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Oregon Department of Revenue
955 Center St NE
Salem OR 97310-2551

Please use this
label on your

return

Full-Year Resident

How to get your
refund fasterü Use your booklet label

if you have one.ü Be sure to attach your
W-2s.ü Use the correct Social
Security number.ü Double check your math.ü Make sure you subtract
your federal tax liability
(see instructions for the
correct amount).ü File your return
electronically.
See page 6 for details.

Remember!

Do not attach federal schedules
to your Oregon return. See page
3 for details.

aaaaaaa

Oregon income tax forms and
instructions are now available
on the Internet. Our address is:
http: //www.dor.state.or.us

aaaaaaa

In compliance with the Amer-
icans with Disabilities Act
(ADA), this information is
available in alternative formats
by calling (503) 378-4988.

Forms 40 & 40S with Instructions

Oregon
Do you need help?

If you have questions or want to
order forms, you can call us 24
hours a day. Call:

Salem (503) 378-4988
Toll-free within Oregon

1-800-356-4222

The toll-free number is only
available from January through
April.

aaaaaaa

Habla Español? En Salem (503)
945-8618

TTY (for nonvoice use only):
Salem (503) 945-8617
Toll-free within Oregon

1-800-886-7204

Oregon Dept. of Revenue
When printing this form you may need to reduce this page so that all information will print. Select "Print" and click in the box for "Shrink to Fit."

Thank you.



These instructions aren’t a complete statement of laws
and Oregon Department of Revenue rules. You may need
more information or forms. See page 32.

If you have disabilities and need special accommo-
dations, see page 32 for numbers to call and places
to get help.

Single—can be claimed
on another’s return

Single

Head of
household

Married,
joint return

Married,
separate return

Qualifying widow(er)

Any

Under 65
65 or older
Under 65

65 or older
Under 65, (both)
65 or older (one)
65 or older (both)

Under 65
65 or older
Under 65

65 or older

Single (including
divorced and legally

separated)

Married

Qualifying widow(er)

$500

$4,280
$5,480
$5,120
$6,320
$7,960
$8,960
$9,960
$3,980
$4,980
$5,480
$6,480

Where Your Tax Dollar Goes

Personal Income Tax / 77¢

Corporate Income Tax / 5¢

Taxes on Insurance / 2¢

Tobacco Taxes / 2¢

Other / 4¢

Lottery / 10¢

Primary and Secondary Education / 45¢

Community Colleges / 4¢

Higher Education / 8¢

Adult and Family Services / 3.5¢

Children’s Services / 2¢

Mental Health / 5¢

Senior Services / 4¢

Other Human Resources Programs / 9¢

Corrections / 5¢

Public Safety / 3¢

Natural Resources / 2¢

Legislative Branch / .5¢

Judicial Branch / 3¢

Other / 6¢

Expenditure of General Fund Revenues 1995 –1997

Source of General Fund Revenues 1995 –1997

Do I need to file? (Amounts apply to full-year residents only.)
If Gross Income

Marital Status Filing Status Age is More Than:

In addition, file a return if:

• You are required to file a federal return.

• You had $5 or more of Oregon income tax withheld
from your wages.

• You are a nonresident or a part-year resident with in-
come taxed by Oregon.



New information
Reminder. Do not file all of your federal
return with your Oregon return. File only:

• Oregon Form 40 or 40S with W-2s and 1099s
showing Oregon tax withholding.

• Your payment, attached on top of the W-2 forms.
• Front and back of the federal form (1040, 1040A,

1040EZ, 1040PC). Form 40S filers don’t need to
attach this item.

• If applicable, Oregon Form 10 “Underpayment
of Oregon Estimated Tax.”

• If applicable, proof to claim “Credit for Income
Tax Paid to Another State.” See pages 28 and 29.

• If applicable, the form “Oregon Deferral of Re-
invested Gain.”

Don’t attach other federal schedules such as A, B,
C, D, Form 2441, etc. We receive some federal
schedule information electronically. We may, how-
ever, ask you for certain information later.

Oregon law follows federal law as of April 15, 1995.
Oregon does not follow federal tax law changes after that
date. Differences in Oregon taxable income caused by
federal laws passed after April 15, 1995, are considered
Oregon “additions” or “subtractions.” For the 1996 tax
year, most items are treated the same way on your Or-
egon and federal returns.
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Labels. If you received a label on this tax book-
let, please use it on the income tax return you mail
to the department. Make sure the label is correct.
If it isn’t, mark through the incorrect information
and make corrections on the label. If someone else
prepares your return, ask the preparer to use your
label. Your return will be processed faster.

Depreciation differences
Oregon requires a one-time adjustment in 1996 for cer-
tain depreciation differences:

• Election to expense certain tangible property
(Section 179 expense). If you claimed an Oregon
addition or subtraction for 1993 or 1994 due to the
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993, you may
amend your 1993 or 1994 Oregon return to increase
your Oregon Section 179 expense.

If you choose not to amend your 1993 or 1994 return
for these depreciation differences, you must claim the
difference as part of the one-time adjustment on your
1996 Oregon return.

• Assets placed in service between 1981 and 1985
(ACRS assets). You must make a one-time adjustment
to align your Oregon basis with your federal basis on
your 1996 Oregon return.

• Nonresidential real property placed in service in
1993 or 1994. The 1996 one-time adjustment does
not apply to depreciation of nonresidential real prop-
erty. You must amend your 1993 or 1994 Oregon re-
turn to report any differences from this source.

If you need help with these items, see page 32.

Oregon tax information
• Deferral of reinvested gain. Beginning in 1996, you

may defer gain on the sale of certain business assets
if you reinvest proceeds in qualifying business assets
within six months. You must attach a form to your Or-
egon return.

• Active duty pay income will continue to be sub-
tracted from Oregon income if it was earned outside
Oregon from August 1, 1990, through the date the
President sets as the end of combat activities in the
Persian Gulf. See page 20, “Military active duty.”

• Estimated taxes. Oregon has adopted the federal re-
quirements for making estimated tax payments. Refer
to the 1996 Form 10 or 1997 estimated tax instructions.
See page 32 for assistance and to order forms.

• Retirement income credit and special Oregon
medical deduction. The minimum age requirement
is 60.
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General information
To order forms 40P and 40N and instructions, see
page 32.

When should I file my return?
File as soon as possible. The filing deadline for calen-
dar year 1996 is April 15, 1997.

Returns for other tax periods are due by the 15th day of
the fourth month after the close of your tax year.

Need more time to file?
• If you need more time to file both your federal and

your Oregon returns:

— Generally, Oregon allows you the same extension
you have for your federal return. If you did have
a federal extension, check the “Extension Filed” box
on your Oregon return when you file.

— To avoid penalty and interest, mail any tax due by
April 15, 1997. Attach payment to a separate copy
of your federal extension.

— Include the amount you paid with your extension
on Form 40, line 43, when you file your return.

• If you need an extension of time to file for Oregon
only, send us a federal extension form. Write “For
Oregon only” across the top. Include your payment.
Send your extension and payment to: Extension Clerk,
Oregon Department of Revenue, PO Box 14950, Sa-
lem OR 97309-0980.

— Check the “Extension Filed” box on your Oregon
return when you file. We’ll notify you only if your
extension is denied.

More time to file doesn’t mean
more time to pay!

You must pay any tax due when filing your extension.

If you don’t pay all of the tax due with your extension,
you will owe interest after April 15, 1997, to the date of
your payment. The current interest rate is 10 percent per
year. If the tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the
interest rate increases to 14 percent per year.

Were you stationed in the Persian Gulf or another
designated combat area? Did you receive additional
time to file your 1996 federal return? If so, Oregon al-
lows the same additional time to file. Write “Desert Storm”
in red at the top of the form.

Penalties
You must pay a penalty if:

• You don’t file your return or pay your tax by the origi-
nal due date of the return (even if you have an exten-
sion). The penalty is 5 percent of your unpaid tax.

What income does Oregon tax?
An Oregon resident is taxed on all income, including
income from outside the state. A nonresident of Oregon
is taxed only on income from Oregon sources.

What form do I use?
Use Form 40S if ALL of the following are true:

• You are a full-year Oregon resident.
• Your income is only from wages, interest, ordinary divi-

dends, unemployment, taxable scholarships, and fel-
lowship grants.

• You claim the standard deduction on your return.
• Your Oregon taxable income is $50,000 or less.
• You do not have pension or annuity income.
• You do not owe penalty or interest.
• You did not pay estimated tax during the year.

Use Form 40 if:

• You are a full-year Oregon resident, and
• You can’t use Form 40S.

You’ll need to use Form 40 even if only one of the
following is true:

• You paid or should have paid estimated tax during the
year.

• You have adjustments on Form 1040, line 30, or
Form 1040A, line 15c. Examples are alimony and
IRA deductions.

• You have Oregon “additions” or “subtractions” other
than the federal tax subtraction. The most common
ones are listed on the return.

• You itemize deductions on your Oregon return.
• You are married filing separately and your spouse is

itemizing.
• You are claiming tax credits other than the exemption

credit or those listed on page 16.
• You received pension or annuity income.
• You are in the military and are claiming the subtrac-

tion for military active duty pay.
• You owe penalty or interest.

Use Form 40P if:

• You are a part-year resident, or
• You are a part-year resident filing a joint return, and

your spouse is a full-year resident, or
• You and your spouse are part-year residents filing

jointly.

Use Form 40N if:

• You are a nonresident, or
• You are a nonresident filing a joint return, and your

spouse is a full-year or part-year resident, or
• You and your spouse are nonresidents filing jointly.
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• Your return isn’t filed within three months after the
due date (including extensions). The penalty is 20
percent of the tax due and is in addition to the 5 per-
cent penalty.

Exception: You don’t have to pay a penalty if you do
all of the following:

1. Get an extension of time to file your return.
2. Pay at least 90 percent of the tax due by April 15,

1997.
3. Pay the balance of tax due at the time you file within

the extension period.
4. Pay the interest on the balance of tax due at the time

you file your return or within 30 days of our billing
date.

If you don’t file three consecutive years’ returns by the
due date (including extensions) of the third year, a 100
percent penalty is imposed on each of the three years’
tax returns.

1997 estimated tax
Estimated tax is the amount of tax you expect to owe
when you file your 1997 Oregon individual income tax
return. The tax you owe is net income tax less your an-
ticipated Oregon withholding.

Who must pay estimated tax?

In most cases, people who expect to owe $500 or
more on their 1997 Oregon income tax return.

For example:

• Self-employed people who don’t have Oregon tax
withheld from their income.

• Others who don’t have Oregon tax withheld from their
income. Such income can include unemployment com-
pensation, pensions, interest, or dividends.

There are other limitations based on income. See page
32 to order the estimated tax coupons and instructions
or the information circular “Estimated Tax,” 150-101-648.

• Wage earners. If you expect to owe $500 or more on
your 1997 return, you need to increase the amount
your employer withholds from your wages. If you and
your spouse both work, see page 32 to order the in-
formation circular, “Oregon Income Tax Withholding:
Some Special Cases,” 150-206-643.

Exception: You don’t have to pay estimated tax if at least
two-thirds of your gross income is from farming or fish-
ing. Attach Form 10, “Underpayment of Oregon Esti-
mated Tax,” to your Oregon income tax return. Check
the box on Form 10 to tell us you qualify for the farmer’s
and fisher’s exception. See page 32 to order Form 10.

