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In compliance with the Amer-
icans with Disabilities Act
(ADA), this information is
available in alternative formats
by calling (503) 378-4988.

Forms 40N & 40P with Instructions

Oregon
Do you need help?

If you have questions or want to
order forms, you can call us 24
hours a day. Call:

Salem (503) 378-4988
Toll-free within Oregon

1-800-356-4222

The toll-free number is only
available from January through
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Salem (503) 945-8617
Toll-free within Oregon

1-800-886-7204

Oregon Dept. of Revenue
When printing this form you may need to reduce this page so that all information will print. Select "Print" and click in the box for "Shrink to Fit."

Thank you.
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Federal tax law changes
Retirement income. Federal law prohibits Oregon from
taxing nonresidents’ retirement income benefits received
on or after January 1, 1996.

Depreciation differences

Oregon requires a one-time adjustment in 1996 for cer-
tain depreciation differences:

• Election to expense certain tangible property
(Section 179 expense). If you claimed an Oregon ad-
dition or subtraction for 1993 or 1994 due to the Om-
nibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993, you may
amend your 1993 or 1994 Oregon return to increase
your Oregon Section 179 expense.

If you choose not to amend your 1993 or 1994 return
for these depreciation differences, you must claim the
difference as part of the one-time adjustment on your
1996 Oregon return.

• Assets placed in service between 1981 and 1985
(ACRS assets). You must make a one-time adjustment
to align your Oregon basis with your federal basis on
your 1996 Oregon return.

• Nonresidential real property placed in service in
1993 or 1994. You must amend your 1993 or 1994
Oregon returns to report a change from 311/2 years to
39 years. The one-time adjustment does not apply to
these assets.

If you need help with these items, see page 32.

Oregon tax information

Active duty pay income will continue to be subtracted
from Oregon income if it was earned outside Oregon
from August 1, 1990, through the date the President sets
as the end of combat activities in the Persian Gulf. See
page 14, “Military active duty.”

• Deferral of reinvested gain. Beginning in 1996, you
may defer gain on the sale of certain business assets
if you reinvest proceeds in qualifying business assets
within six months. Attach the form “Oregon Deferral
of Reinvested Gain,” to your Oregon return. See page
32 for assistance.

• Estimated taxes. Oregon has adopted the federal re-
quirements for making estimated tax payments. Refer
to the 1996 Form 10 or 1997 estimated tax instructions.
See page 32 for assistance and to order forms.

• Retirement income credit (page 29) and special
Oregon medical deduction (page 17). The minimum
age requirement is 60.
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If you have disabilities and need special accommo-
dations, see page 32 for numbers to call and places
to get help.

The following instructions aren’t a complete state-
ment of laws and Oregon Department of Revenue
rules. You may need more information or forms.
See page 32.

New information
Reminder. Do not file all of your federal
return with your Oregon return. File only:

• Oregon Form 40N or 40P with W-2s and all 1099s
showing Oregon tax withholding.

• Your payment, attached on top of the W-2 forms.
• Front and back of the federal form (1040, 1040A,

1040EZ, 1040PC).
• If applicable, Oregon Form 10, “Underpayment

of Oregon Estimated Tax.”
• If applicable, proof to claim “Credit for Income

Tax Paid to Another State.” See pages 30 and 31.
• If applicable, the form “Oregon Deferral of Re-

invested Gain.”

Don’t attach any federal schedules such as A, B,
C, D, Form 2441, etc. We receive some federal
schedule information electronically. We may, how-
ever, ask you for certain information later.

Oregon law follows federal law as of April 15, 1995.
Oregon does not follow federal tax law changes after that
date. Differences in Oregon taxable income caused by
federal laws passed after April 15, 1995, are considered
Oregon “additions” or “subtractions.” For the 1996 tax
year, most items are treated the same way on your Or-
egon and federal returns.
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Oregon sources. If you do, or if your spouse worked in
Oregon, you should file Form 40N.

Residents stationed in Oregon. If you are an Oregon
resident stationed in Oregon, you should use Form 40
in the full-year booklet.

Residents stationed outside Oregon. If you are an
Oregon resident stationed outside Oregon, you may
file using Form 40N if you meet all of the following
requirements:

• You didn’t have a personal residence in Oregon for
yourself or your family during any part of 1996,

• Your personal residence was outside Oregon during
all of 1996, and

• You spent less than 31 days in Oregon during 1996.

Write “Military nonresident” at the top of your return. Use
red ink. Include any other income taxable by Oregon.

If you don’t meet all three listed requirements, file Form
40 in the full-year resident booklet.

More information. Oregon provides more detailed
information for military personnel in an information
circular. See page 32 to order the circular or for
assistance.

Filing information
Should I file an Oregon return?

File if you have any income taxable by Oregon. Also
file if you want a refund of the Oregon tax that was with-
held from your wages.

Use Form 40N if:

• You are a nonresident, or
• You are a nonresident filing a joint return, and your

spouse is a full-year or part-year resident, or
• You and your spouse are both nonresidents filing

jointly.

Use Form 40P if:

• You are a part-year resident, or
• You are a part-year resident filing a joint return, and

your spouse is a full-year resident, or
• You and your spouse are both part-year residents fil-

ing jointly.

Use Form 40 or 40S if:

• You are a full-year resident, or
• You and your spouse are both full-year residents fil-

ing jointly.

Forms 40 and 40S are available at post offices and some
banks and libraries in Oregon. See page 32 to order
forms.

What income does Oregon tax?

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from all
sources.

Labels. If you received a label on this tax book-
let, please use it on the income tax return you mail
to the department. Make sure the label is correct.
If it isn’t, mark through the incorrect information
and make corrections on the label. If someone
else prepares your return, ask the preparer to
use your label. Your return will be processed
faster.

General information
Are you self-employed?
If you are self-employed and do business in Washing-
ton, Multnomah, or Clackamas counties, you may need
to file a Tri-Met Self-Employment tax return. If you are
self-employed and do business in Lane County, you
may need to file a Lane Transit District Self-Employ-
ment tax return. See page 32 to order forms or receive
information.

Residency
Am I a resident, a nonresident, or a part-year resi-
dent? The following will help you decide:

Resident. You are an Oregon resident, even if you live
outside Oregon, if all of the following are true:

• You think of Oregon as your permanent home,
• Oregon is the center of your financial, social, and fam-

ily life, and
• Oregon is the place you intend to come back to when

you are away.

Nonresident. You are a nonresident if your permanent
home is outside Oregon all year.

Part-year resident. You are a part-year resident if you
moved into or out of Oregon during 1996. You still are
a full-year resident if:

• You temporarily moved out of Oregon, or
• You moved back to Oregon after only a temporary

absence.

Special-case Oregon residents. File Form 40N if all the
following are true:

• You are an Oregon resident who lived outside Oregon
the entire year,

• You didn’t keep a home in Oregon during any part of
the year, and

• You spent less than 31 days in Oregon during the year.

Military
Nonresidents. Oregon doesn’t tax your military pay
while you are stationed in Oregon. You don’t need to
file an Oregon return unless you had income from other
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Part-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from all
sources earned or received while you were an Oregon
resident. Oregon also taxes your income from Oregon
sources while you were a nonresident.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes only your income from
Oregon sources.

What does income from Oregon sources include?

It includes income shown on your federal return from:

• Wages, fees, or income for services performed in Or-
egon, except for interstate transportation wages de-
scribed in “Interstate transportation wages” below.

• Businesses, S corporations, and partnerships located
in or doing business in Oregon.

• Oregon farms.
• Oregon estates and trusts.
• Sales of Oregon property.
• Rents and royalties for use of Oregon property.

If your Oregon wages are not stated separately on your
W-2, compute your Oregon source income using the fol-
lowing formula:

Days actually worked in Oregon Total Oregon
Days actually worked everywhere

× wages = wages

Do not include holidays, vacation days, and sick days
as actual work days. Do include sick pay, holiday pay,
and vacation pay in total wages.

Example. Jordan lives in Washington but works in Or-
egon. She worked 132 days in Oregon and 88 days in
Washington. She earned $50,000 in wages. She figured
her compensation subject to Oregon tax as follows:

Total days paid 260
Less: Vacation days (27)

Sick days (5)
Holidays (8)

Total days worked everywhere 220

Days actually worked in Oregon 132
×

Total Wages
= $30,000

Days actually worked everywhere 220 $50,000

Jordan’s compensation reported in the Oregon column
of Form 40N is $30,000.

Community property income. If you are a resident of
Oregon and your spouse is a resident of a state with
community property laws, you may be subject to tax on
part of your spouse’s income.

Community property laws in the state where your spouse
lives determine if you are taxed on any of your spouse’s
income. For example, Washington law recognizes the
right of a husband and wife to keep separate earnings,
as long as the earnings don’t involve income from real
property. You may need more information from the state
where your spouse resides.

What income is not included in Oregon sources?

• Interest and dividends, unless they are from an Oregon
business you own.

• Interstate transportation wages from an interstate
railroad company, interstate motor carrier, or private
motor carrier. You must be a nonresident and have
regularly assigned duties in more than one state. You
must be a driver, mechanic, freight handler, or some-
one who directly affects the safety of a commercial
motor vehicle. See page 32 to order the information
circular, “Interstate Transportation Wages.”

• Retirement income received while you were a nonresi-
dent is still considered Oregon source income. How-
ever, Oregon is prohibited from taxing it.

May I round off cents to the nearest whole dollar?

Yes. You may round off cents to the nearest whole dol-
lar on your return and schedules. If you round off, do
so for all amounts. You may drop amounts less than 50
cents. Increase amounts from 50 to 99 cents to the next
dollar. For example, $12.15 becomes $12 and $233.50
becomes $234.

Is my tax return private information?

Yes. Any Oregon Department of Revenue employee who
gives out unauthorized information about your return
may be convicted of a class C felony.

I’m getting an income tax refund this year. When
will I get my check?

• If you file your return before April 1:
— Labeled returns—allow 4–6 weeks.
— Unlabeled returns—allow 6–8 weeks.

• If you file your return on or after April 1:
— Add 2–3 weeks to the above.

Exceptions: If there is a mistake on your return, your
refund will be delayed. By law, the Oregon Department
of Revenue cannot issue refund amounts less than
$5. Generally, the department cannot issue a refund
when your return is filed more than three years after the
due date.

When should I file my return?

File as soon as possible. The filing deadline for calen-
dar year 1996 is April 15, 1997.

Returns for other tax periods are due by the 15th day of
the fourth month after the close of your tax year.

