 ($15,000 if married 1.
filing jointly).

2. Enter the total Social Security 2.
and Tier 1 Railroad
Retirement benefits.

3. Line 1 minus line 2 but not 3.
less than -0-.

4. Enter household income limit 4,
from Part 2, line 3.

5. Line 3 minus line 4, but not 5.
less than -0-.

6. Enter taxable retirement 6.
income of the eligible
individual(s).

7. Enter the lesser of line 5 7.
or line 6.

8. Multiply line 7 by .09 (9%) 8.

and enter the result here
and on Form 40, line 34.

The credit is limited to your tax liability. There is no
carryover. You may claim this credit or the credit for the
elderly or the disabled, but not both.

What is included in household income? Household
income includes all income (both taxable and nontax-
able) received during the year except Social Security and
Tier 1 Railroad Retirement benefits. Include gross income
reduced by adjustments reported in your federal adjusted
gross income (AGI).

What is not included in household income? State tax
refunds received during the year are not included in
household income. Also, pension income received that
is a return of your contributions is not included.

To determine household income, separate income (or
loss) from businesses, farms, rentals or royalties, and dis-
positions of tangible or intangible property. Combine all
income from a particular source to arrive at the net in-
come or loss from that source. Any net loss from the
source is limited to $1,000. Net operating loss carrybacks
or carryovers are not allowed. Capital loss carryovers are
not allowed.

For example, you own a farm and have a $3,000 loss.
You also are a partner in a partnership whose main ac-
tivity is farming. You have income from the partnership
of $1,000. Your net farm loss is $2,000. You may claim
only $1,000 of this loss to compute your household in-
come. Any net loss you have from any of the other
sources mentioned in the previous paragraph is also lim-
ited to $1,000 each.

If the combined total of your depreciation, depletion, and
amortization deductions exceeds $5,000, the excess must
be added back into household income. You must also
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increase your household income by the Oregon income
tax modification for depletion in excess of basis.

Example: Felipe has a business which had gross income
of $27,000 for the year. He had an $11,000 depreciation
deduction and other business expenses of $20,000. He
reported a business loss for federal purposes of $4,000.
The loss is limited to $1,000 for household income pur-
poses. Instead of adding the $7,000 excess depreciation
back to his $1,000 household income loss, he recomputes
his business income for household income. With a de-
preciation deduction of $5,000, the business income he
reports for household income purposes is $2,000, com-
puted as follows: $27,000 — ($20,000 + $5,000) = $2,000.

You also need to include items not in your federal AGI.
These items include but are not limited to:

= \eteran’s and military benefits.

= Gifts and grants (total amount minus $500).

= Disability pay.

= Nontaxable dividends (other than “return of capital”
dividends).

= Inheritance.

= Insurance proceeds.

= Nontaxable interest.

= Lottery winnings.

= Railroad Retirement benefits (Tier 2 only).

= Scholarships.

= Strike benefits.

= Welfare benefits.

If you need more information, see page 32.

35. child and dependent care credit. You are al-
lowed an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the fed-
eral child and dependent care credit. Use the following
worksheet to figure your credit for Oregon.

1. Enter the amount from federal 1.
Form 2441, line 7, or Form
1040A, Schedule 2, line 7.

2. Enter the decimal amount from 2. %
the following table.

If your federal
taxable income

from Form 1040, Your
line 37, or decimal
Form 1040A, amount
line 22 is: is:
Over— But not over—
— $ 5,000 .30
$ 5,000 10,000 A5
10,000 15,000 .08
15,000 25,000 .06
25,000 35,000 .05
35,000 45,000 .04
45,000 —_— .00



3. Multiply the amount on line 1 3.
by the decimal amount on
line 2. Enter the result here.

4. Multiply any child and dependent 4.
care expenses for 1993 that you
paid in 1994 by the decimal amount
that applies to your 1993 federal
taxable income. Enter the result.

5. Add the amounts on lines 3 and 4. 5.
Enter here and on Form 40,
line 35.

Carryover. Your total 1994 child care credit can’t be
more than your tax liability for Oregon. If it is, the ex-
cess credit can be carried forward over the next five
years. If the excess isn’t used within five years, it's lost.
See instructions for line 39.

36. Credit for the elderly or the disabled. The Ore-
gon credit is 40 percent of the federal credit. You get an
Oregon credit only if you qualify for the federal credit.

Multiply the amount on federal Schedule R, line 21, or
Form 1040A, Schedule 3, line 21, by .40 (40%).

Note: You may claim this credit or the retirement income
credit, line 34, but not both.

37. Political contribution credit. Fill in your total po-
litical contributions, but not more than $100 on a joint
return, or $50 on all others. The contribution must have
been made during 1994. It must have been a donation
of money to any of the following:

= A political party.
= A qualified candidate for federal, state, or local office
to be voted on in Oregon.