How do I make estimated tax payments?

Complete an Oregon estimated tax Form 40ES. Forms
are included with the Oregon estimated tax instruction

booklet. The Oregon Department of Revenue mails es-
timated tax booklets and forms to taxpayers who may
need to pay estimated tax, based on past tax returns.

If you don’t get your Oregon estimated tax forms by the
end of February, see page 32 to order the forms.

When do I pay?

First-period estimated tax—due April 15, 1997.*
Second-period estimated tax—due June 16, 1997.
Third-period estimated tax—due Sept. 15, 1997.
Fourth-period estimated tax—due Jan. 15, 1998.

* Don’t send your Oregon estimated tax Form 40ES
and payment with your Oregon income tax re-
turn. Mail Form 40ES with your estimated tax payment
separately to: Oregon Department of Revenue, PO Box
14950, Salem OR 97309-0980.

Residency
Am I a resident, a nonresident, or a part-year
resident?

The following definitions will help you decide.

• You are an Oregon resident, even though you live
outside Oregon, if all of the following are true:

— You think of Oregon as your permanent home.
— Oregon is the center of your financial, social, and

family life.
— Oregon is the place you intend to come back to

when you are away.

• You are a nonresident if your permanent home is out-
side Oregon all year.

• You are a part-year resident if you moved into or out
of Oregon during the tax year. But you still are a full-
year resident if:

— You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or
— You moved back to Oregon after a temporary ab-

sence.

Special-case Oregon residents. File Form 40N if all the
following are true:

• You are an Oregon resident who lived outside Oregon
the entire year.

• You didn’t keep a home in Oregon during any part of
the year.

• You spent less than 31 days in Oregon during the year.

Filing status. Generally, you must use the same filing
status for your Oregon and federal returns.

Exceptions for married persons when spouses are:

• Full-year resident and part-year resident. You may
file separate Oregon returns. The full-year resident will
file on Form 40 and the part-year resident will file on
Form 40P. If you choose to file a joint return for Or-
egon, file on Form 40P.



Continued on page 11
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• Full-year resident and nonresident. You may file
separate Oregon returns. The full-year resident will file
on Form 40 and the nonresident will file on Form 40N.
If you choose to file a joint return for Oregon, file on
Form 40N.

• Part-year resident and nonresident. You may file
separate Oregon returns. The part-year resident will file
on Form 40P and the nonresident will file on Form
40N. If you choose to file a joint return for Oregon,
file on Form 40N.

• See page 32 to order the information circular, “Mar-
ried Persons Filing Separate Returns,” 150-101-656.

Armed forces
I was in the armed forces in 1996. How should I file?

• You may file as a nonresident if you meet all of the
following requirements:

— You didn’t have a personal residence in Oregon for
yourself or for your family during any part of 1996.

— Your personal residence was outside of Oregon
during all of 1996.

— You spent less than 31 days in Oregon in 1996.

File Form 40N to get a refund of Oregon tax with-
held from your military wages. Form 40N is in the part-
year resident and nonresident booklet. Contact the
Oregon Department of Revenue to order that book-
let. See page 32.

• If you don’t meet all three requirements, file Form
40 in this booklet.

• Nonresidents stationed in Oregon. Oregon won’t
tax your military income. But Oregon does tax other
income earned in Oregon by you or your spouse.
Nonresident members of the Oregon National Guard
or reserves may exclude only active duty pay. If you
have income taxed by Oregon, use Form 40N in the
part-year resident and nonresident booklet.

Elderly Rental Assistance (ERA)
To qualify for an ERA refund you must be a renter who
resided in Oregon on December 31, 1996, be age 58 or
older on December 31, 1996, have household income less
than $10,000, and use more than 20 percent of your
household income to pay for rent, fuel, and utilities. If
you qualify, see page 32 to order an ERA booklet.

Are you self-employed?
If you are self-employed and do business in Washing-
ton, Multnomah, or Clackamas counties, you may need
to file a Tri-Met Self-Employment tax return. If you are
self-employed and do business in Lane County, you may
need to pay Lane County Transit tax. See page 32 to or-
der forms or receive information.

Questions answered
What tax records do I need to keep?

Keep a complete copy of your federal and state returns.
Also, keep all receipts, cancelled checks, statements, and
documentation you used to prepare your return. Save
these records for at least three years. If your return is
audited, the law says you must show proof of your in-
come and expenses.

Also, save all records about property and investments you
bought. Keep these kinds of records for at least three
years after you sell the property or investment.

For more information, see page 32 to order the infor-
mation circular “Record Keeping Requirements,”
150-101-608.

I’m getting an income tax refund this year. When
will I get my check?

• If you mail your return by April 1:

— If you use your label, allow 4–6 weeks to receive
your refund.

— If you don’t use your label, allow 6–8 weeks to re-
ceive your refund.

• If you mail your return after April 1:

— Add 2–3 weeks to the above.

• If you file your return electronically:

— Allow 10–21 days to receive your refund.

Exceptions: If there is a mistake on your return, your
refund will be delayed. By law, the Department of Rev-
enue cannot issue refund amounts less than $5. Gener-
ally, the department cannot issue a refund when your
return is filed more than three years after the due date.

What is electronic filing?

Oregon has joined many other states in the federal/state
electronic filing program. This program allows federal
and state returns to be sent together electronically.

Electronic filing offers efficient and accurate one-stop fil-
ing for taxpayers. This service will be available January
10 and will continue through October 15.

Generally, you need to file electronically through a tax
preparer or a company registered with the Internal Rev-
enue Service (IRS). You can prepare your own return and
pay a professional to only transmit it. Or you can pay to
have your return both prepared and transmitted. To find
a tax professional to file your return electronically, look
in your local telephone directory under “Tax Return Prepa-
ration.” The program is open to full-year residents who are
expecting refunds or have tax to pay. If you owe additional
tax, you can file your return any time before the due date
and you will have until April 15, 1997, to pay the tax.
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Continued on page 15
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I’m moving. Will my refund check be forwarded to
me?

Yes. If you move after you mail your return, let us know
your new address for a faster refund. Write to: Address
Change, Oregon Department of Revenue, 955 Center St.
NE, Salem OR 97310-2501. Or see page 32 for numbers
to call. Also, tell your post office your new address.

May I round off cents to the nearest whole dollar?

Yes. You may round off cents to the nearest whole dol-
lar on your return and schedules. If you round off, do
so for all amounts. You may drop amounts less than 50
cents. Increase amounts from 50 to 99 cents to the next
dollar. For example, $12.15 becomes $12 and $233.50
becomes $234.

Is my tax return private information?

Yes. Any Oregon Department of Revenue employee who
gives out unauthorized information about your return
may be convicted of a class C felony.

Should I put my return together in a special order?

Yes. Put your Oregon return in the following order to
speed processing. Top to bottom:

1. Form 40 or Form 40S with Form W-2s and all 1099s
showing Oregon tax withholding stapled to the lower
front.

2. Attach any payment on top of the W-2 forms.

3. Copy of federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or
1040PC. Form 40S filers don’t need to attach this item.

4. If applicable, Oregon Form 10, “Underpayment of
Oregon Estimated Tax.”

5. If applicable, proof to claim “Credit for Income Tax
Paid to Another State.”

6. If applicable, the form “Oregon Deferral of Reinvested
Gain.”

Staple all the pages of your return together in the top
left-hand corner.

Don’t attach any federal schedules such as A, B, C, D,
Form 2441, etc. We receive some federal schedule infor-
mation electronically from the IRS. We may, however, ask
you for certain information later.

When do I need to file an amended Oregon return?

File Form 40X (Oregon amended return) any time you
need to correct your Oregon return. Generally, you are
allowed three years from the due date of the return or
the date the return was filed, whichever is later, to file
an amended return. If you amend your federal return,
usually you’ll need to amend your Oregon return. See
page 32 to order this form.

What if I’m audited by the IRS?

File an amended Oregon return if any changes are made.
Generally, you must file within two years after the date
of the federal audit report to receive a refund.

Social Security number. The request for your Social Se-
curity number(s) is authorized by Section 405, Title 42, of
the United States Code. You must give us this information.
It will be used to establish your identity for tax purposes.

Check the boxes
Filing status
Check the box next to your filing status. Check the same
filing status you checked on your federal return. If you
and your spouse don’t have the same residency status,
you may file separate returns for Oregon even if you filed
married filing jointly for federal. See pages 5 and 6 for
exceptions.

If you are married filing separately, fill in your
spouse’s name and Social Security number by box num-
ber 3. Don’t fill in your spouse’s name or Social Secu-
rity number in the heading of the return.

If you are filing as head of household, fill in the name
of the qualifying person from your federal return by box
number 4.

Caution: Not everyone may file Form 40S (short form).
See page 4 to see if this is the right form for you.

Do your federal return first. Use the information from
your federal return to complete your Oregon return.

Keep a complete copy of your federal and state re-
turns. Also, keep the original of all papers or re-
ceipts you used to prepare your return. Save these
records for at least three years.

Address section
Label. If you received a label on this tax booklet, please
use it on the Form 40S you mail to the department. Your
return will be processed faster. Don’t attach the label
to your return until the return is completed. If some-
one else prepares your return, ask them to use
your label.

Make sure the label is correct. If it isn’t, mark through
the incorrect information and make corrections on the
label. If you don’t have a label, print or type your name,
address, and Social Security number on your return.
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Tax tables for Form 40S and Form 40
Use column S if you are Use column J if you are

• Married filing jointly
• Single • Head of household
• Married filing separately • Widow(er) with dependent child

If income If income If income If income
from Form from Form from Form from Form

40S line 16, 40S line 16, 40S line 16, 40S line 16,
or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you
line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column

But But But But
At less At less At less At less

least than least than least than least than

$0 – 4,650 $4,650 – 9,450 $9,450 – 14,250 $14,250 – 19,050

S J

JS JS JS JS
0– 20 0 0 4650– 4750 285 241 9450– 9550 700 577 14250– 14350 1132 977

20– 50 2 2 4750– 4850 292 248 9550– 9650 709 584 14350– 14450 1141 986
50– 150 5 5 4850– 4950 299 255 9650– 9750 718 591 14450– 14550 1150 995

150– 250 10 10 4950– 5050 306 262 9750– 9850 727 598 14550– 14650 1159 1004
250– 350 15 15 5050– 5150 313 269 9850– 9950 736 605 14650– 14750 1168 1013
350– 450 20 20 5150– 5250 320 276 9950– 10050 745 612 14750– 14850 1177 1022

450– 550 25 25 5250– 5350 327 283 10050– 10150 754 619 14850– 14950 1186 1031
550– 650 30 30 5350– 5450 334 290 10150– 10250 763 626 14950– 15050 1195 1040
650– 750 35 35 5450– 5550 341 297 10250– 10350 772 633 15050– 15150 1204 1049
750– 850 40 40 5550– 5650 349 304 10350– 10450 781 640 15150– 15250 1213 1058
850– 950 45 45 5650– 5750 358 311 10450– 10550 790 647 15250– 15350 1222 1067
950– 1050 50 50 5750– 5850 367 318 10550– 10650 799 654 15350– 15450 1231 1076