Should I put my return together in a special order?

Yes. Put your Oregon return in the following order to
speed processing. Top to bottom:

1. Form 40N or 40P with W-2s and all 1099s showing
Oregon tax withholding stapled to the lower front.

2. Attach any payment on top of the W-2 forms.
3. Copy of federal Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or

1040PC.
4. If applicable, Oregon Form 10, “Underpayment of

Oregon Estimated Tax.”
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5. If applicable, proof to claim “Credit for Income Tax
Paid to Another State.”

6. If applicable, the form “Oregon Deferral of Reinvested
Gain.”

Note: Be sure the second page of your return is the same
form as the first page. Example: If you file Form 40N,
be sure that “Page 2—Form 40N 1996” is printed at the
top of the second page.

Extensions
Do you owe tax and need more time to file?

• If you have an extension to file your federal return,
Oregon allows you the same extension. If you had a
federal extension, check the “Extension Filed” box
on your Oregon return when you file.
— To avoid penalty and interest, pay any tax due by

April 15, 1997. Attach payment to a separate copy
of your federal extension.

— Include the amount you paid with your extension
on Form 40N, line 62, or Form 40P, line 62, when
you file your return.

• If you need an extension of time to file for Oregon
only, send us a federal extension form before April
15, 1997. Write “For Oregon only” across the top. In-
clude your payment. Send your extension and payment
to: Extension Clerk, Oregon Department of Revenue,
PO Box 14950, Salem OR 97309-0980.

Check the “Extension Filed” box on your Oregon re-
turn when you file. We’ll notify you only if your ex-
tension is denied.

More time to file doesn’t
mean more time to pay!

You must pay the tax due when filing your extension.
If you don’t pay all of the tax due with your extension,
you will owe interest after April 15, 1997, until the date
you pay. The current interest rate is 10 percent per year
(.8333 percent per month). If the tax is not paid within
60 days of our bill, the interest rate increases to 14 per-
cent per year.

You also will owe a 5 percent penalty if you pay after
April 15, 1997.

If you file more than three months late, an additional 20
percent penalty will be added.

Exception: You don’t have to pay a penalty if you do
all of the following:

1. Get an extension of time to file your return,
2. Pay at least 90 percent of the tax due by April 15,

1997,
3. Pay the balance of tax due at the time you file within

the extension period, and

4. Pay interest on the balance of tax due when you file
your return or within 30 days of our billing date.

Were you stationed in the Persian Gulf or another
designated combat area? Did you receive additional
time to file your 1996 federal return? If so, Oregon al-
lows the same additional time to file. Write “Desert Storm”
at the top of your form. Use red ink.

Do you need to file an amended Oregon return? File
an amended return if you need to correct your Oregon
return or if you were audited by the Internal Revenue
Service (IRS). You will need to use a nonresident or part-
year tax booklet and forms for the year being amended.
See page 32 for assistance and to order forms.

1997 estimated tax
Who must pay estimated tax?

In most cases, people who expect to owe $500 or
more on their 1997 Oregon income tax return.

The first payment is due April 15, 1997. The estimated
tax coupons and instructions and the information circu-
lar, “Estimated Tax,” have more information. See page
32 to order.

Fiscal year filers
Write “Fiscal year” in the center at the top of the form.
Use red ink. Be sure to fill in the date your fiscal year
ended.

Address section
Label. If you received a label with these tax instructions,
please use it on the return you mail to the department.

Make sure the label is correct. If it isn’t, mark through
the incorrect information and make corrections on the
label. If you don’t have a label, print or type your name,
address, telephone number, and Social Security number
on your return.

Social Security number. The request for your Social
Security number(s) is authorized by Section 405, Title 42,
of the United States Code. You must give us this infor-
mation. It will be used to establish your identity for tax
purposes.

Elderly Rental Assistance (ERA)
To qualify for an ERA refund, you must be a renter who
resided in Oregon on December 31, 1996, be age 58 or
older, have household income less than $10,000, and use
more than 20 percent of your household income to pay
for rent, fuel, and utilities. If you think you qualify, see
page 32 to order an ERA booklet.
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Continued on page 11

If possible, mail both Oregon returns in the same enve-
lope. Do not staple the returns together.

If filing as head of household, enter the name of the
qualifying person from your federal return by box 4.

Exemptions
6a and 6b. Yourself and spouse. Check “Yourself”
and other boxes that apply. If you can be claimed as a
dependent on someone else’s return, you can’t claim an
exemption for yourself on your Oregon return.

Severely disabled. If you had a severe disability at the
end of 1996, you may claim an additional exemption
credit. You are considered to have a severe disability if
any of the following apply:

• You permanently lost the use of one or both feet.
• You permanently lost the use of both hands.
• You have a permanent condition that, without special

equipment or help, limits your ability:
— To earn a living, or
— To maintain a household, or
— To transport yourself.

Special equipment doesn’t include such items as glasses,
contact lenses, ordinary crutches, or hearing aids.

Generally, a condition caused by the normal aging pro-
cess does not qualify.

You don’t qualify for this exemption if either of the fol-
lowing apply:

• You have a temporary disability from an injury or ill-
ness and are expected to recover, or

• Your condition keeps you from doing your former
work, but allows you to do other kinds of work with-
out special equipment.

If you have a permanent severe disability, your physi-
cian must write a letter describing your disability. Keep
the letter with your tax records.

Check the “Severely disabled” exemption box. If your
spouse qualifies, he or she may also claim this exemp-
tion. You and your spouse may also qualify for the credit
for loss of use of limbs. See page 32 for assistance.

6c. Dependents. Enter the number of your children
claimed as dependents and other dependents in box 6c.
In most cases, you must claim the same number of de-
pendents as claimed on your federal return.

6d. Disabled child. You may have an additional ex-
emption for your dependent child with disabilities. To
qualify, your child must meet all of the following:

• Qualify as your dependent.
• Be age 17 or younger.

Form 40N instructions

Use Form 40N if:

• You’re a nonresident, or
• You meet the exception under “Filing Status” below

and choose to file a joint return.

Fill out your federal return, then your Oregon return. You
must attach a copy (front and back) of your federal 1040,
1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040PC to your Oregon tax return.
Don’t attach any federal schedules such as A, B, C, D,
Form 2441, etc. Keep a complete copy of both your
federal and state returns. Also, keep all receipts,
cancelled checks, statements and other papers you
used to prepare your return for at least three years.
Save records for property and investments you bought
for at least three years after you sell the property.

See the instructions on page 5 for “Fiscal year filers” and
the “Address section.”

Check the boxes

Filing status
Check the box next to your filing status. Generally, you
must check the same filing status you checked on your
federal return.

Exception: If you and your spouse don’t have the same
residency status, you may file separate returns for Or-
egon even if you filed your federal return as married fil-
ing jointly. See page 32 to order the information circular,
“Married Persons Filing Separate Returns.” If both spouses
are nonresidents and you filed your federal return as
married filing jointly, you must file married filing jointly
on your Oregon return.

How to file separate returns:

If you are married filing separately, enter your
spouse’s name and Social Security number by box 3.
Don’t fill in your spouse’s name or Social Security num-
ber in the heading of the return.

If you file separate returns for Oregon only, report
your own share of income and deductions. Also report
your share of any Oregon additions or subtractions. To
figure your federal tax subtraction or itemized deductions,
use the following formula:

Your share of federal AGI
=

Your percentage
Joint federal AGI (not to exceed 100%)

In the center at the top of the Form 40N, write “MFS for
Oregon only.” Use red ink. Attach the following to both
Oregon returns:

• A federal Form 1040 or 1040A prepared as if you had
filed “married filing separately.”

• A copy of your joint Form 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ, or
1040PC.
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Continued from page 6

• Be in an Oregon school.
• Be eligible for “early intervention services” or diag-

nosed with disabilities for special education purposes.
Learning disabilities alone don’t qualify for this
exemption.

• Your child must have a health-related disability requir-
ing special education as defined by the Oregon De-
partment of Education, such as autism, hearing, visual
or orthopedic impairment, trainable mental retardation,
serious emotional disturbance, traumatic brain injury,
or multiple disabilities.

• Your child must have been diagnosed as of Decem-
ber 31, 1996, through the child’s local school district
by a qualified examiner authorized by the Oregon
Department of Education.

Keep a copy of the child’s statement of eligibility and
cover sheet of your child’s Individualized Education Pro-
gram (IEP) or Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP)
with your tax records.

Write in your child’s name on the “Disabled children
only” line. Also be sure to include the child as an ex-
emption in the total for line 6c.

7. Age 65 or older, or blind.

Check the boxes on line 7 if you or your spouse were
age 65 or older, or were blind on December 31, 1996.
Check the same boxes you checked on your federal re-
turn. Use this information to compute your standard de-
duction. See page 16. If you or your spouse are blind,
you may also qualify for an additional exemption credit.
See lines 6a and 6b on page 6.

Line instructions
The following instructions are for lines not fully
explained on the form.

Form 40N has two columns for figures.

The first column on Form 40N is labeled “Federal col-
umn.” In this column, lines 8 through 27, fill in the same
amounts you reported on your federal return. On lines
30 through 37, fill in the additions and subtractions as
they apply to your total federal income.

The second column on Form 40N is labeled “Oregon
column.” This column is where you list the amounts that
apply to Oregon.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes only your income from
Oregon sources. See “What does income from Oregon
sources include?” on page 4.

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from all
sources.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes your income from all
sources earned or received while you were an Oregon

resident. Oregon also taxes your income from Oregon
sources while you were a nonresident.

Income
8. Wages, salaries, and other pay for work.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—fill in the amount
earned while working in Oregon. If that amount differs
from the Oregon wages on your W-2 form, you must
attach an explanation from your employer to the back
of your return. If your Oregon wages are not stated sepa-
rately on your W-2, compute your Oregon source income
using the following formula:

Days actually worked in Oregon
× Total = Oregon

Days actually worked everywhere wages wages

Do not include holidays, vacation days, and sick days
as actual work days. Do include sick pay, holiday pay,
and vacation pay in total wages. See the example on
page 4.

Full-year and part-year residents—fill in amounts you
earned while an Oregon resident and any amounts
you earned working in Oregon while you were a non-
resident.

Exception: See “Interstate Transportation Wages,” page
4, to see if you qualify to exclude this income.

9. Taxable interest and dividend income.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—fill in only interest in-
come from an Oregon business you own. Fill in only the
dividends passed through to you from an S corporation
or partnership doing business in Oregon. These are divi-
dends your S corporation or partnership received on the
stock of another corporation.

