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INSTRUCTIONS FOR 1996 FORM 10
Underpayment of 1996 Oregon Estimated Tax

General Information
Oregon law requires some taxpayers to pay estimated tax. Interest
is charged on underpayments or late payments. There are some
exceptions to the interest charge (see Part 1 below).

You must file Form 10 if you meet an exception. Also, check the
box on line 48, Form 40; or line 67 on either Form 40N or Form
40P to indicate that Form 10 is attached to your return.

Who should have paid estimated tax?
You should have paid estimated tax if you owe $500 or more on
your 1996 Oregon income tax return (the tax you owe is your in-
come tax after subtracting your tax credits and your Oregon with-
holding),

AND

Your total income tax withheld from 1996 income was less than:

• Method 1—1996 Tax

90 percent of your 1996 net income tax. The net income tax is
your Oregon tax after all credits, but before withholding or esti-
mated tax.

OR

• Method 2—1995 Tax

100 percent of the tax shown on your 1995 Oregon income tax
return (110 percent of that amount if the adjusted gross income
shown on that return is more than $150,000, or if married filing
separately for 1996, more than $75,000). You can’t use this
method if you didn’t file a 1995 Oregon return. Do not reduce
your net income tax by tax withheld from your income, estimated
tax payments made, or payments made with an extension request.

OR

• Method 3—Tax on 1996 Annualized Income

90 percent of your tax on 1996 annualized income.

File Form 10 to:

• Claim one of the exceptions to the interest charge.
• Figure the amount you underpaid.
• Figure the amount of interest due.

Instructions (Form 10, page 1)

The following instructions are for lines not fully explained on the
form.

PART 1—Exceptions to paying interest
Exception 1—Farmers and commercial fishers.

If at least two-thirds (66.7 percent) of your 1995 or 1996 total gross
income is from farming or fishing, you don’t have to pay under-
payment interest. But you will have to file Form 10 with your 1996
Oregon income tax return to show you meet this exception. Check
the box on Form 10 and circle the year that qualifies you. Your
Oregon return is not due until April 15, 1997, even if you were re-
quired to file your federal return earlier.

Gross income includes items such as wages, interest, and dividends.
It also includes gross profit from rentals, royalties, businesses, farm-
ing, fishing, and the sale of property. Don’t subtract expenses, ex-
cept cost of goods sold, when figuring gross profit. Do subtract basis
or cost to figure profit on the sale of property.

Farmers. Use the amounts on the following lines of both your 1995
and 1996 federal income tax returns to determine your gross in-
come from farming:

• Federal Schedule F, line 11;
• Federal Schedule E, line 41;
• Federal Form 4797, line 20. (Include only gains from sales of draft,

breeding, dairy, or sporting livestock.)

Fishers. Use the amounts on the following lines of both your 1995
and 1996 federal income tax returns to determine your gross in-
come from fishing:

• Federal Schedule C, line 5;
• Federal Schedule C-EZ, line 1;
• Federal Schedule E, line 41.

Exception 2—Prior year.

You meet this exception if all of the following are true:

• Your net income tax for 1995 was -0- or you were not required
to file a return for 1995.

• You were a full-year Oregon resident in 1995.
• Your tax year was a full 12 months.

1995 net income tax is your Oregon income tax after tax credits,
but before withholding, estimated tax payments, or payments made
with an extension.

Note: if you were a nonresident or a part-year resident in 1995, you
can’t use this exception. However, you can use Method 2 to figure
your required annual payment. See the instructions in Part 2.

Exception 3—Retired or disabled, and have a reason-
able cause.

You meet this exception if:

• There was reasonable cause for underpaying your estimated tax,

and

— You retired at age 62 or older during 1995 or 1996, or
— You became disabled during 1995 or 1996.

Reasonable cause will be decided on a case-by-case basis. Ex-
amples: unexpected absence from the state prior to the due date
of the estimated payment or reasonable reliance on incorrect facts
or advice. The extent of your effort to comply with the law will be
considered. Attach a statement explaining the cause to be consid-
ered for the exception. Label the statement “Form 10 Attachment”
in the center at the top of the page. Use red ink.
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Exception 4—Underpayment due to unusual circum-
stances.