= A committee or association organized to support or
oppose ballot measures or candidates to be voted on
in Oregon.

38. credit for income tax paid to another state. Did
you pay income taxes to another state? If so, you may
be able to claim this credit. You must have income that
is taxed by both Oregon and the other state.

You must claim the credit on your nonresident return if
the income is taxed by both Oregon and one of the fol-
lowing: Arizona, California, Indiana, or Virginia. If income
is taxed by Oregon and another state not listed here,
claim the credit on your Oregon resident return.

This credit is only for state income tax. You can’t claim
this credit for city or county income tax, sales tax, prop-
erty tax, school tax, or building funds.

Your credit is the lesser of the following:

= The other state’s tax after credits.
= Your Oregon tax liability.
= The amount figured using the following formula:

Your adjusted gross income
taxed by both states %
Your modified
adjusted gross income

Your Oregon tax after
subtracting all other credits

Divide your adjusted gross income (AGI) taxed by both
states by your modified AGI. Multiply the result by your
Oregon tax after subtracting all other credits.

If you file Form 40S, your modified AGI is line 12.

If you file Form 40, your modified AGI usually equals
the sum of lines 8-10 minus lines 15-17. Add amounts
on line 11 only if they’re income that Oregon taxes but
the federal government doesn’t. Subtract amounts on line
18 only if they're income that the federal government
taxes but Oregon doesn't.

You can't claim this credit and also claim the tax you paid
as an itemized deduction. On line 24, in addition to the
Oregon tax you claimed as an itemized deduction, fill
in the lesser of the following:

= The other state’s tax claimed as an itemized deduction.
= The other state’s tax after credits.

Attach a copy of the other state’s return and proof
of payment.

39. Other credits. You may be entitled to other cred-
its listed below. Identify the credit you are claiming on
line 39 in the space on the form.

= Child and dependent care credit carryover from
prior years. Fill in the carryover amount on line 39.
Label the line “Child care credit carryover.” The amount
of the prior year carryover plus your current year’'s
credit can't exceed your Oregon tax liability. If it does,
the excess credit can be carried forward over the
next five years. If the excess isn't used within five years,
it's lost.

= Credit for loss of use of limbs. If you have a per-
manent and complete loss of the use of two limbs, you
may take a tax credit of $50. Your spouse may also
claim a $50 credit if he or she qualifies. You can’t claim
this credit for a dependent.

Obtain a Disability Certification Form the first year
you file for the credit. Get the form from your county
public health officer. The health officer must sign
the form.

You also qualify for the severely disabled exemption.
See instructions on page 18.

= Credit for alternative energy devices. You must in-
stall solar, wind, water, or geothermal devices. These
devices must provide 10 percent or more of an Ore-
gon home’s energy. See page 32 to order the informa-
tion circular, “Alternative Energy Devices,” 150-101-641.

= Sewage treatment works hookup credit. Oregon
residents can claim a credit for the cost of installing
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or connecting to a sewage treatment works. You may
claim one-fifth of the expenses each year, for five years.
The expenses are limited to $160 per year. For hook-
ups prior to January 1, 1992, the expenses are limited
to $150 per year.

Your credit can’t be more than your tax liability. Carry
forward any unused credit. Claim the excess as a credit
against your Oregon tax for each of the next eight years
until it is used. If the excess isn't used within eight
years, it's lost. The connection must be required by an
order, rule, or intergovernmental agreement of the
Environmental Quality Commission issued before July
1, 1989, or an order from the Assistant Director for
Health issued after January 1, 1988. If you move after
you paid for the sewer hookup, you may continue to
claim the credit.

You must have actually paid the costs, and own and
occupy the residence.

= Credit for home care of an elderly person. See in-
structions on page 16.

= Other credits. The following credits apply to only a
few people and aren’t explained in this booklet. See
page 32 to get more information.

— Bone marrow donation program.

— Business energy.

— Child development.

— Connection to a geothermal heating district.

— Crops donated to gleaning cooperatives.

— Dependent care assistance.

— Farmworker housing.

— Fish habitat improvements.

— Fish screening devices.

— Health insurance for small business employers.

— Health insurance for employees of small employer
groups.

— Involuntary moving of a mobile home.

— Oregon seafood donated to gleaning cooperatives
or Oregon Food Share.

— Oregon tax on gain mutually taxed by another
state or country. The gain must be from the sale
of your home.

— Pollution control facilities.

— Reclaimed plastic (investment in capital assets).

— Reforestation of underproductive forest lands.

— Rural medical practitioners.

— Youth apprenticeship program.

Tax payments made in 1994

42. Oregon income tax withheld from income. Fill
in the total amount of Oregon tax withheld from your
wages. That's the amount shown on your W-2 in box
18 or 1099R forms, box 10. Don’t use FICA (Social Se-
curity) tax withheld. Don’t use tax withheld from your
wages by other states. Staple readable copies of your
W-2 or 1099R forms to the lower front of your return.