Full-year and part-year residents:

9a. Figure the total interest you received while you were
an Oregon resident that is included on your federal
return. Add to that your share of interest income re-
ceived while you were a nonresident on funds used
for business activity in Oregon.

9b. Figure the total dividends you received while you
were an Oregon resident that are included on your
federal return. Add to that figure any dividends re-
ceived while you were a nonresident that were
passed through to you from an S corporation that has
no business activity outside of Oregon.

Add lines 9a and 9b. Fill in the total amount on line 9 in
the Oregon column.

Form 40N instructions
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10. State and local income tax refunds.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—fill in other state and
local income tax refunds for which you claimed a de-
duction on an Oregon return in a prior year. Fill in your
Oregon income tax refund if you included it as income
on your federal return. Full-year and part-year resi-
dents—fill in state and local income tax refunds received
while you were an Oregon resident that are included on
your federal return.

11. Alimony received.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any
amount. Full-year and part-year residents—fill in any ali-
mony you received while you were an Oregon resident.

12. Business income or loss.

Nonresidents must include income from an Oregon ac-
tivity. This includes apportioned business income and
allocated nonbusiness income from sole proprietorships.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—fill in the amount of
income or loss from an Oregon business. Full-year and
part-year residents—see page 4 for sources of income
to report to Oregon.

13. Capital gain or loss.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—fill in the amount of
gain or loss from Oregon sources and capital gain dis-
tributions from Oregon sources. Full-year and part-year
residents—see page 4 for sources of income to report
to Oregon. Limit net losses to $3,000 ($1,500 if married
filing separately).

14. Other gains or losses.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—fill in the amount of
gain or loss from Oregon sources. Full-year and part-year
residents—see page 4 for sources of income to report
to Oregon.

15. Total IRA distributions.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any
amount. Full-year and part-year residents—see page 4

for sources of income to report to Oregon. You may need
more information. See page 32 for assistance.

16. Pensions and annuities.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any
amount. Full-year and part-year residents—see page 4
for sources of income to report to Oregon. You may need
more information. See page 32 for assistance.

17. Rents, royalties, partnerships, estates, trusts,
etc. from federal Schedule E.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—fill in the amount of
rent, royalty, REMIC, partnership, S corporation, estate,
and trust income from Oregon sources. Full-year and
part-year residents—see page 4 for sources of income
to report to Oregon.

18. Farm income or loss.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—fill in the amount of
income or loss from an Oregon farm. Full-year and part-
year residents—see page 4 for sources of income to re-
port to Oregon.

19. Unemployment compensation, taxable Social
Security, and other taxable income.

Federal column. Fill in the total of these amounts you
reported on your federal return.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—fill in any unemploy-
ment benefits you got from Oregon while you were a
nonresident. Add any other taxable income you got from
Oregon sources. Full-year and part-year residents—see
page 4 for sources of income to report to Oregon. Don’t
fill in any amount of your Social Security, Railroad re-
tirement benefits, or Railroad unemployment benefits.
Oregon doesn’t tax this income.

Adjustments to income
21–22. IRA or Keogh contributions.

Enter your allowable IRA and Keogh contributions on
line 21 and your spouse’s allowable contributions on line
22. Oregon follows the federal definition of earned in-
come and compensation used to calculate your IRA and
Keogh deductions.

Federal column. Fill in the total amounts you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—you may be limited in
the amount of IRA and Keogh contributions you can

Form 40N instructions



Additions/13Form 40N instructions

and part-year residents—fill in the amount of this deduc-
tion related to income earned while you were an Oregon
resident. Use the following formula:

Total Oregon
source health × 30% (.30) =

Oregon
insurance deduction
premiums

Total Oregon source health insurance premiums are those
premiums paid for by an Oregon business. The deduc-
tion is limited to earned income for which the insurance
plan was established.

26. Interest penalty on early withdrawal of
savings.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Fill in the amount of penalty related
to interest taxed by Oregon.

27. Alimony paid.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—deduct a percentage of
the alimony you paid. The alimony must be taxable in-
come to your former spouse.

Figure your allowable Oregon deduction on a separate
sheet of paper. Compute a special Oregon percentage
(line 40) which does not include any alimony you paid.
Apply that percentage to the total alimony you paid.
That will be the amount to be deducted in the Oregon
column.

Full-year residents—enter all alimony paid. Part-year resi-
dents—see Form 40P instructions, page 27.

Additions
Oregon treats these items differently than the federal
government.

30. Interest on government bonds of states other
than Oregon.

Federal column. If you didn’t include this interest in
your federal income, fill in the interest you received from
state and local governments outside of Oregon.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any
amount. Full-year and part-year residents—if you didn’t
include this interest in your federal income, fill in the
amount of interest you got from states and local gov-
ernments outside of Oregon while you were an Oregon
resident.

31. Federal election on interest and dividends of
a minor child. Did you make the election to report the
interest and dividends of your minor child on your

deduct for Oregon. Use the formulas below to figure your
deduction.

IRA. If you have a federal IRA deduction, you must
multiply it by the amount of compensation you earned
in Oregon divided by compensation you earned from all
sources.

Oregon compensation
× Federal IRA = Oregon

Total compensation deduction deduction

Keogh. If you have a federal Keogh deduction, you must
multiply it by the amount of your earned income from
Oregon sources divided by your earned income from all
sources.

Oregon earned
income

× Federal Keogh
=

Oregon

Total earned income deduction deduction

Full-year and part-year residents will generally deduct the
same amount as for federal. But it can’t be more than
your Oregon income.

23. Moving expenses.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return from Form 3903.

Oregon column. Fill in moving expenses only if they
are connected with gaining employment in Oregon. Oth-
erwise, enter -0-. For example, if you moved from Cali-
fornia to Washington to take a job in Oregon, fill in
your allowable moving expenses in the Oregon column.
If you left Oregon to take a job in another state, you can-
not deduct your moving expenses.

24. Deduction for self-employment tax.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—fill in the amount of
your self-employment tax on earnings from Oregon
sources. Use the following formula:

Oregon self-employment
earnings

×
Federal deduction

=
Oregon

Total self-employment
for self-employment

deduction
earnings

deduction

Full-year and part-year residents—fill in the amount of
your federal self-employment tax deduction related to
income earned while you were an Oregon resident.

The Oregon deduction cannot exceed the federal
deduction.

25. Self-employed health insurance deduction.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—fill in the amount of
this deduction related to Oregon source income. Full-year
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federal return? If so, you must add the amount that is
subject to the special federal tax to your Oregon income.

Federal column. Fill in the smaller of line 6 or 7 from
federal Form 8814, plus $150.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any
amount. Full-year and part-year residents—fill in inter-
est and dividends received while the minor child was an
Oregon resident.

32. Other additions. You may qualify for one or more
other additions explained below. Identify the addition in
the space on the form. If you have more than one, show
the type and amount of each addition. Fill in the total
amount of “Other additions” on line 32.

• Unused business credits. If you claimed a deduction
on your federal return for unused business credits, you
must add this amount to Oregon income.

• Difference in depreciation for Oregon. Oregon
requires a one-time depreciation adjustment in 1996.
See page 2. You may need the Oregon Depreciation
Schedule. See page 32 to order the form.

Federal column. Is your Oregon depreciation less
than your federal depreciation? If so, on line 32 fill in
the amount from the Oregon Depreciation Schedule,
line 5. If not, see the instructions for line 37.

Oregon column. On line 32 fill in the amount from
the Oregon Depreciation Schedule, relating to income
taxable by Oregon.

• The following additions apply to only a few people
and are not explained in this booklet. Make the addi-
tion in both the federal and Oregon columns. If you
need help, see page 32.

— Gain or loss on the sale of depreciated property.
— Depletion in excess of basis.
— Gain on sale of inherited Oregon farm or forest

property acquired from a decedent who died be-
fore January 1, 1987.

— Lump sum distributions.
— Gain on certain involuntary conversions.
— Passive losses.
— Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and

simple or complex trusts.

Subtractions
Oregon treats these items differently than the federal
government.

37. Other subtractions. You may qualify for one or
more other subtractions explained below. Identify the
subtraction in the space on the form. If you have more
than one, show the type and amount of each subtrac-
tion. Fill in the total amount of “Other subtractions” on
line 37.

• Difference in depreciation for Oregon. Oregon
requires a one-time depreciation adjustment in 1996.
See page 2. You may need the Oregon Depreciation
Schedule. See page 32 for order instructions.

Federal column. Is your Oregon depreciation more
than your federal depreciation? If so, on line 37 fill in
the amount from the Oregon Depreciation Schedule,
line 5. If not, see the instructions for line 32.

Oregon column. On line 37 fill in the amount from
the Oregon Depreciation Schedule, line 5, relating to
income taxable by Oregon.

• Military active duty pay. You may qualify for three
different subtractions.

1. You can subtract active duty pay earned outside of
Oregon from January 1 through the date the Presi-
dent sets as the end of combat activities in the Per-
sian Gulf. The date was not set when these
instructions were published.

Federal column. Fill in the amount of active duty
pay earned outside of Oregon that is included in
federal income, line 8, federal column. Write “Desert
Storm” in the center at the top of your return. Use
red ink.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any
amount. Full-year and part-year residents—fill in
your U.S. military active duty pay earned outside of
Oregon which is included in line 8, Oregon column.

2. If you were an Oregon resident who entered the
military for the first time in 1996 or left the military
during 1996, you may subtract active duty pay
earned outside of Oregon.

Federal column. Fill in the amount of active duty
pay earned outside of Oregon that is included in
federal income, line 8.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any
amount. Full-year and part-year residents—fill in
your U.S. military active duty pay earned outside of
Oregon that is included in line 8, Oregon column.

3. Whether or not you are eligible for the other mili-
tary subtractions, you may still subtract up to $3,000
of active duty pay.

Federal column. Fill in your U.S. military active
duty pay included in your federal income. The sub-
traction for each spouse receiving active duty pay
is limited to $3,000. Reserve summer camp is active
duty. However, drills and weekend meetings of re-
serve units aren’t active duty. If you are in the Na-
tional Guard or reserves and your W-2 doesn’t show
a separate amount for active duty pay, contact your
paymaster.

Oregon column. Nonresidents—don’t fill in any
amount. Drill pay and weekend meeting pay for

Form 40N instructions
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nonresident members of the Oregon National Guard
or reserves may not be subtracted. Report that pay
in the Oregon column, line 8. Full-year and part-
year residents—fill in your U.S. military active duty
pay that is included in line 8, Oregon column.