No interest is due if your underpayment is due to a casualty, disas-
ter, or other unusual circumstance. Unusual circumstances will be
determined on a case-by-case basis. The extent of your effort to
comply with the law will be considered. The casualty, disaster, or
other unusual circumstance must make it unfair to impose interest.
Some examples that may qualify: death or serious illness; or books
and records destroyed by fire, flood, or other natural disaster. At-
tach a statement explaining the cause to be considered for the ex-
ception. Label the statement “Form 10 Attachment” in the center at
the top of the page. Use red ink.

Exception 5—S corporation shareholders.

No interest is due on your underpayment attributable to S corpora-
tion income in which you are a shareholder if:

• The underpayment was attributable to S corporation income, and
• The income is for the first year in which S corporation status is

elected,
and

— You are a nonresident for 1996, or
— You are a full-year resident for 1996 and you were a part-year

resident for 1995.

PART 2—Figure your required annual payment
Line 1. Fill in your net income tax after tax credits but before with-
holding and estimated tax payments (line 41, Form 40; or line 60
on either Form 40N or Form 40P).

Line 3. Fill in only your Oregon income tax withheld from income.
Don’t include any estimated tax payments.

Line 5. Enter the tax shown on your 1995 return (110 percent of
that amount if the adjusted gross income shown on that return is
more than $150,000. If you are married filing separately for 1996,
use 110 percent of your 1995 tax if your 1995 adjusted gross in-
come is more than $75,000). Use the 1995 tax after credits shown
on your 1995 tax return. (This is the amount shown on: Form 40S,
line 23; Form 40, line 41; Form 40P or 40N, line 60.)

“Adjusted gross income” for 1995 is the amount shown on: Form
40, line 8; Form 40P or Form 40N, line 29b.

If you did not file a return for 1995, or if your 1995 tax year was
less than 12 months, do not complete line 5. Instead, enter the
amount from line 2 on line 6. Note: individuals who were part-year
residents or nonresidents in 1995 generally have “tax years” of 12
months and may use the tax shown on their 1995 Form 40P or Form
40N.

PART 3—Figure your underpayment
Line 7. You have two options:

Option 1. Fill in one-fourth of the amount on line 6 in each col-
umn.

Did you move in or out of Oregon in 1996? If so, use
the columns that correspond to the dates you lived in
Oregon. Divide the amount on line 6 by the number of
periods you were a resident of Oregon. Example: if you
moved to Oregon on July 1, divide line 6 by two. Fill
in columns C and D only.

Option 2. Annualize your income using the Annualized Income
Worksheet on the back of Form 10. This method may
benefit those who don’t receive their income evenly
throughout the year and part-year residents.

Line 8. Fill in estimated tax payments and income taxes withheld
from your wages, pension, etc. Withholding is considered
to be paid in equal amounts on the required payment dates
(usually four), unless you prove otherwise. If you worked
all year, fill in one-fourth of your withholding in each col-
umn.

Complete lines 9 through 12 of the first column before going to
the next column. Example: complete lines 9 through 12 of column
A before going to column B.

Column A:

Line 9. Don’t enter an amount here.

Line 10. Enter the amount from line 8, column A. Is line 10 more
than line 7? If yes, go to line 11. If no, go to line 12.

Line 11. You paid more than the required installment for this pe-
riod. Subtract line 7 from line 10 and enter that amount here. Enter
the same amount on line 9 of column B and go to the instructions
for column B.

Line 12. You have an underpayment for this period. Subtract line
10 from line 7 and enter that amount here. Enter -0- on line 9 of
column B and go to the instructions for column B.

Column B:

Line 9. Enter the amount (if any) from line 11 of column A.

Line 10. Add lines 8 and 9 and enter the amount here. Is line 10
more than line 7? If yes, go to line 11. If no, go to line 12.

Line 11. You paid more than the required installment for this pe-
riod. Subtract line 7 from line 10 and enter that amount here. Enter
the same amount on line 9 of column C and go to the instructions
for column C.

Line 12. You have an underpayment for this period. Subtract line
10 from line 7 and enter that amount here. Enter -0- on line 9 of
column C and go to the instructions for column C.

Column C:

Line 9. Enter the amount (if any) from line 11 of column B.

Line 10. Add lines 8 and 9 and enter the amount here. Is line 10
more than line 7? If yes, go to line 11. If no, go to line 12.

Line 11. You paid more than the required installment for this pe-
riod. Subtract line 7 from line 10 and enter that amount here. Enter
the same amount on line 9 of column D and go to the instructions
for column D.

Line 12. You have an underpayment for this period. Subtract line
10 from line 7 and enter that amount here. Enter -0- on line 9 of
column D and go to the instructions for column D.