30/Tax payments in 1994

If you don’t have a W-2, you must provide other proof
of any tax withheld from your wages. Proof may include
a final paycheck stub or a letter from your employer.
Substitute wage slips are not accepted until after
February 1.

Although federal instructions don’t require Form 1099R
to be attached, Oregon needs a copy to verify withhold-

ing.

If you have tax to pay, you may want to withhold addi-
tional amounts for Oregon. If you and your spouse both
work, see page 32 to order the information circular, “Ore-
gon Income Tax Withholding: Some Special Cases,”
150-206-643.

43. Estimated tax you paid for the 1994 tax year.
Fill in the total estimated tax payments you made before
filing your Oregon return. Include any payments you
made with your extension. Also include any refund ap-
plied from your 1993 income tax return.

47, Penalty and interest.

Due date. Your return is due by April 17, 1995, unless
you get an extension.

Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you:

= Mail your tax-to-pay after April 17 (even if you have
an extension).

= File your income tax return showing a tax-to-pay af-
ter the due date, including any extension.

Penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid balance of your tax.

If you file more than three months late, add an additional
20 percent penalty.

Exception: You don't have to pay a penalty if you do
all of the following:

1. Get an extension of time to file your return.

2. Pay at least 90 percent of the tax due by April 17,
1995.

3. Pay the balance of tax due at the time you file within
the extension period.

4. Pay the interest on the balance of tax due at the time
you file your return or within 30 days of our
billing date.

Interest. Are you filing your return or paying your tax
after April 17, 1995? If you are, include interest on any
unpaid tax.

The current interest rate is .8333 percent per month. A
full month, for example, is April 18 to May 17.

Interest is figured daily for periods of less than a month.
Here’s how to figure daily interest:

Tax x .000274 x number of days

48. Interest on underpayment of estimated tax.
You have an underpayment if you paid less than 90 per-
cent of the tax due on each estimated tax payment date.



You don't have an underpayment if you:

< Didn'’t need to pay estimated tax at any time for 1994,
and
= Owe less than $500 tax on your 1994 tax return.

The tax you owe is net income tax less your Oregon
withholding.

If you have an underpayment or meet an exception, you
must file Oregon Form 10, “Underpayment of Oregon
Estimated Tax.” See page 32 to order Form 10.

Use Form 10 to figure:

= The amount of interest you owe on the underpayment,
or
= Any exception to the payment of interest.

On Form 40, line 48, fill in the amount of interest due
from Form 10 and check the box. Attach Form 10.

50. Amount-you-owe. Attach a check or money or-
der to your return. Make checks or money orders pay-
able to “Oregon Department of Revenue.” Do not
make your check out to “IRS” or “Internal Revenue Ser-
vice.” Write your Social Security number and “1994 Form
40” on your check. Don’t send cash or postdated checks.
Stop here on the form.

Special instructions. Do you owe interest and have
an overpayment on line 45? If your overpayment is less
than the interest due, fill in the result of line 49 minus
line 45.

51. Refund. You must have a refund of $5 or greater
on line 51 to use lines 52-57.

52. Estimated tax. You may apply part or all of your
refund, line 51, to your 1995 Oregon estimated income
tax. Fill in the amount you want to apply.

53. Oregon Nongame Wildlife. Your donation will
fund the protection of nongame wildlife and its habitat.
A donation will reduce your refund.

If you don't have a refund on line 51 but you want to
contribute, mail your donation to: Oregon Department
of Fish and Wildlife, Attention: Fiscal Manager, PO Box
59, Portland OR 97207.

54, child Abuse Prevention. Your donation will fund
programs through the Children’s Trust Fund to help pre-
vent child abuse and neglect. A donation will reduce
your refund.

If you don't have a refund on line 51 but you want to
contribute, mail your donation to: Children’s Trust
Fund, 530 Center St. NE #300, Salem OR 97310.

55. Alzheimer’s Disease Research. Your donation
goes to the Alzheimer’s Research Partnership of Oregon
for research on Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders.
A donation will reduce your refund.

If you don't have a refund on line 51 but you want to
contribute, mail your donation to: Alzheimer’s Research
Partnership, PO Box 10051, Portland OR 97210.

56. Stop Domestic and Sexual Violence. Your do-
nation will fund programs through the Oregon Coalition
Against Domestic and Sexual Violence. A donation will
reduce your refund.

If you don't have a refund on line 51 but you want to
contribute, mail your donation to: OCADSV, 520 NW
Davis, Suite 310, Portland OR 97209.

57. AIDS/HIV Education and Services. Your dona-
tion will fund grants by the Living With HIV Fund for
AIDS/HIV education and services. A donation will
reduce your refund.