Note: Your total active duty pay subtractions cannot
exceed your total active duty pay income.

• Interest and dividends from the U.S. government.

Federal column. Fill in interest and dividends from
the U.S. government you included on your federal re-
turn. Include U.S. government interest you got through
partnerships or grantor trusts. Examples: interest from
U.S. Series EE and HH bonds, and Treasury bills and
notes. You may also subtract interest and dividends
paid to you by organizations that invest in U.S. gov-
ernment securities. Check the information on your
Form 1099. The payer may have given the percentage
of interest and dividends from U.S. government secu-
rities. U.S. government interest must be reduced by any
interest expense relating to U.S. government obliga-
tions you deducted on your federal Schedule A.

Oregon column. If you included interest and divi-
dends from the U.S. government on line 9 of the Or-
egon column, fill in this amount of U.S. government
interest on line 37.

Note: When you sell or dispose of a U.S. government
obligation, you must include any gain or loss in
income.

• Local government bond interest.

Federal column. The U.S. government taxes certain
types of local government bond interest (e.g., private
activity bonds). If you included income from Oregon
bonds on your federal return, deduct it on this line.
Label it “Local government bond interest.”

Oregon column. Fill in Oregon local government
bond interest if you included it in Oregon income on
line 9.

• Oregon tax refund included in federal income.
This subtraction is for Oregon income tax refunds
only.

Federal column. Fill in your Oregon income tax re-
fund only if you included it on line 10 of the federal
column. Label the subtraction “Oregon refund.”

Oregon column. Fill in your Oregon income tax re-
fund only if you included it on line 10 of the Oregon
column.

• Railroad retirement benefits.

Federal column. Fill in your Tier 2, supplemental,
windfall, and dual-vested Railroad retirement benefits
included on line 16 of the federal column. Fill in Rail-
road unemployment benefits included on line 19. Sub-
tract Tier 1 Railroad retirement benefits on line 36.

Form 40N instructions

Deductions and modifications
You may claim either net itemized deductions or
Oregon’s standard deduction, whichever is larger.

Oregon column. Don’t fill in any amount. Oregon
does not tax Railroad retirement benefits or Railroad
unemployment benefits.

• Oregon Lottery. Oregon Lottery and Powerball win-
nings are not taxed by Oregon.

Federal column. If you included these winnings as
income on line 20a, enter that amount here.

Oregon column. If you included these winnings as
income on line 20b, enter that amount here. Label the
line “Oregon Lottery.”

You may also need to reduce your gambling losses
claimed on Schedule A. See instructions for line 46. If
you need help, see page 32.

• The following subtractions apply to only a few people
and are not explained in this booklet. Make the sub-
traction in both the federal and Oregon columns if the
related income was included in both columns. See
page 32 for assistance.

— Logging and construction commuting costs.
— Income earned by an enrolled member of an

American Indian tribe while living on and work-
ing on an Oregon reservation or land held in trust
by the United States for a tribe.

— Gain or loss on the sale of depreciated property.
— Business expenses reduced because of federal tax

credits (e.g., targeted jobs, work opportunities).
— Deferral of reinvested gain on Oregon business

property.
— Passive losses.
— Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and

simple or complex trusts.
— Certain pension distributions when the contribu-

tions were taxed by another state.
— Underground storage tank pollution grants.
— Gain on certain involuntary conversions previously

reported.
— JOBS Plus Program payments.

Oregon percentage
40. Oregon percentage. Divide the amount on line
39b by the amount on line 39a. Write the percentage on
line 40. Don’t fill in more than 100 percent or less than
-0-. Carry your decimal to three places to figure your
percentage.

Oregon
percentage

Example Line 39a Line 39b Line 40

1 $30,000 $10,000 .333
2 15,000 (1,000) -0-
3 15,000 20,000 1.000
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41. Itemized deductions. Generally, you may claim
your total itemized deductions shown on federal Sched-
ule A, line 28. But there is an exception. If you itemize
for Oregon only, fill out a separate Schedule A. You
may itemize for Oregon even if you took the federal stan-
dard deduction on your federal return. Use your federal
adjusted gross income to figure the Schedule A limita-
tions. Keep Schedule A with your tax records.

Note: Married people filing separate returns must item-
ize deductions if their spouse itemizes. Are you filing
separate returns for Oregon only? If so, determine your
share of itemized deductions by multiplying your total
joint deductions by the percentage you figured on page
6. You may separate each spouse’s itemized deductions
if you can clearly show your own itemized deductions.

42. State income tax claimed as an itemized deduc-
tion. Fill in the amount of Oregon income tax you
claimed as an itemized deduction on federal Schedule
A. Also, if you claim a credit for income tax paid to an-
other state, include the other state’s tax after credits or
the other state’s tax claimed as an itemized deduction,
whichever is less. See instructions for line 57, page 30.

Did you limit itemized deductions on your federal return
because your adjusted gross income (AGI) exceeded
$117,950 ($58,975 if married filing separately)? If so, you
may need to complete a worksheet to figure how much
Oregon income tax to subtract from itemized deductions.
See page 32 to order the information circular, “Limit on
Itemized Deductions,” 150-101-611.

43. Net Oregon itemized deductions. Subtract line
42 from line 41.

44. Standard deduction. Generally, your standard
deduction is based on your filing status, as follows:

Single $1,800
Married filing jointly 3,000
Married filing separately 1,500
Head of household 2,640
Qualifying widow(er) 3,000

Caution: If you can be claimed as a dependent on an-
other person’s return, your standard deduction is limited
to the greater of:

1. $500, or
2. Your earned income. This is limited to the maximum

allowed for your filing status as shown above. The
limit applies even if the other person can, but does
not, claim you as a dependent on their return.

Also: You are allowed an additional deduction if you
or your spouse are age 65 or older or blind. The addi-
tional amount is based on your filing status:

Single or head of household—$1,200
All others—$1,000

45. 1996 federal tax liability. Caution: Carefully fol-
low the instructions below. Don’t confuse your federal
tax liability from your federal return with the federal
tax withheld on your W-2. They aren’t the same.

You may deduct up to $3,000 of your total federal in-
come tax liability. Don’t fill in less than -0- or more than
$3,000 ($1,500 if married filing separately).

Fill in your federal tax liability from:

• Form 1040, line 44 minus line 54, or
• Form 1040A, line 25 minus line 29c, or
• Form 1040EZ, line 10 minus line 8.

On your federal return did you have:

• Alternative minimum tax, Form 1040, line 46?
• Recapture taxes included on Form 1040, line 51?
• Tax on qualified retirement plans, Form 1040, line 48?

If so, include these in your federal tax subtraction.

Caution: Don’t add:

• Self-employment tax, Form 1040, line 45.
• Social Security and Medicare tax on tips, Form 1040,

line 47.
• Advance earned income credit payments, Form 1040,

line 49, or Form 1040A, line 26.
• Household employment taxes, Form 1040, line 50, or

Form 1040A, line 27.

If you file married filing separately for Oregon only,
multiply your joint federal tax liability (after credits) by
the percentage calculated on page 6. Each spouse is lim-
ited to a maximum subtraction of $1,500.

Did you pay additional federal tax in 1996 because
you were audited or you filed an amended return?
If so, read the instructions for line 46, “Federal tax from
a prior year.”

Other deductions and modifications
Only a few people have other deductions and modifi-
cations. Some of these items are multiplied by the Or-
egon percentage. They go on Form 40N, line 46. Others
are not multiplied by the Oregon percentage. They go
on line 49.

46. Other deductions and modifications. Identify the
deduction or modification in the space on the form. If
you have more than one, show the type and amount of
each. Modifications can be either additions or subtrac-
tions. You need to net the total amount of these items
and enter that amount on this line.

• Federal tax from a prior year. Did you pay addi-
tional federal tax in 1996 because you were audited
or because you amended a prior year return? If so,
you may be able to deduct the additional tax. This
deduction applies only to additional tax you paid be-
cause your return was changed. It doesn’t include the
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tax you paid on the original return or interest or pen-
alties you paid.

To figure your deduction for federal tax from a prior
year, follow these steps:

Step 1: From $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing sepa-
rately) subtract your federal tax, line 45, Form
40N or Form 40P.

Step 2: On line 46, Form 40N or Form 40P, fill in the
lesser of:

— The amount you figured in step 1, or
— Your additional federal tax from a prior

year.

Label the line “Prior year’s federal tax.”

• Foreign tax. Did you pay tax to a foreign country in
1996? You may deduct this tax if you:

— Took a foreign tax credit on your federal return,
or

— Didn’t take a foreign tax credit and didn’t itemize
deductions on your federal return.

To figure your foreign tax deduction, follow these
steps:

Step 1: From $3,000 ($1,500 if married filing sepa-
rately) subtract:

— Your federal tax, line 45, Form 40N or Form
40P, and

— Your federal tax from a prior year (see in-
structions above).

Step 2: On line 46, Form 40N or Form 40P, fill in the
lesser of:

— The amount you figured in step 1, or
— Your foreign tax.

Label the line “Foreign tax.”

Caution: If you claim foreign tax as an itemized de-
duction on your federal return, don’t claim an addi-
tional deduction on your Oregon return.

The sum of your foreign tax deduction on line 46 and
your federal tax deduction on line 45 can’t be more
than $3,000.

• Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduc-
tion. Did you have winnings from the Oregon Lottery
or Powerball and claim gambling losses on your fed-
eral Schedule A? If so, fill in and bracket on line 46
the gambling losses that exceed gambling winnings
taxed by Oregon.

• Federal income tax refunds. Did you get a federal
tax refund in 1996 because you filed an amended fed-
eral return for a prior year or you were audited? If
so, fill in and bracket the amount on line 46 if you
subtracted that amount on a prior Oregon return. If you
need help, see page 32.

• Medical expense. You may qualify for an additional
Oregon itemized deduction for medical expenses. You
or your spouse must be age 60 or older by December
31, 1996. You must itemize your deductions for Or-
egon. Fill in the lesser of line 1 or line 3 from your
federal Schedule A.

49. Deductions and modifications not multiplied
by the Oregon percentage. Artists who make a chari-
table art donation may take a full deduction. To order
the information circular “Art Contribution Subtraction,”
see page 32.

Oregon tax
52. Oregon tax. Figure the tax on your Oregon tax-
able income, line 51. Use the rate charts on page 18. Fill
in the amount of tax on line 52.