1050– 1150 55 55 5850– 5950 376 325 10650– 10750 808 661 15450– 15550 1240 1085
1150– 1250 60 60 5950– 6050 385 332 10750– 10850 817 668 15550– 15650 1249 1094
1250– 1350 65 65 6050– 6150 394 339 10850– 10950 826 675 15650– 15750 1258 1103
1350– 1450 70 70 6150– 6250 403 346 10950– 11050 835 682 15750– 15850 1267 1112
1450– 1550 75 75 6250– 6350 412 353 11050– 11150 844 689 15850– 15950 1276 1121
1550– 1650 80 80 6350– 6450 421 360 11150– 11250 853 698 15950– 16050 1285 1130

1650– 1750 85 85 6450– 6550 430 367 11250– 11350 862 707 16050– 16150 1294 1139
1750– 1850 90 90 6550– 6650 439 374 11350– 11450 871 716 16150– 16250 1303 1148
1850– 1950 95 95 6650– 6750 448 381 11450– 11550 880 725 16250– 16350 1312 1157
1950– 2050 100 100 6750– 6850 457 388 11550– 11650 889 734 16350– 16450 1321 1166
2050– 2150 105 105 6850– 6950 466 395 11650– 11750 898 743 16450– 16550 1330 1175
2150– 2250 110 110 6950– 7050 475 402 11750– 11850 907 752 16550– 16650 1339 1184

2250– 2350 117 115 7050– 7150 484 409 11850– 11950 916 761 16650– 16750 1348 1193
2350– 2450 124 120 7150– 7250 493 416 11950– 12050 925 770 16750– 16850 1357 1202
2450– 2550 131 125 7250– 7350 502 423 12050– 12150 934 779 16850– 16950 1366 1211
2550– 2650 138 130 7350– 7450 511 430 12150– 12250 943 788 16950– 17050 1375 1220
2650– 2750 145 135 7450– 7550 520 437 12250– 12350 952 797 17050– 17150 1384 1229
2750– 2850 152 140 7550– 7650 529 444 12350– 12450 961 806 17150– 17250 1393 1238

2850– 2950 159 145 7650– 7750 538 451 12450– 12550 970 815 17250– 17350 1402 1247
2950– 3050 166 150 7750– 7850 547 458 12550– 12650 979 824 17350– 17450 1411 1256
3050– 3150 173 155 7850– 7950 556 465 12650– 12750 988 833 17450– 17550 1420 1265
3150– 3250 180 160 7950– 8050 565 472 12750– 12850 997 842 17550– 17650 1429 1274
3250– 3350 187 165 8050– 8150 574 479 12850– 12950 1006 851 17650– 17750 1438 1283
3350– 3450 194 170 8150– 8250 583 486 12950– 13050 1015 860 17750– 17850 1447 1292

3450– 3550 201 175 8250– 8350 592 493 13050– 13150 1024 869 17850– 17950 1456 1301
3550– 3650 208 180 8350– 8450 601 500 13150– 13250 1033 878 17950– 18050 1465 1310
3650– 3750 215 185 8450– 8550 610 507 13250– 13350 1042 887 18050– 18150 1474 1319
3750– 3850 222 190 8550– 8650 619 514 13350– 13450 1051 896 18150– 18250 1483 1328
3850– 3950 229 195 8650– 8750 628 521 13450– 13550 1060 905 18250– 18350 1492 1337
3950– 4050 236 200 8750– 8850 637 528 13550– 13650 1069 914 18350– 18450 1501 1346

4050– 4150 243 205 8850– 8950 646 535 13650– 13750 1078 923 18450– 18550 1510 1355
4150– 4250 250 210 8950– 9050 655 542 13750– 13850 1087 932 18550– 18650 1519 1364
4250– 4350 257 215 9050– 9150 664 549 13850– 13950 1096 941 18650– 18750 1528 1373
4350– 4450 264 220 9150– 9250 673 556 13950– 14050 1105 950 18750– 18850 1537 1382
4450– 4550 271 227 9250– 9350 682 563 14050– 14150 1114 959 18850– 18950 1546 1391
4550– 4650 278 234 9350– 9450 691 570 14150– 14250 1123 968 18950– 19050 1555 1400
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Tax tables for Form 40S and Form 40
Use column S if you are Use column J if you are

• Married filing jointly
• Single • Head of household
• Married filing separately • Widow(er) with dependent child

If income If income If income If income
from Form from Form from Form from Form

40S line 16, 40S line 16, 40S line 16, 40S line 16,
or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you
line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column

But But But But
At less At less At less At less

least than least than least than least than

$19,050 – 23,850 $23,850 – 28,650 $28,650 – 33,450 $33,450 – 38,250

S J

JS JJS S S J
19050– 19150 1564 1409 23850– 23950 1996 1841 28650– 28750 2428 2273 33450– 33550 2860 2705
19150– 19250 1573 1418 23950– 24050 2005 1850 28750– 28850 2437 2282 33550– 33650 2869 2714
19250– 19350 1582 1427 24050– 24150 2014 1859 28850– 28950 2446 2291 33650– 33750 2878 2723
19350– 19450 1591 1436 24150– 24250 2023 1868 28950– 29050 2455 2300 33750– 33850 2887 2732
19450– 19550 1600 1445 24250– 24350 2032 1877 29050– 29150 2464 2309 33850– 33950 2896 2741
19550– 19650 1609 1454 24350– 24450 2041 1886 29150– 29250 2473 2318 33950– 34050 2905 2750

19650– 19750 1618 1463 24450– 24550 2050 1895 29250– 29350 2482 2327 34050– 34150 2914 2759
19750– 19850 1627 1472 24550– 24650 2059 1904 29350– 29450 2491 2336 34150– 34250 2923 2768
19850– 19950 1636 1481 24650– 24750 2068 1913 29450– 29550 2500 2345 34250– 34350 2932 2777
19950– 20050 1645 1490 24750– 24850 2077 1922 29550– 29650 2509 2354 34350– 34450 2941 2786
20050– 20150 1654 1499 24850– 24950 2086 1931 29650– 29750 2518 2363 34450– 34550 2950 2795
20150– 20250 1663 1508 24950– 25050 2095 1940 29750– 29850 2527 2372 34550– 34650 2959 2804

20250– 20350 1672 1517 25050– 25150 2104 1949 29850– 29950 2536 2381 34650– 34750 2968 2813
20350– 20450 1681 1526 25150– 25250 2113 1958 29950– 30050 2545 2390 34750– 34850 2977 2822
20450– 20550 1690 1535 25250– 25350 2122 1967 30050– 30150 2554 2399 34850– 34950 2986 2831
20550– 20650 1699 1544 25350– 25450 2131 1976 30150– 30250 2563 2408 34950– 35050 2995 2840
20650– 20750 1708 1553 25450– 25550 2140 1985 30250– 30350 2572 2417 35050– 35150 3004 2849
20750– 20850 1717 1562 25550– 25650 2149 1994 30350– 30450 2581 2426 35150– 35250 3013 2858

20850– 20950 1726 1571 25650– 25750 2158 2003 30450– 30550 2590 2435 35250– 35350 3022 2867
20950– 21050 1735 1580 25750– 25850 2167 2012 30550– 30650 2599 2444 35350– 35450 3031 2876
21050– 21150 1744 1589 25850– 25950 2176 2021 30650– 30750 2608 2453 35450– 35550 3040 2885
21150– 21250 1753 1598 25950– 26050 2185 2030 30750– 30850 2617 2462 35550– 35650 3049 2894
21250– 21350 1762 1607 26050– 26150 2194 2039 30850– 30950 2626 2471 35650– 35750 3058 2903
21350– 21450 1771 1616 26150– 26250 2203 2048 30950– 31050 2635 2480 35750– 35850 3067 2912

21450– 21550 1780 1625 26250– 26350 2212 2057 31050– 31150 2644 2489 35850– 35950 3076 2921
21550– 21650 1789 1634 26350– 26450 2221 2066 31150– 31250 2653 2498 35950– 36050 3085 2930
21650– 21750 1798 1643 26450– 26550 2230 2075 31250– 31350 2662 2507 36050– 36150 3094 2939
21750– 21850 1807 1652 26550– 26650 2239 2084 31350– 31450 2671 2516 36150– 36250 3103 2948
21850– 21950 1816 1661 26650– 26750 2248 2093 31450– 31550 2680 2525 36250– 36350 3112 2957
21950– 22050 1825 1670 26750– 26850 2257 2102 31550– 31650 2689 2534 36350– 36450 3121 2966

22050– 22150 1834 1679 26850– 26950 2266 2111 31650– 31750 2698 2543 36450– 36550 3130 2975
22150– 22250 1843 1688 26950– 27050 2275 2120 31750– 31850 2707 2552 36550– 36650 3139 2984
22250– 22350 1852 1697 27050– 27150 2284 2129 31850– 31950 2716 2561 36650– 36750 3148 2993
22350– 22450 1861 1706 27150– 27250 2293 2138 31950– 32050 2725 2570 36750– 36850 3157 3002
22450– 22550 1870 1715 27250– 27350 2302 2147 32050– 32150 2734 2579 36850– 36950 3166 3011
22550– 22650 1879 1724 27350– 27450 2311 2156 32150– 32250 2743 2588 36950– 37050 3175 3020

22650– 22750 1888 1733 27450– 27550 2320 2165 32250– 32350 2752 2597 37050– 37150 3184 3029
22750– 22850 1897 1742 27550– 27650 2329 2174 32350– 32450 2761 2606 37150– 37250 3193 3038
22850– 22950 1906 1751 27650– 27750 2338 2183 32450– 32550 2770 2615 37250– 37350 3202 3047
22950– 23050 1915 1760 27750– 27850 2347 2192 32550– 32650 2779 2624 37350– 37450 3211 3056
23050– 23150 1924 1769 27850– 27950 2356 2201 32650– 32750 2788 2633 37450– 37550 3220 3065
23150– 23250 1933 1778 27950– 28050 2365 2210 32750– 32850 2797 2642 37550– 37650 3229 3074

23250– 23350 1942 1787 28050– 28150 2374 2219 32850– 32950 2806 2651 37650– 37750 3238 3083
23350– 23450 1951 1796 28150– 28250 2383 2228 32950– 33050 2815 2660 37750– 37850 3247 3092
23450– 23550 1960 1805 28250– 28350 2392 2237 33050– 33150 2824 2669 37850– 37950 3256 3101
23550– 23650 1969 1814 28350– 28450 2401 2246 33150– 33250 2833 2678 37950– 38050 3265 3110
23650– 23750 1978 1823 28450– 28550 2410 2255 33250– 33350 2842 2687 38050– 38150 3274 3119
23750– 23850 1987 1832 28550– 28650 2419 2264 33350– 33450 2851 2696 38150– 38250 3283 3128
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Tax tables for Form 40S and Form 40
Use column S if you are Use column J if you are

• Married filing jointly
• Single • Head of household
• Married filing separately • Widow(er) with dependent child

If income If income If income If income
from Form from Form from Form from Form

40S line 16, 40S line 16, 40S line 16, 40S line 16,
or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you or Form 40 and you
line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column line 29 is use column