If you don't have a refund on line 51 but you want to
contribute, mail your donation to: The Research and
Education Group, 2701 NW Vaughn, Suite 770, Portland
OR 97210.

59. Net refund. You must reduce your refund by any
amounts applied to 1995 estimated tax. Be sure to in-
clude the amount entered on line 52 in the total on line
58. The Oregon Department of Revenue cannot refund
amounts less than $5.

Double-check your figures, including your Social
Security number. The most common mistakes are
math errors and the amount claimed for the fed-
eral tax subtraction. Accuracy speeds processing
your return.

Sign your return (both must sign on a joint re-
turn).

Staple readable copies of wage slips, receipts, and
other necessary papers.

Labels will speed processing your return. If you
receive a label, please attach it to the return you
mail to the department.

Mail your return in a stamped envelope. Use a
business envelope (4 x 9% inches) to help speed
processing your return. Remember to use enough
postage.

Mail refund returns or no-tax-due returns to:
REFUND, PO Box 14700, Salem OR 97309-0930.

Mail tax-to-pay returns to: Oregon Department
of Revenue, PO Box 14555, Salem OR 97309-0940.

If you believe you can't pay, file your return any-
way. The Department of Revenue will work with
you to set up a payment plan on a case-by-case
basis.

Donations from refund/31



Taxpayer assistance

Voice response system

For push-button phones, our telephone voice response
system has recorded tax information about many of your
Oregon tax questions. You can also order tax forms. This
service is available 24 hours a day. Refund informa-
tion will be available beginning March 1.

Once you're in the system, push:

1—For refund information (beginning March 1).

2—To order current year or amended forms.

3—Return line information.

6—For other information.

0—For assistance from a representative.
Representatives are available: 7:30 A.m.—5:10 p.m.
Monday-Friday, except Wednesday when the
hours are 9 A.m.—5:10 p.m. Closed on holidays.

Representatives are available until 7 p.m.
April 10-14 and April 17.

Telephone numbers

Call: Salem
Toll-free within Oregon

(503) 378-4988
1-800-356-4222

The toll-free number is only available January through
April.

A line is available all year for those who speak Span-
ish. The number in Salem is (503) 945-8618.

: Printed information (free)

I State forms only

| (Check individual boxes to order. Clip on the dotted line, then mail
I in the entire list with your return address.)

| J Alternative Energy Devices 150-101-641
| ] Computing Interest on Tax You Owe 150-800-691
| [ Credit for Income Tax Paid to
| Other States 150-101-646

[ Elderly Rental Assistance booklet 150-545-002
I

[ Estimated Tax circular 150-101-648
I [] Estimated Tax coupons 150-101-026-2
| and instructions 150-101-026
| O Health Insurance for Small
| Business Employers 150-101-698
| J Home Care for the Elderly Credit 150-101-653
| ] Interstate Transportation Wages 150-101-601
| [J Limit on Itemized Deductions 150-101-611
| (] Married Persons Filing Separate

Returns 150-101-656

I

[ Military Personnel Filing
: Information 150-101-657
L

32/How to get help

Habla Espafol?
Las personas que necesitan asistencia en Espafiol
pueden llamar al nimero en Salem (503) 945-8618.

Hearing or speech impaired? We have a separate num-
ber (503) 945-8617, that you may use if you have a TDD.
This number is answered by machine only and is not for
voice use.

To get forms

Income tax booklets are available at post offices and
some banks and libraries. Or write to: Forms, Oregon
Department of Revenue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-
0990.

The offices below provide forms and answer questions.
Don’t send your return to these addresses.

Portland**

Federal Building Lobby
1220 SW Third Ave.
Portland Oregon

Salem*

Revenue Building

First floor, Room 135

955 Center St. NE

Salem OR 97310

* 7:45 am.—5 p.M. Monday-Friday, except holidays.

*We'll provide walk-in help from 9 a.m.—4 p.m., Monday-Friday, ex-
cept holidays, January 3—April 17 only.

Written correspondence. Use the address above for the

Revenue building in Salem. Include your Social Security

number and a daytime telephone number. Including both

will allow us to help you faster.

__________________ =

1 Oregon Income Tax Withholding: |

Some Special Cases 150-206-643 |

I Political Contributions 150-101-662 |

] Record Keeping Requirements 150-101-608 |

[0 Retirement Income 150-101-673 |

[ Senior Citizen’s Property Tax |
Deferral 150-310-675

[0 What To Do if You are Audited 150-101-607 I

] Your Rights as an Oregon I

Taxpayer 150-800-406 |

[ List of other printed information: I

Forms/Publications Request 150-800-390 |

Send to: Forms :

Oregon Department of Revenue

PO Box 14999 |

Salem OR 97309-0990 I

Please print :

Your name |

Address |

City |

State zIP |
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