Example. A married couple’s Oregon taxable income,
line 51, is $19,500. They are filing jointly. They use chart
B for married filing jointly. They figure their tax like this:

Oregon taxable income: $19,500
Tax on first $11,100 of
taxable income $689

Tax on next $8,400 of taxable
income (.09 × $8,400) + 756

Their Oregon tax is $1,445

53. Interest on certain installment sales. Do you
have installment sales on which you were required to
pay interest on the deferred tax liability for federal pur-
poses? If so, you must also compute interest for Oregon.
The amount due for Oregon is computed the same way
as for federal. The current interest rate is 10 percent per
year.

As a nonresident, consider only those installment obli-
gations that arose from dispositions of property in this
state. Enter the amount on line 53.

Credits
You must prorate some Oregon credits on your return.
This means you need to multiply your total credit by your
Oregon percentage, line 40, to figure the amount you
can claim on your Oregon return. The credits that must
be prorated are:

• Exemption.
• Child and dependent care.
• Alternative energy devices.
• Elderly or the disabled.
• Farmworker housing.
• Fish habitat improvements.
• Fish screening devices.
• Rural medical practitioners or rural dentists.

56. Credit for income tax paid to another state. Or-
egon will allow a credit for tax paid to another state on
Form 40N if you meet all of the following:

Form 40N instructions
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a. You are a nonresident of Oregon,
b.You are a resident of Arizona, California, Indiana, or

Virginia, and
c. You have income that is taxed by both Oregon and

your resident state.

See pages 30 and 31 of the Form 40P instructions to fig-
ure your credit.

If your income is taxed by Oregon and a state not listed
above, you may be eligible for a credit from your resi-
dent state. For more information, contact your resident
state.

57. Child and dependent care credit. You are al-
lowed an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the fed-
eral child and dependent care credit. You may still be
able to claim the Oregon credit even if you can’t use all
of your federal credit. Use the following worksheet to
figure your credit for Oregon.

1. Enter the amount from federal 1. _________
Form 2441, line 7, or Form
1040A, Schedule 2, line 7.

2. Enter the decimal amount from 2. ×
the following table.

If your federal
taxable income

from Form 1040, Your
line 37, or decimal

Form 1040A, amount
line 22 is: is:

Over— But not over—
—— $ 5,000 .30

$ 5,000 10,000 .15
10,000 15,000 .08
15,000 25,000 .06
25,000 35,000 .05
35,000 45,000 .04
45,000 —— .00

3. Multiply the child care expenses 3. _________
on line 1 by the decimal amount
on line 2. Enter the result here.

4. Multiply your 1995 child and 4. _________
dependent care expenses that
you included in the computation
of your federal 1996 credit by
the decimal amount that applies
to your 1995 federal taxable
income. Enter the result.

5. Add the amounts on lines 3 and 4. 5. _________

Multiply line 5 by the Oregon percentage from line 40,
Form 40N, or line 39, Form 40P. Enter the result on line
57, Form 40N, or line 55, Form 40P.

Carryforward. Your total 1996 child care credit can’t be
more than your tax liability for Oregon. Any excess can
be carried forward over the next five years. If the ex-
cess isn’t used within five years, it’s lost. See instructions
for line 58.

58. Other credits. You may qualify for other credits
explained below. Identify the credit in the space on line
58. If you have more than one, show the type and
amount of each credit.

• Retirement income credit. If you were age 60 or
older on December 31, 1996, and receiving retirement
income, you may qualify for a credit. See part-year in-
structions, line 54, on pages 29 and 30.

• Child and dependent care credit carryover from
prior years. Fill in the amount of the carryover on line
58, Form 40N or Form 40P. Label the line “Child care
credit carryover.” The amount of prior year carryover
plus your current year’s credit can’t exceed your Or-
egon tax liability. If it does, the excess credit can be
carried forward over the next five years. If the excess
isn’t used within five years, it’s lost.

• Political contribution credit. Fill in your total politi-
cal contributions but not more than $100 on a joint

Tax rate
charts for
Form 40N

and
Form 40P

filers

Tax rate chart A:
For persons filing Single, or Married filing separately
If your taxable income is: Your tax is:
Not over $2,200 .................................... 5% of taxable income
Over $2,200 but not over $5,550 ........ $110 plus 7% of excess over $2,200
Over $5,550........................................... $345 plus 9% of excess over $5,550

Tax rate chart B:
For persons filing Jointly, Head of household,
or Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child
If your taxable income is: Your tax is:
Not over $4,400 .................................... 5% of taxable income
Over $4,400 but not over $11,100 ...... $220 plus 7% of excess over $4,400
Over $11,100 ......................................... $689 plus 9% of excess over $11,100

Form 40N instructions
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return, or $50 on all others. The contributions must
have been made during 1996. They must have been
donations of money to any of the following:
— A political party recognized by Oregon.
— A qualified candidate (or the candidate’s principal

campaign committee) for federal, state, or local
office to be voted for in Oregon.

— A political committee organized only to support or
oppose ballot measures to be voted on in Oregon.

• Credit for the elderly or the disabled. The credit is
40 percent of the federal credit. Multiply the amount
from federal Schedule R, line 20, or Form 1040A,
Schedule 3, line 20, by 40% (.40). Then multiply the
result by the Oregon percentage on line 40, Form 40N.

The following credits apply to only a few people. Some
are prorated and some aren’t. See page 32 for more
information.

These credits are:

• Alternative energy devices.
• Bone marrow donation programs.
• Business energy.
• Child development.
• Crops donated to gleaning cooperatives.
• Dependent care assistance.
• Farmworker housing.
• Fish habitat improvements.
• Fish screening devices.
• Gain from the sale of your house also taxed by an-

other state or country.
• Home care for the elderly.
• Reclaimed plastics (investment in capital assets).
• Involuntary moving of an Oregon mobile home.
• Loss of use of limbs.
• Pollution control facilities.
• Pollution prevention credit.
• Reforestation of underproductive forest lands.
• Rural medical practitioners or rural dentists.
• Youth apprenticeship programs.

Tax payments made in 1996
61. Oregon income tax withheld from income. Fill
in the total amount of Oregon tax withheld from your
wages. That’s the amount shown on your W-2 or 1099R
forms. Don’t use FICA (Social Security) tax withheld from
your pay. Don’t use tax withheld from your wages by
other states. Staple readable copies of your W-2 or
1099R forms to the lower front of your return.

If you don’t have a W-2, you must provide other proof
of any tax withheld from your income. Proof may include
a final paycheck stub or a letter from your employer. We
can’t accept anything but W-2 forms until after February
1, 1997. Attach copies of your 1099 forms if they show
any Oregon state tax withheld.

62. Estimated tax payments for 1996. Fill in the total
Oregon estimated tax payments you made before filing

your 1996 Oregon return. Include any payments made with
your extension. Also, include any refund applied from your
1995 income tax return.

66. Penalty and interest.

Due date. Your return is due April 15, 1997, unless you
get an extension.

Penalty. Include a penalty payment if you:

• Mail your tax-to-pay after April 15 (even if you have
an extension).

• File your income tax return showing tax-to-pay after
the due date (including any extension).

The penalty is 5 percent of the unpaid balance of
your tax.

If you file more than three months late, add an additional
20 percent penalty.

Exception: You don’t have to pay a penalty if you do
all of the following:

1. Get an extension of time to file your return.
2. Pay at least 90 percent of the tax due by April 15,

1997.
3. Pay the balance of tax due at the time you file within

the extension period.
4. Pay the interest on the balance of tax due at the time

you file your return or within 30 days of our billing
date.

Interest. If you are filing your return or paying your tax
after April 15, 1997, include interest on any unpaid tax.
The current interest rate is 10 percent per year. If the tax
is not paid within 60 days of our bill, the interest rate
increases to 14 percent per year.

Interest is figured daily for periods of less than a month.
A full month, for example, is April 16 to May 15. Here’s
how to figure daily interest:

Tax × .000274 × number of days

67. Interest on underpayment of estimated tax.
You have an underpayment if you pay less than 90 per-
cent of the tax due on each estimated tax payment date.
If you have an underpayment, you must file Oregon
Form 10, “Underpayment of Oregon Estimated Tax.” See
page 32 to order this form.

Use Form 10 to figure the amount of interest you owe
or to see if you qualify for an exception to the payment
of this interest.

You don’t have an underpayment if you owe less than
$500 tax on your 1996 return.

The tax you owe is net income tax less your Oregon
withholding.

69. Amount-you-owe. Attach a check or money or-
der to your return on top of the W-2s. Make it payable
to “Oregon Department of Revenue.” Do not make

Form 40N instructions
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your check out to “IRS” or “Internal Revenue Service.”
Write your Social Security number and “1996 Oregon
Form 40N” on your check. Don’t send cash or postdated
checks. Mail your return to: Oregon Department of Rev-
enue, PO Box 14555, Salem OR 97309-0940. Stop here
on the form.

Special instructions. Do you owe interest on line 67
and have an overpayment on line 64? If your overpay-
ment is less than the interest due, fill in the result of line
68 minus line 64.

70. Refund. You must have a refund of $5 or greater
on line 70 to use lines 71–76. Generally, the department
cannot issue a refund when the return is filed more than
three years after the due date of the return.

Form 40P instructions
Use Form 40P if:

• You’re a part-year resident, or
• You meet the exception below and choose to file a

joint return.

Fill out your federal return, then your Oregon return. You
must attach a copy (front and back) of your federal 1040,
1040A, 1040EZ, or 1040PC to your Oregon tax return.
Don’t attach any federal schedules such as A, B, C, D,
Form 2441, etc. Keep a complete copy of your fed-
eral and state returns. Also, keep all receipts, can-
celled checks, statements, and other papers you
used to prepare your return for at least three years.
Save records for property and investments you bought
for at least three years after you sell the property.

See page 5 for instructions for “Fiscal year filers” and the
“Address section.”

Check the boxes

Filing status
Check the box next to your filing status. Generally, you
must check the same filing status you checked on your
federal return.

Exception: If you and your spouse don’t have the same
residency status, you may file separate returns for Or-
egon even if you filed married filing jointly for federal.
See page 32 to order the information circular, “Married
Persons Filing Separate Returns.”

How to file separate returns:

If you are married filing separately, see page 6 of the
Form 40N instructions.

If possible, mail your Oregon returns in the same enve-
lope. Do not staple the returns together.

If filing as head of household, enter the name of the
qualifying person from your federal return by box 4.