But But But But
At less At less At less At less

least than least than least than least than

$38,250 – 41,250 $41,250 – 44,250 $44,250 – 47,250 $47,250 – 50,001

S J

JS JJS S S J
38250– 38350 3292 3137 41250– 41350 3562 3407 44250– 44350 3832 3677 47250– 47350 4102 3947
38350– 38450 3301 3146 41350– 41450 3571 3416 44350– 44450 3841 3686 47350– 47450 4111 3956
38450– 38550 3310 3155 41450– 41550 3580 3425 44450– 44550 3850 3695 47450– 47550 4120 3965
38550– 38650 3319 3164 41550– 41650 3589 3434 44550– 44650 3859 3704 47550– 47650 4129 3974
38650– 38750 3328 3173 41650– 41750 3598 3443 44650– 44750 3868 3713 47650– 47750 4138 3983
38750– 38850 3337 3182 41750– 41850 3607 3452 44750– 44850 3877 3722 47750– 47850 4147 3992

38850– 38950 3346 3191 41850– 41950 3616 3461 44850– 44950 3886 3731 47850– 47950 4156 4001
38950– 39050 3355 3200 41950– 42050 3625 3470 44950– 45050 3895 3740 47950– 48050 4165 4010
39050– 39150 3364 3209 42050– 42150 3634 3479 45050– 45150 3904 3749 48050– 48150 4174 4019
39150– 39250 3373 3218 42150– 42250 3643 3488 45150– 45250 3913 3758 48150– 48250 4183 4028
39250– 39350 3382 3227 42250– 42350 3652 3497 45250– 45350 3922 3767 48250– 48350 4192 4037
39350– 39450 3391 3236 42350– 42450 3661 3506 45350– 45450 3931 3776 48350– 48450 4201 4046

39450– 39550 3400 3245 42450– 42550 3670 3515 45450– 45550 3940 3785 48450– 48550 4210 4055
39550– 39650 3409 3254 42550– 42650 3679 3524 45550– 45650 3949 3794 48550– 48650 4219 4064
39650– 39750 3418 3263 42650– 42750 3688 3533 45650– 45750 3958 3803 48650– 48750 4228 4073
39750– 39850 3427 3272 42750– 42850 3697 3542 45750– 45850 3967 3812 48750– 48850 4237 4082
39850– 39950 3436 3281 42850– 42950 3706 3551 45850– 45950 3976 3821 48850– 48950 4246 4091
39950– 40050 3445 3290 42950– 43050 3715 3560 45950– 46050 3985 3830 48950– 49050 4255 4100

40050– 40150 3454 3299 43050– 43150 3724 3569 46050– 46150 3994 3839 49050– 49150 4264 4109
40150– 40250 3463 3308 43150– 43250 3733 3578 46150– 46250 4003 3848 49150– 49250 4273 4118
40250– 40350 3472 3317 43250– 43350 3742 3587 46250– 46350 4012 3857 49250– 49350 4282 4127
40350– 40450 3481 3326 43350– 43450 3751 3596 46350– 46450 4021 3866 49350– 49450 4291 4136
40450– 40550 3490 3335 43450– 43550 3760 3605 46450– 46550 4030 3875 49450– 49550 4300 4145
40550– 40650 3499 3344 43550– 43650 3769 3614 46550– 46650 4039 3884 49550– 49650 4309 4154

40650– 40750 3508 3353 43650– 43750 3778 3623 46650– 46750 4048 3893 49650– 49750 4318 4163
40750– 40850 3517 3362 43750– 43850 3787 3632 46750– 46850 4057 3902 49750– 49850 4327 4172
40850– 40950 3526 3371 43850– 43950 3796 3641 46850– 46950 4066 3911 49850– 49950 4336 4181
40950– 41050 3535 3380 43950– 44050 3805 3650 46950– 47050 4075 3920 49950– 50001 4345 4190
41050– 41150 3544 3389 44050– 44150 3814 3659 47050– 47150 4084 3929
41150– 41250 3553 3398 44150– 44250 3823 3668 47150– 47250 4093 3938

TAX RATE CHARTS

If your taxable income from Form 40, line 29 is more than $50,000, you must use the tax rate charts below to
compute your tax liability.

Tax Rate Chart B:

For persons filing
JOINTLY, HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD or QUALIFYING

WIDOW(ER) WITH DEPENDENT CHILD

If your taxable income is: Your tax is:

Over $50,000 ............................ $4,190 plus 9% of excess over $50,000

Tax Rate Chart A:

For persons filing
SINGLE OR MARRIED FILING SEPARATELY

If your taxable income is: Your tax is:

Over $50,000 ......................... $4,345 plus 9% of excess over $50,000
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Form 40S line instructions/15

Exemptions
6a and 6b. Yourself and spouse. Check “Yourself”
and other boxes that apply. If you can be claimed as
a dependent on someone else’s return, you can’t
claim an exemption for yourself on your Oregon
return.

Severely disabled. Did you have a severe disability at
the end of 1996? If so, you may claim an additional ex-
emption credit. You are considered to have a severe dis-
ability if any of the following apply:

• You permanently lost the use of one or both feet.
• You permanently lost the use of both hands.
• You have a permanent condition that, without special

equipment or help, limits your ability:
— To earn a living, or
— To maintain a household, or
— To transport yourself.

Special equipment doesn’t include such items as glasses,
ordinary crutches, hearing aids, or contact lenses.

Generally, a condition caused by the normal aging pro-
cess does not qualify.

You don’t qualify for this exemption if:

• You have a temporary disability from an injury or ill-
ness and are expected to recover, or

• Your condition keeps you from doing your former
work but allows you to do other kinds of work with-
out special equipment.

If you have a permanent severe disability, your physi-
cian must write a letter describing your disability. Keep
the letter with your tax records.

Check the “Severely disabled” exemption box. If your
spouse qualifies, he or she may also claim this exemp-
tion. You and your spouse may also qualify for the credit
for the loss of use of limbs. See instructions on page 16.

6c. Dependents. Enter the number of your children
claimed as dependents and other dependents in box 6c.
Fill in the first names of your children and other depen-
dents. In most cases, you must claim the same number
of dependents as claimed on your federal return.

6d. Disabled child. You may have an additional ex-
emption for your dependent child with disabilities. To
qualify, your child must meet all of the following:

• Qualify as your dependent.
• Be age 17 or younger on December 31, 1996.
• Be eligible for “early intervention services” or diag-

nosed with disabilities for special education purposes.
Learning disabilities alone don’t qualify for this
exemption.

• Your child must have a health-related disability requir-
ing special education as defined by the Oregon De-
partment of Education. This includes:

— Autism.
— Visual impairment.
— Mental retardation.
— Serious emotional disturbance.
— Traumatic brain injury.
— Hearing impairment.
— Orthopedic impairment.
— Multiple disabilities.

Your child must have been diagnosed as of Decem-
ber 31, 1996, through the child’s local school district
by a qualified examiner authorized by the Oregon
Department of Education.

Get a statement of eligibility that confirms one of the
disabilities listed above and the cover sheet from one of
the following:

• The child’s Individualized Education Program (IEP).
• The child’s Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP).

Keep the statement and cover sheet with your tax
records. Write in your child’s name on “Disabled chil-
dren only,” line 6d. Also be sure to include the child’s
name on line 6c for “Dependents.”

7. Age 65 or older, or blind. Check the boxes on line
7 if you or your spouse were age 65 or older or were
blind on December 31. Check the same boxes you
checked on your federal return. Use this information to
compute your standard deduction. See page 8. If you or
your spouse are blind, you may also qualify for an ad-
ditional exemption credit. See lines 6a and 6b above.

Line instructions
The following instructions are for lines not fully
explained on the form.

8. Wages. Fill in all pay for work (shown on your W-2s)
plus your taxable scholarships and fellowship grants.

9. Interest. Fill in your total interest. Include:

• Any interest received or credited to your account so
you could withdraw it.

• Any interest received on tax refunds.

If you have interest from the U.S. government, other than
tax refund interest, file Oregon Form 40.

10. Dividends. Fill in your total dividends. If you have
dividends that are nontaxable distributions, use Form 40.

11. Unemployment. Fill in all unemployment com-
pensation. This is the amount on federal Form 1040, line
19, Form 1040A, line 12, or Form 1040EZ, line 3.

13. 1996 federal tax liability.

Caution: Carefully follow the instructions below. Don’t
confuse your federal tax liability on your federal re-
turn with the federal tax withheld on your W-2. They
are not the same.
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Limit: You may deduct up to $3,000 of your total fed-
eral income tax liability. Don’t fill in less than -0-
or more than $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing
separately).

Fill in your federal tax liability from:

• Form 1040EZ, line 10 minus line 8, or
• Form 1040A, line 25 minus line 29c, or
• Form 1040, line 44 minus line 54.

Is the IRS figuring your federal tax for you? Fill
in as much of your Oregon Form 40S as possible.
Do not write an amount on line 13. Attach a copy
of your federal Form 1040, 1040A, or 1040EZ. We will
use that information to determine your federal tax
liability. If you need help, see page 32 for numbers
to call.

16. Oregon taxable income. Caution: Is the amount
on this line more than $50,000? If so, you must use Form
40, pages 23–26.

19. Child and dependent care credit. You are al-
lowed an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the fed-
eral child and dependent care credit. You may still be
able to claim the Oregon credit even if you can’t use all
of your federal credit.

Use the following worksheet:

1. Enter the amount from federal 1. _________
Form 2441, line 7, or Form
1040A, Schedule 2, line 7.

2. Enter the decimal amount from 2.  ×      .
the following table.

If your federal
taxable income

from Form 1040, Your
line 37, or decimal

Form 1040A, amount
line 22 is: is:

Over— But not over—
—— $ 5,000 .30

$ 5,000 10,000 .15
 10,000 15,000 .08
 15,000 25,000 .06
 25,000 35,000 .05
 35,000 45,000 .04
 45,000 —— .00

3. Multiply the child care expenses 3. _________
on line 1 by the decimal amount
on line 2. Enter the result here.

4. Multiply your 1995 child and depen- 4. _________
dent care expenses you included
in the computation of your federal
1996 credit by the decimal amount
that applies to your 1995 federal
taxable income. Enter the result.

5. Add the amounts on lines 3 and 4. 5. _________
Enter here and on Form 40S,
line 19.

Carryover. Your total 1996 child care credit can’t be
more than your tax liability for Oregon. Any excess credit
can be carried forward over the next five years. If the
excess isn’t used within five years, it’s lost. See instruc-
tions for line 21.

20. Political contribution credit. Fill in your total po-
litical contributions, but not more than $100 on a joint
return or $50 on all others. The contribution must have
been made during 1996. It must have been a donation
of money to any of the following:

• A political party.
• A qualified candidate (or the candidate’s principal cam-

paign committee) for federal, state, or local office to
be voted on in Oregon.

• A political committee organized only to support or
oppose ballot measures to be voted on in Oregon.

21. Other credits.

• Child and dependent care credit carryover from
prior years. Fill in the carryover amount on line 21.
See page 29 of Form 40 instructions.

• Credit for the elderly or the disabled. The Oregon
credit is 40 percent of the federal credit. You get an
Oregon credit only if you qualify for the federal credit.

Multiply the amount on federal Schedule R, line 20,
or Form 1040A, Schedule 3, line 20 by .40 (40%).

• Credit for income tax paid to another state. You
may be eligible for this credit if you paid income tax
to another state. See pages 28 and 29 of Form 40 in-
structions to figure your credit.

• Credit for home care of an elderly person. See
page 29 of Form 40 instructions.

• Credit for loss of use of limbs. If you have a per-
manent and complete loss of the use of two limbs, you
may take a tax credit of $50. If your spouse qualifies,
he or she may also claim a $50 credit. You can’t claim
this credit for a dependent.