Column D:

Line 9. Enter the amount (if any) from line 11 of column C.

Line 10. Add lines 8 and 9 and enter the amount here. Is line 10
more than line 7? If yes, go to line 11. If no, go to line 12.

Line 11. You paid more than the required installment for this pe-
riod. Subtract line 7 from line 10 and enter that amount here. Go
to the instructions for line 13.

Line 12. You have an underpayment for this period. Subtract line
10 from line 7 and enter that amount here. Go to the instructions
for line 13.

Line 13. To figure the amount of interest you owe, complete the
Interest Worksheet on page 4.
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(A) Jan 1
to Mar 31

(C) Jan 1
to Aug 31

(B) Jan 1
to May 31

(D) Jan 1
to Dec 31Federal Tax Subtraction Worksheet (Line 9)

4 2.4 1.5 1

4 2.4 1.5 1

(             ) (             )(             ) (             )

(             ) (             ) (             ) (             )

Instructions For Annualized Income Worksheet (Form 10, page 2)

Note: Part-year residents—you need to start with the column that
corresponds to the date you moved to Oregon.

Line 1. Enter your adjusted gross income earned or received dur-
ing the dates shown at the top of each column.

Example 1: Scott received wages for the entire year of 1996. He
also received a lump sum distribution of $25,000 from his IRA on
July 19, 1996. Scott would include the total amount of the distribu-
tion in column C and column D only. He would include the wages
he earned during the dates shown in the corresponding column.

Example 2: Same situation as in example 1, except Scott received
the lump sum distribution on April 25, 1996. In this case, he would
enter the distribution in columns B, C, and D.

Line 2. Enter the amount of Oregon additions received or incurred
during the dates shown at the top of each column.

Example: Carol has an Oregon addition of $6,000 for California
bond interest received on September 5, 1996. Carol would enter the
$6,000 in column D. However, if she received the bond interest at
$500 a month, she would enter $1,500 (for 3 months) in column A,
$2,500 (for 5 months) in column B, $4,000 (for 8 months) in col-
umn C, and the $6,000 in column D (for 12 months).

Line 6. Enter the amount of Oregon subtractions received or in-
curred during the dates shown at the top of each column.

Line 9. Compute your federal tax subtraction on your annualized
income using the Federal Tax Subtraction Worksheet below.

Line 11. Enter only the amount of your Oregon itemized deduc-
tions incurred during the dates shown at the top of each column.
Your total Oregon itemized deductions are on line 25, Form 40.

Example 1: Generally, home mortgage interest is a deduction paid
evenly throughout the year. Therefore, you would have 3 months
of home mortgage interest in column A (January, February, and
March), 5 months in column B, 8 months in column C, and all 12
months of interest in column D.

Example 2: Medical deductions claimed for medical expenses are
not incurred evenly throughout the tax year. For example, Jill has
a total hospital bill of $16,216 for the entire year. After subtracting
7.5 percent (the nondeductible portion), she will deduct a total of
$15,000 on her income tax return. On April 26, 1996 she paid $4,324,
$4,000 of which is deductible. On June 15, 1996 she paid another
$5,405, $5,000 of which is deductible. On October 7, 1996 she paid
the remaining balance of $6,487, of which $6,000 is deductible. Jill
will enter the April $4,000 deductible portion in column B. The April
payment plus the June $5,000 payment (totaling $9,000) will go in
column C. In column D she will enter $15,000 (the total deductible
amount of all three payments).

Line 14. If you are married filing separately, and your spouse item-
izes deductions, the amount on this line is -0-. You must itemize
your deductions.

Line 18. Use the tax tables or the tax rate chart from the Oregon
tax booklet. Line 17 is your annualized taxable income for each
column.

Line 20. Enter credit amounts that apply only to each period.

Example: Sam installed an alternative energy device on Septem-
ber 4. He qualifies for a credit of $160. Sam would include $160 in
column D only.