Exemptions
6a and 6b. Yourself and spouse. Check “Yourself”
and other boxes that apply. If you can be claimed as a
dependent on someone else’s return, you can’t claim an
exemption for yourself on your Oregon return.

Severely disabled. If you had a severe disability at the
end of 1996, you may qualify for an additional exemp-
tion credit. See “Severely disabled” on page 6 of the Form
40N instructions.

6c. Dependents. Enter the number of your children
claimed as dependents and other dependents in box 6c.
In most cases, you must claim the same number of de-
pendents as claimed on your federal return.

6d. Disabled child. If your child had a disability at
the end of 1996, you may qualify for an additional ex-
emption credit. See “Disabled child,” pages 6 and 11 of
the Form 40N instructions for qualifications.

7. Age 65 or older, or blind.

If you or your spouse are age 65 or older, or blind, see
page 11.

Line instructions
The following instructions are for lines not fully
explained on the form.

Form 40P has two columns for figures.

The first column on Form 40P is labeled “Federal col-
umn.” In this column, lines 8 through 27, fill in the same
amounts you reported on your federal return. On lines
30 through 37, fill in the additions and subtractions as
they apply to your total federal income.

Form 40P instructions

71. Estimated tax. If your refund is $5 or more, you
may apply part or all of your refund (line 70) to your
1997 estimated tax. Fill in the amount you want to ap-
ply. But don’t fill in more than the amount on line 70.

72–76. You may donate part or all of your refund to
the charitable organizations listed on the form. Each char-
ity is described on page 31. A donation will reduce
your refund. If you don’t have a refund on line 70 but
want to contribute, mail your donations to the addresses
shown on page 31.

78. Net refund. You must reduce your refund by any
amounts applied to 1997 estimated tax and donations on
lines 72–76. By law, the Oregon Department of Revenue
cannot refund amounts less than $5. Mail your return to:
Refund, PO Box 14700, Salem OR 97309-0930.
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The second column on Form 40P is labeled “Oregon
column.” This column is where you list the amounts that
apply to Oregon. Oregon taxes your income from all
sources earned or received while you were an Oregon
resident. Oregon also taxes your income from Oregon
sources while you were a nonresident.

Income
8. Wages, salaries, and other pay for work.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Figure the amount you earned while
an Oregon resident. Add to that figure any amount
earned while working in Oregon as a nonresident. See
page 11 to calculate Oregon wages while a nonresident.
If an amount differs from your Oregon wages on your
W-2 form, you must attach an explanation from your
employer to the back of your Oregon return.

Exception: See “Interstate Transportation Wages,” page
4, to see if you qualify to exclude this income.

9. Taxable interest and dividend income.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column.

9a. Figure the total interest you received while you were
an Oregon resident that is included on your federal
return. Add to that your share of interest income re-
ceived while you were a nonresident on funds used
for business activity in Oregon.

9b. Figure the total dividends you received while you
were an Oregon resident that are included on your
federal return. Add to that figure any dividends re-
ceived while you were a nonresident that were
passed through to you from an S corporation that has
no business activity outside Oregon.

Add lines 9a and 9b. Fill in the total on line 9 in the Or-
egon column.

10. State and local income tax refunds.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Fill in state and local income tax
refunds for which you claimed a deduction on an Or-
egon return in a prior year. Fill in your Oregon income
tax refund if you included it as income on your federal
return.

11. Alimony received.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Fill in any alimony you received while
you were an Oregon resident.

12. Business income or loss.

Nonresidents must include income from any Oregon ac-
tivity. This includes apportioned business income and
allocated nonbusiness income.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Figure the amount of your business
income or loss while you were an Oregon resident. Add
to that figure the amount from an Oregon business while
you were a nonresident.

13. Capital gain or loss.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Figure the amount of your capital gain
or loss and capital gain distributions received while you
were an Oregon resident. Add to this figure the amount
received from Oregon sources while you were a non-
resident. Limit net losses to $3,000 ($1,500 if married fil-
ing separately).

14. Other gains or losses.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Figure the amount of gain or loss re-
ceived while you were an Oregon resident. Add to that
figure the amount from Oregon sources while you were
a nonresident.

15. Total IRA distributions.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Fill in any taxable individual retirement
arrangement (IRA) distributions received while an Or-
egon resident. You may need more information. See page
32 for assistance.

16. Pensions and annuities.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Fill in any taxable pensions and an-
nuities received while an Oregon resident. You may need
more information. See page 32 for assistance.

17. Rents, royalties, partnerships, estates, trusts,
etc. from federal Schedule E.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Figure the amount of rent, royalty,
estate, and trust income you received while an Oregon
resident. Add any Schedule E income you received from
Oregon sources while you were a nonresident.

Form 40P instructions
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Continued on page 27

Partnership and S corporation income is generally con-
sidered earned and received on the last day of the part-
nership or S corporation’s taxable year. If you were an
Oregon resident at the partnership or S corporation’s year
end, report all of that income or loss to Oregon.

18. Farm income or loss.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Figure the amount of farm income or
loss while you were an Oregon resident. Add to that fig-
ure the amount from an Oregon farm while you were a
nonresident.

19. Unemployment compensation, taxable Social
Security, and other taxable income.

Federal column. Fill in the total amounts you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Fill in any unemployment benefits and
any other taxable income you got while you were an
Oregon resident. Add to that figure any unemployment
benefits and any other income you got from Oregon
sources while you were a nonresident. Don’t fill in any
amount of your Social Security, Railroad retirement ben-
efits, or Railroad unemployment benefits. Oregon doesn’t
tax this income.

Adjustments to income
21–22. IRA or Keogh contributions.

Enter your allowable IRA and Keogh contributions on
line 21 and your spouse’s allowable contributions on line
22. Oregon follows the federal definition of earned in-
come and compensation used to calculate your IRA and
Keogh deductions.

Federal column. Fill in the total amounts you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. You may be limited in the amount of
your IRA and Keogh contributions you can deduct for
Oregon. Figure the amount you paid while you were an
Oregon resident. Add to that the amount calculated be-
low when you were a nonresident. The deduction in the
Oregon column is subject to:

1. The federal limitations, and
2. Income included in the Oregon column.

IRA. For the part of the year you were a nonresident,
multiply your federal IRA deduction by the amount of
compensation earned in Oregon divided by your com-
pensation from all sources.

Oregon compensation Federal IRA Oregon
Total compensation

×
deduction

=
deduction

Keogh. For the part of the year you were a nonresident,
multiply your federal Keogh deduction by the amount
of earned income from Oregon sources divided by your
earned income from all sources.

Oregon earned
income Federal Keogh Oregon

Total earned income
×

deduction
=

deduction

23. Moving expenses.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return from Form 3903.

Oregon column. Enter moving expenses only if they
are connected with gaining employment in Oregon. Oth-
erwise, enter -0-. For example, if you moved from Cali-
fornia to Oregon to take a job in Oregon, your allowable
moving expenses should be entered in the Oregon col-
umn. If you left Oregon to take a job outside of Oregon,
your expenses are not deductible.

24. Deduction for self-employment tax.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Fill in the amount of your federal self-
employment tax deduction related to earnings from Or-
egon sources while you were a nonresident and earnings
from all sources while you were a resident. The Oregon
deduction cannot exceed the federal deduction. Use the
following formula:

Oregon self-employment
earnings while a nonresident

plus self-employment
earnings while a resident

×
Federal deduction

=
Oregon

Total self-employment
for self-employment deduction

earnings
tax

25. Self-employed health insurance deduction.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. Fill in the deduction amount related
to self-employment earnings taxable to Oregon. Use the
following formula:

Total Oregon
source health Oregon

insurance
× 30% (.30) =

deduction
premiums

Total Oregon source health insurance premiums are those
premiums paid for by an Oregon business while you
were a nonresident plus premiums paid for by any quali-
fying business while you were a resident.

The deduction is limited to earned income for which the
insurance plan was established.

26. Interest penalty on early withdrawal of
savings.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Form 40P instructions
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Continued from page 22 Subtractions
Oregon treats these items differently than the federal
government.

37. Other subtractions. You may qualify for one or
more other subtractions explained below. Identify the
subtraction in the space on the form. If you have more
than one, show the type and amount of each subtrac-
tion. Fill in the total amount of “Other subtractions” on
line 37.

• Difference in depreciation for Oregon. There are
special instructions for 1996. See page 2.

• Military active duty pay. Military active duty pay
qualifies for a subtraction. See page 14 of the Form 40N
instructions.

• Interest and dividends from the U.S. government.
If you received interest and dividends from the U.S.
government that you included on your federal return,
see page 15 of the Form 40N instructions.

• Local government bond interest.

Federal column. The U.S. government taxes certain
types of local government bond interest (e.g., private
activity bonds). If you included income from Oregon
bonds on your federal return, deduct it on this line.
Label it “Local government bond interest.”

Oregon column. Fill in Oregon local government
bond interest if you included it in Oregon income on
line 9.

• Oregon tax refund included in federal income.
This subtraction is for Oregon income tax refunds
only.

Federal column. Fill in your Oregon income tax re-
fund only if you included it on line 10 of the federal
column. Label the subtraction “Oregon refund.”

Oregon column. Fill in your Oregon income tax re-
fund only if you included it on line 10 of the Oregon
column.

• Railroad retirement benefits.

Federal column. Fill in your Tier 2, supplemental,
windfall, and dual-vested Railroad retirement benefits
included on line 16 of the federal column. Fill in Rail-
road unemployment benefits included on line 19. Sub-
tract Tier 1 Railroad retirement benefits on line 36.

Oregon column. Don’t fill in any amount. Oregon
does not tax Railroad retirement or Railroad unemploy-
ment benefits.

• Oregon Lottery. Oregon Lottery and Powerball win-
nings are not taxed by Oregon.

Federal column. If you included these winnings as
income on line 20a, enter that amount here.

Oregon column. Fill in the amount of penalty related
to interest taxed by Oregon.

27. Alimony paid.

Federal column. Fill in the same amount you reported
on your federal return.

Oregon column. For the portion of the year that
you were a resident, all of the alimony you paid is
deductible.

For the portion of the year that you were a nonresident,
you may deduct a percentage of the alimony you paid.
The alimony must be taxable income to your former
spouse. Figure your allowable Oregon deduction by com-
puting a special Oregon percentage on a separate sheet
of paper as follows:

1. Divide Oregon source income from when you were
a nonresident by your total income while you were
a nonresident;

2. Multiply this percentage by the alimony you paid
while you were a nonresident, and

3. Add the amount computed while you were a non-
resident and the amount paid while you were a resi-
dent. Enter this amount on line 27 in the Oregon
column.