Obtain a Disability Certification Form the first year you
file for the credit. Get the form from your county public
health officer. The health officer must sign the form.
Keep the form with your tax records.

You also qualify for an additional exemption for se-
verely disabled persons. See page 15.

The following credits apply to only a few people and
aren’t explained in this booklet. See page 32 to get more
information on these credits.

• Child development.
• Rural medical practitioners or rural dentists.
• Involuntary moving of a mobile home.



29. Alzheimer’s Disease Research. Your donation
goes to the Alzheimer’s Research Alliance of Oregon for
research on Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders.

Alzheimer’s Research Alliance
PO Box 10051
Portland OR 97210

30. Stop Domestic and Sexual Violence. Your do-
nation will fund programs through the Oregon Coalition
Against Domestic and Sexual Violence.

OCADSV
520 NW Davis, Suite 310
Portland OR 97209

31. AIDS/HIV Research, Education, and Services.
Your donation will fund AIDS/HIV research, education,
and services by the Living with HIV Fund.

The Research and Education Group
PO Box 40104
Portland OR 97240

33. Net refund. The Oregon Department of Revenue
cannot refund amounts less than $5. Generally, the de-
partment cannot issue a refund when the return is filed
more than three years after the due date of the return.

Donations from refund/17

24. Oregon income tax withheld from wages.
Fill in the total Oregon tax withheld from your wages.
That’s the amount shown on your wage slips (W-2
forms) in box 18. Don’t use the FICA (Social Security)
amount.

Staple readable copies of your wage slips and 1099s
with Oregon withholding to the lower front of your re-
turn. If you don’t have a W-2 form, you must provide
other proof of any tax withheld from your wages. Proof
may include a final paycheck stub or a letter from your
employer. We can’t accept anything but W-2 forms until
after February 1.

If you paid estimated tax for 1996, you must use
Form 40.

If you have tax to pay, you may want to increase
the amount your employer withholds from your wages
for Oregon. If you and your spouse both work, see
page 32 to order the information circular, “Oregon In-
come Tax Withholding: Some Special Cases,” 150-
206-643.

25. Tax-to-pay. Attach a check or money order to your
return on top of the W-2s. Make checks or money or-
ders payable to “Oregon Department of Revenue.” Do
not make your check out to “IRS” or “Internal Revenue
Service.” Write your Social Security number and “1996
Form 40S” on your check. Don’t send cash or postdated
checks. Stop here on the form.

If you owe more than $500, you should have made esti-
mated tax payments. See instructions for interest on un-
derpayment of estimated tax on page 30.

Lines 27–31. You must have a refund of $5 or
greater on line 26 to use lines 27–31. Donations will
reduce your refund. If you don’t have a refund on line
26 but you want to contribute, mail your donations to
the addresses below.

27. Oregon Nongame Wildlife. Your donation will
fund the protection of nongame wildlife and its habitat.

Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife
Attention: Fiscal Manager
PO Box 59
Portland OR 97207

28. Child Abuse Prevention. Your donation will fund
programs through the Children’s Trust Fund to help pre-
vent child abuse and neglect.

Children’s Trust Fund
800 NE Oregon St., Suite 1140
Portland OR 97232

Double-check your figures, including your So-
cial Security number. The most common mistakes
are math errors and the amount claimed for the fed-
eral tax subtraction. Accuracy speeds the process-
ing of your return.

Sign your return (both spouses must sign on a
joint return).

Staple readable copies of wage slips and 1099s
showing Oregon withholding to the front of the form.

Labels will speed processing your return. If you
received a label, please attach it to the return you
mail to the department.

Mail your return in a stamped envelope. Use
a business envelope (4 × 91⁄2 inches) to speed pro-
cessing of your return. Remember to use enough
postage.

Mail refund returns or no-tax-due returns to:
REFUND, PO Box 14700, Salem OR 97309-0930.

Mail tax-to-pay returns to: Oregon Department
of Revenue, PO Box 14555, Salem OR 97309-0940.

If you can’t pay now, file your return anyway. The
Department of Revenue will work with you to set
up a payment plan on a case-by-case basis.
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Form 40 instructions
Do your federal return first. Use the information from
your federal return to complete your Oregon return.

You must attach a copy (front and back) of your fed-
eral 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040PC to your Oregon
tax return. Don’t attach any federal schedules such
as A, B, C, D, Form 2441, etc.

Keep a complete copy of your federal and state re-
turns. Also, keep the original of all papers or re-
ceipts you used to prepare your return. Save these
records for at least three years.

Fiscal year filers
Write “Fiscal Year” in the center at the top of the form.
Use red ink. Fill in the date your fiscal year ended.

Address section
Label. If you received a label with this tax booklet, please
use it on the income tax return you mail to the depart-
ment. Your return will be processed faster. Don’t attach
the label to your return until the return is completed. If
someone else prepares your return, ask them to use
your label.

Make sure the label is correct. If it isn’t, mark through
the incorrect information and make corrections on the
label. If you don’t have a label, print or type your name,
address, and Social Security number on your return.

Social Security number. The request for your Social
Security number(s) is authorized by Section 405, Title 42,
of the United States Code. You must give us this infor-
mation. It will be used to establish your identity for tax
purposes.

Check the boxes

Filing status

Check the box next to your filing status. Check the same
filing status you checked on your federal return. If you
and your spouse don’t have the same residency status,
you may file separate returns for Oregon even if you filed
married filing jointly for federal. See pages 5 and 6 for
exceptions.

If you are married filing separately, fill in your
spouse’s name and Social Security number next to box
number 3. Don’t fill in your spouse’s name or Social Se-
curity number in the heading of the return.

If you are filing as head of household, fill in the name
of the qualifying person from your federal return by box
number 4.

Exemptions

6a and 6b. Yourself and spouse. Check “Yourself”
and other boxes that apply. If you can be claimed as
a dependent on someone else’s return, you can’t
claim an exemption for yourself on your Oregon
return.

Severely disabled. Did you have a severe disability at
the end of 1996? If so, you may claim an additional ex-
emption credit. You are considered to have a severe dis-
ability if any of the following apply:

• You permanently lost the use of one or both feet.
• You permanently lost the use of both hands.
• You have a permanent condition that, without special

equipment or help, limits your ability:
— To earn a living, or
— To maintain a household, or
— To transport yourself.

Special equipment doesn’t include such items as glasses,
ordinary crutches, hearing aids, or contact lenses.

Generally, a condition caused by the normal aging pro-
cess does not qualify.

You don’t qualify for this exemption if:

• You have a temporary disability from an injury or ill-
ness and are expected to recover, or

• Your condition keeps you from doing your former
work but allows you to do other kinds of work with-
out special equipment.

If you have a permanent severe disability, your physi-
cian must write a letter describing your disability. Keep
the letter with your tax records.

Check the “Severely disabled” exemption box. If your
spouse qualifies, he or she may also claim this exemp-
tion. You and your spouse may also qualify for the credit
for the loss of use of limbs. See instructions on page 29.

6c. Dependents. Enter the number of your children
claimed as dependents and other dependents in box 6c.
In most cases, you must claim the same number of de-
pendents as claimed on your federal return.

6d. Disabled child. You may have an additional ex-
emption for your dependent child with disabilities. To
qualify, your child must meet all of the following:

• Qualify as your dependent.
• Be age 17 or younger on December 31, 1996.
• Be eligible for “early intervention services” or diag-

nosed with disabilities for special education purposes.
Learning disabilities alone don’t qualify for this
exemption.
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• Your child must have a health-related disability requir-
ing special education as defined by the Oregon De-
partment of Education. This includes:

— Autism.
— Visual impairment.
— Mental retardation.
— Serious emotional disturbance.
— Traumatic brain injury.
— Hearing impairment.
— Orthopedic impairment.
— Multiple disabilities.

Your child must have been diagnosed as of Decem-
ber 31, 1996, through the child’s local school district,
by a qualified examiner authorized by the Oregon
Department of Education.

Get a statement of eligibility which confirms one of the
disabilities listed above and the cover sheet from one of
the following:

• The child’s Individualized Education Program (IEP).
• The child’s Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP).

Keep the statement and cover sheet with your tax
records. Write in your child’s name on “Disabled chil-
dren only,” line 6d. Also be sure to include the child as
an exemption in the total for line 6c.

7. Age 65 or older, or blind. Check the boxes on line
7 if you or your spouse were age 65 or older or were
blind on December 31. Check the same boxes you
checked on your federal return. Use this information
to compute your standard deduction. See page 22. If
you or your spouse are blind, you may also qualify for
an additional exemption credit. See lines 6a and 6b on
page 18.

Line instructions
The following instructions are for lines not fully
explained on the form.

Additions
Additions increase your federal adjusted gross income.

9. Interest on government bonds of other states.
If you didn’t include this interest in your federal income,
fill in the interest you received from state and local gov-
ernments other than Oregon. Generally, you don’t pay
federal tax on this interest. But you do pay Oregon tax.
Example: Include interest from State of Washington
bonds or from San Francisco city bonds. Leave out in-
terest from Oregon government bonds and interest from
U.S. territories or possessions (such as Guam, Puerto
Rico, and the Virgin Islands).

10. Other additions. Identify the additions you are re-
porting in the space on the form.

• Federal election on interest and dividends of a
minor child. Did you make the election to report in-
terest or dividends of your minor child on your fed-
eral return? If so, you must add the amount that is
subject to the special federal tax to Oregon income.
On Form 40, line 10, fill in the smaller of line 6 or 7
from federal Form 8814, plus $150.

• Federal income tax refunds. Did you get a federal
tax refund in 1996 because you filed an amended fed-
eral return for a prior year, or were you audited? If so,
you may need to include the refund on line 10. If you
need help, see page 32 for numbers to call.

• Unused business credits. Did you claim a deduction
on your federal return for unused business credits? If
so, these must be added back to Oregon income. Un-
used business credits taken as a federal deduction must
be added back to Oregon income.

• Difference in depreciation for Oregon. Oregon
requires a 1996 one-time depreciation adjustment. See
page 3. You may need the Oregon Depreciation Sched-
ule and instructions. To order, write to: Forms, Oregon
Department of Revenue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR
97309-0990. Or see page 32 for numbers to call. Is your
Oregon depreciation less than your federal deprecia-
tion? If so, fill in the amount from line 5 of the Or-
egon Depreciation Schedule. If not, see instructions for
Form 40, line 18.

• Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduc-
tion. Did you claim Oregon gambling losses as an
itemized deduction on your federal Schedule A? For
Oregon purposes, gambling losses are limited to gam-
bling winnings taxed by Oregon. If you need help, see
page 32 for numbers to call.

• Lump-sum payment from a qualified retirement
plan. Did you use the 5- or 10-year averaging method
for federal purposes? If so, all or part of your lump-
sum distribution must be added to income on your
Oregon return. The amount of the addition is the to-
tal of your ordinary income portion and your capital
gain portion. Include the capital gain portion only if
you did not include it in your federal adjusted gross
income. This information is on the federal Form 1099R
your employer gave you. Fill in this sum on line 10.
Attach a copy of federal Form 1099R to your Oregon
return with your wage slips.

• Other additions. The following additions apply to
only a few people and are not explained in this book-
let. If you need help, see page 32.
— Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property.
— Depletion in excess of property basis.
— Sale of Oregon inherited farm or forest property

acquired from a decedent who died before Janu-
ary 1, 1987.