1. Enter the amount of your federal AGI for each period ...................... 1

2. Annualization amounts ......................................................................... 2

3. Multiply line 1 by line 2 ....................................................................... 3

4. Actual federal itemized deductions for each period.
If you do not itemize, skip to line 7 of this worksheet ...................... 4

5. Annualization amounts ......................................................................... 5

6. Multiply line 4 by line 5 ....................................................................... 6

7. Enter the full amount of your 1996 federal standard deduction
in each column ..................................................................................... 7

8. Enter line 6 or line 7, whichever is larger ........................................... 8

9. Line 3 minus line 8 ............................................................................... 9

10. 1996 Federal exemption amount (Form 1040, line 36, or
Form 1040A, line 21) .......................................................................... 10

11. Line 9 minus line 10 ........................................................................... 11

12. Compute the federal tax for each period using
the federal tax tables .......................................................................... 12

13. Enter $1,500 if you are married filing separately, or $3,000
for any other filing status ................................................................... 13

14. Enter the lesser of line 12 or line 13. Also enter this amount in
each column on line 9 of the Annualized Income Worksheet ........ 14
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Instructions for Interest Worksheet
Line 3. Enter the date you paid the underpayment of estimated tax.
Your payment will be applied to the oldest underpayment first. The
latest date that can be entered in each column is the due date of
the return, April 15, 1997.

If you paid the underpayment before the due date of the return,
enter the date you made the payment. If you paid the underpay-
ment after the due date of the return, enter April 15, 1997.

Line 4. Enter the number of full months from the payment period
due date on line 1 of this worksheet to the date on line 3.

Line 5. Enter the number of remaining days left until the date you
made your payment.

Example: if you didn’t pay the amount that was due on April 15
until June 8, count this way:

April 16 to May 15 = 1 month (this number would be on line 4,
column A)

May 16 to June 8 = 24 days (this number would be on line 5, col-
umn A)

Line 6. The interest rate is .8333 percent per month.

Line 7. The interest rate is .0274 percent per day.

Line 9. Enter this amount on Form 10, line 13.

1. Payment period—due date .................................................................. 1

2. Amount of underpayment for each period (line 12, Form 10) .......... 2

3. Date you paid underpayment or April 15, 1997, whichever
is earlier ................................................................................................. 3

4. Number of full months ......................................................................... 4

5. Number of remaining days .................................................................. 5

6. Multiply line 4 × the amount on line 2 × .008333 .............................. 6

7. Multiply line 5 × the amount on line 2 × .000274 ............................... 7

8. Add lines 6 and 7 ................................................................................. 8

9. Total interest due. Add the amounts in columns A through D on line 8. Fill in here and on Form 10, line 13 ................. 9

Interest Worksheet
(Keep this worksheet for your records)

June 17, 1996April 15, 1996 Sept. 16, 1996 Jan. 15, 1997
A                     B                     C D
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Taxpayer Assistance
Habla Español? Las personas que necesitan asistencia en Español
pueden dejar un mensaje. El número disponible todo el año en Sa-
lem es (503) 945-8618.

To get forms
Income tax booklets are available at post offices and some banks
and libraries. Or write to: Forms, Oregon Department of Revenue,
PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-0990. Our Internet address is:
http://www.dor.state.or.us

The offices below provide forms and answer questions. Don’t send
your return to these addresses.

Salem* Portland**
Revenue Building Federal Building Lobby
First floor, Room 135 1220 SW Third Ave.
955 Center St. NE Portland Oregon
Salem Oregon

* 7:45 A.M.–5 P.M. Monday–Friday, except holidays.
** We’ll provide walk-in help from 9 A.M.–4: P.M., Monday–Friday,

except holidays, January 2–April 15 only.

Correspondence. Use the Salem address above. Include your So-
cial Security number and a daytime telephone number. Including
both will allow us to help you faster.

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), this
information is available in alternative formats upon request by calling
(503) 378-4988.

Do you need help?
Call: Salem (503) 378-4988

Toll-free within Oregon 1-800-356-4222

The toll-free number is only available January through April.

Voice response system
For touchtone phones, our telephone voice response system has
recorded tax information about many of your Oregon tax questions.
You can also order tax forms. This service is available 24 hours a
day.

Once you’re in the system, push:

1—For personal income tax refund information (beginning
March l).

2—To order current year or amended forms.
6—For other information.
0—For assistance from a representative.

Representatives are available: 7:30 A.M.–5:10 P.M. Monday–Friday,
except Wednesday when the hours are 9 A.M.– 5:10 P.M. Closed on
holidays. From April 1– April 15, representatives are available from
7 A.M. until 7 P.M., Monday–Friday.

TTY (hearing or speech impaired only): These numbers are an-
swered by machine only and are not for voice use. The year-
round toll-free number within Oregon is 1-800-886-7204. In Salem,
the number is (503) 945-8617.