Additions
Oregon treats these items differently than the federal
government.

30. Interest on government bonds of states other
than Oregon.

Federal column. If you didn’t include this interest in
your federal income, fill in the interest you received from
state and local governments outside of Oregon.

Oregon column. Fill in the amount of interest you got
from states and local governments outside of Oregon
while you were an Oregon resident.

31. Federal election on interest and dividends of
a minor child. Did you make the election to report the
interest and dividends of your minor child on your fed-
eral return? If so, see instructions on pages 13 and 14.

32. Other additions. You may qualify for one or more
other additions explained below. Identify the addition in
the space on the form. If you have more than one, show
the type and amount of each addition. Fill in the total
amount of “Other additions” on line 32.

Difference in depreciation for Oregon. There are
special instructions for 1996. See page 2.

There are also additions which apply to only a few
people. They are listed on page 14 of the 40N instruc-
tions. Make the addition in both the federal and Oregon
columns. If you need help, see page 32 for assistance.

Form 40P instructions
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Oregon column. If you included these winnings as
income on line 20b, enter that amount here. Label the
line “Oregon Lottery.”

You may also need to reduce your gambling losses
claimed on Schedule A. See instructions for line 46. If
you need help, see page 32.

There are also subtractions which apply to only a few
people. They are listed on page 15 of the 40N instruc-
tions. Make the subtraction in both the federal and Or-
egon columns if the related income was included in both
columns.

Oregon percentage
39. Oregon percentage. Divide the amount on line
38b by the amount on line 38a. Write the percentage on
line 39. Don’t fill in more than 100 percent or less than
-0-. Carry your decimal to three places to figure your
percentage.

Oregon
percentage

Example Line 38a Line 38b Line 39

1 $30,000 $10,000 .333
2 15,000 (1,000) -0-
3 15,000 20,000 1.000

Deductions and modifications
You may claim either net itemized deductions or
Oregon’s standard deduction, whichever is larger.

41. Itemized deductions. Generally, you may claim
your total itemized deductions shown on federal Sched-
ule A, line 28. If you itemize for Oregon only, fill out
a separate Schedule A. You may itemize for Oregon even
if you took the federal standard deduction on your fed-
eral return. Use your federal adjusted gross income to
figure the Schedule A limitations. Keep Schedule A with
your tax records.

Note: Married people filing separate returns must item-
ize deductions if their spouse itemizes. Are you filing
separate returns for Oregon only? If so, see Form 40N
instructions, page 6.

42. State income tax claimed as an itemized deduc-
tion. Fill in the amount of Oregon income tax you
claimed as an itemized deduction on federal Schedule
A. Also, if you claim a credit for income tax paid to an-
other state, include the other state’s tax after credits or
the other state’s tax claimed as an itemized deduction,
whichever is less. See instructions for line 57, pages 30
and 31.

Did you limit itemized deductions on your federal return
because your adjusted gross income exceeded $117,950
($58,975 if married filing separately)? If so, you may need
to complete a worksheet to figure how much Oregon

Form 40P instructions

income tax to subtract from itemized deductions. See
page 32 to order the information circular, “Limit on Item-
ized Deductions,” 150-101-611.

43. Net Oregon itemized deductions. Subtract line
42 from line 41.

44. Standard deduction. Generally, your standard
deduction is based on your filing status, as follows:

Single $1,800
Married filing jointly 3,000
Married filing separately 1,500
Head of household 2,640
Qualifying widow(er) 3,000

Caution: If you can be claimed as a dependent on an-
other person’s return, your standard deduction is limited
to the greater of:

1. $500, or
2. Your earned income. This is limited to the maximum

allowed for your filing status as shown above. The
limit applies even if the other person can, but does
not, claim you as a dependent on their return.

Also: You are allowed an additional deduction if you
or your spouse are age 65 or older or blind. The addi-
tional amount is based on your filing status:

Single or head of household—$1,200
All others—$1,000

45. 1996 federal tax liability. Caution: Carefully fol-
low the instructions below. Don’t confuse your federal
tax liability from your federal return with the federal
tax withheld on your W-2. They aren’t the same.

You may deduct up to $3,000 of your total federal in-
come tax liability. Don’t fill in less than -0- or more than
$3,000 ($1,500 if married filing separately).

Fill in your federal tax liability from:

• Form 1040, line 44 minus line 54, or
• Form 1040A, line 25 minus line 29c, or
• Form 1040EZ, line 10 minus line 8.

On your federal return did you have:

• Alternative minimum tax, Form 1040, line 46?
• Recapture taxes included on Form 1040, line 51?
• Tax on qualified retirement plans, Form 1040, line 48?

If so, include these in your federal tax subtraction.

Caution: Don’t add:

• Self-employment tax, Form 1040, line 45.
• Social Security and Medicare tax on tips, Form 1040,

line 47.
• Advance earned income credit payments, Form 1040,

line 49, or Form 1040A, line 26.
• Household employment taxes, Form 1040, line 50, or

Form 1040A, line 27.
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Oregon taxable income: $19,500
Tax on first $5,550 of

taxable income $ 345
Tax on next $13,950 of taxable

income (.09 × $13,950) + 1,256

Oregon tax $ 1,601

51. Interest on certain installment sales. Do you have
installment sales on which you were required to pay in-
terest on the deferred tax liability for federal purposes? If
so, you must also compute interest for Oregon. The amount
due for Oregon is computed the same way as for federal.
The current interest rate is 10 percent per year.

a. For the part of the year that you were a nonresident,
use only those installment obligations that arose from
dispositions of property in this state.

b. For the part of the year that you were a resident, con-
sider all installment obligations.

Enter the total of parts a and b on line 51.

Credits
You must prorate some Oregon credits on your return.
This means you need to multiply your total credit by your
Oregon percentage, line 39, to figure the amount you
can claim on your Oregon return. The credits that must
be prorated are:

• Exemption.
• Child and dependent care.
• Alternative energy devices.
• Elderly or the disabled.
• Farmworker housing.
• Fish habitat improvements.
• Fish screening devices.
• Rural medical practitioners or rural dentists.

54. Retirement income credit. If you were age 60
or older on December 31, 1996, and receiving retire-
ment income, you may qualify for a credit. You don’t
qualify for this credit if your household income is $22,500
or more ($45,000 or more if married filing jointly), or if
you received more than $7,500 ($15,000 if married fil-
ing jointly) in Social Security and/or Tier 1 Railroad re-
tirement benefits. Retirement income includes payments
included in federal taxable income from:

• A U.S. government pension (includes military).
• A state or local government public pension.
• An employee pension.
• An individual retirement plan.
• An employee annuity plan.
• A deferred compensation plan including defined ben-

efit, profit sharing, and 401(k).

Note: The credit can’t be more than your tax liability.
There is no carryforward. You may claim this credit or
the credit for the elderly or the disabled, but not both.

Use the following worksheet to figure your credit.
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If you file married filing separately for Oregon only,
multiply your joint federal tax liability (after credits) by
the percentage calculated on page 6. Each spouse is lim-
ited to a maximum subtraction of $1,500.

Did you pay additional federal tax in 1996 because
you were audited or you filed an amended return?
If so, read the instructions for line 46, “Federal tax from
a prior year.”

46. Other deductions and modifications. Identify
the deduction or modification in the space on the form.
If you have more than one, show the type and amount
of each. Modifications can be either additions or sub-
tractions. You need to net the total amount of these items
and enter that amount on this line.

• Federal tax from a prior year. If you paid additional
federal tax in 1996 because you were audited or you
amended a prior year return, you may be able to de-
duct the additional tax. See pages 16 and 17, Form 40N
instructions, to figure your deduction.

• Foreign tax. If you paid tax to a foreign country in
1996, you may be able to deduct these taxes. See page
17 of the Form 40N instructions.

• Artists who make a charitable art donation. To
order the information circular, “Art Contribution Sub-
traction,” see page 32.

• Federal income tax refunds. Did you get a federal
tax refund in 1996 because you filed an amended fed-
eral return for a prior year or you were audited? If
so, fill in and bracket the amount on line 46 if you
subtracted that amount on a prior Oregon return. If you
need help, see page 32.

• Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduc-
tion. Did you have winnings from Oregon Lottery or
Powerball and claim gambling losses on your federal
Schedule A? If so, fill in and bracket on line 46 the
gambling losses that exceed gambling winnings taxed
by Oregon.

• Medical expense. You may qualify for an additional
medical expense deduction for Oregon if you meet the
tests. See page 17 of the Form 40N instructions to fig-
ure your deduction.

Oregon tax

49. Tax. Figure the tax on your Oregon taxable income,
line 48. Use the rate charts on page 18. Fill in the amount
of tax on line 49.

Example. A single taxpayer’s Oregon taxable income is
$19,500. Use tax rate chart A for single taxpayers. The
tax is figured like this:
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1. Enter the retirement income of 1. _________
the eligible individual from the
federal column, lines 15 and 16.

2. Enter $7,500 ($15,000 if 2. _________
married filing jointly).

3. Enter both spouses’ total Social 3. _________
Security and Tier 1 Railroad
retirement benefits.

4. Line 2 minus line 3, but not 4. _________
less than -0-.

5. Enter your household income. 5. _________
Household income is the
taxable and nontaxable income
of a husband and wife. Don’t
include Social Security or Tier 1
Railroad retirement benefits.
Losses claimed are limited
to $1,000.

6. Household income base. Enter 6. _________
$15,000 ($30,000 if married
filing a joint return).

7. Line 5 minus line 6, but not less 7. _________
than -0-.

8. Line 4 minus line 7, but not 8. _________
less than -0-.

9. Enter the lesser of line 1 or 9. _________
line 8.

10. Multiply line 9 by 9% (.09). 10. _________
11. Enter Oregon source retire- 11. _________

ment income from the federal
column (lines 15 and 16).
Add retirement income from
other sources received while
you were a resident that is
included in the Oregon
column (lines 15 and 16).

12. Enter the amount from line 1 12. _________
of this schedule.

13. Divide line 11 by line 12. 13. _________
14. Multiply line 10 by line 13. 14. _________

Enter the result here and on
Form 40P, line 54, or Form
40N, line 58.

55. Child and dependent care credit. You are allowed
an Oregon credit only if you qualify for the federal child
and dependent care credit. Use the worksheet on page 18
of the Form 40N instructions to figure your credit.