— Passive losses.
— Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and

simple or complex trusts.
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Subtractions
Subtractions reduce your federal adjusted gross income.

13. 1996 federal tax liability. Caution: Carefully follow
the instructions below. Don’t confuse your federal tax li-
ability calculated on your federal return with the federal
tax withheld on your W-2. They are not the same.

Limit: You may deduct up to $3,000 of your total fed-
eral income tax liability. Don’t fill in less than -0-
or more than $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing
separately).

Fill in your federal tax liability from:

• Form 1040, line 44 minus line 54, or
• Form 1040A, line 25 minus line 29c, or
• Form 1040EZ, line 10 minus line 8.

On your federal return did you have:

• Alternative minimum tax, Form 1040, line 46?
• Recapture taxes included on Form 1040, line 51?
• Tax on qualified retirement plans, Form 1040, line 48?

If so, include these in your federal tax.

Caution: Don’t add:

• Self-employment tax, Form 1040, line 45.
• Social Security and Medicare tax on tips, Form 1040,

line 47.
• Advance earned income credit payments, Form 1040,

line 49, or Form 1040A, line 26.
• Household employment taxes, Form 1040, line 50, or

Form 1040A, line 27.

Did you pay additional federal tax in 1996 because
you were audited or you filed an amended return?
If so, read the instructions for line 18.

Note: Your federal tax subtraction, line 13, plus your
foreign tax subtraction (from “Other subtractions,” line
18) can’t exceed $3,000.

14. Social Security income. Write in the amount, if
any, from federal Form 1040, line 20b, or Form 1040A,
line 13b. If you have Tier 2, windfall/dual-vested, or
supplemental Railroad retirement benefits, read the in-
structions for line 18.

15. Oregon income tax refund included in federal
income. Fill in your Oregon income tax refund from
your federal Form 1040, line 10.

16. Interest and dividends from U.S. government.
Fill in interest and dividends from the U.S. government
that you included on your federal return. Include U.S.
government interest and dividends you got through part-
nerships or grantor trusts. Examples: interest from U.S.
Series EE and HH bonds, and Treasury bills and notes.
You may also subtract interest and dividends paid to you
by organizations that invest in U.S. government securi-

ties. Check the information on your Form 1099. The
payer may have given the percentage of interest and divi-
dends from U.S. government securities.

U.S. government interest and dividends must be reduced
by any interest expense relating to U.S. government ob-
ligations you deducted on your federal Schedule A.

When you sell or dispose of a U.S. government obliga-
tion, you must include any gain or loss in income.

17. Deferral of reinvested gain. You may defer gain
on the sale of certain business assets if you reinvest pro-
ceeds in qualifying business assets within six months.
Attach the form “Oregon Deferral of Reinvested Gain”
to the back of your return. For more information or to
get the form, see page 32.

18. Other subtractions. You may qualify for other sub-
tractions explained below. Identify the subtraction in the
space on the form.

• Military active duty. You may qualify for three dif-
ferent subtractions for U.S. military active duty pay. To
be eligible for the subtractions, the active duty pay
must be included in federal income.

The Oregon military active duty pay subtractions are
as follows:

1. If you entered the military for the first time in 1996
or if you were discharged from military service in
1996, you can subtract all military active duty in-
come earned outside Oregon.

2. You can subtract active duty pay earned outside
Oregon from January 1 through the date the Presi-
dent sets as the end of combat activities in the Per-
sian Gulf. The date was not set when this
publication was printed.

3. Whether or not you are eligible for the other mili-
tary subtractions, you may still subtract up to $3,000
of active duty pay. The subtraction for each spouse
receiving active duty pay is limited to $3,000.

Reserve summer camp is active duty. However, drills
and weekend meetings of reserve units aren’t active
duty. If you are in the guards or the reserves, and your
W-2 form doesn’t show a separate amount for active
duty, contact your paymaster.

Note: You may qualify for more than one military ac-
tive duty pay subtraction. However, your total subtrac-
tion cannot exceed your total active duty pay income.

Enter the total of your military subtractions on line 18.
Label it “Military active duty pay.”

Example 1. Denise enlisted in the Navy in 1993. From
January 1, 1996, until August 15, 1996, she was sta-
tioned in Hawaii. From August 15 until the end of the
year she served in Oregon as a recruiter. For 1996 she
earned the following active duty pay: $10,000 in Ha-
waii and $6,000 in Oregon. Combat activities have not
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ended in the Persian Gulf. She is eligible for the fol-
lowing subtractions: $10,000 earned outside of Oregon
during the time of the Persian Gulf crisis, and $3,000
earned within the state, for a total of $13,000.

Example 2. In 1996, Andy was stationed in Omaha,
Nebraska. He spent more than 30 days in Oregon.
Andy had lived in Oregon before enlisting in the Army.
He earned $25,000 for the year—$3,200 earned after
December 1. If the President declared the end of the
combat activities in the Persian Gulf on December 1,
his subtraction is figured as follows: Active duty pay
earned outside of Oregon before Persian Gulf combat
activities ended is $21,800 ($25,000 – $3,200). Active
duty pay earned in Oregon is limited to $3,000 for a
total subtraction of $24,800.

Example 3. Paul is an officer in the Air Force Reserve.
He earned $3,300 from reserve summer camp and ad-
ditional active duty days in Oregon. He earned $4,200
during the year for weekend drills and meetings of his
reserve unit. Since all of his active duty pay was earned
in Oregon, he only qualifies for the $3,000 subtraction.
Therefore, his total subtraction is $3,000.

Example 4. Natasha enlisted in the Army April 15 and
was stationed overseas. She earned $8,000 in 1996. She
qualifies for the year-of-entry subtraction of $8,000 and
for the $3,000 subtraction. She also qualifies for a sub-
traction for active duty pay earned outside of Oregon.
However, her total military active duty pay subtraction
cannot exceed $8,000.

Example 5. Ryan served in a combat zone from Janu-
ary 1 until May 9. He filed jointly with his wife who
lives in and maintains a residence in Oregon. He
earned $8,000 combat pay. He was transferred to Ger-
many for the rest of 1996 where he earned an addi-
tional $15,000 of active duty pay. The President did
not declare an end to the combat activities in 1996.
Ryan excluded his $8,000 combat pay on his federal
return, so he can’t subtract it on his Oregon return.
Therefore, his Oregon subtraction is limited to $15,000,
the amount earned outside of Oregon and included in
federal income.

• Federal tax from a prior year. Did you pay addi-
tional federal tax in 1996 because you were audited
or you amended a prior year’s return? If so, you may
be able to subtract the additional tax. This subtraction
applies only to additional tax you paid because your
return was changed. It doesn’t include the tax from the
original return or interest or penalties you paid.

To figure your subtraction for federal tax from a prior
year, follow these steps:

1987 and after:

Step 1: From $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing separately)
subtract your federal tax, Form 40, line 13.

Step 2: On Form 40, line 18, fill in the lesser of:

— The amount you figured in step 1, or
— Additional federal tax from a prior year.

Label the line “Prior year’s federal tax” and list the
year(s) involved.

For information on 1986 and before, see page 32 for
numbers to call.

• Difference in depreciation for Oregon. Oregon re-
quires a 1996 one-time depreciation adjustment. See
page 3. You may need the Oregon Depreciation Sched-
ule and instructions. To order, write to: Forms, Oregon
Department of Revenue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR
97309-0990. Or see page 32 for numbers to call. Is your
Oregon depreciation more than your federal depre-
ciation? If so, fill in the amount from line 5 of the Or-
egon Depreciation Schedule. If not, see the instructions
for Form 40, line 10.

• Difference in home mortgage interest for Oregon.
Did you claim a mortgage interest credit on your fed-
eral return? If so, you may claim a subtraction on your
Oregon return for the home mortgage interest not in-
cluded in your itemized deductions reported on your
federal return. You must itemize deductions for Oregon
to claim this subtraction.

• Payments from IRAs, Keoghs, 403(b), and 457
plans. You may be able to subtract some of your pay-
ments if all of the following apply:
— You contributed to an IRA, Keogh, 403(b), or 457

plan when you were a nonresident;
— You paid tax on these contributions in your state

of residence; and
— You did not receive a tax benefit for these contri-

butions by any other state.

If you qualify, you may subtract an amount equal to the
amount of contributions that were taxed in another state.
Once your subtractions equal the contributions that were
previously taxed, all other payments are taxable.

• Lottery winnings included on your federal return.
Did you include winnings from the Oregon Lottery or
Powerball on your federal return? These winnings are not
taxed by Oregon. Fill in the total Oregon Lottery and
Powerball winnings from your federal return. Label the
line, “Oregon Lottery.” Do you have Oregon Lottery losses
claimed as an itemized deduction? If so, see page 19.

• Logger’s and construction worker’s commuting
costs. You may claim the cost of getting to job sites
more than 50 miles from your home. You must be a
bucker or a faller with your own equipment and be
paid on a per unit cut basis or be a member of a rec-
ognized construction trade, craft, or union.

Commuting costs are gas, oil, upkeep, and repairs. You
may claim only the actual costs of commuting. Don’t
use the federal mileage rate. You can’t claim meals or
lodging. Construction workers can’t claim more than
one year of commuting costs for the same job site.
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Continued on page 27

Keep a record of your actual costs. Be sure to label
this subtraction as “Commuting costs.” Don’t include
any costs you claimed as employee business expenses
in your itemized deductions.

• American Indian. Are you an enrolled member of a
federally recognized tribe? If so, you may subtract any
income earned while living and working in “Indian
country.” Indian country means those areas set aside
for the residence of tribal Indians. It includes reser-
vation land and other land held in trust by the United
States for a tribe. Label the line “American Indian” and
include your tribal enrollment number on line 18.

• Federal tax credits. Did you claim a federal tax credit,
such as a jobs credit or business credit? If so, you may
have been required to reduce your federal expenses
because you claimed that credit. You may also claim
those unallowed expenses as a subtraction for Oregon.

• Interest on government bonds of Oregon. Were
you required to include interest from Oregon state and
local government bonds in your federal income? If so,
fill in the amount included on federal Form 1040, line
8a, and label it “Interest on Oregon bonds.”

• Other subtractions. The following subtractions ap-
ply to only a few people and are not explained in this
booklet. If you need help, see page 32.
— Foreign tax.
— Gain or loss on the sale of depreciable property.
— Artists who make a charitable art donation.
— Tier 2, windfall/dual-vested, or supplemental Railroad

retirement and Railroad unemployment benefits.
— Passive losses.
— Local private activity bond interest.
— Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and

simple or complex trusts.
— Underground storage tank pollution grant.
— JOBS Plus Program payments.

must itemize deductions. You can do this by filling out
a Schedule A for both federal and Oregon or filling out
one for Oregon only. (Keep your Schedule A with your
tax records.)

24. State income tax claimed as an itemized
deduction. Fill in the amount of Oregon income
tax you claimed as an itemized deduction on federal
Schedule A.

Are you claiming a credit for income taxes paid to an-
other state? If so, include the other state’s tax after cred-
its on the mutually taxed income or the other state’s tax
claimed as an itemized deduction, whichever is less. See
instructions for line 38, pages 28 and 29.

Did you limit itemized deductions on your federal return
because your adjusted gross income exceeded $117,950
($58,975 if married filing separately)? If so, you may need
to complete a worksheet to figure how much Oregon
income tax to subtract from itemized deductions. See
page 32 to order the information circular, “Limit on Item-
ized Deductions,” 150-101-611.

26. Standard deduction. Generally, your standard de-
duction is based on your filing status as follows:

Single $1,800
Married filing jointly 3,000
Married filing separately 1,500
Head of household 2,640
Qualifying widow(er) 3,000

Caution: If you can be claimed as a dependent on an-
other person’s return, your standard deduction is limited
to the greater of:

1. $500, or
2. Your earned income. This is limited to the maximum

allowed for your filing status, as shown above. This
limit applies even if the other person can, but does
not, claim you as a dependent on his or her return.

Also: You are allowed an additional deduction amount
if you or your spouse are age 65 or older or blind. The
additional amount is based on your filing status:

Single or head of household—$1,200
All others—$1,000

Example. Al and Amy Edwards are filing a joint return.
Al is 70 years old and blind. Amy is 68. Their standard
deduction is figured as follows:

Married filing jointly $3,000
Additional amount due to Al’s age 1,000
Additional amount due to Amy’s age 1,000
Additional amount due to Al’s blindness 1,000

Total standard deduction $6,000

Fill in the total standard deduction on line 26, Form 40.

Deductions
You may claim either net itemized deductions or
Oregon’s standard deduction, whichever is larger.

• If you claim itemized deductions, fill in lines 21–25.
• If you claim the standard deduction, fill in line 26 only.

Note: Married persons filing separate returns must item-
ize deductions if their spouse itemizes. Don’t claim the
standard deduction if your spouse itemizes.

21. Itemized deductions. Generally, you may claim
your total itemized deductions shown on federal Sched-
ule A, line 28. But there is an exception. If you item-
ize for Oregon only, fill out a separate Schedule A for
Oregon. You may claim itemized deductions for Oregon,
even if you couldn’t on your federal return. Keep the
Schedule A with your tax records.

22. Special Oregon medical deduction. Were you or
your spouse age 60 or older on December 31, 1996? If
so, your deduction is the lesser of line 1 or line 3 from
your federal Schedule A. To claim this deduction, you
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27. Total deductions. Enter line 25 or line 26, which-
ever is larger.

Oregon tax

30. Oregon tax. Figure the tax on your Oregon tax-
able income, line 29. Use the tax tables or rate charts
on pages 12–14.

Example 1. A single Oregon taxpayer has taxable in-
come of $19,500. The tax from the table on page 13 is
$1,600.

Example 2. A married couple has Oregon taxable in-
come of $69,500. They are filing jointly. They use the
married filing jointly rate chart B. They figure their tax
like this:

Oregon taxable income $69,500
Tax on first $50,000 of taxable
income $4,190

Tax on next $19,500 of taxable
income ($19,500 × .09): 1,755

Their Oregon tax $5,945

31. Interest on certain installment sales. Do you
have installment sales on which you were required to
pay interest on the deferred tax liability for federal pur-
poses? If so, you must also compute interest for Oregon.
The amount due for Oregon is computed the same way
as was done for federal. The current interest rate is .8333
percent per month.

Credits
Credits reduce your Oregon tax.

34. Retirement income credit. Were you age 60 or
older on December 31, 1996, and receiving retirement
income? If so, you may qualify for a credit. Retirement
income includes payments included in federal taxable
income from a:

• U.S. government pension (includes military).
• State or local government pension.
• Employee pension.
• Individual retirement plan.
• Deferred compensation plan including defined benefit,

profit sharing, and 401(k).
• Employee annuity plan.

Use the worksheet below to figure your credit.

PART 1

• General Limits

You don’t qualify for this credit if:

— The person receiving the retirement income was
less than age 60 on December 31, 1996,

— Your household income is $22,500 or more
($45,000 or more if married filing jointly), or

— You received more than $7,500 ($15,000 if married
filing jointly) in Social Security and/or Tier 1 Rail-
road retirement benefits.

PART 2

• Determining Household Income Limits

See “What is included in household income?” below
to determine your household income.

1. Enter household income. 1. __________
2. Household income base. 2. __________

Enter $15,000 ($30,000
if married filing jointly).

3. Line 1 minus line 2, but 3. __________
not less than -0-.

PART 3

• Determining Credit Amount

1. Enter $7,500 ($15,000 if married 1. __________
filing jointly).

2. Enter both spouses’ total Social 2. __________
Security and Tier 1 Railroad
retirement benefits.

3. Line 1 minus line 2 but not 3. __________
less than -0-.

4. Enter household income limit 4. __________
from Part 2, line 3.

5. Line 3 minus line 4, but not 5. __________
less than -0-.

6. Enter taxable retirement 6. __________
income of the eligible
individual(s).

7. Enter the lesser of line 5 7. __________
or line 6.

8. Multiply line 7 by .09 (9%) 8. __________
and enter the result here
and on Form 40, line 34.

The credit is limited to your tax liability. There is no
carryover. You may claim this credit or the credit for the
elderly or the disabled, but not both.

What is included in household income? Household
income includes all income (both taxable and nontax-
able) received during the year except Social Security and
Tier 1 Railroad retirement benefits. Include gross income
reduced by adjustments reported in your federal adjusted
gross income (AGI).

What is not included in household income? State tax
refunds received during the year are not included in
household income. Also, pension income received that
is a return of your contributions is not included. Do not
include pension distributions which you “roll over” into
an individual retirement account (IRA).
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To determine household income, separate income (or loss)
from businesses, farms, rentals or royalties, and disposi-
tions of tangible or intangible property. Combine all income
from a particular source to arrive at the net income or loss
from that source. Any net loss from the source is limited
to $1,000. Net operating loss carrybacks or carryovers are
not allowed. Capital loss carryovers are not allowed.

For example, you own a farm and have a $3,000 loss. You
also are a partner in a partnership whose main activity is
farming. You have income from the partnership of $1,000.
Your net farm loss is $2,000. You may claim only $1,000
of this loss to compute your household income. Any net
loss you have from any of the other sources mentioned in
the previous paragraph is also limited to $1,000 each.

If the combined total of your depreciation, depletion, and
amortization deductions exceeds $5,000, the excess must
be added back into household income. You must also
increase your household income by the Oregon income
tax modification for depletion in excess of basis.

Example. Felipe has a business which had gross income
of $27,000 for the year. He has an $11,000 depreciation
deduction. Other business expenses are $20,000. He re-
ports a business loss for federal purposes of $4,000
($27,000 – ($20,000 + $11,000)). With his depreciation
deduction limited to $5,000, the business income he in-
cludes in household income is $2,000, figured as follows:
$27,000 – ($20,000 + $5,000) = $2,000.

You also need to include items not in your federal AGI.
These items include but are not limited to:

• Veteran’s and military benefits.
• Gifts and grants (total amount minus $500).
• Disability pay.
• Nontaxable dividends (other than “return of capital”

dividends).
• Inheritances.
• Insurance proceeds.
• Nontaxable interest.
• Lottery winnings.
• Railroad retirement benefits (Tier 2 only).
• Scholarships.
• Strike benefits.
• Welfare benefits.

If you need more information, see page 32.

35. Child and dependent care credit. You are al-
lowed an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the fed-
eral child and dependent care credit. You may still be
able to claim the Oregon credit even if you can’t use all
of your federal credit. Use the following worksheet to
figure your credit for Oregon.

1. Enter the amount from federal 1. _________
Form 2441, line 7, or Form
1040A, Schedule 2, line 7.

2. Enter the decimal amount from 2.  ×       .
the following table.

If your federal
taxable income

from Form 1040, Your
line 37, or decimal

Form 1040A, amount
line 22 is: is:

Over— But not over—
—— $ 5,000 .30

$ 5,000 10,000 .15
10,000 15,000 .08
15,000 25,000 .06
25,000 35,000 .05
35,000 45,000 .04
45,000 —— .00

3. Multiply the child care expenses 3. _________
on line 1 by the decimal amount
on line 2. Enter the result here.

4. Multiply your 1995 child and depen- 4. _________
dent care expenses you included
in the computation of your federal
1996 credit by the decimal amount
that applies to your 1995 federal
taxable income. Enter the result.

5. Add the amounts on lines 3 and 4. 5. _________
Enter here and on Form 40,
line 35.

Carryover. Your total 1996 child care credit can’t be
more than your tax liability for Oregon. Any excess credit
can be carried forward over the next five years. If the
excess isn’t used within five years, it’s lost. See instruc-
tions for line 39.

36. Credit for the elderly or the disabled. The Or-
egon credit is 40 percent of the federal credit. You get
an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the federal credit.

Multiply the amount on federal Schedule R, line 20, or
Form 1040A, Schedule 3, line 20, by .40 (40%).

Note: You may claim this credit or the retirement income
credit, line 34, but not both.

37. Political contribution credit. Fill in your total po-
litical contributions, but not more than $100 on a joint
return, or $50 on all others. The contribution must have
been made during 1996. It must have been a donation
of money to any of the following:

• A political party.
• A qualified candidate (or the candidate’s principal cam-

paign committee) for federal, state, or local office to
be voted for in Oregon.

• A political committee organized only to support or
oppose ballot measures to be voted on in Oregon.

38. Credit for income tax paid to another state. Did
you pay income taxes to another state? If so, you may
be able to claim this credit. You must have income that
is taxed by both Oregon and the other state during 1996.
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If you were a full-year Oregon resident and had income
taxed by Arizona, California, Indiana, or Virginia, you
may not claim the credit on your Oregon return. You may
claim the credit on your nonresident return filed with the
other state. If income is taxed by Oregon and another
state not listed here, claim the credit on line 38 of your
Oregon resident return.

This credit is only for state income tax. You can’t claim
this credit for city or county income tax, sales tax, prop-
erty tax, school tax, or building funds.

Your credit is the lesser of the following:

• The other state’s tax after credits.
• Your Oregon tax liability.
• The amount figured using the following formula:

Your adjusted gross income
taxed by both states

Your Oregon tax after
Your modified

×
subtracting all other credits

adjusted gross income

Divide your adjusted gross income (AGI) taxed by both
states by your modified AGI. Multiply the result by your
Oregon tax after subtracting all other credits.

If you file Form 40S, your modified AGI is line 12.

If you file Form 40, your modified AGI usually equals
the sum of lines 8 and 9 minus lines 14–17. Add amounts
on line 10 only if they’re income that Oregon taxes but
the federal government doesn’t. Subtract amounts on line
18 only if they’re income that the federal government
taxes but Oregon doesn’t.

Caution: You can’t claim this credit and also claim the
tax you paid as an itemized deduction. On Form 40, line
24, in addition to the Oregon tax you claim as an item-
ized deduction, fill in the lesser of the following:

• The other state’s tax claimed as an itemized deduction.
• The other state’s tax after credits.

Attach a copy of the other state’s return and proof
of payment to your Oregon return.

39. Other credits. You may be entitled to other cred-
its listed below. Identify the credit you are claiming on
line 39 in the space on the form.

• Child and dependent care credit carryover from
prior years. Fill in the carryover amount on line 39.
Label the line “Child care credit carryover.” The amount
of the prior year carryover plus your current year’s
credit can’t exceed your Oregon tax liability. Any ex-
cess credit can be carried forward over the next five
years. If the excess isn’t used within five years, it’s lost.

• Credit for loss of use of limbs. If you have a per-
manent and complete loss of the use of two limbs, you
may take a tax credit of $50. Your spouse may also
claim a $50 credit if he or she qualifies. You can’t claim
this credit for a dependent.