56. Political contribution credit. Fill in your total po-
litical contributions but not more than $100 on a joint
return, or $50 on all others. The contributions must have
been made during 1996. They must have been donations
of money to any of the following:

• A political party recognized by Oregon.
• A qualified candidate (or the candidate’s principal cam-

paign committee) for federal, state, or local office to
be voted for in Oregon.
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• A political committee organized only to support or
oppose ballot measures to be voted on in Oregon.

57. Credit for income tax paid to another state. If
you paid 1996 income tax to another state on income
also taxed by Oregon, you may claim a credit. You must
have income that is taxed by both Oregon and the other
state during 1996. Your 1996 income tax includes all pay-
ments made for the 1996 tax year.

You must claim the credit on your nonresident return if
the income is taxed by both Oregon and one of the fol-
lowing: Arizona, California, Indiana, or Virginia.

If you were a resident of Oregon and paid tax to an-
other state for a prior year on mutually taxed income,
amend that year’s Oregon return to claim the credit. See
page 32 to get amended forms and instructions.

This credit is only for state income tax. You can’t claim
this credit for city or county income tax, sales tax, prop-
erty tax, school tax, or building funds.

If you are a shareholder in an Oregon S corporation that
paid taxes to another state, you may qualify for this credit.
See page 32 to order the information circular.

Your credit is the lesser of the following:

• The other state’s tax after credits.
• Your Oregon tax after all other credits.
• The amount figured using Formula 1.
• The amount figured using Formula 2.

Formula 1: Divide your adjusted gross income (AGI)
taxed by both states by your modified AGI. Your modi-
fied AGI is your income on Form 40P, line 38b, or Form
40N, line 39b. Multiply the result by your Oregon tax after
all other credits. The result can’t be more than your Or-
egon tax after credits.

Your AGI
taxed by both states

×
Your Oregon tax after

Your modified AGI all other credits

Formula 2: Divide your AGI taxed by both states by
your total income on the other state’s return. Multiply the
result by the other state’s tax after all other credits. “To-
tal income” means income before subtracting itemized
deductions and exemptions.

The result can’t be more than the other state’s tax after
credits.

Your AGI
taxed by both states

×
The other state’s tax

Your total income on the after all other credits

other state’s return

Caution: You can’t claim this credit and also claim the
tax you paid to the other state as an itemized deduc-
tion. If you claim the tax as an itemized deduction, fill
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in either your tax liability to the other state or the amount
of that state’s tax claimed as an itemized deduction,
whichever is less, on line 42.

Attach a copy of the other state’s return and proof
of payment to the back of your Oregon return.

58. Other credits. You may qualify for other credits
explained below. Identify the credit in the space on line
58. If you have more than one, show the type and
amount of each credit. Fill in the amount of all “Other
credits” on line 58.

• Child and dependent care credit carryover from
prior years. If you have a child and dependent
care credit carryover, see page 18 of the Form 40N
instructions.

• Credit for the elderly or the disabled. The credit is
40 percent of the federal credit. You may claim this
credit or the retirement income credit, but not both.

Multiply the amount from federal Schedule R, line 20,
or Form 1040A, Schedule 3, line 20, by 40% (.40). Then
multiply the result by the Oregon percentage on line
39, Form 40P.

Note: Oregon has some credits which apply to only a
few people. These credits are listed on page 19.

Tax payments made in 1996
61. Oregon income tax withheld from income. Fill
in the total amount of Oregon tax withheld from your
wages. That’s the amount shown on your W-2 or 1099R
forms. Don’t use FICA (Social Security) tax withheld from
your pay. Don’t use tax withheld from your wages by
other states. Staple readable copies of your W-2 or
1099R forms to the lower front of your return.

If you don’t have a W-2, you must provide other proof
of any tax withheld from your income. Proof may include
a final paycheck stub or a letter from your employer. We
can’t accept anything but W-2 forms until after February
1, 1997. Attach copies of your 1099 forms if they show
any Oregon state tax withheld.

62. Estimated tax payments for 1996. Fill in the to-
tal Oregon estimated tax payments you made before fil-
ing your 1996 Oregon return. Include any payments
made with your extension. Also, include any refund ap-
plied from your 1995 income tax return.

66. Penalty and interest. See 40N instructions on
page 19.

67. Interest on underpayment of estimated tax. See
40N instructions on page 19.

69. Amount-you-owe. Attach a check or money or-
der to your return on top of the W-2s. Make it payable

Form 40P instructions

to “Oregon Department of Revenue.” Do not make
your check out to “IRS” or “Internal Revenue Service.”
Write your Social Security number and “1996 Oregon
Form 40P” on your check. Don’t send cash or postdated
checks. Mail your return to: Oregon Department of Rev-
enue, PO Box 14555, Salem OR 97309-0940. Stop here
on the form.

Special instructions. Do you owe interest on line 67
and have an overpayment on line 64? If your overpay-
ment is less than the interest due, fill in the result of line
68 minus line 64.

70. Refund. You must have a refund of $5 or greater
on line 70 to use lines 71–76. Generally, the department
cannot issue a refund when the return is filed more than
three years after the due date of the return.

71. Estimated tax. If your refund is $5 or more, you
may apply part or all of your refund (line 70) to your
1997 estimated tax. Fill in the amount you want to ap-
ply. But don’t fill in more than the amount on line 70.

72–76. You may donate all or part of your refund to
the charitable organizations listed on the form. A dona-
tion will reduce your refund. If you don’t have a re-
fund on line 70 but want to contribute, mail your
donations to the addresses shown below.

72. Oregon Nongame Wildlife. Your donation will
fund the protection of nongame wildlife and its habitat.
Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife, Attention: Fis-
cal Manager, PO Box 59, Portland OR 97207.

73. Child Abuse Prevention. Your donation will fund
programs through the Children’s Trust Fund to help pre-
vent child abuse and neglect. Children’s Trust Fund, 800
NE Oregon St., Suite 1140, Portland OR 97232.

74. Alzheimer’s Disease Research. Your donation
goes to the Alzheimer’s Research Alliance of Oregon for
research on Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders.
Alzheimer’s Research Alliance, PO Box 10051, Portland
OR 97210.

75. Stop Domestic and Sexual Violence. Your do-
nation will fund programs through the Oregon Coalition
Against Domestic and Sexual Violence. OCADSV, 520 NW
Davis, Suite 310, Portland OR 97209.

76. AIDS/HIV Research, Education, and Services.
Your donation will fund AIDS/HIV research, education,
and services by the Living With HIV Fund. The Research
and Education Group, PO Box 40104, Portland OR 97240.

78. Net refund. You must reduce your refund by any
amounts applied to your 1997 estimated tax and dona-
tions on lines 72–76. By law, the Oregon Department of
Revenue cannot refund amounts less than $5. Mail your
return to: Refund, PO Box 14700, Salem OR 97309-0930.



Printed information (free)   State forms only

(Check individual boxes to order. Clip on the dotted line, then mail
in the entire list with your return address. These forms and circulars
are also available on the Internet.)

Alternative Energy Devices 150-101-641
Computing Interest on Tax You Owe 150-800-691
Credit for Income Tax Paid to

Other States 150-101-646
Oregon Deferral of Reinvested Gain 150-101-614
Depreciation form 150-101-025
Elderly Rental Assistance booklet 150-545-002
Estimated Tax circular 150-101-648
Estimated Tax coupons 150-101-026-2

and instructions 150-101-026
Home Care for the Elderly Credit 150-101-653
Interest and Dividends on

U.S. Bonds and Notes 150-101-615
Interstate Transportation Wages 150-101-601
Limit on Itemized Deductions 150-101-611
Married Persons Filing Separate

Returns 150-101-656
Military Personnel Filing

Information 150-101-657

Habla Español?
Las personas que necesitan asistencia en Español pueden
dejar un mensaje. El número disponible todo el año en
Salem es (503) 945-8618.

A message line is available all year for those who need assis-
tance in Spanish. The number in Salem is (503) 945-8618.

To get forms
Income tax booklets are available at post offices and
some banks and libraries. Or write to: Forms, Oregon
Department of Revenue, PO Box 14999, Salem OR 97309-
0990.  Our Internet address is: http://www.dor.state.or.us

The offices below provide forms and answer questions.
Don’t send your return to these addresses.

Salem* Portland**
Revenue Building Federal Building Lobby
First floor, Room 135 1220 SW Third Ave.
955 Center St. NE Portland Oregon
Salem OR 97310

* 7:45 A.M.– 5 P.M. Monday–Friday, except holidays.
**We’ll provide walk-in help from 9 A.M.– 4 P.M., Monday–Friday, ex-

cept holidays, January 2–April 15 only.

Correspondence. Use the Salem address above. Include
your Social Security number and a daytime telephone
number. Including both will allow us to help you faster.

In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act
(ADA), this information is available in alternative formats
upon request by calling (503) 378-4988.

Do you need help?

Call: Salem (503) 378-4988

*Toll-free within Oregon 1-800-356-4222
*The toll-free number is only
 available January through April.

For touchtone phones, our telephone voice response
system has recorded tax information about many of your
Oregon tax questions. You can also order tax forms. This
service is available 24 hours a day.

Once you’re in the system, push:

1—For personal income tax refund information (begin-
ning March l).

2—To order current year or amended forms.
(Some federal forms available.)

6—For other information.

0—For assistance from a representative.

Representatives are available: 7:30 A.M.–5:10 P.M.
Monday–Friday, except Wednesday when the
hours are 9 A.M.–5:10 P.M. Closed on holidays. From
April 1–April 15, representatives are available from
7 A.M. until 7 P.M., Monday–Friday.

TTY (hearing or speech impaired only). These numbers
are answered by machine only and are not for voice
use. The year-round toll-free number within Oregon is
1-800-886-7204. In Salem, the number is (503) 945-8617.

✂
Oregon Income Tax Withholding:

Some Special Cases 150-206-643
Political Contributions 150-101-662
Record Keeping Requirements 150-101-608
Retirement Income 150-101-673
Senior Citizen’s Property Tax

Deferral 150-310-675
What To Do if You are Audited 150-101-607
Your Rights as an Oregon

Taxpayer 150-800-406
List of other printed information:

Forms/Publications Request 150-800-390

Send to: Forms
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14999
Salem OR 97309-0990

Please print

Your name ____________________________________

Address ______________________________________

City __________________________________________

State ______________________ ZIP ____________

32/How to get help 150-101-045 (Rev. 12-96)

Taxpayer assistance