Obtain a Disability Certification Form the first year
you file for the credit. Get the form from your county
public health officer. The health officer must sign the
form. Keep the form with your tax records.

You also qualify for the severely disabled exemption.
See instructions on page 18.

• Credit for alternative energy devices. You must in-
stall solar devices or ground loop systems that provide
10 percent or more of an Oregon home’s energy. See
page 32 to order the information circular, “Alternative
Energy Devices,” 150-101-641.

• Sewage treatment works hookup credit. Oregon
residents could claim a credit for the cost of installing
or connecting to specific sewage treatment works. The
connection must have been required by an order from
the Assistant Director for Health issued after January
1, 1988, and before July 1, 1995. Claim one-fifth of the
expenses each year, for five years, limited to $160 per
year.

• Credit for home care of an elderly person. You
may be eligible for this credit if your household income
is less than $17,500 and you pay expenses for the care
of someone age 60 or older. The care must keep that
person from being placed in a nursing home. That
person’s household income must be $7,500 or less. See
page 32 to order the information circular, “Home Care
for the Elderly Credit,” 150-101-653, and form 150-101-
024, “Credit for Home Care of an Elderly Person.” The
Oregon Department of Human Resources must
certify that the elderly person qualifies.

• Other credits. The following credits apply to only a
few people and aren’t explained in this booklet. See
page 32 to get more information.

— Bone marrow donation program.

— Business energy.

— Child development.

— Crops donated to gleaning cooperatives.

— Dependent care assistance.

— Farmworker housing.

— Fish habitat improvements.

— Fish screening devices.

— Involuntary moving of a mobile home.

— Oregon tax on gain mutually taxed by another state
or country. The gain must be from the sale of your
home.

— Pollution control facilities.

— Pollution prevention credit.

— Reclaimed plastic (investment in capital assets).

— Reforestation of underproductive forest lands.

— Rural medical practitioners or rural dentists.

— Youth apprenticeship program.



30/Tax payments in 1996

Tax payments made in 1996

42. Oregon income tax withheld from income.
Fill in the total amount of Oregon tax withheld from
your wages. That’s the amount shown on your W-2
in box 18 or 1099R forms, box 10. Don’t use FICA (So-
cial Security) tax withheld. Don’t use tax withheld
from your wages by other states. Staple readable cop-
ies of your W-2 or 1099R forms to the lower front of
your return.

If you don’t have a W-2, you must provide other proof
of any tax withheld from your wages. Proof may in-
clude a final paycheck stub or a letter from your em-
ployer. We can’t accept anything but W-2 forms until
after February 1.

Attach a copy of your 1099 forms if you have any Or-
egon state tax withheld.

If you have tax to pay, you may want to increase the
amount your employer withholds from your wages for
Oregon. If you and your spouse both work, see page
32 to order the information circular, “Oregon Income Tax
Withholding: Some Special Cases,” 150-206-643.

43. Estimated tax you paid for the 1996 tax year.
Fill in the total estimated tax payments you made before
filing your Oregon return. Include any payments you
made with your extension. Also include any refund ap-
plied from your 1995 income tax return.

47. Penalty and interest.

Due date. Your return is due by April 15, 1997, unless
you get an extension.

Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you:

• Mail your tax-to-pay after April 15 (even if you have
an extension).

• File your income tax return showing a tax-to-pay af-
ter the due date, including any extension.

Penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid balance of your tax.
If you file more than three months late, add an additional
20 percent penalty. See pages 4 and 5 for how to avoid
incurring a penalty.

Interest. Are you filing your return or paying your tax
after April 15, 1997? If you are, include interest on any
unpaid tax.

The current interest rate is .8333 percent per month (10
percent per year). A full month, for example, is April 16
to May 15.

Interest is figured daily for periods of less than a month.
Here’s how to figure daily interest:

Tax  ×  .000274  ×  number of days

If the tax is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the in-
terest rate increases to 14 percent per year.

48. Interest on underpayment of estimated tax.
You have an underpayment if you paid less than 90 per-
cent of the tax due on each estimated tax payment date.

You don’t have an underpayment if you:

• Didn’t need to pay estimated tax at any time for 1996,
and

• Owe less than $500 tax on your 1996 tax return.

The tax you owe is net income tax less your Oregon
withholding.

If you have an underpayment or meet an exception, you
must file Oregon Form 10, “Underpayment of Oregon
Estimated Tax.” See page 32 to order Form 10.

On Form 40, line 48, fill in the amount of interest due
from Form 10 and check the box. Attach Form 10 to
the back of the return.

50. Amount-you-owe. Attach a check or money or-
der to your return on top of the W-2s. Make checks or
money orders payable to “Oregon Department of Rev-
enue.” Do not make your check out to “IRS” or “Inter-
nal Revenue Service.” Write your Social Security number
and “1996 Form 40” on your check. Don’t send cash or
postdated checks. Stop here on the form.

Special instructions. Do you owe interest and have
an overpayment on line 45? If your overpayment is less
than the interest due, fill in the result of line 49 minus
line 45.

If you owe more than $500, you should have made esti-
mated tax payments. See instructions for line 48 above.

51. Refund. You must have a refund of $5 or greater
on line 51 to use lines 52–57.

52. Estimated tax. If your refund is $5 or more, you
may apply part or all of your refund, line 51, to your 1997
Oregon estimated income tax. Fill in the amount you
want to apply.

Charitable Checkoffs. Donations will reduce your
refund. If you don’t have a refund on line 51 but you
want to contribute, mail your donations to the ad-
dresses below.

53. Oregon Nongame Wildlife. Your donation will
fund the protection of nongame wildlife and its habitat.

Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife
Attention: Fiscal Manager
PO Box 59
Portland OR 97207

54. Child Abuse Prevention. Your donation will fund
programs through the Children’s Trust Fund to help pre-
vent child abuse and neglect.

Children’s Trust Fund
800 NE Oregon St., Suite 1140
Portland OR 97232



Double-check your figures, including your So-
cial Security number. The most common mistakes
are math errors and the amount claimed for the
federal tax subtraction. Accuracy speeds the pro-
cessing of your return.

Sign your return (both spouses must sign on a
joint return).

Staple readable copies of wage slips and 1099s
showing Oregon withholding to the front of the
return.

Labels will speed processing your return. If you
receive a label, please attach it to the return you
mail to the department.

Mail your return in a stamped envelope. Use a
business envelope (4 × 91⁄2 inches) to help speed
processing of your return. Remember to use
enough postage.

Mail refund returns or no-tax-due returns to:
REFUND, PO Box 14700, Salem OR 97309-0930.

Mail tax-to-pay returns to: Oregon Department
of Revenue, PO Box 14555, Salem OR 97309-0940.

If you can’t pay now, file your return anyway. The
Department of Revenue will work with you to set
up a payment plan on a case-by-case basis.

Donations from refund/31

55. Alzheimer’s Disease Research. Your donation
goes to the Alzheimer’s Research Alliance of Oregon for
research on Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders.

Alzheimer’s Research Alliance
PO Box 10051
Portland OR 97210

56. Stop Domestic and Sexual Violence. Your do-
nation will fund programs through the Oregon Coalition
Against Domestic and Sexual Violence.

OCADSV
520 NW Davis, Suite 310
Portland OR 97209

57. AIDS/HIV Research, Education, and Services.
Your donation will fund AIDS/HIV research, education,
and services by the Living With HIV Fund.

The Research and Education Group
PO Box 40104
Portland OR 97240

59. Net refund. You must reduce your refund by any
amounts applied to 1997 estimated tax. Be sure to in-
clude the amount entered on line 52 in the total on line
58. The Oregon Department of Revenue cannot refund
amounts less than $5. Generally, the department cannot
issue a refund when the return is filed more than three
years after the due date of the return.



Printed information (free)   State forms only

(Check individual boxes to order. Clip on the dotted line, then mail
in the entire list with your return address. These forms and circulars
are also available on the Internet.)

Alternative Energy Devices 150-101-641
Computing Interest on Tax You Owe 150-800-691
Credit for Income Tax Paid to

Other States 150-101-646
Oregon Deferral of Reinvested Gain 150-101-614
Depreciation form 150-101-025
Elderly Rental Assistance booklet 150-545-002
Estimated Tax circular 150-101-648
Estimated Tax coupons 150-101-026-2

and instructions 150-101-026
Home Care for the Elderly Credit 150-101-653
Interest and Dividends on

U.S. Bonds and Notes 150-101-615
Interstate Transportation Wages 150-101-601
Limit on Itemized Deductions 150-101-611
Married Persons Filing Separate

Returns 150-101-656
Military Personnel Filing

Information 150-101-657

Habla Español?
Las personas que necesitan asistencia en Español pueden
dejar un mensaje. El número disponible todo el año en
Salem es (503) 945-8618.

A message line is available all year for those who need assis-
tance in Spanish. The number in Salem is (503) 945-8618.

To get forms
Income tax booklets are available at post offices and
some banks and libraries. Or write to: Forms, Oregon
Department of Revenue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-
0990.  Our Internet address is: http://www.dor.state.or.us

The offices below provide forms and answer questions.
Don’t send your return to these addresses.

Salem* Portland**
Revenue Building Federal Building Lobby
First floor, Room 135 1220 SW Third Ave.
955 Center St. NE Portland Oregon
Salem OR 97310

* 7:45 A.M.– 5 P.M. Monday–Friday, except holidays.
**We’ll provide walk-in help from 9 A.M.– 4 P.M., Monday–Friday, ex-

cept holidays, January 2–April 15 only.

Correspondence. Use the Salem address above. Include
your Social Security number and a daytime telephone
number. Including both will allow us to help you faster.

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act
(ADA), this information is available in alternative formats
upon request by calling (503) 378-4988.

Do you need help?

Call: Salem (503) 378-4988

*Toll-free within Oregon 1-800-356-4222
*The toll-free number is only
 available January through April.

For touchtone phones, our telephone voice response
system has recorded tax information about many of your
Oregon tax questions. You can also order tax forms. This
service is available 24 hours a day.

Once you’re in the system, push:

1—For personal income tax refund information (begin-
ning March l).

2—To order current year or amended forms.
(Some federal forms available.)

6—For other information.

0—For assistance from a representative.

Representatives are available: 7:30 A.M.–5:10 P.M.
Monday–Friday, except Wednesday when the
hours are 9 A.M.–5:10 P.M. Closed on holidays. From
April 1–April 15, representatives are available from
7 A.M. until 7 P.M., Monday–Friday.

TTY (hearing or speech impaired only). These numbers
are answered by machine only and are not for voice
use. The year-round toll-free number within Oregon is
1-800-886-7204. In Salem, the number is (503) 945-8617.

✂
Oregon Income Tax Withholding:

Some Special Cases 150-206-643
Political Contributions 150-101-662
Record Keeping Requirements 150-101-608
Retirement Income 150-101-673
Senior Citizen’s Property Tax

Deferral 150-310-675
What To Do if You are Audited 150-101-607
Your Rights as an Oregon

Taxpayer 150-800-406
List of other printed information:

Forms/Publications Request 150-800-390

Send to: Forms
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14999
Salem OR 97309-0990

Please print

Your name ____________________________________

Address ______________________________________

City __________________________________________

State ______________________ ZIP ____________

32/How to get help 150-101-043 (Rev. 12-96)

Taxpayer assistance


